Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

I watched a video on fb yesterday, sorry if it has been mentioned already, two Australian lads, one lad sets the scene, then calls his friend in for the main event, he starts with a bong hit, followed by a near full bottle of vodka, a line of coke, then something like 8 ecstasy, and 2 or 3 acid, he stopped short of drinking the container of petrol, crazy, it looked like early morning time too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I was expecting Pokemon. Ah well.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

Seen a fair decent one there doing the rounds.

Your man talking about he's an even greater "mad b*stard" & is going to upshow the "self professed full time mad b*stards" with something he hasn't seen done yet, boils water....and then basically starts making tea.

Upon backing out of the challenge & deriding his own failure, he tells folks watching to have some cop on. That with these videos trying to 1up each other, some impressionable kid will at some point try to down a large quantity of vodka to show off to their peers & hospitalise themself.

CLIFFS:
    - Parody video posted with a "Think of the children" message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't understand how once a person hits their mid 30s or have children they seem to completely forget the fact they were teenagers once too and more than likely did similar stupid stuff.

There was a taxi driver on 4FM last night and by the way he was going on you'd swear binge drinking was invented in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭A Scoundrel

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I love how riled up people get when you say you don't have Facebook, it's nearly a sport in itself :D
    I wasn't getting riled... I was pre-empting the inevitable "I deleted my FB" comments by saying it is irrelevant.

Some people, me... others... may have tried deleting our facebook, but just found it too damn practical for interacting with friends and family at home and abroad. Not everyone uses instagram or snapchat across the generational divide.

I'm sure you're delighted with yourself for deleting FB. But I really couldn't give a fig whether or not a stranger on the internet deleted his facebook... that was the whole point of my reply.

Luno wrote: »
    I know of many who have done this and honestly the effort they put into making the videos (generally a big video before the 'nekking') is actually hilarious. I don't really see the harm in it as long as those doing it are not harming or endangering anybody else.

Agree... some of these videos (especially the early ones) are genuinely funny.

My grief is with the minimal effort bandwagoning ones where people think the act of necking a pint is hilarious; or more bizarrely, necking it in their underwear/ shirtless. No imagination, just mind paralyzing self congratulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

If you delete your facebook you basically must of having no friends! How else do you keep in contact with friends abroad, from school, from college and perv on women!

If you or them lose your phone number that's the end of contact basically with them.you don't have to see some of your friends every weekend or every year! You get a catchup at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

yawhat! wrote: »
    If you or them lose your phone number that's the end of contact basically with them.
    That's true, before mobile phones there was no way to contact people once you lost line of sight with them, and once you went more than ten miles from your home or were gone for more than 3 hours you could never go back again. Some people even ceased to exist if they went without smalltalk for 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

ScumLord wrote: »
    ...Some people even ceased to exist if they went without smalltalk for 2 hours.

Aye. Worse than that - I once accidentally deleted my LISP interpreter and disappeared completely up my own arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I just saw on Twitter and Facebook that neknomination has claimed it's first life. Someone has died after downing a bottle of Morgans.

RIP. And hopefully it stops the ridiculous craze.

Link: http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irishman-ross-cummins-dies-after-3102987

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Delete your facebook. Did it months ago, you won't regret it and you wont miss it. It's for kids and morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The worst I have saw of this trend was a geordie who drank his own urine !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭fits

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irishman-ross-cummins-dies-after-3102987

Young Irish guy dies from a stroke after participating

So needless��

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Reasons like this remind me why I deleted my Facebook account.

Pitty because I was going to add you. Just lost the chance to double your friends there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

sullivlo wrote: »
    I just saw on Twitter and Facebook that neknomination has claimed it's first life. Someone has died after downing a bottle of Morgans.

RIP. And hopefully it stops the ridiculous craze.

Link: http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irishman-ross-cummins-dies-after-3102987

He didn't die because he did a neknomination. He died because he did it with a pint of whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

agreed. How many threads do we need on this. This is at least the 3rd in the last week.
    I deleted facebook so I wouldn t have to see that crap, and now its spreading to boards.

You didn't delete facebook. You deleted your account.

More importantly: No one cares.

If you don't want to read about neknomination then maybe don't open the thread dedicated to discussing neknomination.

You didn't delete facebook. You deleted your account.

More importantly: No one cares.

If you don't want to read about neknomination then maybe don't open the thread dedicated to discussing neknomination.

You sound like a typical facebook user.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Oh no - the world has lost a stupid person - how will we ever go on without his contribution to our planet!!?

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

He lost the Neknomination, but he might win a Darwin Award.

First thing that popped into my head when I saw that someone had died. It was just a matter of time. You have to be very stupid to think that downing huge amounts of alcohol won't do you any damage. A needless loss of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Oh no - the world has lost a stupid person - how will we ever go on without his contribution to our planet!!?

Drinking a pint of spirits was indeed moronic but a guy is dead, there's no need for that. I'm sure his friends and family will find it pretty hard to go on without his contribution to their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭jinxremoving

thats a heartless comment, he did something stupid yes but he paid with his life for it. a young man is dead and his family, friends and girlfriend are all heartbroken and they'll miss his contribution to their lives.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

The irony of my friend telling me "it's only a bit of craic sure" last night, when we argued about it.

I'd have thought some impressionable teen would be the first to die, trying to emulate 20+ year olds necking spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Drinking a pint of spirits was indeed moronic but a guy is dead, there's no need for that. I'm sure his friends and family will find it pretty hard to go on without his contribution to their lives.

I was wondering how long would it take for the high top calvary to charge in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Very sad for his family and all, but how utterly retarded do you have to be to do what he did. He won't be the last, and the human gene pool won't be any worse for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

A pint of whiskey, that would kill a horse!

RIP to the fella.

He lost the Neknomination, but he might win a Darwin Award.

Someone's friend, someone's son.

Disgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

FearDark wrote: »
    Someone's friend, someone's son.

So is everyone who does something stupid, or evil or whatever. Doesn't absolve them of it

Sure Hitler was someones friend and son, hardly excuses his actions
    that the first nazi mention in the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭fits

COYVB wrote: »
    Very sad for his family and all, but how utterly retarded do you have to be to do what he did. He won't be the last, and the human gene pool won't be any worse for it

Who hasn't downed a naggin of a spirit at some stage of their lives?. This is an extension of it, and yeah the craze encouraged it. Yeah it was a stupid thing to do but even downing a beer is pretty stupid really. Can't help feeling awfully sorry for this guys family and friends. Just needless ��

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Unless he was a raging alcoholic who beat them which judging by him downing a bottle of whiskey in less than a minute suggests he probably might be