Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Base price wrote: »
    What farmers agreed to the grid?
    Oh, do you mean some farmers that were extremely/financially active in the the IFA at that time in order to row the boat in their own direction - as opposed to most of the farmers in my area (small farmers) who have paid their IFA subs year on year and rely on the IFA to represent them in a fair and equitable way?

Any farmer producing R grade or better beef/weanlings were not getting paid for the extra meat yield of their animals, I'm a sheep farmer , so I have no interest in it but do you honestly believe that an O grade animal has the same meat yield per kilo as a U grade, yet before the grid there was very little difference in the price,...... U grades susidising O grades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

Last June suckler farmers that finished there own stock and put them to grass early cleaned up. Also in September 2012 you would have bought AA and HE heifers 350-400kgs for 200ish with there weight. They made 5/kg in June 2012. There was serious money made on heifers lads were getting 1500 euro for heifers killing 300kgs. I remember one lad having heifers going into 1800 euro.

Bulls were on fire especially under age. 4.5+ of a base on the grid. Again alot of these were bought for 2-2.2/kg in late 2012. I know lads that bought bulls for 900 euro and they made 1700 in the factory in June. Shortterm cattle bought in late 2012 and finished in June left serious money.

Loads of suckler farmers turned to finishing that winter, I was told by one that suckler farmers would never again sell there stock as weanling/stores.

Ye the price was great in the spring and early summer of last year but none got rich off it. Cattle went into the house in after poor or practically no thrive in 2012. With only ****e fodder that ran out in late march. But no doubt 13 panned into a great year.

Last June suckler farmers that finished there own stock and put them to grass early cleaned up. Also in September 2012 you would have bought AA and HE heifers 350-400kgs for 200ish with there weight. They made 5/kg in June 2012. There was serious money made on heifers lads were getting 1500 euro for heifers killing 300kgs. I remember one lad having heifers going into 1800 euro.

Bulls were on fire especially under age. 4.5+ of a base on the grid. Again alot of these were bought for 2-2.2/kg in late 2012. I know lads that bought bulls for 900 euro and they made 1700 in the factory in June. Shortterm cattle bought in late 2012 and finished in June left serious money.

Loads of suckler farmers turned to finishing that winter, I was told by one that suckler farmers would never again sell there stock as weanling/stores.

Where was there early grass last year???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Where was there early grass last year???

I had cattle out from March 1st, had to rehouse heavy cattle (50%in stock numbers) in mid May for 10 days. It was as much weather as grass I was getting poor utilisation on lowish covers.

rangler1 wrote: »
    Any farmer producing R grade or better beef/weanlings were not getting paid for the extra meat yield of their animals, I'm a sheep farmer , so I have no interest in it but do you honestly believe that an O grade animal has the same meat yield per kilo as a U grade, yet before the grid there was very little difference in the price,...... U grades susidising O grades.
    I never said I thought so. Cattle were always graded. And the price of beef is the problem not the difference between the grades. Some of the most prominent u grade suckler producers that forced this grid down our necks are gone to milking cows now.

I had cattle out from March 1st, had to rehouse heavy cattle (50%in stock numbers) in mid May for 10 days. It was as much weather as grass I was getting poor utilisation on lowish covers.

There wasn't enough grass on land to wipe your bottom until June. Lads were in dire straights. We should of mowed yours!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭epfff

Can we move this argument about the grid to its own thread
    As I agree that the grid was designed by farmers that didn't kill cattle(the majority)and needs modifications I also think the grid is ruining our beef price tracker thread

Can't get quote for next week for bulls u16 or 24

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I never said I thought so. Cattle were always graded. And the price of beef is the problem not the difference between the grades. Some of the most prominent u grade suckler producers that forced this grid down our necks are gone to milking cows now.

My point exactly... problem has nothing to do with the grid.
    Grid raised the price differential between the grades and rightly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

Beef Price Tracker discussion only - from now on please.

[/MOD]

rangler1 wrote: »
    My point exactly... problem has nothing to do with the grid.
    Grid raised the price differential between the grades and rightly so

You don't know what you are talking about by your own admission. I killed cattle of all grades before and after it was introduced. That's all I have left to sy to you. 3.75 slaney bullocks for next week. They might steady at that I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

No more warnings!

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Have a mix of over and underage fr bullocks.
    Slaney agent didn't want to hear from me.
    Also said expect under 3.50 by 1st of August.
    Neighbour and I are looking into getting a lorry load to the north.
    Things are getting very bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

I had cattle out on the 28th feb 2013 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Factories have another excuse to drop prices now seeing that Russia has banned imports of some offal products from ireland. That's convinent for them.

Feck it I must be dotin! The torrid spring of 2013 wasn't so. Itwas sunshine and lollipops and I was dreaming! 3.70 for next week I'm reliably informed. But oddly strong cattle were slightly up today in Enniscorthy. I'm starting to believe ya Pudsey boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Feck it I must be dotin! The torrid spring of 2013 wasn't so. Itwas sunshine and lollipops and I was dreaming! 3.70 for next week I'm reliably informed. But oddly strong cattle were slightly up today in Enniscorthy. I'm starting to believe ya Pudsey boy!

Many cows in enniscorthy today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Crossakiel

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Factories have another excuse to drop prices now seeing that Russia has banned imports of some offal products from ireland. That's convinent for them.

I think this is politically motivated due to the governments support of Ukraine, cant see why it would effect the price that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

i had cattle broke out on 3rd february :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,844 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

simx wrote: »
    Many cows in enniscorthy today?

Wasn't very many. Or very many of anything. Only 300 odd cattle. But what I seen weren't cheap. Big Holstein cow 790 kg 1040. More than she'd bring in factory I think. Big belly to fall out of her....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

I had cattle out mid February 2013, it started to turn nasty around mid March and stayed so until mid May, p.s. no need for the sarcasm....
    €3.70 base for heifers in the angus scheme booked in for next week

locky76 wrote: »
    I had cattle out mid February 2013, it started to turn nasty around mid March and stayed so until mid May, p.s. no need for the sarcasm....
    €3.70 base for heifers in the angus scheme booked in for next week

I'm sure you did and good for you and I'm really reeally sorry that I hurt your feelings with sarcasm...It was indeed a great spring I was wrong.

Wasn't very many. Or very many of anything. Only 300 odd cattle. But what I seen weren't cheap. Big Holstein cow 790 kg 1040. More than she'd bring in factory I think. Big belly to fall out of her....

the full value of her and more by the sounds of it so, do you be there everyweek? mr.w polling strong today? :D

:D not every week. And yes mr w and son always a problem shal we say..

yes in kk too and several other places, ya nearly know by the heads of the two of them they are only c***s :D

Well there are parasites that no dose will cure!:D do you like Kilkenny?

yeah one of the better marts i go to, can be a great trade a lot of the time but bargains can be got too, like most places, do you go to kk?

Yes I like the friesians from there. Pay a visit two or three times a year.

blks not a great trade last two/three weeks there, might be worth your while going soon if ya could, can be good enough type friesians there alright, bought bunch of 5 good br/fr blks 3 weeks ago 400 kg 620e, could be even cheaper soon, got a ch blk last week, born may 12, spot on his eye alright 590kg 1010e, on a good day its hard to buy, couldnt get a look in at cows last week at all, if i was ever selling cattle i would bring there though, theres a man for every animal on a good time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

England out of World Cup surely another excuse to drop the price