Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greenways [greenway map of Ireland in post 1]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭pigtown

fullgas wrote: »
    Instead of spending money on greenways for abondoned railways etc. why don't we upgrade the paths beside the Royal & Grand Canals first. Seems like a no brainer idea.
    Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭flazio

fullgas wrote: »
    Instead of spending money on greenways for abondoned railways etc. why don't we upgrade the paths beside the Royal & Grand Canals first. Seems like a no brainer idea.
    From what I've seen of them around Shannon Harbour to Tullamore and from Cloondara to Mullingar, they seem alright to me. It's a relief that some streches are soft ground rather then paved on long time walking feet let me tell you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Westmeath Co. Co. are pressing ahead with a greenway/cycleway on the old Athlone/Mullingar rail-line, and proposing a new bridge across the River Shannon in the centre of Athlone.

http://www.advertiser.ie/athlone/article/60934/cycle-corridor-could-see-new-bridge-over-shannon

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The Great Southern Trail in Limerick now extends to the Kerry border as of earlier this year, and despite some farmers kicking up a fuss a few months back over claiming ownership of the line past the kerry border (which they don't, CIE own it) it looks as though its full steam ahead to extend the trail to Listowel in the near future.

https://www.facebook.com/ListowelRailwalk

• Registered Users Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Recent tender for consultants to preparing an Analysis & Development Plan for the conversion of the existing permanent way to a Multi Use Trail for use by Walkers, Cyclists, Horse Riders and the Mobility Challenged;

http://www.mytenders.ie/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=MAY407524&catID=1

It says the trail is in private ownership so might be difficult to get agreements with landowners. At least they are looking into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

6.5m in funding for Greenways in Kerry, Galway and Waterford..

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0410/607989-funding-for-new-off-road-cycle-routes/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Alan Kelly doesn't look too steady on the bike in the RTÉ video! :pac:

The Moycullen to the university route is interesting combining a scenic route along the Corrib with a potentially viable commuter option.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭dubhthach

pg633 wrote: »
    The Moycullen to the university route is interesting combining a scenic route along the Corrib with a potentially viable commuter option.

Given that chunk of the route is now used as path's within the University, it be interesting to see what upgrades will be done or any along that. Definetly make cycling in and out of Moycullen to city easier that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Squeaksoutloud

Looks like the Boyne Greenway section from Oldbridge back to Drogheda opened up at the weekend. On a recycled plastic boardwalk on the floodplain - looks great. Hopefully the next phases will get up and running too to open up the rest of the route.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭dubhthach

Looks like the Boyne Greenway section from Oldbridge back to Drogheda opened up at the weekend. On a recycled plastic boardwalk on the floodplain - looks great. Hopefully the next phases will get up and running too to open up the rest of the route.

Recycled plastic boardwalk? will it float in the event of flooding on said flood plain? ;)

Any links about it (preferably with photos)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

dubhthach wrote: »
    Recycled plastic boardwalk? will it float in the event of flooding on said flood plain? ;)

This is the best I could find;

http://www.ecoplastic.net/recent-projects/boyne-greenway-00m-of-ecoplastic-boardwalk-client-roughan-o-donovan-engineers-meath-county-council-.php

There is a serious lack of information on existing and potential greenways. Very few have their own dedicated website and there is no general website with info on all. There really needs to be a website with details on the various greenway projects and what stage they are at. I am surprised that one of the cycling associations or the Department hasnt done this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭cargo

dubhthach wrote: »

Pete_Cavan wrote: »

http://www.ecoplastic.net/recent-projects/boyne-greenway-00m-of-ecoplastic-boardwalk-client-roughan-o-donovan-engineers-meath-county-council-.php

There is a serious lack of information on existing and potential greenways. Very few have their own dedicated website and there is no general website with info on all. There really needs to be a website with details on the various greenway projects and what stage they are at. I am surprised that one of the cycling associations or the Department hasnt done this.

Boards.ie to the rescue... Pics in post #9 and #14
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057110320

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭bizguy

The new version of irishgreenways.com should have all this info, when it's launched.

Got some photos of it there on Friday...Looks cool.

