Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

You can all have the rest of the day off, and come back tomorrow when you know
    how to play nice.

For a little while there I thought I wandered on to the wrong thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

Czarcasm wrote: »
    h keeping them as pets and feeding them artificial nutrition
    my feelings of loving animals are actually keeping me from eating them, nothing else, but just have to say since you've mentioned it that feeding pets with that artificial food is disgusting...
    The only times i think Zoo's help are when it comes to animals on the endangered species list and their hard work trying to help save the species through mating animals etc. Rather a sad animal then a non-existent one but overall i feel they are grim places

I agree.. that work is highly admirable, when they also teach those youngsters about their real environment and prepare them for the day they will release it into their natural wilderness..
    there are many videos on youtube for example about that, and i have to admit that i shared a tear on those moments when animals somehow "thank" the humans for all their effort..... even few years later they'd recognize them and come to cuddle with love, regardless if it is even tiger or any such wild animal..
    so treating them as they have no feelings when they are absolutely capable of those is for me something i just cannot grasp with understanding......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Czarcasm wrote: »
    People going out to work and leaving their pets at home indoors is hardly extreme, let alone cooking chicken curry for dinner? Ten million starving African children on the other hand is a whole different ball game when you have animal rights activists preventing them from doing what they've done for millenia which is to hunt animals and kill them for food. Instead we'll ship over a few foil packs of peanut butter to ease our collective conscience while some people will walk past homeless people only yards from their own doorsteps.

I'm not going to jump down those peoples throats though as I understand we all care in our own ways about the issues that mean more to us than they might mean to someone else.

You're just twisting everything. You were the one who started the whole thing by inferring that if someone doesn't do something 100% there is no point doing it at all. Well if my leaving the dog at home while I go to work (which I dont) makes you feel better about paying to see sedated animals perform tricks then happy to be of help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    You're just twisting everything. You were the one who started the whole thing by inferring that if someone doesn't do something 100% there is no point doing it at all. Well if my leaving the dog at home while I go to work (which I dont) makes you feel better about paying to see sedated animals perform tricks then happy to be of help.

That's more than just a bit unfair, I never said anything about you personally, I'm talking about the people who berate me for something, while being no different themselves. I'm not berating them for their behavior, but if they want to berate me for mine, perhaps they should examine their own behavior first, and lead by example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Ah lads, I thought we were changing the subject there but alas, no. Can we all not agree to disagree and move on?

It's a touchy controversial subject and it is bringing down the tone of the thread. You can keep arguing back and forth but we all know, no one is going to change their minds. I certainly am not but I'm willing to let sleeping dogs lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Mods, please change the title of this thread........its annoying me more than trivially

I didn't even notice it had changed again :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

i bring the two chairs and a table and my laptop and books to balcony in order to enjoy the weather outside a little, and just as i do that the sky changes and clouds with wind arrive : )..
    so i go back in, put everything in place and cover the chairs etc, and sunshine finds its way through.. aaaaa :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I've been mostly vegetarian for 5 years, I still eat fish occasionally. I cook meat for my husband and I don't mind that, I'm not working so I tend to do the bulk of the cooking and he works 12 hour shifts, plus he'd live on pizza given half a chance. The problem is I'm starting to find the smell of meat cooking appalling. I had to leave the kitchen on Saturday when my husband was cooking steak, just couldn't stand the smell of it.

I'm not sure how I'm going to get around that particular dillema.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Realising it's 19:18 and you are still in the office. Boll0x.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Realising it's 19:18 and you are still in the office. Boll0x.

Yes, but you're on boards :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Oh jaysus.... what did I start? Sorry boards.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Yes, but you're on boards :pac:

Multi-tasking :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I've been mostly vegetarian for 5 years, I still eat fish occasionally. I cook meat for my husband and I don't mind that, I'm not working so I tend to do the bulk of the cooking and he works 12 hour shifts, plus he'd live on pizza given half a chance. The problem is I'm starting to find the smell of meat cooking appalling. I had to leave the kitchen on Saturday when my husband was cooking steak, just couldn't stand the smell of it.

I'm not sure how I'm going to get around that particular dillema.

I have been chastized by veggie friends because I will not eat meat or buy it for myself I will cook it for others. Yes the smell is bad but you deal. I feel like if someone has gone to the trouble of cooking veggie for me if I go to their house then I should do the same for them. I have cooked it for exes who ate meat. Its more harmonious if you all go out and you can order what you all want though with friends. I have a lot of veggie friends its fun to share restaurant ideas.

One thing that REALLY annoys me is obnoxious meat eaters...people who try and force it on you. Some people have actually tried to put it on my plate or sneak it into my food. I hate that. Or people who tease about it or whatever. Respect peoples choices. I hate when people try to control your choices or views. THAT REALLY ANNOYS ME ABOUT ANYTHING!! :mad:

Don't tell me how to think or what to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Lou.m wrote: »
    I have been chastized by veggie friends because I will not eat meat or buy it for myself I will cook it for others. Yes the smell is bad but you deal. I feel like if someone has gone to the trouble of cooking veggie for me if I go to their house then I should do the same for them. I have cooked it for exes who ate meat. Its more harmonious if you all go out and you can order what you all want though with friends. I have a lot of veggie friends its fun to share restaurant ideas.

One thing that REALLY annoys me is obnoxious meat eaters...people who try and force it on you. Some people have actually tried to put it on my plate or sneak it into my food. I hate that. Or people who tease about it or whatever. Respect peoples choices. I hate when people try to control your choices or views. THAT REALLY ANNOYS ME ABOUT ANYTHING!! :mad:

Don't tell me how to think or what to say.

