How much € should parents take off grown-up children towards their keep per week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Wow, These attitudes would explain a lot. Some of my mates parents have died, And there has been absolute war between them and their siblings. Must be the same attitudes of its my home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

In Italy it is extremely common for people in their 30's to be living at home. I was shocked to hear that it is also very very common for the parents to buy their childs first home. Suppose it's the only sure way of getting shot of them :p

I'd rather live in the street than have me Ma still washing my jocks.
    Wow, These attitudes would explain a lot. Some of my mates parents have died, And there has been absolute war between them and their siblings. Must be the same attitudes of its my home.

Difference is that the stay at home kids wait until the parents kick the bucket then the huge sibling disputes kick in over who owns the house and land. The amount of fighting i have seen over land and house ownership is crazy.

Take Nox for example, he purports that this parents house is also his. I presume his sister has the same ideology. What happens when the parents one day pass on. Who gets the house and land in the will? If they both get it and have their own families they are both not going to move in together and therefore in this type of scenario usually litigation and family feuds begin. If one gets the property over the other then the troubles still continue as the both siblings were raised in a fashion to believe they both own the house.

The idea that a parents house is also your house is a complete naive fallacy if you have siblings.

Enjoy your mother still washing your underway and mashing your spuds for you as an adult because the money you are saving will one day need to be spent on solicitors to fight your siblings ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

zarquon wrote: »
    Difference is that the stay at home kids wait until the parents kick the bucket then the huge sibling disputes kick in over who owns the house and land. The amount of fighting i have seen over land and house ownership is crazy.

Take Nox for example, he purports that this parents house is also his. I presume his sister has the same ideology. What happens when the parents one day pass on. Who gets the house and land in the will? If they both get it and have their own families they are both not going to move in together and therefore in this type of scenario usually litigation and family feuds begin. If one gets the property over the other then the troubles still continue as the both siblings were raised in a fashion to believe they both own the house.

The idea that a parents house is also your house is a complete naive fallacy if you have siblings.

Enjoy your mother still washing your underway and mashing your spuds for you as an adult because the money you are saving will one day need to be spent on solicitors to fight your siblings ;)
    There would be no dispute if there was a will though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

There would be no dispute if there was a will though

How naive are people, I know people who have contested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭johnnyruane40

If they are under 18 and have a job they shouldn't have to contribute anything. They can't move at that age to be honest and the parents should take care of them. A lot of teens don't bother their holes getting jobs so I don't think its fair that the ones that work hard should have their money taken away. If they are 18 or over its a different story as they should be out of the house or else pay for the privilege of living in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Nox, my opinion would be that while it's your family home, it's your parents' house - how could it be your house? I wouldn't have considered my parents' house my house even when I was living there.
    And, generally speaking, to pay zero contribution when living there as a working adult is really stingy.
    I wouldn't see anything wrong with someone living in their parents' house though later in life once they are independent (this is possible) though - not as extreme as the "Out the door at 18" crowd.

Who gets the house and land in the will?

Land to the son obviously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

When i was at home and on the dole i gave €75 out of €188 a week to my parents. I was never and still am not a mammies boy if any of ye are wondering! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Are you joking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,734 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Tilly wrote: »
    Are you joking?

Doubt it! I'd say he'll surface at about midday to head over to the folks for a fry! You have to admire him sometimes! Oblivious!

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Doubt it! I'd say he'll surface at about midday to head over to the folks for a fry! You have to admire him sometimes! Oblivious!
    I'd love a fry now. Do you think his folks would mind me calling over too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've a nice bit of land coming to me from the mothers side presuming I outlive both her and my grandmother. Land is power, I've already plans to sell it to the windmill people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

This really is a subjective question. Im just finished college so as soon I get a Job i'll be moving away again. I would never ask my parents for money for clother or nights out or anything and I also paid for myself in college.
    I probably would give money if I was working.

What's your sister's opinion of this. Do you seriously think she will be happy to let you take the land and house. If she has anywhere near the same sense of entitlement that you do, she will fight all the way.

Good luck with that.

Its one of the negatives of stay at home children that not only do they lack true independence, they tend to be spoilt with a major sense of entitlement! Additionally the mammys tend to not be impressed when some man or woman shows up ready to steal her precious darling children away and cut the apron strings.
    Sciprio wrote: »
    When i was at home and on the dole i gave €75 out of €188 a week to my parents. I was never and still am not a mammies boy if any of ye are wondering! :D

Thats a little different. You were not working and still contributing so you were not a spoilt leech like some others.

Anyone earning a good wage and still leeching of their parents should be ashamed of themselves. I guess some people just refuse to grow up though!

Working but still living at home is a bizarre concept to me.

Fair enough if your parents are sick or elderly.

If they are healthy though move out and live your own life.

What's your sister's opinion of this. Do you seriously think she will be happy to let you take the land and house. If she has anywhere near the same sense of entitlement that you do, she will fight all the way.

Your self and your condescending sh*t is quite funny. Your life sounds pretty damn **** to me, cut of form your family at an eairly age, I wouldn't wish it on a dog...not something I ever want. Good luck to yourself and your foreign "women" my girlfriend of a few years is perfectly happy with my situation.

