Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• 21-01-2014 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭

Every second post on my Facebook newsfeed is a neknomination. Suddenly overnight they all just appeared! Where did this mad trend start?

I am laughing at all the "be sensible about drinking" groups giving out though. Maybe I am just old and boring but all the videos on my Facebook are of people who clearly are just having that one drink (mostly Guinness) for the sake of the nomination and then they are clearly going back to their normal non drink related evening activities. People in suits and gym gear etc.

Although there has been some good ones, one lad appears to hover down from a height before necking his drink all while bollywood music plays in the background. Another has his dog featured in his video, the Dog seems relieved when he finishes the pint fairly quickly....

I presume everyone else is inundated with these?

Mod

If anyone else wants to be a dick about a young man who has just died, and whose family may be reading this, they will be banned from AH. No future warnings or cards will be given.

This warning extends to any person whose life has been lost as a result of his "game". We are a big website in a small country. After Hours isn't the place to slag off people who are very likely part of its community.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ive seen more high and mighty head up their own arse types complaining about them tbh

which is to say, 2 posts.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I like drinking a dozen pints as much as the next fella, but don't see the point of this fad. Kind of thing obnoxious Australian lads do. Nothing worse than someone who can't handle their booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

Its just a bit of fun!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

pfffft check out the selfie olympics...much more fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Reasons like this remind me why I deleted my Facebook account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

What is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

This is the first I heard of it, I'd be great at it, if I gave a fook about social media.

Reasons like this remind me why I deleted my Facebook account.

Also the opportunity to mention closing your Facebook to all and sundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I thought this thread was about fcuking dead people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I have absolutely no idea what's going on.

Neck what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Pint drag-racing. Meh. Nothing new under the Sun, eh? I have a mate who is in his late fifties, has only one lung, and when he orders a pint of Guinness he leaves it for a half-hour or more to reach room temperature and the downs it in one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

Necknomination is basically when a friend nominates another facebook friend to "neck" or down a drink and capture it on video and then upload it in a desperate attempt to get a few likes/validation. Or in other words, it's the epitome of why facebook is a load of shizzle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It started in Australia and as stupid ideas do it spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

"I dare you to down that drink"

"OK!"

Is that seriously all this is and it's a thing with a name and a hashtag and a THREAD? I was doing that when you were a twinkle in your daddy's eye! Kids these days rabble rabble rabble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I'm not high and mighty about it. If people want to drink beers on Facebook go ahead. If anyone 'neknominates' me though they'll be getting ignored. I like drinking, I just don't see the need to film myself doing it and posting it on Facebook. Actually you could say that about most things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Lyaiera wrote: »
    What is this?

No idea

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

biko wrote: »
    It started in Australia and as stupid ideas do it spread.

You can just imagine a shower of Australian fůckwits with names like Wayne, Cooper and Hayden laughing like hyenas as they record 'a bro' drinking one of their awful lagers from a urinal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

Anyone see this latest craze around Ireland. People necking off pints, vodka with fag buts, cat food and whatever else is disgusting. They then nominate friend who has to do it then. I find it quite sad and my news feed is full of it!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10200502117954300&set=vb.1798172193&type=2&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=718567301516923&set=vb.100000909806178&type=2&theater

and the worst one!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152144760125202&set=vb.635450201&type=2&theater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

It's the 'latest craze' the same way pogs are the latest craze, get with the times Grandpa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

yawhat! wrote: »
    Anyone see this latest craze around Ireland. People necking off pints, vodka with fag buts, cat food and whatever else is disgusting. They then nominate friend who has to do it then. I find it quite sad and my news feed is full of it!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10200502117954300&set=vb.1798172193&type=2&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=718567301516923&set=vb.100000909806178&type=2&theater

So, are you Adam or James?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Your first mistake was taking Facebook seriously.
    Your second mistake was telling us about it

So, are you Adam or James?

Neither, just pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

urabell wrote: »
    It's the 'latest craze' the same way pogs are the latest craze, get with the times Grandpa

I've an ALF pog that wins by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Pikachu, I nominate you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

OP your username sums this thread up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Big Tom Mainliner

I heard it started in Australia.

Not surprising, seeing as its a country full of thick ignorant hillbillies,

and that's just the Irish that have emigrated there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

So theres this drinking game called "kings"

i prefer it to this silliness !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It's incredible in this day and age that people hold a phone in portrait mode when recording.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Haha Facebook was doing well there for a while with the "it's great for keeping in touch deeeerp" & "I see cutsie wootsie baba pics" crowd but it's now home of retarded sh*ts just like bebo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

keith16 wrote: »
    It's incredible in this day and age that people hold a phone in portrait mode when recording.
    Vertical Video. Not even once.

Seriously, if my friends 'neknominated' me, I'd laugh and tell then where they can stick it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's "neknominate"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I actually deleted my facebook per se, so, therefore I haven't been whoring myself around facebook like a cheap hooker, per se.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

What the hell... how stupid is that like?

