Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

People drop off for various reasons on here. Sad when it happens but it's just how forums work.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

People drop off for various reasons on here. Sad when it happens but it's just how forums work.

Or life gets in the way and they don't have to time to post

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Gonna miss GTR63 he was a good poster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Just noticed GTR63 has also closed there account. So bombidol , Walt and he have now closed recently. Whatsupwiththat?

Oh man, sad days. Perhaps it's re-evaluating free time after exams. He'll be missed. Excellent poster and all-round lovely chap. Also my #1 valentine's match :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,063 ✭✭✭✭cena

Does anyone have contact with with these lads outside boards.
    What ever happened to Gerard c? I know he left the country and was never heard of again

GTR closed his account a few weeks back lads. He's on twitter (and very good on there). Dunno about Ger C or Flah though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

Did Vince(all the numbers) depart here also?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

Lads its an internet forum. People wont be on here forever as life SHOULD take preference. I know some people will still be here a decade down the line posting away on boards pro wrestling and after hours, as there is some people still posting here with join dates of 1999 etc. but they are the exceptions...

I know that once I graduate at the end of the year (1.1 in software development, please), and land a job at home or foreign soon after, ill probably close my boards account and only lurk bargain alerts should I still live in Ireland.

Yeah but sometimes you come to respect and appreciate some user's opinions on things and then they go away and you wonder 'hey, what happened to them they were sound on some stuff'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Never understood the idea with closing the account. Don't want to use it? Don't log in. Closing it seems a bit extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,800 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

I always see closing an account as the poster having some sort of falling out with a mod or another poster. Id always leave my account open just in case I wanted to use it occasionally in the future

Digitalism if you devote enough time to something with other people you'll get to know them a bit, say a knowledgeable young man like rovert or a humourous Diabhal Beag (lucky for you reader), and you'll feel a sense of loss no matter how small when they no longer are around. Not saying you go fly flags at half mast or anything but it's a worse off place when guys like walt aren't around.

Like i said, maybe those whose names are in the title thread, maybe life got in the way, who knows they might be back (Can a closed account be reopened or what?) OR they might come back under a different username

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Nah, you can't re-open a closed account to my knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,438 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

GTR closed his account a few weeks back lads. He's on twitter (and very good on there). Dunno about Ger C or Flah though.

I thought Flah came back under another name

It is shame to lose any of pw boardies, I just hope all in real life is well with them whatever their reasons for leaving is

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Well this is interesting....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

You look different somehow.... Have you lost weight?

New haircut :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

Have you gotten taller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,195 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

New glasses? :)

Rjd2 wrote: »
    New glasses? :)

He probably misses his old glasses!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

He stole my glasses the b*llocks.

my 14,000 post used calling TSC a bollocks... I could think of many many worse ways to use it :pac:

Right lads, over the last few 10 years Ive grown accustomed to wearing baggy fit jeans, mainly Topman worker style jeans with combat pockets. Over the last year topman and other retailers have gone the way of only stocking slim fit, skinny or skin tight jeans. These arent for me and I need new jeans. Any suggestions?

I can change with the times, skinny jeans look stupid on lads IMO and I just wanna keep my style, any suggestions of shops or websites?

He stole my glasses the b*llocks.

my 14,000 post used calling TSC a bollocks... I could think of many many worse ways to use it :pac:

Banned!

:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I can change with teh times, skinny jeans look stupid on lads IMO and I just wanna keep my style, any suggestions of shops or websites?

I feel your pain. Everywhere is sticking out these stupid looking jeans. I'm never out of just plain and normal fit jeans but they're getting hard to find. Marks and Spencer's jeans are grand though but with the warm weather I'm transitioning to shorts for a while even though it pains me do do so.

You not going for the Batista skinny jean look? :P

G-Starr jeans seem to be alright but they can be around €120, where as the most Id like to spend would be €60 per pair. I think Id look as ridiculous as Big Dave and Id defo split them.

