Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2014-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

97HmU96.jpg

First draft. Opinions welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

theRB wrote: »
    4BYLOVJ.jpg

I tend to go for cheap strikers and invest heavily in midfield. Thoughts?

Invest heavily in Chelsea / everton ,i think it is Too early to go with 3 from any team ,not a mind 2 teams,i would try for more variety starting,no arsenal ,liverpool,united or Spurs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,350 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Any opinions i know the subs are probably weak.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Any opinions i know the subs are probably weak.

That's actually a very decent team. As you say, Subs aren't the best but strong enough starting 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭theRB

sword1 wrote: »
    Invest heavily in Chelsea / everton ,i think it is Too early to go with 3 from any team ,not a mind 2 teams,i would try for more variety starting,no arsenal ,liverpool,united or Spurs!!!

Took out Sturridge because Remy looks like going to Liverpool. Don't see Arsenal or United as having any quality players on the level of Hazard/Fabregas who represent any sort of value.

(Actually, I've swapped Hazard and Mirallas for Ramsey and Sterling.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

happy enough with this

315404.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

I did the oppossite with remy ,i.e took him out when i heard he was going to liverpool and put in sturridge.Is remy going to be a starter there ,you would imagine not to start with,cant see how they line out,he is a good player worth his price but untill if he is not starting games he looks expensive,as soon as it looks like he is starting i will try to get him in

sword1 wrote: »
    I did the oppossite with remy ,i.e took him out when i heard he was going to liverpool and put in sturridge.Is remy going to be a starter there ,you would imagine not to start with,cant see how they line out,he is a good player worth his price but untill if he is not starting games he looks expensive,as soon as it looks like he is starting i will try to get him in

I expect them to start Sturridge and Remy up front with Sterling and Lallana on the wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Little Bubbles

What ye think of this team.
    De gea/myhil

Terry/debuchy/shaw(wisdom/Bruce)

Eriksen/ozil/silva/mirallas/Walters

Van persie/giroud(Vaz te)

Think Walters will always score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,029 ✭✭✭✭8-10

What ye think of this team.
    De gea/myhil

Terry/debuchy/shaw(wisdom/Bruce)

Eriksen/ozil/silva/mirallas/Walters

Van persie/giroud(Vaz te)

Think Walters will always score.

I'm really surprised at Shaw being in all these teams. 6.0m for a player who only had 2 assists and no goals last year playing for a team who were awful at the back last year

Better value in that price bracket I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭farranreeboy

Thoughts

Mannone

Shaw
    Debuchy
    Filipe Luis

Mata
    Hazard
    Sanchez
    Mirallas

Remy
    Giroud
    Dzeko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,505 ✭✭✭✭CSF

8-10 wrote: »
    I'm really surprised at Shaw being in all these teams. 6.0m for a player who only had 2 assists and no goals last year playing for a team who were awful at the back last year

They do have remarkably good opening fixtures but over the course of the year I'm inclined to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

8-10 wrote: »

If LvG plays with wingbacks, Shaw could rake in the points. Especially since crosses and dribbles are more rewarded by BPS this season and he did a lot of that last season. That being said, I'm doubling up on Terry and Luis and will wait to see if ManU can actually keep cleanies first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Rosco79

Why are so many buying Myhill, just going with a one keeper strategy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

I expect them to start Sturridge and Remy up front with Sterling and Lallana on the wing.

Liverpool will play with only one striker, it's Rodgers preferred system. If Remy plays it will be on the left unless Sturridge is rested/injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

Latest draft. Is anyone to hwlp improve it?

De Gea
    Myhill

Baines
    Terry
    Debuchy
    Wisdom
    Duff

Hazard
    Ramsey
    Mata
    Eriksen
    Albrighton

Van Persie
    Jelavic
    Barmby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭ChoiChoi

frimpong wrote: »
    Latest draft. Is anyone to hwlp improve it?

De Gea
    Myhill

Baines
    Terry
    Debuchy
    Wisdom
    Duff

Hazard
    Ramsey
    Mata
    Eriksen
    Albrighton

Van Persie
    Jelavic
    Barmby

In my opinion 7 million is too much for a defender, and Everton also have Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and United in their first 7 games. I'd swap Baines out if I were you.

Benimar wrote: »
    Liverpool will play with only one striker, it's Rodgers preferred system. If Remy plays it will be on the left unless Sturridge is rested/injured.

What makes you think that it's Rogers' preferred system? They played two up front every match for the past season and a half and have been very successful. If they were for some reason going to change now, I don't think they would have bought multiple strikers in this transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

What makes you think that it's Rogers' preferred system? They played two up front every match for the past season and a half and have been very successful. If they were for some reason going to change now, I don't think they would have bought multiple strikers in this transfer window.

He played two up for about half a season. He did it because Suarez and Sturridge were completely undroppable.

