Neknomination ***MOD WARNING FIRST POST***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

fits wrote: »
    Who hasn't downed a naggin of a spirit at some stage of their lives?. This is an extension of it, and yeah the craze encouraged it. Yeah it was a stupid thing to do but even downing a beer is pretty stupid really. Can't help feeling awfully sorry for this guys family and friends. Just needless ��

Downing a naggin =/= downing a LITRE OF SPIRITS for a bloody facebook video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

fits wrote: »
    Who hasn't downed a naggin of a spirit at some stage of their lives?. This is an extension of it, and yeah the craze encouraged it. Yeah it was a stupid thing to do but even downing a beer is pretty stupid really. Can't help feeling awfully sorry for this guys family and friends. Just needless ��

I would guess most people? Most of us have drank more than we should at some point but a pint of spirits that quickly will not end well and I would expect a 20 year old to know that.

I feel sorry for his friends and family but he was an idiot to do it with anything more than 3-4% alcohol. I dont blame this neknomination stuff for it at all, everyone else is doing it with a can or pint of beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

Jesus lads, it's a small country. He lived down the road from me - I don't know him or anything, but I live on Macken Street everyday, where he was found. Fair enough, you're all intelligent enough to realise that downing a pint whiskey isn't the safest thing to do, but no need to insult the dead, especially when there's a high probability that family and friends will see this thread. Have a bit of cop on ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

wazky wrote: »
    I was wondering how long would it take for the high top calvary to charge in.

So I'm "high top cavalry" because I have a problem with people belittling a family's loss and I'm willing to speak up about it?
    I'd rather be high top cavalry than an "I told you so" jerk, particularly where a young person's death and its impact on those left behind is concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

tdv123 wrote: »
    Unless he was a raging alcoholic who beat them which judging by him downing a bottle of whiskey in less than a minute suggests he probably might be

For fúcks sake.... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

COYVB wrote: »
    So is everyone who does something stupid, or evil or whatever. Doesn't absolve them of it

Sure Hitler was someones friend and son, hardly excuses his actions
    that the first nazi mention in the thread?

You must be kidding, right?
    You Godwin'd yourself to try to compare a foolish young guy who died after a drinking game to Hitler???

If we were all to have every single stupid act that we did when young held up in front of us, I'm sure that there is many an honest poster on here who will think to themselves on reflection "Jesus, that was a close one"

RIP to the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

As someone who knows the guy who died indirectly I think some of the comments here are disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

As someone who knows the guy who died indirectly I think some of the comments here are disgraceful.

I suggest you ring Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Days 298

Its funny. Some people take themselves too serious. People like them because they are funny enough. Some are disgusting and get liked because......... dont really know. If someone put piss in their drink and drank it theyd be considered a creep. Surround him by a few cheering mates and call it a neknominate and it okay. Strange things happening every day.

Unless he was a raging alcoholic who beat them which judging by him downing a bottle of whiskey in less than a minute suggests he probably might be

Ah for the love of the baby jebus:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Sure, because everyone in history who's ever done a stupid dare involving alcohol is clearly a raging and violent alcoholic whose family is glad to see the back of him/her.
    I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you're trolling, not sure if my faith in humanity can handle too many more batterings in one day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

No sympathy. You do retarded things you deserve what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

wazky wrote: »
    I suggest you ring Joe.

Your wit really knows no bounds does it? I can only hope to one day transcend this pitiful existence as a mediocre being and reach your level of enlightenment and self-righteousness.

Grow up. What he did was stupid no doubt but some of the talk in here is still a disgrace and you know it.

Is it morons day out or is there a full moon or something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Only morons do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

No sympathy. You do retarded things you deserve what happens.

It's cool to be heartless on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭fits

I feel sorry for his friends and family but he was an idiot to do it with anything more than 3-4% alcohol. I dont blame this neknomination stuff for it at all, everyone else is doing it with a can or pint of beer.

Earlier on the thread someone mentions Australians doing it with all sorts of stuff.

Was it a litre of whiskey or a pint? (not that it matters but) reports vary.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I have found quite a lot of the efforts to be humorous and harmless in the main. Most people keep it to a pint of beer or the odd measure of spirits.

What sort of a douchebag necks a pint of whiskey? Only going to be one result from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

What he did was pathetically stupid but it doesn't mean he was stupid or deserved to die. Did he harm or abuse anyone else while doing it? No. Tragic loss, condolences to the family. RIP. :(

Perhaps on an optimistic note this may help moderate the neknominating a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Grow up. What he did was stupid no doubt but some of the talk in here is still a disgrace and you know it.

If my son or brother or whatever died due to complete idiocy of his own making, do you reckon I would be on boards having a meltdown over some comments about said idiocy?

efb wrote: »
    Only morons do this

Agreed.

It takes an even bigger moron to gloat about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Aidric wrote: »
    I have found quite a lot of the efforts to be humorous and harmless in the main. Most people keep it to a pint of beer or the odd measure of spirits.

What sort of a douchebag necks a pint of whiskey? Only going to be one result from that.

Not everyone knows that about whiskey though. There's foods or drinks you don't know the limits about either. It was ignorance i.e lack of awareness of the harmful effects of whiskey that got him killed. Any 'nekker' could be ignorant towards any particular ingredient. It's good that you're aware of the harmful effects of whiskey but you don't know the effects of every drink so please think twice before you cast the label of douchebag on someone for not knowing something or bowing to a pervasive culture of alcohol adoration. Because anyone can be guilty of either of those things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Sure, because everyone in history who's ever done a stupid dare involving alcohol is clearly a raging and violent alcoholic whose family is glad to see the back of him/her.
    I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you're trolling, not sure if my faith in humanity can handle too many more batterings in one day :(

Oh I'm sorry I didn't realize this thread was titled "man is dead". thread. Maybe if this thread was in obituaries instead of AH you'd get a different response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Not a smart thing to do for sure, but some of the comments on here are heartless and pathetic. We have all done silly things when we where younger. His friends and family will most probably read this thread and you will only compound their heartbreak. AH amazes me sometimes, some of its users are such a55holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I don't think he died from a neknomination. This seems to be just a rumour. His neknomination video is on his facebook page from 22nd January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭fits

COYVB wrote: »
    Downing a naggin =/= downing a LITRE OF SPIRITS for a bloody facebook video

I don't know if it was a litre or a pint but I would say its more likely a pint which is 568ml. A naggin is 200ml.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Some real arseholes on this thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Drinking a pint of spirits was indeed moronic but a guy is dead, there's no need for that. I'm sure his friends and family will find it pretty hard to go on without his contribution to their lives.

I feel sorry for his friends & family for their loss - I genuinely do - but every moron is related to someone; so by your logic we can never speak ill of anyone ever.
    All I said was that the guy was an idiot (true), and it's no loss that he has been removed from the human gene pool (true).

This is akin to that other idiot who died while planking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

But it's ok to call him a moron and a douchebag because you're doing it on the internet??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Jernal wrote: »
    Not everyone knows that about whiskey though. There's foods or drinks you don't know the limits about either. It was ignorance i.e lack of awareness of the harmful effects of whiskey that got him killed

Seriously? The 40% on the bottle wouldn't be enough of a warning sign, no?