Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

Anyway making smart comments should be ashamed of themselves. Jonny was one of the nicest lads you could ever meet, never a bad word to say about anyone. Heavily involved in gaa both at club and county level. He is one in a million and his death has sent Leighlinbridge and the surrounding areas into mourning.

Absolutely devastated. RIP.

With all due respect I guarantee you 99% of people on this thread don't know the guy personally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

. I suspect this'll be the end of it nationwide.

I'm not sure which is more annoying. My wall being full of videos of friends of friends who I don't know doing it, or the bandwagoners who have already started the "like and share to warn of the dangers of neknomination" bollocks.

It's a pint drinking competition. Killing yourself with a bottle of whiskey within 60 seconds is Darwinism I'm sorry to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I still don't get the point of this thing. You're necking a pint. Big deal. Add some eggs or goldfish to it if you want but its still completely stupid. Its getting so popular that people are taking extra steps to stand out from the others for their 15 minutes of fame.

When its claiming lives its time to stop but of course most people will continue it because they'll think 'That won't happen to me' or they will be afraid of what their friends think of them for not participating in some childish game.
    It's mostly about the 18-25 years old generation trying to out-do one another these days by mostly trying to drink stupid concoctions or doing something potentially dangerous to impress their mates. Too many people it seems taking the "go hard or go home" approach to it, when you're only meant to have one beer, that's it.

Another bullshit craze that'll no doubt cause more damage to someone's health or worse. I didn't really like it from when I seen the first dumb stunt pulled, had a feeling something terrible would happen sooner than later.

Lads and ladies reading this, thinking about doing it or following up on a nomination read this: don't fall foul to peer pressure. In essence, it is a form of bullying and should not be tolerated. Just tell whoever nominated you that you're not gonna bother and that no, you are not a dry shite. Free will is the only thing you are truly in control of in this life, use it wisely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

Now the kids are drinking pints of their own urine / excrement while naked and drunk, putting their lives in grave danger.

That generation will be running the country in 20-30 years which is the scariest aspect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

A 19 year old died doing this stupid stuff here in Carlow.
    I think they're still trying to search for his body. Total stupidity.
    He was massively involved in the GAA and loved hurling.
    Basically he jumped into the river thinking it was a competition I believe.
    His poor family must be absolutely devastated.
    R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

mikom wrote: »
    Anyone died overdosing on cannabis due to this craze?

i was watching an episode of the inbetweeners during the week and Will ate a full joint. He went a bit mad but he was fine in the end. His "mum" looked after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

It's a pint drinking competition. Killing yourself with a bottle of whiskey within 60 seconds is Darwinism I'm sorry to say.

This.

If there's one thing we enjoy more than knecking pints and having the craic in Ireland it's looking for someone/something to blame for our own mistakes.

Personally I think it's a silly game but it really is just a bit of craic, whether it's dangerous or not is up to the individual.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Essien wrote: »
    This.

If there's one thing we enjoy more than knecking pints and having the craic in Ireland it's looking for someone/something to blame for our own mistakes.

Personally I think it's a silly game but it really is just a bit of craic, whether it's dangerous or not is up to the individual.

"a bit of craic" Another Irish name for stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

What's the point in a lad downing a pint as quick as he can and then nominating a friend to do the same? And all this done on camera through Facebook. A young life lost in the past few days and another Carlow man missing from the river after taking part in his neknomination. Seriously stupid behaviour trying to be the big macho man,how many more Irish men will dissolve into worm food due to this insanity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

So what exactly is it, swamping pints???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i too hate when the youth have a bit of harmless fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

How would drinking a pint in one go be lethal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

lukesmom wrote: »
    What's the point in a lad downing a pint as quick as he can and then nominating a friend to do the same? And all this done on camera through Facebook. A young life lost in the past few days and another Carlow man missing from the river after taking part in his neknomination. Seriously stupid behaviour trying to be the big macho man,how many more Irish men will dissolve into worm food due to this insanity?

it just a bit of craic - stupid craic but fun nonetheless

I've seen a few that related to downing a pint in one go.
    These people drank beer or cider .
    That is relatively harmless tbh and a long standing practice - when I was a teenager it was the subject of a few dares/bets.
    The only difference now if that it is broadcast on social media.

Only a complete fool would down a pint of spirits or anything stronger than beer.

You cant judge everybody by the actions of idiots.
    Well I suppose you can , the nanny state we live in is testament to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    So what exactly is it, swamping pints???

In a nut shell...Yes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

lukesmom wrote: »

He downed a pint and went missing, are you serious? How long more is blaming someone else for one's own actions going to continue?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

smcgiff wrote: »

It's not. The lethal part is that stupid kids/adults are trying to get one up on people by downing pints of spirits, p!ss, whatever.

