Why was Garth Brooks so popular in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,580 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Can they not get tickets online rather than camping out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

lazygal wrote: »
    Have you any friends in low places who could sort you out? With some beer and whisky to chase the blues away if you don't get tickets?

Thanks for the humour. Need that right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Here we have it:

from here
    Proof that people who like crap music have no musical ability/appreciation. Thus why the masses like drivel like Garth Brooks, Katy Perry, Justin Bieber etc etc.

So there you are, go off and learn an instrument and your taste in music will explode.

[/INDENT]

This is from the article you are linking - how ironic can you get ;) - I couldn't have put it better myself.
    The main thing should be whether the performer or artist is bringing pleasure to someone’s life. If that pleasure is not harming anyone, it is bigoted and arrogant to mock that individual for enjoying it. We’re not the deciders of what is “real” or “proper” music, art, film, and so on. Shaming should cease so we can all listen and enjoy whatever we like – while recognising we are all capable of enjoying more and enjoying things in new ways. We just don’t have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I would give my life to see him. And people camping out already makes me feel so sick. Im in tears here :(

I'm a big bag of nerves too.

I think my new year's 'lose weight' resolution might be working. Cant eat since all this has been announced. Sick at the thought of not getting any tickets.

You'll be a hard luck woman until you find your tickets and your man.

wow sierra wrote: »
    Brilliant :)

I cried tears from laughing so much at this.

'No more helicopters to the galway races'

This was one of my favourite bits of that video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

And he very much still has it.

After 17 years, 3 sold out gigs in minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Did you get tickets? No luck here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Plazaman

lazygal wrote: »
    Did you get tickets? No luck here.

Nope me neither. And I refuse to bow to those thieving bastárds on Done Deal or similar sites.

Application to become a Steward at the Croke Park gigs being typed up now.

Great to see Garth still has pulling power. I rememeber being wowed at the show in '97 so hope everyone who were lucky to get tickets have a similar experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I don't think he has "it" tbh. It's simply a case of lot of people behaving in a 'herd mentality and putting this man on pedestal - he's probably surprised with the reaction himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

ColeTrain wrote: »
    It's simply a case of lot of people behaving in a 'herd mentality and putting this man on pedestal
    I think the technical term for that is 'popular culture'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Reekwind wrote: »
    I think the technical term for that is 'popular culture'

No, this is different.

'Popular culture' is something like One Direction. Now, while I find One Direction deplorable, I can still see why they are popular, their music is never off the radio and they're always on TV - it's understandable.

This Garth Brooks craze is a different animal. My Facebook nearly exploded this morning with people proudly putting up pictures and statuses of their tickets.
    Now, a lot of these people would generally have the intelligence of a dishwasher. There is absolutely no chance that they are fans of Mr.Brooks. Seeing as his music is not on the radio, he's not on TV and they would not seek him out. This is simply a bandwagon, nothing more and nothing else.

BTW, I'm not out to insult the genuine fans, you're entitled to get excited about this. I'm just pointing out that there is a huge bandwagon here, as there is with a lot of things in Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

By a fan myself but I found it quite funny to see people either delighted at getting or in bits at not getting their "Gareth Brooks" tickets on my Facebook feed this morning. If you are that big a fan then at least learn to spell the mans name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I have to laugh at guys my age queuing up for tickets for a guy I never heard you once say anything about him and he lasted played in Ireland when you where 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

The amount of people showing up in my news feed on FB boasting about getting extra tickets and wanting E200-300 per ticket sickens me. How can people be so mean? Fair enough you got extra tickets, fair enough you want to make a few squids but charging nearly 3 times the amount is just greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Steve F

I'm curious to know if these people who queued for days have jobs to go to and what excuse they used to get out of work?If they are not in work where did the money for the tickets come from?.Do they not have a home and family to mind?Just asking!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

No but I've tickets here for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Steve F wrote: »
    I'm curious to know if these people who queued for days have jobs to go to and what excuse they used to get out of work?If they are not in work where did the money for the tickets come from?.Do they not have a home and family to mind?Just asking!:confused:

Are you normally that concerned about people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Steve F

Yeah terrible nosy me ;)

It was like a lottery this morning. I had no luck :( Disappointed severely. I'd say he would be epic live.
    Gutted.

