If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Thank ya! got it for 800 and all

When's the remap:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

pred racer wrote: »
    When's the remap:pac:

Soon :pac: It needs a new throttle boddy, side indicator and a few little bits, all which the guy gave me for nothing on top of the cost :) after that, tracking and alignment, then new alloys, the proper aero ones, the ones on it look dirt, theeeen maybe the remap :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Thank ya! got it for 800 and all

Got it for the money you wanted then! Fair play to ya :cool::cool::cool::cool:

You'll have to give me a look around it during the exams ;)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Got it for the money you wanted then! Fair play to ya :cool::cool::cool::cool:

You'll have to give me a look around it during the exams ;)

Won't be going on the road till February I'm afraid! I wana get my moneys worth for my insurance now, plus the brother needs to get the money together

This is not acceptable.

I'll sell it so :pac:
    He nearly has it, so with a bit of luck i might get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Feck this wind and rain anyway.

Wish i had a shed so i could get tinkering and do an oil and plugs change and some cosmetic stuff.

Instead i watched a dozen or so sci-fi movies and the 1st 3 seasons of game of thrones while sat on my ass listening to said wind and rain

Ho Hum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Made shíte of the wheel brace today, when taking off the wheels to get to the arches, to give them a proper clean. It was never used before and all I loosened was 10 nuts. It is now bent and warped and the (hexagon?) shape is now a circle, so it wont loosen anything. Either they are crap quality or i'm just too tough :P :pac:

It's probably mild steel ****e, just make sure the wheel nuts are not rounded aswell

Made shíte of the wheel brace today, when taking off the wheels to get to the arches, to give them a proper clean. It was never used before and all I loosened was 10 nuts. It is now bent and warped and the (hexagon?) shape is now a circle, so it wont loosen anything. Either they are crap quality or i'm just too tough :P :pac:

Pics or it didn't happen :pac:

It's probably mild steel ****e, just make sure the wheel nuts are not rounded aswell

Ya they're all ok, have to track down another one now. One side of the car has spotless wheels and arches, the other looks a state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

You should get one of them extendable telescopic bars that take a 16 or 19 socket on the end. They are in sale in aldi or little the odd time for a fiver. I have a draper one in the focus all the time and it's very handy. When my mother got the punctures a few weeks ago I don't know how I would of got off the alloy without one of them just seriously over tight.

Bpmull wrote: »
    You should get one of them extendable telescopic bars that take a 16 or 19 socket on the end. They are in sale in aldi or little the odd time for a fiver. I have a draper one in the focus all the time and it's very handy. When my mother got the punctures a few weeks ago I don't know how I would of got off the alloy without one of them just seriously over tight.

I'll look into that. I have a hollow steel bar in the car that pops onto the end of the brace, which makes taking the nuts off a simple task.

Bpmull wrote: »

Had a 17/19mm one of them but brother broke it when i let him use it to smash his cars window to get his phone out of it, poor telescopic wheel brace :(

I went and took these especially for you toastedpickles. :D My phone isn't that technologically advanced so please forgive the pics.
    29pw3lk.jpg

k1zas8.jpg

I went and took these especially for you toastedpickles. :D My phone isn't that technologically advanced so please forgive the pics.
    29pw3lk.jpg

k1zas8.jpg

Oh very nice! I'm honored! :pac:

YbFocus! You have competition :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

New cars, people posting photos on demand. .

You sir have the life :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    New cars, people posting photos on demand. .

You sir have the life :)

Ironically! My mother just turned to me and goes " you're 22 in college, and you own two cars, you're doing well aren't ya?!" :pac:

Ha ha no recession over that direction.

How does the poor old astra feel about getting the door like this :)

Ha ha no recession over that direction.

How does the poor old astra feel about getting the door like this :)

Ah it's still going till feburary :) I won't be ditching it, far too many memories with that car, even when the brother owns it, I'll still look after it haha, it'l still be mine in my mind :pac:

I hope he doesn't abuse it, I would never give any of my cars to my sister!

If he does I'll buy it back off him for a pc part :pac:

Have you the same type of family as me where you're the only one that cares for cars?

If I didn't service the family's cars they'd all be in the ditch, the father's 2010 Octavia too!
    Will not look after it, over service and belt intervals, suspension falling apart etc :rolleyes:

Have you the same type of family as me where you're the only one that cares for cars?

If I didn't service the family's cars they'd all be in the ditch, the father's 2010 Octavia too!
    Will not look after it, over service and belt intervals, suspension falling apart etc :rolleyes:

More than likely! I'm the first to be able to drive so we'l have to wait and see, I'll keep at them though so they'l have no choice but to learn

The father and me drive, the sister drive for about a fortnight and tried to squeeze her clio between a parked car and a 20 tonne gravel lorry with obvious result :rolleyes:
    Younger brother is mad into motorsport and cars etc but won't get off his arse to learn himself!

My dad is into cars too, My mum only services her car because for some reason she finds the idea of breaking down terrifying :confused::confused:

Changed the timing belt in my sisters car and there wasn't a mark of oil on the dipstick :rolleyes::eek:

The father and me drive, the sister drive for about a fortnight and tried to squeeze her clio between a parked car and a 20 tonne gravel lorry with obvious result :rolleyes:
    Younger brother is mad into motorsport and cars etc but won't get off his arse to learn himself!

Bit like my family so! the father used to drive but he eh......got in trouble, my mother is terrified of it, the brother wants to but just isn't pushed, has his licence though! just needs lessons, and my aunt used to drive one of the original minis and she's looking to get back into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=88270084&postcount=48

Seeing as the thread got locked, I just had to correct this here.

Spelled =/= Spelt.

Spelled means a way of ordering letters to form a word, whereas spelt is a type of grain. THE TWO DO NOT EQUATE.

ARRRGGGHHH. That's better. God I hate locked threads sometimes. No room left for pedantry :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Ah now in fairness, that's a common VAG ailment :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭h3000

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=88270084&postcount=48

Seeing as the thread got locked, I just had to correct this here.

Spelled =/= Spelt.

Spelled means a way of ordering letters to form a word, whereas spelt is a type of grain. THE TWO DO NOT EQUATE.

ARRRGGGHHH. That's better. God I hate locked threads sometimes. No room left for pedantry :P

http://m.dictionary.com/definition/spelt
    verb
    1. a simple past tense and past participle of spell.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3