One guy downed a naggin or pint of jack Daniels, did two lines of coke, acid and other stuff. Can't remember off the top of my head.

Now that it's a popular thing on social media, idiots are determined to go one 'better' than their peers. That's when it becomes dangerous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

it just a bit of craic - stupid craic but fun nonetheless

I've seen a few that related to downing a pint in one go.
    These people drank beer or cider .
    That is relatively harmless tbh and a long standing practice - when I was a teenager it was the subject of a few dares/bets.
    The only difference now if that it is broadcast on social media.

Only a complete fool would down a pint of spirits or anything stronger than beer.

You cant judge everybody by the actions of idiots.
    Well I suppose you can , the nanny state we live in is testament to that.

Quick intake of alcohol is not relatively harmless!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

smcgiff wrote: »

Pint of whisky or vodka could do a job on ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

"The concept of the game has been described by a user on Facebook as: "Neck your drink. Nominate another. Don’t break the chain, don’t be a d***. The social drinking game for social media! #neknominate"

Its not one drink necked it could 20+ throughout a night
    I can see this being merged with the knockout game and then watch the **** fly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

It'd be grand if people stuck to just pints and stuff...the people who blended up a mix of rancid sh*t are complete bellends...most of them don't even finish it or else gag straight away. And of course the majority of people can't handle spirits anyway. Personally I don't like it but it all goes back to people seeking validation online. I've even heard people say 'oh his was class but it got no likes so I'm not sure'...it's crazy.

I was forced into doing one last week by two people cuz I refused the first time I was 'nominated'...I did mine easily enough but I still regret doing it. The video was quickly taken down as I don't want that attention drawn towards me that long....a girl in college did hers in a lecture on Friday. Talks are she'll be kicked out of college...again it all boils down to esteem issues and seeking attention. Sad really

Closed for review.

Mod

Threads merged. Dickish posts deleted from newer thread.

For those who haven't been posting in the main thread until now, please see mod warning here.

If anyone else wants to be a dick about a young man who has just died, and whose family may be reading this, they will be banned from AH. No future warnings or cards will be given.

This warning extends to any person whose life has been lost as a result of his "game". We are a big website in a small country. After Hours isn't the place to slag off people who are very likely part of its community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I still can't believe people have died as a result of this bolloxology!

No more please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Jumping into a river in January can't be put down to the "game". Also the first case doesn't exactly seem to be based on reliable information.

You seem to have misinterpreted my post. Nowhere did I say that the "game" was to blame or that those who take it too far aren't responsible for their actions. My post was aimed at those who seemed to be taking pleasure or at least superiority from these deaths (whether they were part of necknominations or not). This is a terrible waste of life and an awful burden for family and friends to bear, we should at least respect that and hope it makes others think twice before doing something equally stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

I still can't believe people have died as a result of this bolloxology!

No more please.

Mindless sheep following the herd, I just don't get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Had 3 pints last night. Drank in my own time. Actually enjoyed the taste of it. How it should be.
    How can you enjoy alcohol if you don't give yourself time to taste it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My view on recent events is as follows: Jonny Byrne's death is unbelievably sad and tragic, as is Ross Cummins' (even though the latter appears not to have been related to neknominations).
    It's perfectly fine for someone to express their distaste at this craze, especially those who have been horribly affected by it in the above cases. HOWEVER. I draw the line at either blaming others / peer pressure for tragic events, and at implying that anyone who does one from today onwards is "disrespecting" the deceased.

We are all responsible for our own actions, egged on or not. If I were to punch a Garda after drinking some shots amid a crowd of my mates chanting "DO IT! DO IT! DO IT!", any judge in my subsequent assault trial would undoubtedly tell me that such peer pressure is no excuse. Likewise, drunk or not, my own choices are my own choices, end of story.

I am NOT in any way downplaying the tragedy of deaths or injuries from these fads, but just as I said on the Arthur's Day debate, I find it completely unfair to call for something to be banned or to guilt trip those taking part just because some people take it too far or can't handle it. To give you an analogy, if a stunt bike fad emerged involving people doing wheelies on bikes and somebody got injured, does that mean everyone who does it is wrong to do so?

Again, not in any way downplaying tragedy, but this "anyone else who does one now is a dick because of the incident" type of thing really pisses me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

as is Ross Cummins' (even though the latter appears not to have been related to neknominations).

What's this? Last thing I heard / read was that he downed a pint of whiskey after a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Danger781 wrote: »
    What's this? Last thing I heard / read was that he downed a pint of whiskey after a night out.

That's what the tabloids have been saying, but multiple people on Twitter, Facebook and even here on Boards who claim to know him have said that he didn't actually do a nomination on the night in question and that the cause of death is still unknown