Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,567 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

thecatspjs wrote: »
    I've seen a fair few girls do it too. Maybe not as extreme, but in one case she stripped down to her underwear before downing a beer at a luas stop in town. She could have caught quite a chill.

And the peer pressure for younger people to engage in this nonsense is quite something.

If you don't do these things, you are boring and weird. Strange aul place this island is.

The drinking of shots is another peer pressure thing - if you refuse a shot, people think there's something wrong with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Very

Link? You know.. For scientific purposes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

People have always necked drinks, and dares, weather they be silly and a bit of fun, sometimes stupid, and occasionally downright dangerous often accompanies drinking. All of this has happened before the rise of social media, the only thing that has changed is that the likes of facebook and snapchat has given it a name.

Unfortunately, on this occasion two people have died as a result of something that maybe started of as a bit of fun, and not to belittle their deaths, but people have died as a result of drinking and dares before. Maybe it being highlighted this time on social media, might just in the long term, be a reminder to people to just think before they have that drink, and not buckle and do something that they may not be comfortable with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

Anyone remember shotgunning cans and going out drinking with a bag of cans, some tubing and a funnel?

No Pants wrote: »
    Anyone remember shotgunning cans and going out drinking with a bag of cans, some tubing and a funnel?

Yea, I always got more on me than in me. Good times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,723 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Festy wrote: »

No autopsy done and its in a tabloid. I reckon cause if death will be something else that's doesn't make a sensational headline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Ugh. Regardless of people dying because of this, is this what constitutes fun these days? Seriously? Fair enough, I'm older than most of the people taking part in this stupid thing, but not by much. So pathetic. Jesus get a f**king hobby or even go to an actual pub and drink.

I'm not saying I've never done anything stupid or that I don't enjoy a drink, but I can hand on heart say even my younger self would find this thing sad. Baffling that there are so many idiots out there.

Just skipped through the thread, some of the comments were an absolute disgrace.

Condolences to the mans family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

yawhat! wrote: »
    She hot?

duck face, make up, tattoos, skimpy clothing, over-saturated brightly colored photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Silly people do silly things.
    A young life gone and a family destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I thought this thread was about fcuking dead people.

No stefan dahling! That's necrophilia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Jeez thanks Michael for the Nomination, I going to drink a pint off window cleaner and shoot 5 people! I nominate John Fingers Ryan and Danny Sticks Kelly! 25 hours brahs!!!

Am I the only shocked that everyone in Ireland has a nickname :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

<mod snip>

Banned

astonaidan wrote: »
    Jeez thanks Michael for the Nomination, I going to drink a pint off window cleaner and shoot 5 people! I nominate John Fingers Ryan and Danny Sticks Kelly! 25 hours brahs!!!

Am I the only shocked that everyone in Ireland has a nickname :eek:

Shocked :eek:? or jealous :cool:?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lapin wrote: »
    If I was an employer of any of the doss twats in those videos, I'd have their P45s typed up and in the post to them before they arrive in work the next day.

Q.E.D.

What a muppet. Not just for the idiotic nomination but also for walking around a polished floor wearing studded boots. Feckin eejit.

Not only would I sack him if I was his boss, I'd drop him from the team too if I was his hurling coach.

Apart from bringing his club and county into disrepute I'd show him the door because no one wants an idiotic moron on their team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Shocked :eek:? or jealous :cool:?
    Shocked

and yes jealous :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The comments are more entertaining than the video.
    I swear I would eat a bowl of co co pops from your arse

Apologies to mods but i couldn't see any thread listed referencing this tragic event which has occurred.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/second-death-linked-to-online-drinking-game-after-body-of-teenager-found-29971962.html

My deepest sympathies to both families in this terrible tragedy. It is believed to be the second death that came about in the last 24 hours due to it with a 22 year old in Dublin.

