Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Are there actually pubs in Ireland like that, tis a fair sad state of affairs if so
    I'm afraid so. Not mentioning names but it's not really the pubs fault. They dealt with it accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,043 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

murpho999 wrote: »
    Utd fans wallowing in City winning the league and describing our league challenge as a collapse describes belief.

Turns out we would have had to have won 18 from 19 games in 2014 to win the league. How did we do?

W 15 D 3 L 1.

That's a pretty good achievement and is not a collapse by any means.

Their celebrations of us finishing 20 points ahead of them and thinking of LvG being their saviour really baffles me.

Even funnier is using the Community Shield as something to gloat about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    I'm afraid so. Not mentioning names but it's not really the pubs fault. They dealt with it accordingly.

Typical athlone :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Any more word on Lallana?

Even funnier is using the Community Shield as something to gloat about

Who was gloating about the community shield? We had a horrendous season nothing to brag about

LOL Oh Basher :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

United fan here. Not gonna lie I'm happier City won than ye as I see you guys as bigger historical rivals.

That said, a great season on the part of pool, a few signings to tighten up the back and give some depth to allow for a european campaign and next year should be a good year too. very nice attacking football all season too so well done on that.

Keep up the good work, just dont go winning any leagues please :P

Hopefully get a few signings sorted before the World Cup

Bigtime.

A awful spot. Never know what you could catch there :pac:

murpho999 wrote: »
    Utd fans wallowing in City winning the league and describing our league challenge as a collapse defies belief.

Turns out we would have had to have won 18 from 19 games in 2014 to win the league. How did we do?

W 15 D 3 L 1.

That's a pretty good achievement and is not a collapse by any means.

Their celebrations of us finishing 20 points ahead of them and thinking of LvG being their saviour really baffles me.
    I would honestly judge it as a collapse now.
    You got your target of European football but coming so close and having the league in your sites the you faltered when it mattered the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,043 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Who was gloating about the community shield? We had a horrendous season nothing to brag about

Its one of the posts in the Humour thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

You got your target of European football but coming so close and having the league in your sites the you faltered when it mattered the most.

If thats a collapse, ill take those results each year thank you.15 wins? 1 loss. Yes please.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

The scary part is that not a lot of supporters (of various different teams) realise what is evolving at Man City.

the short term view point and opinions are inevitably and a result of decades of rivalry, but fůck me there is going to be a huge amount of humble pie being eaten when City dominate for the foreseeable future..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Collapse is a strong word I think. Newcastle collpased. Liverpool failed to beat a really strong Chelsea team. That was the difference in the end. One result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Just finally caught up with the Thread.

I knew it would Explode, after our Draw at Palace.

Gutted that we did Lose out on the Title, after coming this close.

What an Amazing Season it has been. A Huge Turnaround from the Previous One. Credit to Rodgers and the Team.

As Amazing it has been, I would be Lying if I said I wasn't Dissappointed. Yes, the Title Challenge was Unexpected and there are lots of Positives for our Club, but I still feel that we let this one Slip Away.

Hopefully, we can come back Stronger from this. And that we can mount a Challenge for the Title again next year.

Anyway, I read the OPR got Permabanned. Sad that another Great Contributor to the LFC Superthread is gone. We may not always share the same Views, but I always Respect what he had to Post.

I see that Nuri hasn't Posted in a while. Is he Banned too? I hope not. It'll be a Shame to Lose out on another Great Contributor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Great season. Exceeded all expectations. Cannot wait for Champions League nights next season. We are back in the big time

Thread was mighty craic all season, a barrel of laughs.

Outta here until United fans realise they finished 7th and did not qualify for CL.

Later PandaSaps.

Lads banter and slagging aside you had a great season fair play. I feel your pain though you were so close.

Can see rodgers signing longterm contract now

DrumSteve wrote: »
    If thats a collapse, ill take those results each year thank you.15 wins? 1 loss. Yes please.
    Try read the post again...nearly won the league but failed when it came down to the wire. Regardless of how your season has gone.
    This time 2 years ago the same thing happened us against City. We ****ed up against Everton I think in a 4-4 draw and it cost us the title.

Lads banter and slagging aside you had a great season fair play. I feel your pain though you were so close.

Can see rodgers signing longterm contract now
    Think he already did.

Fescue wrote: »
    Collapse is a strong word I think. Newcastle collpased. Liverpool failed to beat a really strong Chelsea team. That was the difference in the end. One result.
    Crystal Palace 3 - 3

Try read the post again...nearly won the league but failed when it came down to the wire. Regardless of how your season has gone.
    This time 2 years ago the same thing happened us against City. We ****ed up against Everton I think in a 4-4 draw and it cost us the title.

Weren't Utd 8 points clear though at one point?

Its one of the posts in the Humour thread

Ah lovely stuff :o

Jaysus my aspirations are fulfilled with that stainless steel plate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Mick's having a great day!

Chap's really in 7th heaven after the City win.

Crystal Palace 3 - 3

A win there wouldn't have changed things tbf. City still would have won the league

Crystal Palace 3 - 3

I don't think winning that game would have changed anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I read the post. We didnt collapse.

As was said above it was one loss to a tough Chelsea side. No shame in that.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I read the post. We didnt collapse.

As was said above it was one loss to a tough Chelsea side. No shame in that.
    Not saying there was shame. Agree to disagree on the collapse bit.

I think it is fair to say we threw it away losing to Chelsea. I would reserve the term collapse for something more dramatic, like Newcastle blowing their 15 point lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Crystal Palace 3 - 3

He's right.

The Chelsea Game is the Pivotal One.

Because of that Result, BR and CO thought to they could try and do something about the GD in the Crystal Palace Game. Which was a Foolish thing to do.

Fescue wrote: »
    I think it is fair to say we threw it away losing to Chelsea. I would reserve the term collapse for something more dramatic, like Newcastle blowing their 15 point lead.
    Quoted form the Man U Thread, this is what I'm getting at.

'It was a collapse because it was totally in Liverpool's hands. They didn't need to beat Chelsea but just avoid defeat. They were tactically naive in that game and played right into Mourinho's hands. They then capitulated in spectacular fashion to a Palace side where they again showed themselves tactically naive (once Palace started scoring they should have shut up shop).'