Chucken, how did you get on this morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Got my tickets this morning.
    Mixture of delight and relief. My entire family are going, so its going to be a great day out.
    Can understand that he's not everyones cup of tea, but he was hugely popular here, before he retired in 2001.
    He outsold every artist( country or otherwise) in the world and has a devoted fanbase.
    The Croke Park concerts achieved legendary status and I'm not in the least bit surprised with the sellouts this time around.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I'd genuinely never heard of this Brooks lad until all the furore in the news lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Croke Park sold out 3 times in 90 minutes for this guy! Im staggered. What is really baffling about all this is the excitement amongst people who were toddlers when he last played here. I've too cousins who would have been in primary school back in the mid 90's and despite the fact they don't own one record of his, or actually ever talked about him one time in the last 15 years, the fact they got tickets for it wouldnt have generated more excitement if they had won the lottery! Jesus, herd mentality is a potent thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

I'd genuinely never heard of this Brooks lad until all the furore in the news lately.

Same, but shur I bought 6 tickets anyway! Be some craic :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

He's no Chris Gaines that's for sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

His music makes me shrivel up and die a little inside.

BUT. I shall respect the opinions of 240,000 people.

And i'd love to go, it'd be an utter culchie fest but i'd buy a ticket just to feed off the energy of 80,000 ecstatic people.

240,000 tickets at 60(?) quid each is 14.4 million yo-yos. Garth has the formula locked down.

Although I think it is rather cheeky of him to announce a third date. Like he was surprised the first two sold out. Ha. Man is a marketing genius.

Hope those that are going have a ball..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

He'd sell out the O2 tonight ffs, still massively popular with idiots all over the country.

That is roughly numerically equivalent to the minister who said we could expect about 10,000 East Europeans to care for our open border 10 or so years back :pac:

Agricola wrote: »
    Croke Park sold out 3 times in 90 minutes for this guy! Im staggered. What is really baffling about all this is the excitement amongst people who were toddlers when he last played here. I've too cousins who would have been in primary school back in the mid 90's and despite the fact they don't own one record of his, or actually ever talked about him one time in the last 15 years, the fact they got tickets for it wouldnt have generated more excitement if they had won the lottery! Jesus, herd mentality is a potent thing.

Ditto, I can just about remember his name, and the chorus of exactly one of his songs, yet a quick wiki reveals that in terms of post 1991 sales, he is bigger than The Beatles, Oasis, Michael Jackson, U2, Tupac, Eminem, Madonna, Rihanna, David Bowie, Rolling Stones, Nirvana, in fact bigger than any dead or alive artist or prominent new artist of the last 20 years whose names would seem more obvious, back catalogs and all, bar Elvis. People at the start of this thread seemed to think he was some flavour of the month consigned to a narrow belt between Alabama and Killybegs.

But it begs the question- who the hell made him the second biggest after Elvis? For such a successful guy I have never heard him name dropped on US TV or film, he has never been invited in to do a pointless guest spot on an awful new Simpsons, he has never been sent up by South Park. Where the hell is he in US pop culture? Until the other day I would not have recognised a photo of him if you offered me a grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Of course not. With respect, there are better lies you can say to look cool on a message board.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Of course not. With respect, there are better lies you can say to look cool on a message board.

Maybe I just wasn't listening hard enough but I would struggle to think of when or where I have heard him mentioned this century! Like I said above, for the 2nd biggest selling artist of the last 20 years his name is virtually absent from US pop culture (i.e. he being referred to on TV shows or films)