Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

I was a Harps man back in the day. How long do you support them?

Another Harps man! Been going since mid nineties. Man U got boring around then and started winning everything, no craic in that so I went for certain misery.

I used to do the fanzine at Harps in the mid 2000s.

Swiper, been to the Cross many times, great ground. The away trips are the best thing about the LOI, best thing about following any team really. Actually when I've been to Cork we'd usually do the return trip in the same day! Once went Letterkenny to Cobh and back one Sunday in the back of a Caddy van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

KevIRL wrote: »
    @ Mr P re Boardwalk, dont worry it just gets better and better, season 3 is a bit slow to start but dont despair

GOT likewise really.

Sounds good to me. I've got no problem whatsoever with a show setting down groundwork even if it takes a few episodes and it'll probably need some of that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

FHFC wrote: »
    Another Harps man! Been going since mid nineties. Man U got boring around then and started winning everything, no craic in that so I went for certain misery.

I used to do the fanzine at Harps in the mid 2000s.

I played for them for 2 years you probably shouted abuse at me;)

I'm intrigued. I would have been more likely to make up a song about you.

What seasons so I can narrow ya down!

Currently one of my main rivals in the Harps pay league is a Harps legend and 6th I think in the all time LOI goalscorers list....did you play with him?

Edit. I could just look ya up in the FSA Ranking League but that would be cheating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Invincible

What position did you play busts?

I'm intrigued. I would have been more likely to make up a song about you.

What seasons so I can narrow ya down!

Currently one of my main rivals in the Harps pay league is a Harps legend and 6th I think in the all time LOI goalscorers list....did you play with him?

I seen that ye I played with him at the start of his career sound fella. It was 99-01 midfield.

Sound man all right, helped him run his testimonial last year.

99! Back when we were good! Impressive!!

Were you about for the cup run or just after?

Sound man all right, helped him run his testimonial last year.

99! Back when we were good! Impressive!!

Were you about for the cup run or just after?

I played in the cup final but I won it.

Have you now so. You went on to play for Kildare?

That bloody cup final! We threw it away!!

An FAI cup medal in our midst lads! Legendary!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Dyksey in charge of Harps at that time busts?

Have you now so. You went on to play for Kildare?

That bloody cup final! We threw it away!!

An FAI cup medal in our midst lads! Legendary!!

No your thinking of the right back I was midfield.

PARlance wrote: »
    Dyksey in charge of Harps at that time busts?

Ye he signed me.

No your thinking of the right back I was midfield.

I actually though of you first then I was thinking Ray Kenny all right.

Sound man. Have met ya a few times, I'd have been one of the singin, drumming, drinking and roarin brigade! Actually think I remember chatting to you in the bar the Turners Cross after a game one time as you were headin back to Dublin rather than headin up with the rest of the team...or maybe that actually was Ray Kenny too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Ye he signed me.

He tried to sign me but I wasn't having any of it :)

At a much, much lower level a few years on

I actually though of you first then I was thinking Ray Kenny all right.

Sound man. Have met ya a few times, I'd have been one of the singin, drumming, drinking and roarin brigade! Actually think I remember chatting to you in the bar the Turners Cross after a game one time as you were headin back to Dublin rather than headin up with the rest of the team...or maybe that actually was Ray Kenny too! :D

Ye it was probably me small world. Myself, fergal and ray used to come up from dublin.

You were very quiet! :). Mind you you'd just played a match and I'd probably been drinking from Donegal to Cork so maybe it just seemed that way...

Man that is mental. We had some team back then compared to now, and some crowds. You'd have played in that cup match we beat shels in Ballybofey with about 3 or 4,000 there. Or did you go the year before?

You were there when we went down too actually I think?

I ended up on the Board of Directors for about 5 years in later 2000s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

glCeUbv.png

Have a feeling I'm going to come away this weekend with nothing.

You were very quiet! :). Mind you you'd just played a match and I'd probably been drinking from Donegal to Cork so maybe it just seemed that way...