14018401931_78ba3616d6_b.jpg

14018376232_816628650d_b.jpg

14018363442_8ba4b0f269_b.jpg

14041557183_0b78816f7f_b.jpg

14041542763_86cb163224_b.jpg

This document probably gives the best info on the proposed national cycle network:

http://www.smartertravel.ie/sites/default/files/uploads/FINAL%20NCNScopingStudyAugust2010%5B1%5D.pdf

Here is info on the Dublin area:

http://www.nationaltransport.ie/downloads/A3_Cycle_Network_Plan_LOW_RES.pdf

Big funding announcement this morning...two definites are Carrick-on-Suir to Clonmel and Waterford City to Kilmeaden (Deise Greenway). Source: WLR FM

Exciting times!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

€4 million announced for the Mullingar to Athlone Greenway during the week as well.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

jaysus, ya'd swear there was an election coming.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭serfboard

From the Tralee to Fenit thread I've copied this (with thanks to Quackster): http://www.dttas.ie/press-releases/2...ter-alan-kelly

serfboard wrote: »
    From the Tralee to Fenit thread I've copied this (with thanks to Quackster): http://www.dttas.ie/press-releases/2...ter-alan-kelly

From the press release(last para), it mentions Royal canal improvements in Westmeath from Coolnahay to Co.Longford border. Does that mean there is a good surface already from Mullingar to Coolnahay?

Also I think the elephant in the room is building a completely new way from the Shannon to Galway.

I was down at Clonmacnoise over the bank holiday weekend, and it's not as good as I remember as a yungfella, but lil Miss Carawaysticks thought running around and calling to rapunzel was great craic ( 2 round towers)

but as I traveled west from Moate along boreens I noticed cycle-way signs and at the monastery I saw this cycle-way

I'd say there's room for a boreen route south from Athlone to Clonmacnoise
    and along the road to Shannonbridge.

With a bit of co-operation from BnaM, the shannon crossing
    south of the Suck could be used, along with boreens up to B'Slow

But from there to Galway, someone will have to buy access. 3m or so following ditches. At least to Loughrea, where there's WS2 to Oranmore.

Although if a route to Loughrea was made, then it wouldn't be a stretch to use the old railway line to Attymon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I am interested in greenways as I plan to retire before I'm 50 (in about 15 years) and spending a lot of time exploring the country by bike away from traffic sounds great. I might also be in a position to use greenways for commuting before then.

Was just looking at some maps of the old railways and then following the disused lines on google maps, OSI and land registry maps. Clearly there are loads of lines but surely there would be a lot of work, expense and hassle involved in getting greenways in place on long disused lines (i.e those that became disused with tracks lifted in the 1960s or earlier as opposed to lines like Navan-Kingscourt or Mullingar-Athlone that became disused much later)

Relying on "permissive access" from private landowners sounds like a receipe for a dispute to me and I believe this has already happened on the Mayo greenway.

Anyone got any thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

As you say getting the land back off the land owners would be the big problem and they have also been built over near towns.
    But much of the bridges and underpasses still exist, although some have been knocked as they were height restrictive.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

There's routes where CIE still own the land that don't still have track on them also, not everything was sold off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭BrianD3

MYOB wrote: »
    There's routes where CIE still own the land that don't still have track on them also, not everything was sold off.
    I've been looking at some routes on
    https://www.mypropertytitle.ie/praMap.aspx

And notice that some routes are mostly unregistered land while others are mostly registered.

Does the registration status of an old railway line give a clue as to ownership i.e ownership by CIE, local authorities, private individuals, adverse possession etc. Or does the registration status not imply anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Jayuu

Carrick-on-Suir to Clonmel will be great. I've walked part of this route many times and it's got some lovely scenery along the way. My only concern about this is that the river is very suspceptible to flooding when there's any volume of rain. I wonder are they building some walls along the side of the bank?

MYOB wrote: »

I wish they'd hire a fella in a JCB to clear every route that they own and reaffirm ownership. Gatehouse owners and farmers that have stolen the land are holding the country to ransom...Ireland has so much cycling potential.