Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Samsung Galaxy S3 Problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Does anyone if/when we're getting Android 4.3 on Meteor? Or have any other carriers announced a date?
    Has there been an official statement from Samsung about 4.3 on the s3?

I wouldn't hold your breath tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭kenyard

as far as i remember reading they would support up until 5.0 on the s3. or that was the commitment.

the unofficial official 4.2.1 is out alright for bug testing and i had tried it and it was grand.

very smooth especially for a pre-release. didnt need much perfecting, but im sure there was a few minor things. also brought back the super battery life that had been for 4.0.x last versions.

4.3 doesnt add much at all again. just some minor changes to how stuff is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

http://www.sammobile.com/2013/07/24/samsung-reviewing-android-4-3-update-plans-isnt-naming-any-devices-just-yet/

Quick google brings up that. I know 4.3 doesn't add much but I want Dashclock and Lockscreen widgets. Plus, didn't Samsung say they'd bring most software features from the s4 to the s3? Hopefully they will be included in any update to 4.3. Its the camera app I'd like improved plus S Health sounds cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Theimprover

Erper wrote: »
    Quick update:

i took my phone to fonemenders, and as usual, they didnt trust me at first that phone is freezing, so only thing they did was reinstall the software in it.
    but after half an hour i had to go again as problem was still there, so i ended up with replaced board in the phone.
    technician told me that if he had white sgs3 he would give me and recycle mine...
    so that would be my third sgs3 in a year...

since board replacement no issuses so far

Are you still having no issues since the board replacement? I am having desperate freezing issues and have been with about 6wks, and old freeze about 10 times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Large thread so hard to know if this has been answered a few times but i'll go in again !!

Over the past week my phone has just randomly turned itself off for no reason. It happens during the night too so its not just occuring while in use.
    (its about 14 months old for what its worth)

Any idea whats going on here and how to fix without having to do a factory reset?

Tia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Does anyone ever have trouble with apps not working after updating to the latest nightly build of Cyanogen ? I have updated today and now my nike+ app doesnt work and neither does my banking app :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Erper

Are you still having no issues since the board replacement? I am having desperate freezing issues and have been with about 6wks, and old freeze about 10 times a day.

so far nothing, and its been almost a week.
    ill post it if something change in mean time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Slattsy wrote: »
    Large thread so hard to know if this has been answered a few times but i'll go in again !!

Over the past week my phone has just randomly turned itself off for no reason. It happens during the night too so its not just occuring while in use.
    (its about 14 months old for what its worth)

Any idea whats going on here and how to fix without having to do a factory reset?

Tia.

Sounds like early SDS. Back up your stuff now!

And also read the below two articles.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2133401
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2091045

Might help you somewhat. It can be put off on some phones others just die straight off from it.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

threein99 wrote: »
    Does anyone ever have trouble with apps not working after updating to the latest nightly build of Cyanogen ? I have updated today and now my nike+ app doesnt work and neither does my banking app :confused:

Some apps have to be updated to work with 4.3 How do they not work ?
    Maybe mail the devs or the bank and alert them to the problems ?

What bank app ?
    Bank of Ireland app works fine on 4.3 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Spipov

Erper wrote: »
    Quick update:

i took my phone to fonemenders, and as usual, they didnt trust me at first that phone is freezing, so only thing they did was reinstall the software in it.
    but after half an hour i had to go again as problem was still there, so i ended up with replaced board in the phone.
    technician told me that if he had white sgs3 he would give me and recycle mine...
    so that would be my third sgs3 in a year...

since board replacement no issuses so far

Do they ask for proof of ownership, ie receipts? Im getting one but if it freezes id like to know regarding repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Erper

Spipov wrote: »
    Do they ask for proof of ownership, ie receipts? Im getting one but if it freezes id like to know regarding repairs.

No but they are probably in contact with three...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

got another s3 back and same problem as last time, wont register my currently working on my otherphone 48 sim, was told it was seeting so went on 48 webite and entered them no good, then tryed to download the tweakker app as i was told to, then hone froze and wouldnt turn off at button.

i had to take battery out to get it off, turned it on again and screen just goes grey when booting with black lines across it. it will go into download mode though. any ideas lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Have read through a lot of this but haven't seen this problem.

Has anyone had files just go missing from the phone? I'm missing both music and photos.

I haven't deleted or formatted. However, to be fair the phone has had a few knocks and bangs.

The phone knows that the photos at least are there, but displays them like this :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭emo72

what about this one. phone works fine then after about an hour it loses signal and cant make calls or texts or receive anything. was working perfect since new 12 months with tesco sim. and then full factory reset and switched to vodafone, BAM problem arises.

google is not showing much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭irishpancake

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    got another s3 back and same problem as last time, wont register my currently working on my otherphone 48 sim, was told it was seeting so went on 48 webite and entered them no good, then tryed to download the tweakker app as i was told to, then hone froze and wouldnt turn off at button.

i had to take battery out to get it off, turned it on again and screen just goes grey when booting with black lines across it. it will go into download mode though. any ideas lads?