Man that is mental. We had some team back then compared to now, and some crowds. You'd have played in that cup match we beat shels in Ballybofey with about 3 or 4,000 there. Or did you go the year before?

You were there when we went down too actually I think?

I ended up on the Board of Directors for about 5 years in later 2000s.

I probably didnt understand a word you were saying. I always found the donegal accent difficult especially a donegal man with a load of pints in him:pac:. Ye it was a very strong team the year I signed but there were cutbacks the year after that and that was the year we went down. I was gone for that cup game you are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Danger781 wrote: »
    glCeUbv.png

Have a feeling I'm going to come away this weekend with nothing.

Sunderland looks a really good price but Palace seriously scares me there, brave man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

8-10 wrote: »
    Sunderland looks a really good price but Palace seriously scares me there, brave man!

Yeah at 4/1 I couldn't say no to Sunderland. No Remy, no Cabaye.

Interesting stats:
    Newcastle have conceded first in their last 3 EPL games.
    Newcastle United haven’t won against Sunderland since August 2011.
    Fabio Borini has scored in each of his two Premier League appearances against Newcastle United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'm going for under 2.5 goals in the Palace game. I think Palace are going to keep it tight and Arsenal will struggle. They are missing alot of players.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I'm going for under 2.5 goals in the Palace game. I think Palace are going to keep it tight and Arsenal will struggle. They are missing alot of players.

Yeah they won't make it easy for them alright! I just don't see them winning. Under 2.5 goals is a good shout I reckon.

I actually quite like the Liverpool & Arsenal 6/4 to win double. PP have it as a special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

All my bets this weekend are proudly brought to you by Bud Light, Soda Stream, Audi and GoDaddy :p
    GOOOOO BRONCOS!!!

I probably didnt understand a word you were saying. I always found the donegal accent difficult especially a donegal man with a load of pints in him:pac:. Ye it was a very strong team the year I signed but there were cutbacks the year after that and that was the year we went down. I was gone for that cup game you are talking about.

Hah, nawhin wrang wi the Donegal accent hi sur.

Was just chatting to Mr McHugh here, I work with him too, he was sayin hello!!

Yeah they won't make it easy for them alright! I just don't see them winning. Under 2.5 goals is a good shout I reckon.

I think I might double it up with Chelsea City under 2.5 goals.

A few bets I've done:

Double on Under 2.5 goals in Man City Chelsea and Palace Arsenal. 4.4/1.

Treble on Under 2.5 goals in West Ham Swansea, Hull Spurs and Cardiff Norwich. 5.1/1.

Lucky 15 Anytime Scorer on:
    Emmanuel Adebayor
    Christian Benteke
    Robin van Persie
    Jay Rodriguez

And my crazy morning bet with odds of 12.1/1. West Ham and Sunderland to win.

I've also gone with Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone to win in their League matches. 3.8/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Great auld weekend of sport this. EPL games on the box, football league starting, superbowl, darts streaming on youtube and of course the start of the 6 Nations. Bring it on

Bud Light, $hit beer, great Superbowl ad

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think I might double it up with Chelsea City under 2.5 goals.

A few bets I've done:

Double on Under 2.5 goals in Man City Chelsea and Palace Arsenal. 4.4/1.

Treble on Under 2.5 goals in West Ham Swansea, Hull Spurs and Cardiff Norwich. 5.1/1.

Lucky 15 Anytime Scorer on:
    Emmanuel Adebayor
    Christian Benteke
    Robin van Persie
    Jay Rodriguez

And my crazy morning bet with odds of 12.1/1. West Ham and Sunderland to win.

I've also gone with Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone to win in their League matches. 3.8/1.

I like the look of West Ham/Cardiff double @6/1 on the PP powerplay special

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/powerplay/enhanced-special?bet_uid=610a980166111c52eccaa80ba8d6&login_bet_place=1&bs_place=1&use_gp=true&ev_oc_grp_ids=239489

KevIRL wrote: »

I'm not sure about Cardiff though. Norwich have picked up a couple of decent results lately.