Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Tbh I never expected to win much this year when the extent to which City and Chelsea were strengthening became apparent last Summer, that coupled with the fact that generally over Ferguson's time after every 3/4 league titles the squad would need rebuilding before we'd win it again, and of course we now had a new manager.

But never did I envisage a United so devoid of a playing identity and seemingly short of ideas. Noone seen a 7th place finish coming. Noone. And they can peddle the line of ''we have a plan in place if we don't qualify for the CL'' and the similar carefully choreographed stories in the press of ''Moyes didn't realise the extent to which he needed to rebuild until he took over'' all they want but none of it excuses a man who, in charge of a sub-par squad or not, is 9 months in a job and still doesn't know his best starting 11 or even the way he ideally wants to play

And the club's line on it all is equally as unimaginative as Moyes football ''philosophy'' - ''It's the United way'' and ''Ferguson was given time''.

But noone seems to be strongly questioning the vast vast difference between football in the age SAF was given time and the age we're in now. Fergie was given time at a stage when a club's main revenue streams were gate receipts and player sales. That meant there was no sponsorship or European TV money share to worry about and so long as you were a wealthy and popular club, you couldn't lose your financial and therefore playing competitiveness overnight short of being relegated.

Football clubs financial capabilities, and their squads, nowadays however are built on the massive sponsorship deals, the TV money, the European competition money and the stakes are infinitely times higher. 3/4 poor finishes in a row in the league and suddenly the lack of European income is painfully obvious and the sponsors will be moving on to whatever ''successful'' club has taken your place and suddenly when the team is being talked about in the media it'll be about ''How do they bridge the gap between themselves and ''big boys''?'', ''How do they make the leap from 5th place to 4th?''. And in reality, looking back over how often the top 4 has changed in the last 20 years, this only happens with the addition of a wonder-player that somehow every other club misses, someone in the top 4 performing woefully bad, a superhuman performance from a team over a season - or of course a mixture of them all.

The owners must be aware of the potential of this bad path that the club is currently on, and surely they won't risk their own future financial investment for something as both idealistic and unrealistic as ''The United Way''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Tbh I never expected to win much this year when the extent to which City and Chelsea were strengthening became apparent last Summer, that coupled with the fact that generally over Ferguson's time after every 3/4 league titles the squad would need rebuilding before we'd win it again, and of course we now had a new manager.

But never did I envisage a United so devoid of a playing identity and seemingly short of ideas. Noone seen a 7th place finish coming. Noone. And they can peddle the line of ''we have a plan in place if we don't qualify for the CL'' and the similar carefully choreographed stories in the press of ''Moyes didn't realise the extent to which he needed to rebuild until he took over'' all they want but none of it excuses a man who, in charge of a sub-par squad or not, is 9 months in a job and still doesn't know his best starting 11 or even the way he ideally wants to play

And the club's line on it all is equally as unimaginative as Moyes football ''philosophy'' - ''It's the United way'' and ''Ferguson was given time''.

But noone seems to be strongly questioning the vast vast difference between football in the age SAF was given time and the age we're in now. Fergie was given time at a stage when a club's main revenue streams were gate receipts and player sales. That meant there was no sponsorship or European TV money share to worry about and so long as you were a wealthy and popular club, you couldn't lose your financial and therefore playing competitiveness overnight short of being relegated.

Football clubs financial capabilities, and their squads, nowadays however are built on the massive sponsorship deals, the TV money, the European competition money and the stakes are infinitely times higher. 3/4 poor finishes in a row in the league and suddenly the lack of European income is painfully obvious and the sponsors will be moving on to whatever ''successful'' club has taken your place and suddenly when the team is being talked about in the media it'll be about ''How do they bridge the gap between themselves and ''big boys''?'', ''How do they make the leap from 5th place to 4th?''. And in reality, looking back over how often the top 4 has changed in the last 20 years, this only happens with the addition of a wonder-player that somehow every other club misses, someone in the top 4 performing woefully bad, a superhuman performance from a team over a season - or of course a mixture of them all.

The owners must be aware of the potential of this bad path that the club is currently on, and surely they won't risk their own future financial investment for something as both idealistic and unrealistic as ''The United Way''.

whats all this BS about 'the united way'?
    I dont get it - it only applies (kinda) to SAF
    before that we were more than happy to boot a bloke out if he was clearly not the right man
    plus we dont hold onto useless players cause its 'the united way'
    BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

My single biggest problem with the Moyes farce is that up to this point he simply hasn't done anything to indicate he has a style, philosophy or identity that he is working United towards.

