Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

deandean wrote: »
    What is it with the M50(S) N4 exit? I see more bad driving there than the rest of the M50 put together.
    The driver in front had taken up residency in the outer lane, then braked from about 105 down to 80 very close to the exit. I just got out of the way quick. I looked in the rear view mirrors, cars scattering everywhere but no collisions.
    The guy should've been in the correct lane much earlier.

You can tell at about 37 that the monkeys in their brain are working overtime. If he just committed to either indicating then there wouldn't be an issue.

To some people the indicator is put on as they're changing lanes not before, which makes them useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

deandean wrote: »
    What is it with the M50(S) N4 exit? I see more bad driving there than the rest of the M50 put together.

I go that way every morning and wholeheartedly agree. The same with that exit going Northbound in the evenings.

The other morning at the southbound exit I watched a guy veer across from the rightmost lane to just squeeze in to come off at Lucan. He's very lucky he made it and that other drivers made up for his poor decision. But it happens all the time. The exits are signposted so far in advance that it isn't that people don't know where they're going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

It's not just the M50 that suffers it though merging onto and off of roads always seems to cause trouble.

I was on the N7 the weekend coming from Kildare taking the Tallaght/Clondalkin exit. Was in the furthest left lane by the City West exit which is only a bit up from the exit I was planning on taking.

When a woman trying to merge onto the N7 is driving in line with the car in front of me and the slip road is getting shorter and shorter and instead of one of them adjusting there speed to allow the other to merge in seamlessly what happens your man on the N7 hit his breaks and pretty much comes to a complete stop to allow her in what does she do the same time breaks as well so now you have two morons both nearly causing an accident she in the ends up merging ahead of him on whilst he is nearly stopped allowing her to do so. I was cruising behind them at about 100 before this happened swung out into the middle lane and along with some choice words in the car as I drove by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Fresh off the memory card.

In the first clip, two ladies in two cars (08-D-65539 and 05-KY-2578) proceed to make a third lane in between two legal lanes. I felt the ABS kick in, a rare occurrence on my barge. The woman in the Audi gave me the w@nker symbol on the way past :pac: despite me doing nothing but looking aghast at her :eek: <-- like that

In the second clip, a young lady (12-LS-787) does an illegal U-turn and proceeds to make good but illegal use of the bus lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

franksm wrote: »
    Fresh off the memory card.

In the first clip, two ladies in two cars (08-D-65539 and 05-KY-2578) proceed to make a third lane in between two legal lanes. I felt the ABS kick in, a rare occurrence on my barge. The woman in the Audi gave me the w@nker symbol on the way past :pac: despite me doing nothing but looking aghast at her :eek: <-- like that

In the second clip, a young lady (12-LS-787) does an illegal U-turn and proceeds to make good but illegal use of the bus lane

Ladies? Surely you mean young males no? :D Everyone at the RSA knows ladies don't drive badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

franksm wrote: »

I was driving on this road in your first clip (Balgaddy road) the other day and like your clip there was a line of cars waiting for the lights and a woman driver in front of me decides to stop and park at the bus stop (on the left in your clip) get out of her car and start to walk away while shouting at her kids 100m away to hurry up and get into her car.

I beeped at her to get her attention to point out she was blocking me and all the cars behind me and she looks at me like I'm mental shruggs her shoulders looks away and keeps calling her kids ... the cars waiting on the far side of the road had to move forward and others reverse to let me and all the cars behind by ... (I must invest in a proper dash cam soon!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I'm thinking of getting a dash-cam purely due to the amount of idiots I've come across on the road recently. Can anyone recommend a good, reasonably priced model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Decoda

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    I'm thinking of getting a dash-cam purely due to the amount of idiots I've come across on the road recently. Can anyone recommend a good, reasonably priced model?

Still waiting on mine so can't comment yet but you'll find a lot of recommendations in this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056815237

DC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Get 2 blackvue's front and back. http://www.blackvue.co.uk/ pricing on amazon. Ebay does the china / korean version too which I hear are good devices too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Read yesterday that if you have an old iPhone/android phone lying about, you can buy a OBD2 bluetooth adaptor (7 quid on ebay) and use the phone as a dashcam/blackbox. It records all the data from your car on top of the video, RPM etc.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Best-OBD-car-apps-for-Android-turn-your-phone-into-a-black-box_id39473

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Gk4dK_9S0M

Handy if you ever have to prove you braked early enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Killinator

I'll just leave this here, 2 days ago:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

It's no wonder there are so many nasty smashes at the cross with that carry on :mad:

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

Killinator wrote: »
    QUOTE]
    I'd say the Gardaí would be very interested in a clip like this.... 480P and you can make out the cars numberplate

QUOTE]
    I'd say the Gardaí would be very interested in a clip like this.... 480P and you can make out the cars numberplate
    I wonder would it be worth my while or would I be fobbed off?

I did consider it, but I have noticed that I forgot to set the date, so I assume it would be useless(on a technicality) if it went further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I hope he has an organ donar card.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I did consider it, but I have noticed that I forgot to set the date, so I assume it would be useless(on a technicality) if it went further.

If your willing to act as a witness, I'd imagine they would be happy to pursue it. I have had school friends die when I was young acting so stupid, believe me, the local Gardai want this sh1t cleared up as much as the rest of us. Much easier to issue a fine/attend a court date, rather than have to turn up at the door of minimum two families in your uniform with the worst news a parent/partner/child could imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Tzardine wrote: »
    I hope he has an organ donar card.

Probably won't help the poor sod he smashes into...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

I'd do it for peace of minds sake regardless, report them and at least then if the guards don't do anything you can say you did your bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Woodpecker1

I would report that azzhole to Garda. Now. With a witness statement he would spend a year getting the bus . Probably save a life in the process.

Ya, I think I'll report so, thanks for the opinions folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Wow, that single manouever has outweighed all the **** I do on a daily basis. WHAT AN IDIOT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Ya, I think I'll report so, thanks for the opinions folks.

Be prepared to stand in court against the person driving though. As you will have to.

GenieOz wrote: »
    Be prepared to stand in court against the person driving though. As you will have to.

If I have to I have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I'm getting a tear in my eye here. First time someone's posted a video and hasn't been dragged over the coals for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭ZENER

. . . it's early yet ;)

That radio station for a start . . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

If I have to I have to.

Fair enough, best of luck! Hope it isn't anyone nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

If I have to I have to.

Good on ye. I've a load of stuff myself, got three today alone, some days my van is seemingly invisible.

I do chase them as I've a powerful van and can catch anything for short runs, but other posters have just torn me to shreds

So very good luck to you.

Does anyone else come in here, watching the videos and panicking incase they're in one..?

I even have my excuses ready incase I appear ("Brother was using my car that day... I'll have to have a word") :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Does anyone else come in here, watching the videos and panicking incase they're in one..?

I thank my lucky stars every day I talked my boss out of sign-writing on my van :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm not sure whether to be pi33ed at that driver or worried for him.
    Pi33ed that he took such idiotic risks, possibly kill someone else and that it's because of these idiots our insurance premiums are knackered.
    Worried for him that I'd say hes a young fella that feels invincible behind the wheel.
    Hope the guy sobers up quickly that actions can have consequences.