Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHAT ABOUT MAH LEGS, CHARLIE MURPHY??!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Edwardius

I should probably resurrect this. Training took a dip because my coaching/programming load in ECB went through the roof.

Started back using a basic strengthening program with a very small amount of Olympic movements so warming/psyching up is minimised and I can hammer through stuff fairly quickly.

Trained in the Muscle Factory in Baldoyle yesterday, nice spot.

Back squats: 5x3x120kg
    CG Binch Priss, 80kg 5-5-4-5-3 (triceps stopped working)
    Chest supported row: 3x10 at 60kg.

Def sn pulls: 5x5x90kg
    Pendlays: 5x5x90kg
    Jerk drills
    planks+25kg
    rolling

'sabout it.

Weds: Just got bottom-up front squats squats done, 5x3@90

Yesterday:
    Pause FS (just below stickin' point), 5x3@96

Snatch: up to 95, 97 behind

Wednesday's deficit clean pulls: 115kg

Press: 5x5x55kg
    SS with pullups, 6-6-6@12kg-6-10

Did a super total today, ran the snatch and clean and jerk with three attempts and just whatever on the power lifts.

Snatch: 87, 92f, 95f
    Wiring was fried, didn't get under 95,

Clean and jerk:
    100-105-107pb

Haven't been doing many jerks lately so that's a nice bonus. First time I got a proper clean and jerk pb in training in years and didn't need to get wound up for it

Squat: 140, missed 145
    Binch 95
    Deadlift 170

Total: 599kg

Bench didn't feel strong, I had a nice run on it a couple of weeks ago but I skipped tricep work a few times and pressed Friday. Bad Ed.

Arsed around with powerliftin' squats. Worked up to 150kg, was about 2 inches high though.

Squats:
    5x5x110
    Low bar things "fixed" something with these #sciencez. Still have no legs.

Def Sn pull 5x5x93kg
    row: 80kg
    Binch Priss: 80kg, 5-5-5-5-6 (better)

Feeling "stronger" but leg strength is still woeful.

Jerk voodoo,
    BUFS: 82kg 5x3, was doing these out of a rack and felt weak.
    DEF clean pull: 5x5x120kg.
    Reverse lunge 60kg.

Comp in a few weeks. Gotta start paying some attention to the smug lifts.

Good banter "in da club" this evening.

Paused fronts (below stickin point)
    5x3x100kg

10min snatch: 100kg, hit 102kg (PB) after the timer ran out. Had to pull 100 down when I got under it.

Pbs all over the shop for the lads, it was one of those evenings where the planets aligned. Friday's a good day in ECB.

Clean and jerked 105, cleaned 110 (PB), racked 115 but overpulled and mistimed so it crashed (ow).
    Clarked it a few times too. Feeling strong but a little beaten up.

press: 5X5X58KG

Pullups, 6 sets:
    14-6-6-6-8-10

Right, dropping pull volume next week and going to throw a focus on skill work.

Back squat, 115kg, 5-5-5-5-10

Deficit snatch pulls 5x3 100kg

Binch: 5x5 83kg

Row: same as Binch

Footwork ands voodoo stuff for jerk.

Bufs: 93kg, 15 reps across six sets
    Def clean pulls 5x3x125
    Rev lunges 65kg

Cycled into a headwind yesterday. Killed all gains :(

Caught AIDS the other day.

Yesterday: Stickin' point pause frontalz: 5x3x102, not too bad again.

Laying off the smug lifts for another wee while due to elbows throwing a fit. Lame.

Stupid elbows.

Squats, 120kg:

Just kept going on the last set

Pressed yesterday, 60kg 4 5 5 5 5

Today: snatched 85 handy, cleaned 105, bufs 90 3x3
    Front squatted 115 for a single

Elbows improved but I'll steer clear of pulls for a burt longer

today:
    one hour of friction massage on the elbows. Friction massage is sore.

Paused frontalz: 5x3 105kg

Back squat:
    5x5x125kg (pr)
    Left elbow almost ok, right one still cabbaged.

let's see:
    Last weds:
    BUFS: 5x3x97.5, slightly lower height than before

-scene missing-

Yesterday:
    Squats
    130kg 5-5-5-5-3-2

That's probably the first proper thousand-yard-stare squat session I've ever done. Legs are in ribbons today. That's 3-4-5rm pbs for sets across. Speed and depth were good, positions were starting to shift a bit. started to grind the 5th set and didn't fancy getting folded so took a walk before finishing the set. I remember being impressed by someone doing that with powerliftin' squats a few years ago so that's kind of a "not as sh!t" pb. I'll do something tomorrow and deload next week.