How lads where the skin tight jeans Ill never know

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

I find skinny jeans to be the most comfortable style of jeans to wear, and I'm not skin and bones. I have some some bulk to me (not fat!! :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Any decent online clothes shops that deliver to Dublin and don't cost a fortune? I really need clothes but hate actually going shopping cause people annoy me really.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

G-Starr jeans seem to be alright but they can be around €120, where as the most Id like to spend would be €60 per pair. I think Id look as ridiculous as Big Dave and Id defo split them.

How lads where the skin tight jeans Ill never know

Burton and Next both have bootcut and relaxed cut jeans.

As well as skinny if you want to go Paul Galvin or Batista style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Right lads, over the last few 10 years Ive grown accustomed to wearing baggy fit jeans, mainly Topman worker style jeans with combat pockets. Over the last year topman and other retailers have gone the way of only stocking slim fit, skinny or skin tight jeans. These arent for me and I need new jeans. Any suggestions?

I can change with the times, skinny jeans look stupid on lads IMO and I just wanna keep my style, any suggestions of shops or websites?

I had the exact same problem, I can't do skinny jeans and find them uncomfortable as hell. I went into Topman one day to ask for straight line and was laughed out the door!

Next came to the rescue however, they still stock different style jeans including my beloved straight line. It's worth popping in and having a look. Pennies also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Took me a min to get the Teamshadowclan thing.. A good choice - commited poster and a level head!

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

I'm in the same boat. I was always in the topman flares. They were awesome. But I've found the comfiest by far are the River Island boot cut ones. They're like 50 quid or so, so a bit more expensive than the topmwn ones, but welllnworth it.

[/PantsKnowledge]

7kou4Oy.jpg

Soooo glad I bet on Germany.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I missed the game, but how bad were Portugal?

Angron wrote: »
    I missed the game, but how bad were Portugal?

Terribly bad, 3-0 down before half time.

Germany just murdered Portugal. That was supposed to be a tough game so it's now hard to see them conceding, let alone dropping points. Probably Russia then France in the next two rounds so a pretty handy run to the semi's.

Can only imagine the scoreline had it been against Ireland instead of Portugal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Germany is a funny old place, announcement I heard (translated into English) in full as I made my way home in Munich:
    All trains are delayed due to the football

I thought the World cup was on in Brazil!?!

They obviously meant the big Connacht Semi-Final on Saturday. The Germans have been discussing Galway's chances of a Connacht title for the last few weeks non-stop, causing a traffic nightmare specifically in the Berlin and Düsseldorf regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭kksaints

Germany is a funny old place, announcement I heard (translated into English) in full as I made my way home in Munich:

I thought the World cup was on in Brazil!?!

World Cup Fever. All the trains delayed because the drivers wanted to watch the game.:D

Hopefully it wasn't to watch the game just on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,438 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Congrats and good luck

Just curious, how are Boards.ie Moderators picked? Always wondered that.

Nothing like having a do it yourself hair cut at this time of time

D.I.Y haircuts can be either good or bad, depending on experience with cutting hair.

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Just curious, how are Boards.ie Moderators picked? Always wondered that.
    Garda vetting and a quick google search to make sure you aren't a sex offender.

Huh and here i was thinking it was decided on a game of rock, paper, scissors, or envelopes full of cash being passed around

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    D.I.Y haircuts can be either good or bad, depending on experience with cutting hair.

Just a no.4 all over. Thinning in the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Ah jeez, there's always a line

14438775522_2bb0852f31_o.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

USA! USA! USA!

WE SHOWED THOSE FOREIGNER'S HOW TO PLAY FOOSBALL!!

Last time I went for a haircut it was a bit of a farce. I usually just ask for a trim/tidy up/short back and sides which is always met with a 'how much off/how short?' which I never know how to answer, 'um, a bit... not too much, not too short... have you a ruler? maybe little less than a half inch? :confused:

Anyway, the guy took a minimal amount off and didn't look like I'd even had a cut. Rather than ask for more I just nervously said thanks and left.