Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭fussyonion

BeerWolf wrote: »
    It's my Birthday today and the first birthday greeting I got was from O2 off me phone... <_<;

Oh, and I've hit 30 - no longer in my 20s... I'm old! :<

You are old. Decrepit even. Bought yourself a grave plot yet? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Dramatik

"Are you his son?...You look just like your father..."

So your saying I look more than twice my age, I'm mostly bald and what hair I've left is grey? Thanks for the complement :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

geeksauce wrote: »
    In O'Hare airport in Chicago they actually have electronic seat covers, a sensor notices you coming in and hey presto a fresh seat cover appears on the loo.

Not much use if you are out on the lash in Temple Bar:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

fussyonion wrote: »
    You are old. Decrepit even. Bought yourself a grave plot yet? :pac:

I've been browsing, yeah. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

eisenberg1 wrote: »

No but great fun if you are killing time waiting for a plane, squeeze up against the side of the cubicle wave your hand over the sensor and a new cover appears, repeat until you get bored or until your plane is ready. With me my plane was ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Where I come from they say
    "Howiya horse" or "howiya now!"

Cashier: Howiya horse
    Me: hi
    Cashier: That'll be €35 boss
    Me: Here you go
    Cashier: Thanks mate.... here's you're change buddy

Oh feck off you moron!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

"On location"

"All to play for"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    "On location"

"All to play for"
    "Lets park that for now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

You could just hold it, but you'd be bursting by the time you'd cleared immigration!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The smell of dirty sweat, I'm not going to sugar coat it and call it stale BO, it's dirty sweat and it reeks. A fat fella got on the bus in Limerick and the smell of him turned my stomach. I held my nose at each stop in case he came past me again. It was the worst BO I've ever smelled. Seriously, if anyone has a close friend/relative with a serious BO problem, tell them, nicely, but for the love of God, tell them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The smell of dirty sweat, I'm not going to sugar coat it and call it stale BO, it's dirty sweat and it reeks. A fat fella got on the bus in Limerick and the smell of him turned my stomach. I held my nose at each stop in case he came past me again. It was the worst BO I've ever smelled. Seriously, if anyone has a close friend/relative with a serious BO problem, tell them, nicely, but for the love of God, tell them.

I don't think it matters to some people. There was a girl in college who reeked. The tutors told her a lot to wash more frequently but she still smelled. One day I Accidently told her to take a shower, and she still never did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Ladies toilets.. oh dear lord, why can't women just sit instead of squatting? There wouldn't be pee all over the place if you just sit your arse down. Just put tissue on the toilet seat beforehand if you are that concerned. :confused:

Totally agree.

And when the topic of work or public toilets comes up on any forum, you have people posting 'ooh I never sit, I hover'. What do they expect, a feck1ng medal?
    Instead I'm thinking, oh right, so you are possibly the manky yoke that left urine on the seat and/ or on the floor. :mad:

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Totally agree.

And when the topic of work or public toilets comes up on any forum, you have people posting 'ooh I never sit, I hover'. What do they expect, a feck1ng medal?
    Instead I'm thinking, oh right, so you are possibly the manky yoke that left urine on the seat and/ or on the floor. :mad:

How about a trapeze style swing over the bowl, and then you could kinda hang out of it:D

Oh yes. I was in a queue yesterday, guy behind me, late twenties, maybe thirty, with a small child. I could hardly breathe, with the stink of him. He looked clean, and the child was perfectly clean, but he stank to the high heavens.

How about a trapeze style swing over the bowl, and then you could kinda hang out of it:D

Maybe that is what some women do! I don't know how else they manage to wet the seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Oh yes. I was in a queue yesterday, guy behind me, late twenties, maybe thirty, with a small child. I could hardly breathe, with the stink of him. He looked clean, and the child was perfectly clean, but he stank to the high heavens.

That's a real killer for some people. No matter how much they wash they just stink of BO. There was something on TV about a girl who suffered from this and I think she ended up getting sweat glands in her armpits botoxed after doctors tried every cream, ointment and deodorant under the sun.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    That's a real killer for some people. No matter how much they wash they just stink of BO. There was something on TV about a girl who suffered from this and I think she ended up getting sweat glands in her armpits botoxed after doctors tried every cream, ointment and deodorant under the sun.

perhaps, but in general I reckon I can tell the difference between the smell of fresh sweat (from manual labour or sports) and some manky bastard who has not used hot water and soap, and doesn't bother to change their shirt each day.

The person I was quoting said the person was clean.

Ok, botox it is so, as far as I know that is what is was designed for.

Yeah. And it seems far more of a benefit to someone than stopping wrinkles for a few years.

Yes, and it knocks years off your armpits:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I know some people have underlying medical problems that cause it, but there are proceedures that they can have done and there's too much of it around these days for them all to have glandular problems.

Yes, and it knocks years off your armpits:D

Lol.
    The reason I said he looked clean was I didn't immediately know it was him, by his appearance, when the smell hit me, but this was rank, stale sweat.
    I've heard of the Botox treatment, but tbh, I think this may have been a straightforward case requiring soap and water treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

I was walking back from the local shop one evening and four boys, 11/12 age group , on bikes, were blocking the path. They made no attempt to move, until I said excuse me, and they then reluctantly moved the bikes slightly. A couple of minutes later, they came by on the bikes, screaming and screeching deliberately at me.
    I seldom use bad language, but let's just say they didn't expect the response they got. :p Brats!

I had two little scrotes run over my sons scooter which he had just fallen off. They literally cycled over it missing him by inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,969 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Losing a sneeze :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,969 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I know some people have underlying medical problems that cause it, but there are proceedures that they can have done and there's too much of it around these days for them all to have glandular problems.

Plus, washing your clothes properly takes care of a huge proportion of that.

Was wearing a heart monitor since monday, and had to take it off today. Had all these little plastic things stuck to my chest.
    Thought Id be a brave woman and rip them off instead of pussyfooting around.

:eek::eek: riiiiiiiiip!!!! :eek:

Have fecking burn marks on my chest now. :(

ow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'm back complaining about ads.

The newest Aldi ad where your wan is talking about other shops blinding you with science when you walk in :pac: I mean really! Is she being serious unaware of the song and using it as an everyday phrase or squeezing in a reference. I'd put money on it not being the 2nd option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭sleepytrees

Oh I've just thought of another thing that annoys me..

GRAMMAR NAZIS.......

You know the type, just dying for someone to make a mistake and then think they are great correcting it and then be like 'oh sorry, it's the grammar Nazi in me"

Oh sorry here is my fist!!!!

I'm in a pissy humour cause my son switched all the buttons on my laptop, so loads of grammar mistakes to come!! BITE ME

Oh I've just thought of another thing that annoys me..

GRAMMAR NAZIS.......

You know the type, just dying for someone to make a mistake and then think they are great correcting it and then be like 'oh sorry, it's the grammar Nazi in me"

Oh sorry here is my fist!!!!

I'm in a pissy humour cause my son switched all the buttons on my laptop, so loads of grammar mistakes to come!! BITE ME

Love this! :D