Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS4 Megathread 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

cloud493 wrote: »
    Cheapest I can see thief is 62, but its not worth that sure. Give it a few weeks.

I got it for €52 delivered on Amazon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

On the high street, I shoulda said :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭198321

Yeah, i regretted using cdwow at launch for BF4 and AC4. Ordered them a week before the EU launch of the PS4, and waited 3 weeks in total for them to get here. For 2 weeks the PS4 sitting there with feck all to play.. still, i got them both for 100e, so saved 40.
    Ill use them again for probably wolfenstein, they generally get stuff to me by 2 and a half weeks.. long enough wait, thats why ill be picking up infamous day 1 over town, another bloody 70euro ^^

I buy from Amazon.co.uk where games seem to be cheaper, I got Tomb Raider for something like 46 euro and few days ago traded it in for 39 ...

Anyway I use supersaver delivery, used it for AC, Neef for Speed and Tomb Raider and all of those I got on release day (friday). On their order page it always says it should arrive next week wed-thursday so I was surprised I got it on Friday.

Would not pay 70e for a game ..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Nor would I, but so long as there are people out there willing to spend that amount they're gonna keep on charging €70, which is fine but they've priced me out of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭lertsnim

thats why ill be picking up infamous day 1 over town, another bloody 70euro ^^

How can you complain about the price when you are going to pay them. It's that price for a reason

Personally I will get it off the American PSN if the price is right.

Only 65 for infamous in symths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

€65 is still a rip, get it from amazon.co.uk for £45 with free first class delivery to parcel motel, should have it on the Friday if not Saturday the 22'nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Got Thief as a present for a friend and it set me back €44 including delivery.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

cloud493 wrote: »
    Only 65 for infamous in symths.

Only? LOL

I was thinking of getting trine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I think i picked up infamous for £42 pound myself from amazon so around 51 euros. The money i am saving is going towards FF10 HD for the VITA

Like every time i go into gamestop i look how much they charge for games LoL and then if i see that something i wont is out i go online to buy said game.

But Gamestop had a good deal there with there 3 for 20 euros as there is quite a good few good games in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,519 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Can't find inFamous that cheap, Amazon have it for £45 but then there's tax or parcel motel on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I can't tell you how much I miss HMV and their €45 games. I'm simply not paying €70 to GameStop.

Varik wrote: »
    Can't find inFamous that cheap, Amazon have it for £45 but then there's tax or parcel motel on top of that.

VGP have it for €44 including delivery if you do not mind waiting around 7-10 days, they usually ship new games a week before they are released in Europe so the wait time is not actually that long, unless the game has the same WW release date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Grayditch wrote: »
    I can't tell you how much I miss HMV and their €45 games. I'm simply not paying €70 to GameStop.

Remember when 360 and PS3 games first came out? They were €65-€70 at the time and later new releases dropped as they came out. It's the same with the PS4 and X1 now, new releases will get cheaper later in the life cycle. Even HMV were charging €70 in 2005 and 2006.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I remember Nintendo 64 games were £70 to £85 each for first few months that console came out, Xbox 360 games were up to 82.99euro each in hmv for first few months

Remember when 360 and PS3 games first came out? They were €65-€70 at the time and later new releases dropped as they came out. It's the same with the PS4 and X1 now, new releases will get cheaper later in the life cycle. Even HMV were charging €70 in 2005 and 2006.

Yeah, but even PS3 games are 60-65 quid in GameStop. I think if the old HMV was around, the games would certainly be cheaper than 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Drum.lad

Is the ps3 to ps4 upgrade still going on...Bf4 is 34.99 on ps3

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Yes, new console games have always been expensive and that is simply because there have always been people willing to pay those prices, you early adopter folk who don't mind a bit of plundering help sony/ms/nin recoup a nice chunk of their investment, once they've hit their target (or on the odd occasion when they're not being allowed to milk it) then the prices will begin to drop.
    Of course, if the same people weren't willing to pay silly prices for games their prices would drop quicker/not start out so high.

Folks, that "that's the way it's always been" isn't much of an argument at all.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Drum.lad wrote: »
    Is the ps3 to ps4 upgrade still going on...Bf4 is 34.99 on ps3

Yes.
    You will receive an entitlement to purchase the PS4™ digital version of this game at a discounted price.

F1ngers wrote: »
    Yes.

Thanks for the reply...was reading the bf4 thread there i think i may leave it..

I'd never played a Battlefield game, bar Bad Company single player, but I enjoy BF4, I have to say. It's pretty messy, but I'm having fun with it.

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'd never played a Battlefield game, bar Bad Company single player, but I enjoy BF4, I have to say. It's pretty messy, but I'm having fun with it.

Loved bad company...had bf3 and enjoyed it but i don't want to throw my money into a game that seems quite broken for some people...im just a bit antsy i wanna get a ps4 game but nothing really interests me

Ye but like Grayditch said it's not just PS4/One games.

I was shocked when Gamestop were looking for €50 for the Old Republic when that came out and that was a PC game. Shop here are more expensive but it's not just here, even online retailers are now asking for more. The only way to get anything for a decent price is either importing for console or key resellers.

Varik wrote: »
    Ye but like Grayditch said it's not just PS4/One games.

I was shocked when Gamestop were looking for €50 for the Old Republic when that came out and that was a PC game. Shop here are more expensive but it's not just here, even online retailers are now asking for more. The only way to get anything for a decent price is either importing for console or key resellers.

The release of Skyrim saw the price of new release PC games sky rocket in GameStop. It's rare to find a new release PC game for under €50 in there and more often than not its €60 for them. Before Skyrim you'd be looking at €35-€45 for a new PC title.

It was around that time October/November/December. But I think I did get Skyrim for €45 for console; bought 2 copies.

Been playing DC universe all week and haven't paid a penny yet, but I might subscribe today or tomorrow. SOE are great for the F2P games, it's not badly restricted and paying does get you new content rather than easing a restriction on gameplay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

CombatCow wrote: »
    €65 is still a rip, get it from amazon.co.uk for £45 with free first class delivery to parcel motel, should have it on the Friday if not Saturday the 22'nd.

Can you tell me what that parcel motel service is, or does, and how much it costs to use ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Lads when you get it from the Canadian site do add on have to be from the American PSN

JamboMac wrote: »
    Lads when you get it from the Canadian site do add on have to be from the American PSN

The DLC does, but it is very simple to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

Yes, new console games have always been expensive and that is simply because there have always been people willing to pay those prices, you early adopter folk who don't mind a bit of plundering help sony/ms/nin recoup a nice chunk of their investment, once they've hit their target (or on the odd occasion when they're not being allowed to milk it) then the prices will begin to drop.
    Of course, if the same people weren't willing to pay silly prices for games their prices would drop quicker/not start out so high.

Folks, that "that's the way it's always been" isn't much of an argument at all.

Funny enough, sony published games are only 60e, or cheaper in some cases. Its the other 3rd party publishers that charge 70e. sony make no money from them sales.

If I order something off amazon, how much would I pay to be sure I'd get it for release day?