We lurch from one formation, selection ethos or tactical plan to another - with seemingly no cohesion or plan behind it all. Giggs is return to the team, out of nowhere, vs Olympiacos and puts in a very good performance - dropped from the next two squads. We play to the strenths of Rooney and Mata on Saturday - and go 433 with Mata wide on Tuesday - then start playing Fellaini and Cleverley wide - and when this isn't working we just seem to start throwing attacking options on with no thought to balance or tactics.

If I could see a style being developed, I could more easily deal with the crap results - but we aren't seeing that - we are simply seeing turgid crap, crap results and no identifiable plan or style.

Its a massive part of why I don't want to see Moyes given another minute at the club.

I agree with you on all of that, but I'm not quite with you yet on the last sentence though. But I will admit, after the way we lost to both City and Liverpool I have taken one foot of the fence. I'm willing to wait and see if we can offload the driftwood and address our areas of need. Do that and if we still see the same tactically inept displays going on by next December/January and if we are off the pace in the league. Then I will want him gone. I'm still just about willing to see how he learns from his mistakes this season and see the improvements he makes for next season. Not only to the squad, but more importantly, to his own management and tactical ability.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

While I like the idea, I think the Villa game is the wrong one to do it. We should win it. And then it just looks stupid.

Why not save it for the Bayern game where we will lose badly and a bigger audience will see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Has hasn't learned from any mistakes so far! He keeps saying his squad needs improving, but even the lower teams can put up a sense of ambition or fight.

He has the squad he has, he must make the best of it. No point playing as if we had different players. At the very least make them hard to beat. Currently Utd are fairly easy to beat. Teams know if they can score 1st it pretty much game over.

That is down to Moyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

whats all this BS about 'the united way'?
    I dont get it - it only applies (kinda) to SAF
    before that we were more than happy to boot a bloke out if he was clearly not the right man
    plus we dont hold onto useless players cause its 'the united way'
    BS

That's the point I'm making, it's a self-righteous attitude to a much deeper problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Bannerman7 wrote: »

This is cringe-worthy beyond belief. These so called fans should be getting behind the players and trying to encourage them, instead of this s**te.

Does anybody think that Moyes is in any way unaware of the felling of the media and fans towards him? What exactly are these brainless idiots hoping to achieve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

While I like the idea, I think the Villa game is the wrong one to do it. We should win it. And then it just looks stupid.

Why not save it for the Bayern game where we will lose badly and a bigger audience will see it?
    It will be dark??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

lads... is there a chance the Man U vs Norwich game will be moved from the 26th April 17:30 kick off ? - I'm looking at tickets.. but need to know if the game will be moved..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

It will be dark??

Good point.

*runs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

mike65 wrote: »
    Well done! You have become Blackburn Rovers!

|Blackburn Rovers|Manchester United
    League Position|31|7
    Avg. Attendance|15,235|75,529
    Revenue|£26.9m|£221.4m

Not quite there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

If we beat Villa and I hear the phrase 'have united turned a corner' again I will hurt people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Saw this floating around.Funny. Remember when Neville wouldn't look Schmeichel in the eye when he was playing for City.
    I would take Roy Keane and Paul Scholes out of retirement to help sort things out on the pitch :pac:

1468493_732643833422546_1975105649_n.jpg

Why don't you make him a cup of tea and fetch his f*cking slippers while you are at it, Pat?

Plenty of times for niceties after the game if you've done the business on the pitch.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

NeVeR wrote: »
    lads... is there a chance the Man U vs Norwich game will be moved from the 26th April 17:30 kick off ? - I'm looking at tickets.. but need to know if the game will be moved..

No chance it will be moved as it has already been moved for TV scheduling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Macca07 wrote: »
    Saw that too and I think he would be mad to go to Madrid. Don't think he would get into the team at the moment ahead of Marcelo, and would rot on the bench for a couple of seasons. United or Chelsea would be the best options for him, and I can't see us matching Chelsea if it comes down to it.

We'd be better off looking abroad for a cheaper option with a bit more experience.

I disagree.

Chelsea have Azpilicueta who is a very good footballer and doesn't look like getting dislodged as well as Cole in the background.

United are in a period of uncertainty. Shaw couldn't possibly guess who will be in charge come next season, and on top of that will likely have no European football.

Slight bias here, but I genuinely think Liverpool would be his best bet. The club is crying out for starting LB, and he'd have a young progressive manager to work under. Add European football to that and I can't see how Liverpool would not be his best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Fizman wrote: »
    Slight bias here, but I genuinely think Liverpool would be his best bet. The club is crying out for starting LB, and he'd have a young progressive manager to work under. Add European football to that and I can't see how Liverpool would not be his best option.

I'd have some concerns over Liverpools financials to afford him and offer the sort of packages hed be offered elsewhere.