Hey DaNiEl.....you know I posted on this before....
    Of course you have a warranty....

by EU legislation you are entitled to a two year warranty, and your contract is with the retail outlet.....

bring it back, and either have it fixed, replaced it get a refund.

This is in addition to your Samsung warranty.

Check out the NCA website.....

I think www.nca.ie

You have statutory rights,insist on them with the retailer.

Download this....

http://www.nca.ie/media/Yourrightswhenshopping1.pdf

They replaced it with another faulty phone??

You are perfectly within your rights, legally and morally, to insist on your money back, read all I linked....

and download the pdf document I also linked....

you have rights as a consumer in ireland, guaranteed by EU consumer law, which has been transposed into Irish Law....

you gotta fight for, your and insist on your rights in the country.....

many young people think it's too much hassle, but times are getting tougher, and money don't grow on trees.

At nearly 60, I couldn't care less what shops or retailers think or say, I will always insist on my consumer rights.

This should be your approach.....

money back now, no more phuckin around!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭irishpancake

emo72 wrote: »
    what about this one. phone works fine then after about an hour it loses signal and cant make calls or texts or receive anything. was working perfect since new 12 months with tesco sim. and then full factory reset and switched to vodafone, BAM problem arises.

google is not showing much.

Google SDS...certainly looks like it, quoting Ste- here:
    Ste- wrote: »
    Sounds like early SDS. Back up your stuff now!

And also read the below two articles.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2133401
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2091045

Might help you somewhat. It can be put off on some phones others just die straight off from it.

Hope this helps.

Good advice, IMO...

also, bring it back to retailer, or where you bought it.....

and claim under EU 2 year warranty, not the Samsung warranty, that is in addition to your existing Statutory Rights in the EU and Ireland.....

this should not be happening to a €400/500 device after 12 months.

See my reply to DaNiEl above for links to the NCA [National Consumer Agency]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Wifes s3 died suddenly last week. Does she have any warranty with a few cracks on the glass that happened a month before the phone died?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭donkey balls

shedweller wrote: »
    Wifes s3 died suddenly last week. Does she have any warranty with a few cracks on the glass that happened a month before the phone died?

I'm in the same situation the phone has a small crack at the top of the glass which happened last year,Yet the phone worked perfectly until the last up date this year, I contacted Samsung and Fonfix who told me that due to the phones screen been cracked that the warranty was void even though the phone is f**ked from the last up date and it has nothing to do with a small crack in the screen.
    So I have to pay €150 for a new screen even though the problem is with the last firmware up date:mad: It is like having a car engine trouble yet the garage wont fix it under warranty due to a side panel having a dent.
    Does anyone know if Samsung are going release new firmware to fix the problems or will I have to fork out €150 for a new screen.

I was going to get the glass repaired but it would have to be by the official repairer. Then i would be probably charged for the repair of the faulty board inside. Feck that i'm not blowing most of a weeks wages on some nonsense like this. She can wait till her contract is up and get something else. Won't be an s3 or 4 though as they die when dropped and cost a fortune to replace!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm in the same situation the phone has a small crack at the top of the glass which happened last year,Yet the phone worked perfectly until the last up date this year, I contacted Samsung and Fonfix who told me that due to the phones screen been cracked that the warranty was void even though the phone is f**ked from the last up date and it has nothing to do with a small crack in the screen.
    So I have to pay €150 for a new screen even though the problem is with the last firmware up date:mad: It is like having a car engine trouble yet the garage wont fix it under warranty due to a side panel having a dent.
    Does anyone know if Samsung are going release new firmware to fix the problems or will I have to fork out €150 for a new screen.

That's definitely not right. Who did you buy it from? Don't forget the small claims court is there if the company you bought it from aren't living up to their legal obligations.

I'm having a similar problem with Tesco Mobile. I sent it off to FonFix like Tesco asked and FonFix say there is damage to the phone and that I have to pay 140 euro to get it fixed. The phone was fine, apart from the freezing issues, when I sent it off.

Got the phone last year as an up grade from 3 it really is annoying that they wont fix the freezing issue all because of the very small crack on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

That's definitely not right. Who did you buy it from? Don't forget the small claims court is there if the company you bought it from aren't living up to their legal obligations.

I'm having a similar problem with Tesco Mobile. I sent it off to FonFix like Tesco asked and FonFix say there is damage to the phone and that I have to pay 140 euro to get it fixed. The phone was fine, apart from the freezing issues, when I sent it off.

I'm afraid to say that you probably will end up paying the €140 if you want the phone fixed. I bought mine from Meteor, after about 3 months phone stopped working. It had been acting up beforehand. I spent about 1 month trying to get Meteor to repair it under warranty but they refused saying I had damaged the phone even though there wasn't a mark on it. Ended up just paying the €140 and was without my phone for approximately 2 months. Total joke, won't be buying Samsung again. Don't mind that things can go wrong with phones but the S3 seems to have been a total disaster and handled really badly in Ireland anyway.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm afraid to say that you probably will end up paying the €140 if you want the phone fixed. I bought mine from Meteor, after about 3 months phone stopped working. It had been acting up beforehand. I spent about 1 month trying to get Meteor to repair it under warranty but they refused saying I had damaged the phone even though there wasn't a mark on it. Ended up just paying the €140 and was without my phone for approximately 2 months. Total joke, won't be buying Samsung again. Don't mind that things can go wrong with phones but the S3 seems to have been a total disaster and handled really badly in Ireland anyway.