And yes as my dad and his dad before him land to the son (minus a small few acres) and my two sisters know that's how things work , i never mentioned the house but as I plan to build my own house beside the home house I won't need the house!!
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    Working but still living at home is a bizarre concept to me.

Fair enough if your parents are sick or elderly.

If they are healthy though move out and live your own life.

If you are working local why waste money on rent. I've friends building houses mortgage free because they didn't move out until they got married and saved all the rent money over the years. Why would you even want to move out aside from moving out because you were going to a different part if the country for work or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Recondite49

764dak wrote: »
    When they move out of the White House she would be still living with them so she should pay rent.

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Your self and your condescending sh*t is quite funny. Your life sounds pretty damn **** to me, cut of form your family at an eairly age, I wouldn't wish it on a dog...not something I ever want. Good luck to yourself and your foreign "women" my girlfriend of a few years is perfectly happy with my situation.

What makes you think anyone is cut off from their family just because they don't spend every weekend with mammy and daddy and have started to set up their own home? You seem to have this weird idea that you have to be in each other's pockets and dependent on your parents in order to be close to your family.

I must admit that you remind me of a guy I knew in college, he went home every weekend and brought his washing with him, his mammy called him every day, and it turned out that he lacked the most basic skills to look after himself like being able to even operate a washing machine, or cook himself a meal because his mammy had done everything for him and, basically, hadn't allowed him to learn to look after himself. It seems to be a very Irish thing that until recently sons weren't expected to lift a finger around the house because, sure, their wives would do all that for them.

And yes as my dad and his dad before him land to the son (minus a small few acres) and my two sisters know that's how things work , i never mentioned the house but as I plan to build my own house beside the home house I won't need the house!!

If you are working local why waste money on rent. I've friends building houses mortgage free because they didn't move out until they got married and saved all the rent money over the years. Why would you even want to move out aside from moving out because you were going to a different part if the country for work or something.
    I haven't read something so backward in a long time. It's like you're stuck in the 60's. Are you from ballygobackwards by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Virtual

If he is working full time on a minimum wage then 50-75/week is fair imho.
    If I was in that position, I would volunteer that amount without my parents asking me for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

I've two brothers and a sister in their twenties who all live in my parents house. Both brothers are currently unemployed, and my sister is in college. None of them pay my parents anything.

The only money my sister gets is from babysitting, and she uses it to cover college costs etc and very rarely looks for money from my parents for anything, so that's fair enough.

As for my brothers, they're both getting JSA, I'm not sure how much exactly but it's not the full rate. So I guess it's fair enough that they're not paying their way - they need some little bit of money for themselves. But what annoys me is that my parents do everything for them - laundry, cooking etc. My dad even brings them breakfast in bed when they ask him to, it's ridiculous! Since they're sitting at home and not doing much else, they should be doing pretty much everything around the house.

Also, even when one of them was working until quite recently, he still lived at home (even though he was working in a different county, over an hour away on the bus.) And my dad used to wake him up in the mornings, make his breakfast, then drive him to the bus station (which would be a fifteen minute walk away) at 7am. And he still didn't hand over any money, even though he was making a decent amount.

There are no jobs going in the local area, and they know this. They'd both have enough savings that they could move to Dublin or abroad if they wanted to, and they'd probably have little trouble getting a job if they did so. But they're so unmotivated to do so, when they have it so cushy at home. :rolleyes: I've often told my parents that they're doing them no favours by letting them have it so easy. But my parents just love having them around, so they're unlikely to change their ways any time soon.

Myself and their other older siblings couldn't wait to move away and get a bit of independence as soon as we finished secondary school. I don't know how those two ended up being such spoilt lazyarses!

Oh and as for the poster above who has his mam do his laundry ... jaysus! I had to laugh at the image of a grown man handing his mammy his dirty jocks and socks for her to wash them! :D Don't you even feel a little bit silly and embarrassed arriving home with that stuff? How would you feel if your mam arrived at your house with all her clothes and undies and expected you to wash them? It's just weird!!!

And yes as my dad and his dad before him land to the son (minus a small few acres) and my two sisters know that's how things work , i never mentioned the house but as I plan to build my own house beside the home house I won't need the house!!.

My life is sh1t according to you because i have been washing my own jocks and wiping my own arse for a long time. Each to their own i suppose, but it sounds like a pretty sh1t life to still be suckling at mammy's teet and nearly 30 :D

Also good to see that women are second class citizens in your house. I can see the women are probably conditioned in your home to expect to have to take care of the men even as adults.

Fair play yourself, condescending to others who live independently, not sponging of others and expecting the women to take a passive servants role in life.

My mother would laugh me out the door if i gave her my jocks to wash. My grandmother on the other hand would do it and ask if i wanted them ironed too. She is of an aged generation where she was conditioned to believe that men need to be taken care of all their lives by the women.

I hope your girlfriend is okay with taking care of you if you manage to wean yourself from your mother and move in with her otherwise it will be a shock.