A young man of 19's body was recovered from the River Barrow earlier. It is believed his death came about due to partaking in a new drinking game that has emerged on the Internet. Im not in the loop with all of the drinking games and the ins and outs of them out there tbh (it could be an old one for all i know but thats irrelevant) and i cant fathom why anyone would partake in them if it could potentially lead to alcohol poisoning or to them choking on their own vomit or doing something that they may or may not even live to regret doing.

I understand that the family is calling for an end to this 'Neknomination' to end (rightly so) and the minister for health has weighed in with her view on it but surely to god the bigger picture here has to be this nations attitude to our use of alcohol in general. Partaking in drink games is only a new form of opportunity for people to binge drink.

I drink alcohol myself but in moderation and im not trying to take any moral high ground here Ive thankfully never felt the need to drink myself to oblivion and look ive no problem with people drinking but i think with the level of drinking as a nation were losing control here and worse still, instead of pulling ourself together were wearing it like a badge of honour. Im not calling for prohibition, but just a change in attitude before someone else gets killed.

Its not everyone that binge drinks in Ireland and a considerable amount of Irish people are responsible drinkers but its way too many people that are participating in it.

The many facets of our level of binge drinking such as anti social behaviour, the vulnerability to make poor decisions that come from drinking too much and then there is the health risks are too much for us as a nation to consider for us to continue bury our head in the sand or laugh it off.

I cant sympathise with the families of the dead enough but i really think now is the time to do something about it before it gets any worse. It takes a bit more then just asking for drinking games to be stopped though. We need to meet this problem head on. I feel there is a lack of education out there on this. Teenagers for example are prohibited from drinking until they are 18 but its not fully explained as to why they are prohibited and the implications from abusing alcohol substances.

Im not calling for cynical pricing measures and given that alcohol is an addictive substance i believe we would still have problems but just better education for not just the youth but the whole nation going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Maybe I missed it earlier in the thread but this

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/captain-moron

It's in pretty poor taste with what's happening at the moment

Hope this fad stops soon before more lives are claimed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

The last time I was asked to participate in a drinking game was about a year ago, I just told them to go **** themselves, I have 4 cans left, I'm going to enjoy them at my own pace, what good will it do me to down them quickly and run out of beers then for the rest of the night, idiots!

Fair play to you for having the cajoles to not to bow to peer pressure. In a party environment its not an easy thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Maybe I missed it earlier in the thread but this

http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/captain-moron

It the absolute lowest of the low even for SW standards and they deserve to be called out for that pure and utter bull****

How do I lodge a formal complaint with them shower so I can tell them exactly what I think

Had a look online but not much there. Anyone made a complaint before?

FFS that is someone's child and family/friends have to see that bollox splattered on the front page.

The man is dead and regardless, there's a thing called respect

That mans not dead;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,770 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

apparently the neck nominations facebook page has closed down, another page called stop neck nominations is claiming its responsible for having the neck nominations facebook page shut down, all though i suspect the neck nominations facebook shut of their own accord and not because some other facebook page which is full of the blame someone else types dictated to them, its like the no to the facebook strike troll page again, anyway father ted time

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

Just deleted my facebook cause of this purely **** filling up my page too. Bunch of no life attention seeking assholes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

The comments are more entertaining than the video.

Whose arse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

That mans not dead;)

And that is not Captain Morgans.
    So really headline should be 'Idiot TV personality drinks piss coloured liquid from Captain Morgans bottle'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I vaugely know the family concerned & my sympathies to them.

Would I get involved in something like this? No I wouldn't.

I'm 45 & married with a family. Why would I?

25 years ago, who knows? I might have thought of the thing as a bit of craic.

I pulled some stunts years ago that could've gotten me killed, but I'm still here.

Young people are always going to do stupid things, especially with a few pints on board.

In my day you'd be the big man if you drove a car drunk, now it's pulling stunts on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

And that is not Captain Morgans.
    So really headline should be 'Idiot TV personality drinks piss coloured liquid from Captain Morgans bottle'.

Definitely not Captain Morgans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

That mans not dead;)

Well I feel stupid now :( read over it and thought it was related to one of the 2 deaths. Im the moron lol

Even still, it's in poor taste with what has happened the past 48 hours