I'd say it's pretty common knowledge amongst Liverpool fans that Sturridge will play up front, supported from wide by Sterling and one of the multiple midfielders that have been signed.

Two strikers were bought as Sturridge was the only decent one on the books. Liverpool now have 3 in total, one of which can play wide. There is absolutely no way Rodgers will play two up front week in week out. Sometimes, yes. Often, no.

Benimar wrote: »
    He played two up for about half a season. He did it because Suarez and Sturridge were completely undroppable.

I'd say it's pretty common knowledge amongst Liverpool fans that Sturridge will play up front, supported from wide by Sterling and one of the multiple midfielders that have been signed.

Two strikers were bought as Sturridge was the only decent one on the books. Liverpool now have 3 in total, one of which can play wide. There is absolutely no way Rodgers will play two up front week in week out. Sometimes, yes. Often, no.

Has he come out since the end of last season saying anything about his preferred formation though? I think he'll be keen to continue with the system that he used when he won 11 consecutive matches. Fair enough, it won't be the same without Suarez but I would be surprised to see Liverpool lining up without two central attacking players most of the time.

Rosco79 wrote: »
    Why are so many buying Myhill, just going with a one keeper strategy?

Essentially yes. He played the most minutes of all the 4.0 keepers last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Has he come out since the end of last season saying anything about his preferred formation though? I think he'll be keen to continue with the system that he used when he won 11 consecutive matches. Fair enough, it won't be the same without Suarez but I would be surprised to see Liverpool lining up without two central attacking players most of the time.

Id have to agree with Benimar. I think its highly unlikely liverpool will go with 2 central strikers. I cant see lambert starting league games and remy will play wide or centrally if sturridge is injured. A lot of the time last year suarez or sturridge drifted wide so it wasnt always 2 central strikers even in those 11 wins you mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Here's where I'm at for draft #3 after putting a few hours research into it today:

99b15ac598a3f4690e68b44cbf3d8b7b.png

I'm happier with this one than I have been with the other 2.

GK: Mannone and Krul rotate perfectly all season. Sunderland had 11 clean sheets last season despite it taking Poyet a while to get his system across to the players and undo the damage of Di Canio. I would expect a couple more this season hopefully. Newcastle had 10 and should get about the same again. While I wouldn't be all that confident in their defence, I do feel it's the best combination if you're going for rotating goalkeepers outside of Swansea/Stoke which costs £10m, £1m more than the Sunderland/Newcastle combination.

DF: While I can't say too much as per the charter, after doing some research into Shaw last season using the statistics on offer from FF Scout membership, I think it's safe to say that if Shaw puts forward similar statistics this season his goal and assist (assist especially) numbers will rocket from last season as he will be playing with superior players this season. His dribbling tendencies could lead to many BP's as per the new system too. Debuchy will be first choice RB in a side who were very solid at the back last year. I would expect them to regress a bit in terms of clean sheets but still be up near the top. His tendency for picking up a card is a worry, but similar to Shaw he should see his numbers improve due to playing with far superior team-mates. Chelsea would have to be the favourite to lead the clean sheet table this season. Terry is their leader and loves popping up in the opposition box. I may consider changing to Luis, but for the time being I stick with Terry as the full back situation at Chelsea is unclear.

MF: Sanchez has a conversion rate of just over 30% which is superb for someone listed as a midfielder. He should get chance after chance in that Arsenal team, especially if they sign a defensive midfielder to play alongside Ramsey in the pivot, which would free him up a lot more. He may take time settling in of course but for someone who will be more of a wide forward, I'll take the chance. Hazard speaks for himself and should take the vast majority of set pieces (and will almost certainly take penalties) now that Lampard is gone. I fancy de Jong to be the bargain of the season at £7.0m. He'll be on the vast majority of set pieces and the team will be built around him. Eriksen another who will take lots of set pieces and should see plenty of the ball if Pochettino has any sense!

ST: There's question marks over where Rooney will play and I may consider ditching him as things become more clear, but he racks up decent totals every year. With my defence and midfield, I just can't afford Van Persie without re-shaping my side completely. I may do it, but not for now. With Negredo out for a number of months and Aguero's injury problems/World Cup excursions, Dzeko should be the main main (or at least guaranteed a start) for a while. City racked up a mountain of goals last year and Dzeko got his fair share. I'd expect that to happen again. Wickham is my third striker for now. There's question marks over his contract and whether Poyet may want to give Fletcher (priced at £5.5m) a shot, but it's something I'll monitor. If he does start I think he'd be the best value of the cheap strikers. Borini will hopefully join, Johnson is there. That's better ammunition than any of the other sides can boast (e.g., Burnley for Ings) and as the main striker in a 4-5-1/4-3-3 whoever plays up front for Sunderland will essentially have the attack built around them. I would LOVE to get Bony or Giroud in there ahead of Wickham, but the only ways I could do it and be still be reasonably happy is by downgrading (Sanchez to Ramsey and Terry to Luis for example), but something keeps telling me not to do it. I'll leave it as is for now and re-evaluate over the coming weeks. I could drop Rooney and go Bony/Dzeko/Giroud with Terry downgrading to Luis. A few options anyway.

