Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

I said wrote: »
    England out of World Cup surely another excuse to drop the price

And I was shouting for them. They never got outa the traps..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

And I was shouting for them. They never got outa the traps..

Yeah was hoping they would get a bit further lose a bit of interest now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

3.70 base steers+heifers this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭willfarmerman

3.70 base steers+heifers this morning

For stock killed this morning or booked in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

3.75 this week for bullocks underage

3.60 for same animals next week

and a 10 cent penalty for over 400kg

heard that we could be hitting 3 euro a kilo by august for r grade bullocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

No surprise there round table talks me hole must be like the sketch of the civil servants in the savage eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭MfMan

This in general or a particular plant?

MfMan wrote: »
    This in general or a particular plant?

that's in one plant but its the best price ive managed to get, the agent who is a friend told me I might be best round up unfit cattle that I have not fully finished and offload them before it drops any further

by my own calcs every 10 cent drop in price means I have to hold onto the animal for 20 more days just to make up the lost value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Are mart prices back in line with factory prices?

If there able to pull the price now when theres plenty of grass around i dread to think what theyll do in oct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mf240 wrote: »
    Are mart prices back in line with factory prices?

If there able to pull the price now when theres plenty of grass around i dread to think what theyll do in oct.

With the kill where will they find the cattle in October

You reckon theyll be scarce in oct.

There will denfinately be a shortfall at some stage in the spring as the cattle that would of been killed as bulls will be stored as bullocks.

Once they get scarce there will be nothing about specs and weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

quoted cows today p+3 2.85 Os 2.90 Rs 3.10

mf240 wrote: »
    You reckon theyll be scarce in oct.

There will denfinately be a shortfall at some stage in the spring as the cattle that would of been killed as bulls will be stored as bullocks.

Once they get scarce there will be nothing about specs and weights.

At present we are 95K above last years kill it is still june. We are killing 4K+/week still. that 25K in six weeks after that all bets are off

if you take a drive around my area the amount of fat cattle in fields is the most I have ever seen,

I cannot see the factories giving a half reasonable price until at least next spring

I also see lads buying in calves purely because they need to restock after selling and they have lost soo much money they see calves as a cheap way of buying back in the numbers

most suckler farmers I buy off aren't feeding any creep this year and have culled cows and not replaced

there is a bit of a way to go yet before we see any shortages

when englands price is on the way down ours is likely to drop even further too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Thank God the majority of us live to farm and not farm to live

if you take a drive around my area the amount of fat cattle in fields is the most I have ever seen,

I cannot see the factories giving a half reasonable price until at least next spring

I also see lads buying in calves purely because they need to restock after selling and they have lost soo much money they see calves as a cheap way of buying back in the numbers

most suckler farmers I buy off aren't feeding any creep this year and have culled cows and not replaced

there is a bit of a way to go yet before we see any shortages

when englands price is on the way down ours is likely to drop even further too

You may have a point in there being a lot of cattle with finish around at present. There are always variables. On one hand we know that there are 100k extra cattle in the to be finished group for 2014. We know that the kill is virtually 100K ahead of this time last year. We know the kill is running nearly 4K extra week on week.

There is a possibilty that easier finished cattle may come into play at year end especially 2013 born heifers or smaller type bullocks that may have a good level of finish this autumn. However on the other hand the present kill is unsustainable. If it averaged half that for rest of year that is 50K cattle or thereabouts so we would need to kill 150K+ cattle over and above last year.

On the other hand while the kill is dropping slowly (1500 cattle in 6 weeks) and the gap with last years figures is closing rapidly down from over 6k in late May to 3500 the week before last.

The word is trickling out that cattle are not as freely available as 2-3 weeks ago. This time last year the kill was rising it is dropping at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

You may have a point in there being a lot of cattle with finish around at present. There are always variables. On one hand we know that there are 100k extra cattle in the to be finished group for 2014. We know that the kill is virtually 100K ahead of this time last year. We know the kill is running nearly 4K extra week on week.

There is a possibilty that easier finished cattle may come into play at year end especially 2013 born heifers or smaller type bullocks that may have a good level of finish this autumn. However on the other hand the present kill is unsustainable. If it averaged half that for rest of year that is 50K cattle or thereabouts so we would need to kill 150K+ cattle over and above last year.

On the other hand while the kill is dropping slowly (1500 cattle in 6 weeks) and the gap with last years figures is closing rapidly down from over 6k in late May to 3500 the week before last.

The word is trickling out that cattle are not as freely available as 2-3 weeks ago. This time last year the kill was rising it is dropping at present.

