menoscemo wrote: » Lads, just a word of warning. I did this race 2 years ago and it was short of 13 miles. http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/215170434 I think they messed around with the start/finish line that year and I am not sure if they changed it back. Afaik it was short last year as well. It will still be an excellent training run of course
yaboya1 wrote: » If it's short on my garmin, I will continue to run until I've covered 13.11 miles :P. It would be very disappointing if it was though, especially considering the price. It's hardly cheap!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » FFS Meno, Don't say that, is the Full not AIMS certified, (so you'd expect the measuring for the half to be spot on) I did this about 6 years ago and PD'ed, so that might explain it I see the price is now 50 yoyos so I'd be pretty pissed off if they can't get the fecking distance right. TbL
menoscemo wrote: » See above post. Since they changed the start line in 2012 all the 100 mara boys have been saying the mara is slightly short of the full garmin distance. Now since you will typically run an extra 0.1-0.2 mile over marathon distance this has not been evident enough to show up any complaints (they might typically get 26.15 garmin miles). The half however is a different story. The day I did it no-one got more than 13 miles and they used the same start line last year afaik.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Thanks Meno, The missus has been giving me loads all day about this and that, and I wasn't pissed off. Read your post. I'm pissed off now! TbL
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Tnx, I see you're back doing a bit, any target or are you just getting back into it? TbL
career move wrote: » Nice work ..... another session nailed
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Plan today called for 4am & 7pm easy miles. I'm still in London and was absolutely wrecked when the alarm went off before 6 and l slept in. Only had a very short window to run this evening as I had a work commitment. Did 5.5 very slow slow miles around Redhill village. I'm doing the Longford half on Sunday. Tomorrow's session was to be 5 miles easy. I'd probably be able to manage today's session tomorrow (4/7). I'm at the stage of the program where I don't want to miss miles if I can at all help it. I'm in Morocco end of next week and will miss one or two sessions. Quick question, that I'd appreciate some feedback on (coach on hols and don't want to bother him with something so small), should I do the 4/7 or stick to the 5m in the plan. Tnx lads, TbL
career move wrote: » I think you should stick to the plan. From what you've posted the last couple of days, you seem a bit tired/stressed out and your runs are becoming a chore. I think you'll benefit more from a few easy days than from flogging yourself to death over 6 easy miles
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Many tnx CM, Was my initial thought too, but have to go to Casablanca Thursday & Friday next week and strong possibility of no running on those days, (in a week of planned higher mileage) so just thought I ask the collective wisdom. TbL
career move wrote: » Your training has been super so I don't think you need to worry about missing a couple of days next week either. It'll probably be good for you. I think as runners we tend to forget how important rest is especially when we're in the middle of a plan. If I was you I would be focussing on being fully rested and relaxed for Longford. Maybe try some yoga
Ferris B wrote: » Good luck tomorrow Mr Lemon.DFIU.