Subs: Albrighton should replace Lloyd Dyer at Leicester. A lively winger who is usually good for 3 or 4 assists a season and should get a couple more if starting more games. He got 5 goals and 7 assists in 1800 minutes in 2010/2011 for example. He fits the bill as a £4.5m, substitute midfielder. Wisdom's value as a £4.0m substitute defender looks good at West Brom, though there is talk that they are signing the Costa Rica RB soon. One would have to imagine Wisdom wouldn't be allowed to go to West Brom if he wasn't guaranteed game time however. The last £4.0m defender slot is basically going to be whoever is a starter from Duff, Upson, Wasilewski or Moore.

Your thoughts?

Paully D wrote: »
    Here's where I'm at for draft #3 after putting a few hours research into it today:

99b15ac598a3f4690e68b44cbf3d8b7b.png

I'm happier with this one than I have been with the other 2.

GK: Mannone and Krul rotate perfectly all season. Sunderland had 11 clean sheets last season despite it taking Poyet a while to get his system across to the players and undo the damage of Di Canio. I would expect a couple more this season hopefully. Newcastle had 10 and should get about the same again. While I wouldn't be all that confident in their defence, I do feel it's the best combination if you're going for rotating goalkeepers outside of Swansea/Stoke which costs £10m, £1m more than the Sunderland/Newcastle combination.

DF: While I can't say too much as per the charter, after doing some research into Shaw last season using the statistics on offer from FF Scout membership, I think it's safe to say that if Shaw puts forward similar statistics this season his goal and assist (assist especially) numbers will rocket from last season as he will be playing with superior players this season. His dribbling tendencies could lead to many BP's as per the new system too. Debuchy will be first choice RB in a side who were very solid at the back last year. I would expect them to regress a bit in terms of clean sheets but still be up near the top. His tendency for picking up a card is a worry, but similar to Shaw he should see his numbers improve due to playing with far superior team-mates. Chelsea would have to be the favourite to lead the clean sheet table this season. Terry is their leader and loves popping up in the opposition box. I may consider changing to Luis, but for the time being I stick with Terry as the full back situation at Chelsea is unclear.

MF: Sanchez has a conversion rate of just over 30% which is superb for someone listed as a midfielder. He should get chance after chance in that Arsenal team, especially if they sign a defensive midfielder to play alongside Ramsey in the pivot, which would free him up a lot more. He may take time settling in of course but for someone who will be more of a wide forward, I'll take the chance. Hazard speaks for himself and should take the vast majority of set pieces (and will almost certainly take penalties) now that Lampard is gone. I fancy de Jong to be the bargain of the season at £7.0m. He'll be on the vast majority of set pieces and the team will be built around him. Eriksen another who will take lots of set pieces and should see plenty of the ball if Pochettino has any sense!

ST: There's question marks over where Rooney will play and I may consider ditching him as things become more clear, but he racks up decent totals every year. With my defence and midfield, I just can't afford Van Persie without re-shaping my side completely. I may do it, but not for now. With Negredo out for a number of months and Aguero's injury problems/World Cup excursions, Dzeko should be the main main (or at least guaranteed a start) for a while. City racked up a mountain of goals last year and Dzeko got his fair share. I'd expect that to happen again. Wickham is my third striker for now. There's question marks over his contract and whether Poyet may want to give Fletcher (priced at £5.5m) a shot, but it's something I'll monitor. If he does start I think he'd be the best value of the cheap strikers. Borini will hopefully join, Johnson is there. That's better ammunition than any of the other sides can boast (e.g., Burnley for Ings) and as the main striker in a 4-5-1/4-3-3 whoever plays up front for Sunderland will essentially have the attack built around them. I would LOVE to get Bony or Giroud in there ahead of Wickham, but the only ways I could do it and be still be reasonably happy is by downgrading (Sanchez to Ramsey and Terry to Luis for example), but something keeps telling me not to do it. I'll leave it as is for now and re-evaluate over the coming weeks. I could drop Rooney and go Bony/Dzeko/Giroud with Terry downgrading to Luis. A few options anyway.

Subs: Albrighton should replace Lloyd Dyer at Leicester. A lively winger who is usually good for 3 or 4 assists a season and should get a couple more if starting more games. He got 5 goals and 7 assists in 1800 minutes in 2010/2011 for example. He fits the bill as a £4.5m, substitute midfielder. Wisdom's value as a £4.0m substitute defender looks good at West Brom, though there is talk that they are signing the Costa Rica RB soon. One would have to imagine Wisdom wouldn't be allowed to go to West Brom if he wasn't guaranteed game time however. The last £4.0m defender slot is basically going to be whoever is a starter from Duff, Upson, Wasilewski or Moore.