The guy with two whiskeys and a Guinness.. ok not good but won't kill you. One guy downs a shoulder of vodka... completely stupid, and the next guy with vodka, absent, beer and cat food?

People these days are morons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If I was an employer of any of the doss twats in those videos, I'd have their P45s typed up and in the post to them before they arrive in work the next day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 Bounty Hunter Dan

Toga! Toga! Toga! Toga!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Lapin wrote: »
    If I was an employer of any of the doss twats in those videos, I'd have their P45s typed up and in the post to them before they arrive in work the next day.
    I reckon as long as they turned up at work and do their job properly, it doesn't make a difference. Depends on the job I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

i seen one today and the guy mixed pale ale and larger and peeper.oh and picked up dog **** from his back garden and dropped it in .my god he drank it in 1 go until the glass was completely empty .sick ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wouldn't like you as a boss!

Why exactly?

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I reckon as long as they turned up at work and do their job properly, it doesn't make a difference. Depends on the job I suppose.

Makes no difference how good they are at their job.

Makes no difference what the job is.

If they were employees of mine, I'd be advertising their positions in the morning for someone who wouldn't place my business and judgement in a bad light.

I wouldn't want these gobshites working for me - representing any business I worked hard to set up.

I hope to fuck none of them are working in the public sector.

Makes no difference how good they are at their job.

Makes no difference what the job is.

If they were employees of mine, I'd be advertising their positions in the morning for someone who wouldn't put my business and judgement in a bad light.

I wouldn't want these gob****es working for me - representing any business I worked hard to set up.

I hope to fuck none of them are working in the public sector.

:o

I wouldn't work for you! Last thing anyone wants is a manager like you.

Why exactly?

Would you trust someone with your money and property while they wantonly abuse alcohol mixed with cat food in an effort to gain respect for themselves on the internet ?

:o

I wouldn't work for you! Last thing anyone wants is a manager like you.

OK then.

Take up the challenge.

Film yourself downing a pint of Jager, vodka and Tia Maria with a can of Bulmers thrown in for good measure.

Put it up on the web. Wait till you get 1500 views.

Then bring it in and show it to your boss.

See how your promotion prospects develop after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I just imagine they get sick after the camera stops rolling.

I've no problem with anyone (over 18) getting drunk as long as they have a general sense of cop on about what they are doing.

Nothing wrong with having a few beers or a glass of vino too many at home now and again, or having a slightly wobbly walk home from the pub every once and a while.

Even some from the most staunch anti drink lobbys concede that such deviations from moderation are relatively harmless in comparison to the abuse of alcohol witnessed in these videos.

And while I don't for one second believe that there was alcohol involved in all those clips (I've been around the block long enough and sampled enough of the pleasures of spirits to know what look it would leave on the face of those who down the stuff), I do believe that these muppets are playing right into the hands of the killjoys who want to restrict drinking altogether.

These videos are all the ammunition the government needs as an excuse to slap even more taxes and duties on alcohol in a vain effort to curtail alcohol abuse.

Meanwhile those who enjoy a drink without having to boast about it on the web are penalised because of the actions of those who clearly cannot handle theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'm pretty on board with Lapin, here.
    I've had far more to drunk that I should have at times but the people in the videos are f**king idiots and that's putting it nicely.
    Alcohol is something that can kill you. You might get lucky and throw it up but there's gonna be a time when someone drinks too much fomr one of these f**king idiotic videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

They're probably bloody students.
    But yes, necking a shoulder of vodka is beyond stupid. So is biting a dead chickens head off and referring to it as a grown up egg. Or maybe that's genius I'm not sure anymore.

I don't want to come across as some preaching wanker, because I do love a drink myself.

But this shít isn't drinking. This is just a bunch of sad attention seeking fucks who aren't getting it elsewhere.

There is nothing nothing to be gained from downing neat spirits in such a manner other than the respect of fools and possibility of immediade cardiac / permanant liver problems or instant brain damage.

The toxic shock such a sudden intake of hard liquor has on the body can result in spasmic convultions leading to a coma resulting in the poor gobshite living out the rest of their braindead days on life support until their family eventually consent to pull the plug.

Don't believe me? Go check it out. I'm not making this up.

And poor gobshite is exactly how anyone who ends up dead like this will be forever remembered. Not because they couldn't handle their drink (this crap isn't drinking).

But because the poor gobshite was so easily lead that they allowed themselves to be talked into doing it in the first place.

Really not worth it.

The fuckwits in these videos wouldn't last 2 hours in a pub, and give real drinkers a bad rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

They're probably bloody students.
    But yes, necking a shoulder of vodka is beyond stupid. So is biting a dead chickens head off and referring to it as a grown up egg. Or maybe that's genius I'm not sure anymore.

Except some are in their late twenties. Possibly thirty, if I kept better track of folks ages.

Jernal wrote: »
    Except some are in their late twenties. Possibly thirty, if I kept better track of folks ages.

Immature mature students ?