Left elbow good, right elbow improving (rehab was a little aggressive so I've backed it off a bit)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Edwardius wrote: »
    let's see:
    Last weds:
    BUFS: 5x3x97.5, slightly lower height than before

-scene missing-

Yesterday:
    Squats
    130kg 5-5-5-5-3-2

That's probably the first proper thousand-yard-stare squat session I've ever done. Legs are in ribbons today. That's 3-4-5rm pbs for sets across. Speed and depth were good, positions were starting to shift a bit. started to grind the 5th set and didn't fancy getting folded so took a walk before finishing the set. I remember being impressed by someone doing that with powerliftin' squats a few years ago so that's kind of a "not as sh!t" pb. I'll do something tomorrow and deload next week.

Left elbow good, right elbow improving (rehab was a little aggressive so I've backed it off a bit)

What's all this getting strong malarky?

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    What's all this getting strong malarky?

A steady diet of excessive driving, sleep deprivation, not training and alcohol seems to do the trick. I'm still sore :(

today: Pause frontalz:

107kg (not paused)x3 (possible PB), x3(paused) (Paused PB), x2+F. Damn

Felt ok about that until a feckin whippersnapper pointed out it's 5kg more than me best snatch :(

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭imnothim

Felt ok about that until a feckin whippersnapper pointed out it's 5kg more than me best snatch :(

lol

reet, Monday: 5x5x110 squat, handy

Today: out with those refugees.

BUFS, 5x3 85kg, push pressed 80, missed 90 (scared of elbows)

switched to behind the neck snatch grip pp, got 95kg, power cleaned 90-95-100

Squatting snatch balance thing: doubles up to 60kg

Hammer Kurlz+triceps

Right, I can power clean, BTNPP, Snatch balance and squat without irritation. Will do some bar work tomorrow and see if the elbows remain attached,

Gestern:

Snatch, singles
    40-60-80-90-95(f)-90

pause fronts 3x3 90kg

BTNPP+J: 90kg, missed 100, power cleaned 100 handy.

Elbow is manageable

should probably start this again. Lifted in the Leinsters, hit 93/102 @86.4kg, lost 95 sn behind, pressed 106, cleaned 110 and missed the jerk. Elbow isn't too bad, I've been staying out of its way and making sacrifices to the tendon Gods.

Decided not to bother taking any down time. Had a few conversations over the last while and I don't think I or most of the other lads and lasses train as hard as they could, so it's back to the grindstone. Going to push things on a bit more in terms of volume and intensity and see where things go, hitting a proper program again next week but just thought I'd do some triples today.

Today

snatch: singles up to 93, missed 95 and 96 behind.
    triples: 77-77-78-79-80x4
    C&J 100, didn't jerk 105, triples (on both) 80-81-82-83-84
    Back squat 4x9x95

Felt good today.

This morning:

squat, 5x7 102.5

then "Ho-leg-caust" (a million billion sets of leg things), all done before 07.30. Gonna shift that horror to Friday I think.

Friday:
    Snatch, 90x1, 72x2x3
    Clean and Jerk 100, clean 105, 80x3
    Front squat 7x5 92kg (easy)
    possibly did some curls

Saturday
    Paused Front Squat 10x3 @98kg (bit tough)

Monday:
    6am back squats
    4x9x102.5 (grand)

PM:
    Snatch 72x1x3
    hang power snatch, 79x1, 64x3x2
    Chesticles and triceps (only doing two exercises for each)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Monday:
    6am

Is there something wrong with you? is it terminal.

token wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with you? is it terminal.

Yes. No.

Righto:
    Clean and jerk: 1x3@80kg (I think)
    Hangin' power clean+Power Jerk 95kg, 3x2 76kg
    Back squattin' 5x7 110kg
    Shoulders + Lower back
    (never done seated db press before)

lagging a bit today, I forsee suffering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Ah Herr Smolov. That'll put balls on your hair.

More 6am sadness:

Front squat 7x5x100kg. Fairly ok, upper back was a bit fatigued from extensions yesterday. No biggie.

leg extensions and GHR, only did 4 sets of 8 on 2 exercises this time.