Your thoughts?
    I like it very similar to my current selection
    DDG Given
    Terry o shea collocinni huth taylor
    hazard de jong sanchez eriksen ( albrighton)
    rooney dzeko Ings
    6 of the same front 7 my ings to your wickham and then Im rotating sun/new as defenders as opposed to your keepers. Then DDG instead of shaw for Utd coverage. My last two defenders huth and taylor rotate aswell . So Id play terry and two of the four defs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I like it very similar to my current selection
    DDG Given
    Terry o shea collocinni huth taylor
    hazard de jong sanchez eriksen ( albrighton)
    rooney dzeko Ings
    6 of the same front 7 my ings to your wickham and then Im rotating sun/new as defenders as opposed to your keepers. Then DDG instead of shaw for Utd coverage. My last two defenders huth and taylor rotate aswell . So Id play terry and two of the four defs.

Cheers mate. A very, very similar setup indeed and good logic re: rotating the defenders. Huth and Taylor will rotate all season and will give you exceptional home games for the first quarter of the season.

I've thrown in what my side would look like if I dropped Terry, Rooney and Wickham and went for Bony, Giroud and Luis instead as I alluded to near the end of my original post:

6cb3246bc7ae62556705291d48494549.png

I think it looks a lot more balanced up top, but my two worries would be having no Manchester United midfield or attacking coverage given their fixtures and having three Arsenal players despite them having a tough first seven weeks. A tough call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Paully D's team and insight into selection

It's a very good looking team Paully. It looks very solid and has a nice mix of players in midfield and defenders.

For 9.0 you can't complain with your keepers. I'm torn between 4 options myself. Green/Murphy (8.5) Mannone/Krul (9.0) De Gea/Murphy (9.5) and Begovic/Fabianski (10.0). I think pure clean sheets rather than saves especially for potential added bonus is the way to go for keepers this year.

I think you know the front 3 aren't perfect but I don't think any of us really know what way to approach those 3 positions at the moment. I for one just can't trust Dzeko, I don't care if he seems nailed on to start I just seem to never have him at the right time. City's start isn't fantastic on paper so I wouldn't be scrambling to get any of their players in.

I wouldn't be hot on Wickham either, but I would bow to your knowledge on all things Sunderland. Their start just seems tricky enough. I've got Austin in as my own 6.0 forward right now and not overly happy myself. And as for Rooney it's simply impossible to know what LVG will do with United. You have to imagine RVP will get the best opportunities but I thought Rooney was a great fantasy option last year when fit.

You've got a very good team there and wouldn't worry too much for a while. The odd daily/hourly tinker with things will happen I'm sure but nothing out of the ordinary really is needed :pac:

Cheers mate. A very, very similar setup indeed and good logic re: rotating the defenders. Huth and Taylor will rotate all season and will give you exceptional home games for the first quarter of the season.

I've thrown in what my side would look like if I dropped Terry, Rooney and Wickham and went for Bony, Giroud and Luis instead as I alluded to near the end of my original post:

I think it looks a lot more balanced up top, but my two worries would be having no Manchester United midfield or attacking coverage given their fixtures and having three Arsenal players despite them having a tough first seven weeks. A tough call.

It depends what LVG's plans are for Rooney if it looks like he will be up top or just off rvp Id prefer Option 1. Id feel a lot more comfortable captaining rooney in that situation over giroud. Bony has some nice fixtures after week 1 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭ChoiChoi

Here's my provisional team.

My team.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Some interesting reading in these threads, after soaking it all in for a few days i wonder what yous think of this.

Think it's worth giving RVP a few weeks at least to shine, given his relationship with LVG and their fixtures. It seems to be likely ATM that he'll but up top with Mata behind and if so could be dynamite. If he does get injured its easy to make a change.

The only thing I don't like is I had wanted Sanchez in there but couldn't afford both him and hazard, can't see where I'd shave 1.5 off unless I went for three 4m defs to rotate for one spot but at present they don't seem to be out there. Ramsey not a bad alternative though!

315429.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Your thoughts?
    We have 10 of the same 15 so I like it haha. Shaw is someone I'd love to pick, but will wait to see if ManU are more solid defensively and downgrade Terry if I have to.
    de Jong is another that interests me a lot, but I'm skeptical Newcastle can bed in so many attacking signings inmediately. I have Arnie and Sigurdsson as 4/5 mids.
    Giroud/Dzeko/Wickham is my front line so not the strongest. I'm only confident about Studge of the premium strikers but don't think he's worth the 3m more than the good 8.5m options.