There would also be concerns over longevity imo. Liverpool havnt won anything yet, and I doubt they will finish higher then 3rd by the end of the season. While it's great for them to be back in the CL and maybe back in the title mix, we've been here before, and it fell apart spectacularly.

Despite what the dramalites here would tell you, this season won't be un-repairable from a United point of view, and the club won't slip onto a Liverpool slope, simply won't be allowed too.

I don't think any intellegent footballer would make a career defining move based on one season of football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

TheDoc wrote: »

I don't think any intellegent footballer would make a career defining move based on one season of football.

not sure about that last comment
    plenty gaffers make transfers on the basis of one season/tournament wonders
    the same is likely true of players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

not sure about that last comment
    plenty gaffers make transfers on the basis of one season/tournament wonders
    the same is likely true of players

Yeah but I said intellegent ;)

But your spot on, plenty of players probably do take little relevance in making an informed decision once they get $$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    This is cringe-worthy beyond belief. These so called fans should be getting behind the players and trying to encourage them, instead of this s**te.

Does anybody think that Moyes is in any way unaware of the felling of the media and fans towards him? What exactly are these brainless idiots hoping to achieve?

They're hoping to make the owners aware of how unhappy the fans are with the manager obviously. The press criticism of Moyes has been extremely mild so far. Nobody cares what Moyes himself is aware of.

Personally I think that an airplane display is a bit pointless because it isn't immediately obvious how many fans support it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,794 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

v3ttel wrote: »
    Fantastic reply. Used logic and reason to challenge all of my previous points. Would attempt to engage in debate with again.

A+++++

No, you just contradicted the point. ;)

F (must try harder)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A chance was given to Moyes simply on his record of consistency at Everton,that's all well & good but it's a proven winner we need.
    People hark on about "oh it took Fergie 4 years to win a trophy at United",he came to a club that was in the toilet & had players who were working harder on their drinking than on the pitch.Fergie had an armful of trophies already & a winning attitude.Moyes doesn't have this "Billy big bollix" attitude - he still gives the impression of a guy who's just won the lotto & doesn't know what to do with it.

There had been whispers in Spain that Ancellotti would be out of Madrid in the Summer despite what they might win,it's feasible that he could be available,I for one would like to see him at United,Klopp seems to have Dortmund in his dna at this stage and won't leave any time soon.Van Gaal won't be available until after the WC,we need somebody sooner than that to get a lot of work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I don't think Moyes is up to the task of managing United and I don't think he'll ever get to the level required. I dread what the Summer will bring if he's in charge to spend the rumoured 200m "warchest".

My big concern would be that United go out and do what Spurs did last summer with Bale's fee. Spend it on medicore players and get nowhere. Add to that the madness of David Moyes' tactics and we've got a big problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Was looking at the paper roundup on the SSN app & one reports that Garay to United is pretty much a done deal, £17 million is the price but the report says that the fee could be a good bit lower due to his contract situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Well I suppose that regardless of who the manager might be next season, they will of course want a new CB, LB and CM.

So maybe it wouldn't be so bad if Moyes was restricted to signing these only. If Carvalho, Garay and Coentreau do get arranged, I think any potential manager would welcome them.
    Let Moyes be the one who gets shot of Vidic, Rio, Evra, Anderson, Valencia, Giggs and a few more. Maybe Kagawa and Buttner.

Ferguson is still there to advise, maybe run transfers before him first as well.

Just don't let Moyes sign players we don't need.
    then if next season starts in the same vein, change managers. And the new guy would at least have a balanced squad.

* I still would prefer if Moyes was sacked now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Well I suppose that regardless of who the manager might be next season, they will of course want a new CB, LB and CM.

So maybe it wouldn't be so bad if Moyes was restricted to signing these only. If Carvalho, Garay and Coentreau do get arranged, I think any potential manager would welcome them.
    Let Moyes be the one who gets shot of Vidic, Rio, Evra, Anderson, Valencia, Giggs and a few more. Maybe Kagawa and Buttner.

Ferguson is still there to advise, maybe run transfers before him first as well.

Just don't let Moyes sign players we don't need.
    then if next season starts in the same vein, change managers. And the new guy would at least have a balanced squad.

* I still would prefer if Moyes was sacked now.

Those new players still have to be managed properly my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Fizman wrote: »
    Liverpool have Flanagan though who, you know, is one of the best left backs in England. Apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Liverpool have Flanagan though who, you know, is one of the best left backs in England. Apparently.

I won't have a bad word said about Flano Alves! (I've seen him called that on Facebook)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

With Regards Shaw
    Surely the amount of Pool players (in particular young players ) on the English plane to Brazil could convince him to Come to Anfield