So why are we hearing be prepared for less than 3.50 etc.
    And I hear from home and on here than lads are been advised to sell now as price is gonna drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

So why are we hearing be prepared for less than 3.50 etc.
    And I hear from home and on here than lads are been advised to sell now as price is gonna drop

Do factories always drop prices before they see a shortage coming tho..
    No surer way to get lad to sell than drop prices

I have some chx bullocks being killed tomorrow and I weighed them at lunchtime today

they are not 30 months old until November but most of them are over 825kg

I have been holding onto them since spring thinking cattle would have got scarce by june july but the economics of keeping them any longer does not pay so they have to go and I think with the good silage last winter and good backend last year it means that there are a lot of spring 2012 cattle coming fit from now on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,844 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I have some chx bullocks being killed tomorrow and I weighed them at lunchtime today

they are not 30 months old until November but most of them are over 825kg

I have been holding onto them since spring thinking cattle would have got scarce by june july but the economics of keeping them any longer does not pay so they have to go and I think with the good silage last winter and good backend last year it means that there are a lot of spring 2012 cattle coming fit from now on

I wonder are there really that many of these left on farms? The bull kill has been fairly big over the last 12 months. Most of these cattle were born Jan-Mar so they only have 3 months max before they hit 30 months.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I am in a different situtation I have FR and FRX bullocks so at best 25% might make QA, most are only hitting FS3 now so they have a bit to go. I also have AA heifers(the slow growing type) that are mostly FS3. The FR can carry 8+ weeks the heifers 4-6 weeks.

heifers will not go over age by then. Even if the Fr go over age because so few will get QA I am only gambling 13ishc/kg if the dynamics are as I think I could make that up in a week.

Larry as cattle supply changes the factory's propganda lads get into action. They have normal supply dynamics in there favour. Look at it this way if they can drop the price by 30c/kg as the supply dynamic changes it will take 3+ weeks normally for price to recover that 30c/kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Could there be light at the end of the tunnel?

http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0626/626786-ireland-us-beef/

blue5000 wrote: »
    I wonder are there really that many of these left on farms? The bull kill has been fairly big over the last 12 months. Most of these cattle were born Jan-Mar so they only have 3 months max before they hit 30 months.

around my area its a big suckler area with all charolais stock
    the finishers around here are advocates of keeping bullocks till 30 months old at least killing big weights

I pass by one farm everyday and they keep charolais till 4 year old and they are massive easily over a tonne its some sight to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

around my area its a big suckler area with all charolais stock
    the finishers around here are advocates of keeping bullocks till 30 months old at least killing big weights

I pass by one farm everyday and they keep charolais till 4 year old and they are massive easily over a tonne its some sight to see
    Ah here? 4 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,643 ✭✭✭✭Base price

If/when numbers start to drop will the factories not just pull the old stunt and only kill 2 or 3 days a week in order to keep prices suppressed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭tanko

Ah here? 4 years old?

A neighbour of mine sent a 40 month old CH bullock to the factory a couple of months ago. He killed out at 504 kgs and made €1800. He was some beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 mossiemag

tanko wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine sent a 40 month old CH bullock to the factory a couple of months ago. He killed out at 504 kgs and made €1800. He was some beast.

Good money, But i wonder what it cost to keep him an extra 10 months versus what he would have made at 30 Months? Is it worth keeping them that long?

tanko wrote: »

When i used to keepa few sucklers. I had a charlaois bullock (ai bred mdo) out of a almost pure bred simmental. He killed out 580 kgs at 30 months.

There was nothing about weight limits then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭tanko

Had a look through the herd register last night, in May 2011 I sent a 28 month old CH bull (CF51) out of an Angus cow to the factory. He killed out R+2+ at 490 kgs and made €1711, 125p/lb. The CH x AA is a very underrated beef cross IMO.

My neighbours bullock that made €1800 at 40 months was probably worth a grand when he was a year old so it didn't pay to keep him on. He's a very part time farmer and his cattle are lucky if they see him twice a week.

mossiemag wrote: »
    Good money, But i wonder what it cost to keep him an extra 10 months versus what he would have made at 30 Months? Is it worth keeping them that long?

well one thing about continentals is that it costs an arm and a leg to finish them early, having a grass based diet for longer and reaching maturity and fleshing will be a lot easier and cheaper,

I would happily have a system killing 500kg carcase charolais cattle they always grade well and come to big money even during bad prices
    I had a few 3 year old 850kg bullocks in the shed lastwinter and the two year old bullocks were eating more silage than them