Of course some women will overlook such things if they think they are marrying into land and houses. Id prefer to have no part in a woman such as this but again each to their own. Personally i prefer women that look down on mammy boys and recognize real men for what they are. Foreign women are excellent at this. Some irish girls are pretty good too but some are trapped in time warp families that dont teach what a real man is

Right time to back to my very enjoyable life. I might give the family a call later to say hello because strangely enough, just because my mother doesn't cut my sausages and mash my spuds doesnt actually mean i am cut off from them

I guess the weird breastfeed 4 year olds might look down on bottle feed 2 year olds as having a sh1t life too

My life is sh1t according to you because i have been washing my own jocks and wiping my own arse for a long time. Each to their own i suppose, but it sounds like a pretty sh1t life to still be suckling at mammy's teet and nearly 30 :D

Also good to see that women are second class citizens in your house. I can see the women are probably conditioned in your home to expect to have to take care of the men even as adults.

Fair play yourself, condescending to others who live independently, not sponging of others and expecting the women to take a passive servants role in life.

My mother would laugh me out the door if i gave her my jocks to wash. My grandmother on the other hand would do it and ask if i wanted them ironed too. She is of an aged generation where she was conditioned to believe that men need to be taken care of all their lives by the women.

I hope your girlfriend is okay with taking care of you if you manage to wean yourself from your mother and move in with her otherwise it will be a shock.

Of course some women will overlook such things if they think they are marrying into land and houses. Id prefer to have no part in a woman such as this but again each to their own.

Right time to back to my very enjoyable life. I might give the family a call later to say hello because strangely enough, just because my mother doesn't cut my sausages and mash my spuds doesnt actually mean i am cut off from them

I guess the weird breastfeed 4 year olds might look down on bottle feed 2 year olds as having a sh1t life too

You are so far of the mark on everything you are saying it's not even worth formulating a reply. So many assumptions, no allowance for middle ground etc . You have decided how my life works and you are way off the mark. On the other hand when I hear a person who had to move out at 17 I actually pity them. I would much rather be involved in my parents life day to day (and vice versa) than having an odd chat and meeting them now and again.

You are so far of the mark on everything you are saying it's not even worth formulating a reply. So many assumptions, no allowance for middle ground et . You have decided how my life works and you are way off the mark. On the other hand when I hear a person who had to move out at 17 I actually pity them.

I didnt have to, i choose to. I moved to college and enjoyed independence so much i felt relying on my family would hold back my enjoyment in life.

Of course if you expect the women in life to wash your jocks then you would pity someone who does their own washing.

Btw, if i am so far off the mark why am i in the majority opinion here with you in the minority. I guess most people are wrong and society has gone backwards by equating men with women.

I have an uncle just like you. Mid 40's and he still can't function properly and depends on his mother to take care of him

Nox there is not one person on here who is agreeing with you. But yet we are all in the wrong? Take a hard look at yourself there, buddy!

I didnt have to, i choose to. I moved to college and enjoyed independence so much i felt relying on my family would hold back my enjoyment in life.

Of course if you expect the women in life to wash your jocks then you would pity someone who does their own washing.

Btw, if i am so far off the mark why am i in the majority opinion here with you in the minority. I guess most people are wrong and society has gone backwards by equating men with women.

See that what I mean about being off the mark. I don't rely on family I choose to have family as part if my day to day life. As all my friends do and more or less everyone I know. Being in the majority on after hours usually means being in the minority in the real world, a tip you should remember. I really don't see what you think is so fantastic about not bring a regular part of your parents life. I have friends who own their own houses and still go home for dinner most days, to me that far more normal than your situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You are so far of the mark on everything you are saying it's not even worth formulating a reply. So many assumptions, no allowance for middle ground etc .
    Which is exactly what you're doing by deciding that the rest of us are cut off from our families or been thrown out when we reached 18.
    You have decided how my life works and you are way off the mark. On the other hand when I hear a person who had to move out at 17 I actually pity them.

There you go again, deciding that we 'had to' move out. Most of the people I know wanted to move out when they went to college. They wanted to move into the adult sphere and start to take care of themselves. In college we pitied the people whose parents wouldn't allow them to move out because we were going where we wanted and doing what we wanted, and they had to be home by X time because their Dad would be waiting up for them, or their mum would be worried.

I have friends own their own houses and still go home for dinner most days, to me that far more normal than your situation.

OMG you mean there's more of your kind out there in Ballygobackwards??? :eek:

Do you still eat your food with a spoon?

See that what I mean about being off the mark. I don't rely on family I choose to have family as part if my day to day life. As all my friends do and more or less everyone I know. Being in the majority on after hours usually means being in the minority in the real world, a tip you should remember. I really don't see what you think is so fantastic about not bring a regular part of your parents life. I have friends who own their own houses and still go home for dinner most days, to me that far more normal than your situation.

You seriously must be trolling us now otherwise if you are genuine i pity your delusion. No one agrees with you therefore AH opinions have no real bearing on reality!!!!!!!!

Incredible logic there.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Tilly wrote: »
    I haven't read something so backward in a long time. It's like you're stuck in the 60's. Are you from ballygobackwards by any chance?

The 60's? People left home in the 60's. 12th century.