I will not be paying €140 that is for sure. If they refuse to rectify the issue then I'll be paying €25 to the small claims court. It'll be interesting to hear them tell the judge how I am responsible for damaging a small chip on the motherboard especially considered so many other S3s coincidentally enough have exactly the same issue.

I've already been without the phone for a month (FonFix came to their conclusion 3 weeks ago and nobody from Tesco Mobile or FonFix bothered to tell me). Luckily, I have a good backup phone.
    Got the phone last year as an up grade from 3 it really is annoying that they wont fix the freezing issue all because of the very small crack on the screen.

Legally, it doesn't matter. Your statutory warranty cannot be invalidated (contrary to popular belief). That doesn't mean the seller has to fix any issue. For example, if you drop your phone and the screen cracks, the seller will not have to rectify that because that was your fault and not a fault with the phone. In your case they would have to prove that you dropping the phone is responsible for the problem you are having. Seeing as this is such a common issue that, I imagine, would be quite difficult. Try and resolve the issue as much as you can with 3, but if you get nowhere you should take it to the small claims court.

I never even bothered to contact 3 as they normally would send it off to Fonmenders/Fonfix, So rather than waiting a week or two to go through a 3 shop I normally just go straight to the repair center and get it fixed within a day or two.
    Can you tell me what the process is for the small claims court as I feel that Samsung are taking the p*ss by saying that due to a tiny crack on the screen, That they will not fix the problem even though the screen has nothing to do with the freezing problems.

I never even bothered to contact 3 as they normally would send it off to Fonmenders/Fonfix, So rather than waiting a week or two to go through a 3 shop I normally just go straight to the repair center and get it fixed within a day or two.
    Can you tell me what the process is for the small claims court as I feel that Samsung are taking the p*ss by saying that due to a tiny crack on the screen, That they will not fix the problem even though the screen has nothing to do with the freezing problems.

You have to exhaust your options with three first. In Ireland, the company you bought it from is legally responsible for dealing with things like this not the manufacturer or a third party.

After that there is plenty of advice here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/courts_system/small_claims_court.html
    http://www.courts.ie/Courts.ie/Library3.nsf/pagecurrent/4F0ACA2C99B3EAC78025715C00517853

Although, I would advise you to start a thread on the Consumer Issues forum before making a claim as you will get better advice there.

You have to exhaust your options with three first. In Ireland, the company you bought it from is legally responsible for dealing with things like this not the manufacturer or a third party.

After that there is plenty of advice here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/courts_system/small_claims_court.html
    http://www.courts.ie/Courts.ie/Library3.nsf/pagecurrent/4F0ACA2C99B3EAC78025715C00517853

Although, I would advise you to start a thread on the Consumer Issues forum before making a claim as you will get better advice there.

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,104 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

If the screen has a crack the phone has been damaged, any repair company will only fix the fault if the screen is repaired as well. No technician will take off a cracked screen to fix another fault as the crack could run and then the customer could then accuse them of breaking the screen.
    You have no case to claim.

If the screen has a crack the phone has been damaged, any repair company will only fix the fault if the screen is repaired as well. No technician will take off a cracked screen to fix another fault as the crack could run and then the customer could then accuse them of breaking the screen.
    You have no case to claim.
    There is that alright. In my case i dont want to take the gamble though. The phone is within warranty but the cracked glass could be named as the cause of the motherboard failure (despite many many claims to the contrary) and i could then be charged for the motherboard replacement. I might just do what they want me to do and just do nothing but not before i badmouth them publicly. Their customer care is abysmal and their phones are way too fragile. My wife has been talking about iphones (spit) and id be inclined to agree because they can actually handle a drop. Not the glass but the phone itself. That small detail matters when i have countless other bills to pay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

My s3 has starting freezing regularly. Anyone able to tell me if the warranty can be refused for ANY damage on the phone whatsoever? Screen cracks have been mentioned alot but what about chips on some of the corners? Phone took a dive to the ground 18 months ago in the first week i had it and it would be disappointing for that to affect the warranty on a completely separate issue all this time later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,625 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

sentient_6 wrote: »
    My s3 has starting freezing regularly. Anyone able to tell me if the warranty can be refused for ANY damage on the phone whatsoever? Screen cracks have been mentioned alot but what about chips on some of the corners? Phone took a dive to the ground 18 months ago in the first week i had it and it would be disappointing for that to affect the warranty on a completely separate issue all this time later.

Not sure, but mine is gone to Fonemenders for repair for this problem, and they never questioned me about damage (it never even occurred to me tbh, there's a few scrapes on the edges, but never been actually dropped).

They just sent out a freepost envelope and I bunged it off... here's hoping I get it back!