Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Gongoozler wrote: »
    People who breathe through their nose, and it makes a whistling noise and they just continue. Gah

Matt Cooper on his show is a hoor for this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,744 ✭✭✭✭blueser

bronn wrote: »
    There are two ticking clocks in the house; one in the kitchen and one in the sitting room. Both ticks are noticeable when I'm in the house on my own and it's quiet. The ticks are not in sync. Kitchen, sitting room, kitchen, sitting room, kitchen, sitting room... I've tried stopping one and then the other and I've spent 15 bloody minutes trying to get clocks to synchronise their ticking.

This obsessive bullshít is why I'll be a raving loon by 40.
    ''By 40''?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

Ah fer jaysus sake - do you know what I've now realised? My watch and both clocks are all different times. Is it 14:46? 14:47? Or 14:48ish?

gnnnnnnaaarrgrghhhh!!!

relax, perhaps they are just in different time zones :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Oh God, there are so many things that could go wrong :(

Are you thinking something like this:
    :P

Now you're getting it! It could not possibly fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Now you're getting it! It could not possibly fail.

Trust me it could. I'm so clumsy I could fall off a ladder in my tights :pac:

I don't think that matters as much as you think. If it's a guy, and he's single, and you get along, and you're not close friends, I'd say 99 times out of 100 he's probably gonna be prepared to requite the crap out of that lust. :D

( I realise I'm making a lot of assumptions here. )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

There are two ticking clocks in the house; one in the kitchen and one in the sitting room. Both ticks are noticeable when I'm in the house on my own and it's quiet. The ticks are not in sync. Kitchen, sitting room, kitchen, sitting room, kitchen, sitting room... I've tried stopping one and then the other and I've spent 15 bloody minutes trying to get clocks to synchronise their ticking.

This obsessive bullshít is why I'll be a raving loon by 40.

I need a therapy after reading that :pac:

I don't think that matters as much as you think. If it's a guy, and he's single, and you get along, and you're not close friends, I'd say 99 times out of 100 he's probably gonna be prepared to requite the crap out of that lust. :D

( I realise I'm making a lot of assumptions here. )

I think you are doing the male gender a disservice :pac: It can't possibly be that easy :P

Well I mean, obviously it works to your advantage if you don't look like Susan Boyle too. No disrespect to the woman, she seems lovely.

Sometimes you just have to plant the seed and find out, a few subtle hints (not too subtle) and see what happens!

Don't do yourself a disservice by saying it's unrequited if you don't know that. :)

Well I mean, obviously it works to your advantage if you don't look like Susan Boyle too. No disrespect to the woman, she seems lovely.

Sometimes you just have to plant the seed and find out, a few subtle hints (not too subtle) and see what happens!

Don't do yourself a disservice by saying it's unrequited if you don't know that. :)

It's one area I dont have any problems with. Can't say the same for the others :pac:

I've been dropping a lot of hints but I'm so terrified of the shame of refection that every "hint" has an alternative norm :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's one area I dont have any problems with. Can't say the same for the others :pac:

I've been dropping a lot of hints but I'm so terrified of the shame of refection that every "hint" has an alternative norm :(

Aww, poor oul' ONW. It's the same story every time, isn't it!

In fairness, for a lot of men you need to be about as subtle as a ton of bricks for us to catch on. :D

I thinkthat only happens later on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

roro1990 wrote: »
    When there's a loose sewer cover on the road and a car drives over it causing it to make a really loud noise that tends to scare the sh!t out of me and piss me off in equal measure.

When I first read this I thought it was a bit silly and that hardly happens too often
    Till it happened to me today. Let out an audible 'for f*cks sake'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was in a supermarket the other day and saw a dodgy looking wino type shoplifting. I would have been annoyed but it was such a clumsy and obvious way of doing it that there is no way he could have gotten out of the store unnoticed.

He was in the drinks aisle and while I don't know exactly what he put under his jacket as I saw him from behind, it was about the size of 12-pack of cans. He was only a miserable little fella so it was like he had a fridge under his arm.

Looking fairly conspicuous and self conscious as he walked past me, I smiled and told him good luck with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I had a pedicure earlier and had lots of lotions and potions on my feet, which was grand until I had to put on my sandals. All of a sudden it was like having two small ice rinks attached to my feet. So, there I am trying to concentrate on getting up the street without falling and trying to do it in a way I didn't look like I had a disability. I didn't fall at least, one out of two isn't bad I guess

gramar wrote: »
    I was in a supermarket the other day and saw a dodgy looking wino type shoplifting. I would have been annoyed but it was such a clumsy and obvious way of doing it that there is no way he could have gotten out of the store unnoticed.

He was in the drinks aisle and while I don't know exactly what he put under his jacket as I saw him from behind, it was about the size of 12-pack of cans. He was only a miserable little fella so it was like he had a fridge under his arm.

Looking fairly conspicuous and self conscious as he walked past me, I smiled and told him good luck with that!

I hadn't had a shower, I was working in the garden all day. I paid for that stuff with a Black Amex, ya caaahn!! :)

I had a pedicure earlier and had lots of lotions and potions on my feet, which was grand until I had to put on my sandals. All of a sudden it was like having two small ice rinks attached to my feet. So, there I am trying to concentrate on getting up the street without falling and trying to do it in a way I didn't look like I had a disability. I didn't fall at least, one out of two isn't bad I guess
    So it didn't get the hose again. Winning! :)

jimgoose wrote: »
    So it didn't get the hose again. Winning! :)

Whaaaa? That's gone completely over my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

When someone opens up a thread like "What's the nicest ABC you ever had", and someone immediately opens up "Whats the worst ABC you ever had"

Whaaaa? That's gone completely over my head

It rubbed the lotion on it's skin! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Waiting in a GP'S waiting room. Time just seems to slow down. Almost 2 hours I waited to be seen. Ah well, it's done now, at least until next week when I go back for more blood tests. Still at least after that I'll only need the blood tests once a month.

Poor Punkin. That kind of asshatting around really riles me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

The actual proper phrase is Obtorto Kalatera which is Greek meaning "That's all right with me"

'k. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

to have to face my ignorance in the beginning of studying for exams ...

The Syfy channel. My husband really loves cheesy horror films. At the moment there's some really dodgy film with a 2 headed shark, and mostly scantily clad bimbos. The blond one is bouncing around with the twins out like 2 balloons spilling out of her bikini top at every available opportunity. Obviously chosen for her acting abilities, not the big silicon implants :D

<harrumph> What channel did you say??

When I'm not well and I'm needy and more whiney than usual. Times like this I need my daddy

jimgoose wrote: »
    <harrumph> What channel did you say??

Don't worry jim, tune into the Syfy channel, pretty much any night after 9 and there's gonna be bouncing boobs, scantily clad bimbos in some sort of shark movie :D

When I'm not well and I'm needy and more whiney than usual. Times like this I need my daddy