Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

gafferino wrote: »
    Sturridge interview from the pitch on LFCTV was interesting. Was absolutely gutted and said so. Apologised to the fans for not winning the league.

He doesn't have to but a nice gesture. If someone said we'd finish 2nd this season at the beginning I'd laughed, great achievement.

Sort out reinforcements now and get ready for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Last 5 pages of the United thread is pretty much all Liverpool related. Jaysus.

Nothing of interest though apart from the usual nonsense so not worth a visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fescue wrote: »
    Andre Wisdom looks to have benefitted from his loan season. Perhaps a viable option at right back?

As severely tempting as it is to kick Johnson out the door an install Wisdom, I think if Derby go up it would be smart to leave him there for at least the first half of next season (Derby currently 1-0 and 3-1 agg in the play off semi final)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Wouldn't expect any less after they beat us to the league today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

ManOnFire wrote: »
    looks so composed and knows what he's going to do with the ball, having a great game and getting forward at every opportunity. If I had my way he'd be the back up to a new signing with Johnson out

He looks much more comfortable in possession.

I think he has the mentality to be a Liverpool player too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

You can't claim they are obsessed when you are snooping in a Man Utd thread yourself in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

What a **** game for Cafu to go to!!

That free from Suarez was something else, pitty he didn't manage to score today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Very proud of the team - this season has been a remarkable achievement.

You can't claim they are obsessed when you are snooping in a Man Utd thread yourself in fairness

I look in all team threads from time to time. I was even on the Villa thread earlier. Pretty sure it's allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

mike65 wrote: »
    As severely tempting as it is to kick Johnson out the door an install Wisdom, I think if Derby go up it would be smart to leave him there for at least the first half of next season (Derby currently 1-0 and 3-1 agg in the play off semi final)

If we need Wisdom it will be the first half of the season. We will have 7 cup games guaranteed in those few months, so extra bodies might be needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I look in all team threads from time to time. I was even on the Villa thread earlier. Pretty sure it's allowed.

Nope you follow his orders or GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

The amount of satisfaction that alot of UTD fans are getting from us not winning the title is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

In fairness you just reading them or the odd comment is grand. It's the people who come in sniping and trying to stir ****. The thread is finally getting back on topic and in comes another one. Happens in every thread. Don't see the point. I also don't see the point in dragging it back to another thread then.

Never said it wasn't allowed. Just saying its a bit rich to be on a high horse claiming our rivals are obsessed when you are clearly interested in what they think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

billy2012 wrote: »
    The amount of satisfaction that alot of UTD fans are getting from us not winning the title is pathetic.

To be fair they are entitled to it. I know I took massive pleasure from Agueros winner two seasons ago.

Roll on the champions league music

Fvck 'em - they are about to discover that clambering back into the Top 4 club is much harder than falling out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Well I'd be lying if said I haven't thoroughly enjoyed watching them play sh1te football all season. It's a two way street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭ebbsy

United supporters cheering on City shows how far they have fallen.

They are now City's bitches.

The amount of times Man Utd have been mentioned in here today show that a lot of our fan base are obsessed with them aswell in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Lads, United fans are going to laugh and take the piss. Even though their City rivals pipped us and they had one of the worst title defence ever, its to be expected. In a season which accumulated to the sum total of **** all for them, our failure coming second in the league and securing CL football is all they have now. Sure, we finished 20 points ahead of them but sure look, we bottled it and had no Europe. Its just banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Lads. Why do we care about Utd. They want to laugh at us let them.

They make no odds to me.

Never said it wasn't allowed. Just saying its a bit rich to be on a high horse claiming our rivals are obsessed when you are clearly interested in what they think

Well those are your words not mine in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Great season. I thought at the start of the season we would do well to get 4th place never mind challenge for the league.
    I am really looking forward to seeing who Rodgers brings in over the summer. I hope transfer business is conducted in private as it has been done so far.
    Champions League will be awesome. 5 years is long enough to be without competing at this level. Definately the key to attracting top talent.
    I was unsure of Brendan Rodgers when he arrived but I have every confidence in him now. He deserves his new contract.

Liverpool v Man Utd year on year

Points swing 48
    Goals for swing - 52
    Position swing - 13 places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Anyone else think Johnson had an absolute nightmare today?

That's a position needs to be replaced ASAP.

ebbsy wrote: »
    United supporters cheering on City shows how far they have fallen.

They are now City's bitches.

City are a good few levels above Utd atm alright.

Quality all over the pitch and a top manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭joe123

Well thats that. Been a fantastic season.

I know agger has his critics but I think hes a quality player and would hate to lose him. Hes comfortable on the ball and when facing a team defending deep hes another player able to carry the ball.

Thought he had a really good game today.

And the running theme for the next few months: We really need to keep hold of Suarez.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

They are turning into Everton mark 2....really bitter at their own collapse ...a team in decline and nothing to cheer for except the odd time we drop points....I never thought a self proclaimed big club would get smalltime so quickly although in fairness it could be just the thread on here, the United fans I know have been sound.....the irony of a team who have performed like they have poking fun at us who have been light years ahead of them this season is lost on them obviously....like an ugly guy at a nightclub who never pulls seeing his mate go off with a stunner and insisting he could do better ...pitiful really

Us, a remarkable season, didn't spend much, played amazing football, 101 goals, young team...it's all good, 2nd is an amazing achievement considering our resources, we have experienced the title run-in now, a few more additions, keep Suarez and play the same relentless attacking football and we won't be far away next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Vicxas wrote: »
    Anyone else think Johnson had an absolute nightmare today?

That's a position needs to be replaced ASAP.

He was even worse vs Palace.