Just on this... my friend has gone vegetarian for the last few years and that's fair enough each to their own and I would never tell anyone they are wrong or that they should eat meat i mean i don't honestly care what anyone eats, BUT she has a small son and she enforces her vegetarianism on to him. She is split up with the childs dad but he is also a friend of mine and couldn't believe it when he took the young lad to McDonalds and the kid turned around and said "no we don't eat burgers, they're bad for you" or something along those lines. The dad was shocked, couldn't believe it! I mean my friend (the mother) has literally brainwashed her son! Surely he should be allowed to grow up and make this decision for himself when he is old enough to!

I think it's outrageous to be honest! Let the lad grow up and eat a poxy hamburger ffs it'll do him no harm, quite the opposite in fact and if he decides when he is of age that he'd rather not eat meat so be it, deciding for him is plain wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I've just seen an ad by a company advertising their advertising expertise and services. While doing so their own ad is not in sync with the sound.

I mean what the actual hell, if you can't get your own ad right then I don't even know.

You had one job Guerrilla Scope, one f**king job!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

I've just seen an ad by a company advertising their advertising expertise and services. While doing so their own ad is not in sync with the sound.

I mean what the actual hell, if you can't get your own ad right then I don't even know.

You had one job Guerrilla Scope, one f**king job!! :mad:

I'd say it was the channel airing the ad that botched that up in fairness, happens to movies on tv sometimes, sound goes off sync and makes for painful viewing but they usually pick up on it and sort it out when the scene changes or they break for the ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'd say it was the channel airing the ad that botched that up in fairness, happens to movies on tv sometimes, sound goes off sync and makes for painful viewing but they usually pick up on it and sort it out when the scene changes or they break for the ads.

Logic and common sense aren't tolerated in Prodston Towers when it undermines a rant :pac:

There are some ads though normally toothpaste that are dreadfully lip synced though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Speaking of choices regarding eating or not eating meat, I knew one lad whose GF refused to let him eat meat, as well as not having any meat in the house. The only time he was able to eat meat was at work or on any trips not involving her. On an airsofting weekend in Galway, we were having a BBQ for dinner, he spent about 40 quid on pork chops, burgers, steak and chicken. He was so desperate for a bit of meat he ate it all that night :D.

I respect those that have own choices on livestyles and what they eat but for fecksake you can't force your OH to eat only what you want to eat. Rant over :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Zemuppet wrote: »
    Speaking of choices regarding eating or not eating meat, I knew one lad whose GF refused to let him eat meat, as well as not having any meat in the house. The only time he was able to eat meat was at work or on any trips not involving her. On an airsofting weekend in Galway, we were having a BBQ for dinner, he spent about 40 quid on pork chops, burgers, steak and chicken. He was so desperate for a bit of meat he ate it all that night :D.

I respect those that have own choices on livestyles and what they eat but for fecksake you can't force your OH to eat only what you want to eat. Rant over :pac:
    More fool him for letting his eating habits be dictated by someone else.

Just on this... my friend has gone vegetarian for the last few years and that's fair enough each to their own and I would never tell anyone they are wrong or that they should eat meat i mean i don't honestly care what anyone eats, BUT she has a small son and she enforces her vegetarianism on to him. She is split up with the childs dad but he is also a friend of mine and couldn't believe it when he took the young lad to McDonalds and the kid turned around and said "no we don't eat burgers, they're bad for you" or something along those lines. The dad was shocked, couldn't believe it! I mean my friend (the mother) has literally brainwashed her son! Surely he should be allowed to grow up and make this decision for himself when he is old enough to!

I think it's outrageous to be honest! Let the lad grow up and eat a poxy hamburger ffs it'll do him no harm, quite the opposite in fact and if he decides when he is of age that he'd rather not eat meat so be it, deciding for him is plain wrong!

I agree with you re letting children make their own decisions when they are old enough. I think accusing them of brainwashing is a little steep. You could say that about any decision they make for the child that they believe is in their best interests. Forcing Irish or religion on them for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I agree with you re letting children make their own decisions when they are old enough. I think accusing them of brainwashing is a little steep. You could say that about any decision they make for the child that they believe is in their best interests. Forcing Irish or religion on them for example.

This is it. Making decisions for and on behalf of your child is what you're supposed to do, even if you are a blithering idiot. Go figure... :pac:

Cartoon superheros with immensely oversized jaws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

Think that's bad for kids? Friend of mine minds kids in a crèche and the mother has repeatadly requested the crèche to give him a zero carb diet as she doesn't want him getting overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Think that's bad for kids? Friend of mine minds kids in a crèche and the mother has repeatadly requested the crèche to give him a zero carb diet as she doesn't want him getting overweight.

I wouldn't be able to keep a straight face is someone said that to me. :pac:

People coughing without blocking their mouths - when did that become acceptable?? Die.

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I wouldn't be able to keep a straight face is someone said that to me. :pac:

Oh they kept a straight face alright, then gave the child a load of toast

The same mother wondered why her child is lethargic..nutrition fail gob****e. I feel sorry for the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Oh they kept a straight face alright, then gave the child a load of toast

The same mother wondered why her child is lethargic..nutrition fail gob****e. I feel sorry for the kid.

Feed him raw meat and he'll be jacked. Smashing box and wrecking cots.

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Feed him raw meat and he'll be jacked. Smashing box and wrecking cots.

I'm after giving her a few weeks worth of testosterone. Kid is gonna f*ck sh*t up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,887 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

BUT she has a small son and she enforces her vegetarianism on to him.

Every parent who gets their kids to eat meat or fish is enfocing that diet on them too. The parents are 'deciding' either way.

osarusan wrote: »
    Every parent who gets their kids to eat meat or fish is enfocing that diet on them too. The parents are 'deciding' either way.

Yeah but telling her child that burgers are bad for you is just plain lies and brainwashing.