Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Fair play to you Tang - if nothing more then its a very decent session with the miles built up in the legs from earlier in the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Duanington wrote: »
    Fair play to you Tang - if nothing more then its a very decent session with the miles built up in the legs from earlier in the week.

Cheers D, its a solid session if nothing else which i've been lacking. It was a quick course, you would have ran a fast time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great time considering the recent long runs, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

As we all know we have to take the bad with the good and as bad ones go this looks like "a good bad one!".....keep the faith!!

FBOT01 wrote: »
    As we all know we have to take the bad with the good and as bad ones go this looks like "a good bad one!".....keep the faith!!

Cheers, it was a good bad one. I was only thinking on my recovery run this evening that this time last year i was lying on a couch with a brace around my knee not able to walk. Last night i ran a sub 20 5k, i'll not be selfish and be moaning about that.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Great time considering the recent long runs, well done.

Yeah, in honesty it is a decent time considering the miles in the previous 5 days.

Today

4.41miles 40min(9.05min/mile)

Recovery run after last nights race, legs tired and heavy so kept the pace slow. Last nights 5k could well be my last one of the year, can find no others that are suitable with my working hours for remainder of the year as mad as that sounds.

Every thing will be at easy pace for next week leading into the Clonmel Half, want fresh legs going into that, so there will be no excuses next week!!!

WTD-33.99miles
    MTD-57.74miles
    YTD-564.11miles

Decided on resting today, body feels tired & legs feeling heavy. Since this day last week i've ran 50 miles, which is big mileage for me in the current scheme of things. Working hours are contributing to the tiredness also.

Song of the week - Liquid Wheel 'Mutronik'

WTD-33.99miles
    MTD-57.74miles
    YTD-564.11miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Well done on the sub 20. I think with a proper taper you would have challenged for sub 19:30 for sure. Like you say though, you gave it your best shot on the day and made sure of the sub 20. Didn't realise until you mention the brace above how far you've really come in 12 months. Very impressive.

Today

9miles 70min 39sec(7.51min/mile)

Consisted of:

3miles @ easy pace
    3miles @ Half pace(7.10min/mile)
    3miles @ easy pace

The half paced miles were few secs quick if i'm honest but felt controlled & comfortable. Getting few niggles in the calves and ankles, time to change runners me thinks, current ones have well over 500 miles in them. Rest of runs this week will be very easy.

On another note looking like i'll make the Athlone Half next month, have gotten someone to cover me work wise. Had our first scan yesterday to and Baby no 2 is fit and healthy thank god.

WTD-9miles
    MTD-66.74miles
    YTD-573.11miles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

What's your target for Athlone Tang?

Dunno to be honest, running the Clonmel Half Sunday so will get some indication what i may target/be capable of from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Good news on the baby front. Might be joining you in Athlone. I've an entry to that and Dublin half so keeping my options open. Good luck in Clonmel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Congrats on the baby news!

Cheers Alan, to say i'm delighted would be a HUGE understatement.

Wednesday

3.5miles 29min 36sec(8.27min/mile)

Easy run yesterday morning before work, had new runners on and legs felt much better than the previous evening.

Today

8.5miles 70min 43sec(8.19min/mile)

Another easy paced run, legs feeling better again today. Very warm when i done this and the sweat was rolling out of me. Will wear the new runners for the race Sunday, suppose i better nail my flag to the mast and make a prediction:

Gold Medal: 1.36.xx
    Silver Medal: 1.37.xx
    Bronze Medal: Anything above 1.37.xx

Am away for few days while doing the race so will have limited internet, will post watch time Sunday shortly after race for those interested.

WTD-21miles
    MTD-78.74miles
    YTD-585.11miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Best of luck. Hope it goes well for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Good luck Tang, your going well, gold definitely within reach.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Best of luck Sunday tang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck Tang - go get gold :D

tang1 wrote: »
    Wednesday

3.5miles 29min 36sec(8.27min/mile)

Easy run yesterday morning before work, had new runners on and legs felt much better than the previous evening.

Today

8.5miles 70min 43sec(8.19min/mile)

Another easy paced run, legs feeling better again today. Very warm when i done this and the sweat was rolling out of me. Will wear the new runners for the race Sunday, suppose i better nail my flag to the mast and make a prediction:

Gold Medal: 1.36.xx
    Silver Medal: 1.37.xx
    Bronze Medal: Anything above 1.37.xx

Am away for few days while doing the race so will have limited internet, will post watch time Sunday shortly after race for those interested.

WTD-21miles
    MTD-78.74miles
    YTD-585.11miles
    I think you are selling yourself about 2 min short there tang:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck....and don't forget to enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭wowzer

I think you are selling yourself about 2 min short there tang:)

I echo what barry says Tang..

wowzer wrote: »
    I echo what barry says Tang..

Doubtful, but if ye're right i'll owe ye a pint.

I'll hold you to that Tang, I'm sure if you see 1.34 or 1.35 on the clock you will buy everybody and anybody a pint.

This comeback of yours is mighty impressive so far man, won't be long till you have to change the title of this log.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Best of luck, B.

1.34.54, chip may bring me over the 1.35, dont care bet my goal time either way. Report tomorrow, beer time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done Tang, nicely run.

TbL

Nice one!

1.34.54, chip may bring me over the 1.35, dont care bet my goal time either way. Report tomorrow, beer time!!

You owe me a pint Chief, great running..