What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

We have guests staying tonight and they were sitting on the couch, dude splayed himself out so he could lie on everyone at once! He just loves making new friends :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭jimf

omg I just had a close one if the wife saw what happened id be history

I cleaned out toms litter tray 2 day and forgot to bring it back in to its usual spot in the kitchen poor cat obviously needed to go badly I was just in having a shower and when I came back out to the kitchen the poor cat is having a piss in the kitchen sink thank god thats all it was im still laughing and cant tell anyone why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

My previously emaciated rescue pup has put on another kilo :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I had a white cat.
    He entered the coal bunker.
    I have a black cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭jimf

boomerang wrote: »
    My previously emaciated rescue pup has put on another kilo :)

lookin brill now well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Nothing in particular, but there is nothing more contented than getting up hours before anyone else and pottering about with the dogs, having a lazy brekkie and chatting. I really do love mornings like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Whispered wrote: »
    Nothing in particular, but there is nothing more contented than getting up hours before anyone else and pottering about with the dogs, having a lazy brekkie and chatting. I really do love mornings like this.

Yes! On mornings like this, my dogs start circling in front of the sofa - they know if Im up early in my dressing gown, its the weekend, and I will sit on the sofa with my cuppa, 1 dog on my lap, 1 dog wedged between my thighs and the sofa, third dog wedged between my ankles and the sofa - ALWAYS the same positions, and blanket over the lot - BLISS! (then the farting or snoring starts :D)

My greyhound's best Peig Sayers impression... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

My dog does the cutest thing at night when she sleeps in the sitting room.

To get to the sitting room, you have to pass the bathroom. And to get to the bedroom, you have to pass the bathroom.

So in the middle of the night and the house is quiet and everyone asleep, I go to the bathroom but leave the door open as everyone's asleep anyway.

My dog hears that im up and sees it as an opportunity to get into my room. Rather than come and greet me. She will pass the bathroom, look in at me with a look as if to say 'il see you up there'. I'll find her in my bed when I get back to bed.

Thats all im worth to her at night, just a look. But she does that every time she sleeps in the sitting room. Its so cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

Ruby the kitten is obsessed with strawberry jam!
    Brown bread with jam and a cuppa is often my weekend breakfast, and if I turn my back Ruby will lick the jam off.
    At first I thought she was after the butter, but she always leaves the butter, it's just the jam, if I have no jam it's safe, she doesn't like marmalade, just strawberry jam.

This morning after fighting her off while I ate one slice (sitting on the sofa browsing boards) she knocked something in the kitchen, I got up to see what, she zoomed out and when I went back to the livingroom she had started on my second slice!
    Half the jam gone!
    In a neat little line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

aonb wrote: »
    You could get one of those sleep masks?!?!?!?!?
    (Can you imagine the reaction when he saw it?!!?!)

My older cat, Swanson is scared of my sleep mask. It was on the floor the other day and he went full archy-back, fur up, hissy at it. Then he kept sneaking up behind it to attack it.

I tend to wear it when I have migraines. Maybe it just smells like pain sweat? Is that a thing?

It's hilarious anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

My Bichon/Jack Russell cross destroyed herself in muck when I let her out the back at about 1am. After a 5 minute wash with the bath hose I spent the next 20 chasing her around the house to try dry her. Safe to say I'll never make a goalkeeper of myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

My mam dropped the dog over, and the first thing she did was make a beeline straight for the chew she buried in her bed last week. This was paraded around with pride for a while, then buried in my bed under a pillow. 10 minutes later, it was unearthed to be buried in her bed again. Half an hour later she had it again and wanted to go into the garden to bury it (not a chance) then she put it back in her bed again.

I'd love to know why she makes the decisions she makes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

My Ali always sleeps in my bed, she's always done it and never bothers to even bat an eyelid at her own!
    Last night my brother was coming out of the bathroom and Ali was fast asleep, the door made a loud noise and it startled Ali, she tried to bark but all that came out was a soft "Burrrrrr" was so cute :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

OH and myself are cutting down on bills so instead of putting heating on, we put a hot water bottle between us in the bed :) Anway, the bottle has one of those fake animal covers with a lion head or something. Woke this morning to find that the dog had pulled the bottle down in the bed and slid exactly into the fake lion's position - they'll never know its me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Merlin (a.k.a Jaws) the "stray" who hates everything and everybody is currently rolling around on the floor with the american catnip bag. My phone camera is awful and I'm afraid to move.

2 years later.......this stuff is unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Our girl, "halfcat" slept in again last night under the table. Not a peep out of her, she was so delighted to have a warm bed. Had her brekky this morning and then I opened the door for her to go out and waited...and waited...and waited...nothing. Figured I would coax her out with some meat. She came out, took the meat...and went back to bed! Didn't want to scare/push her out as we have been painstakingly building her trust with us over the past few months. Eventually I had to crawl under the table like an eejit and ask for cuddles to get her to leave! Having been through the wars, she's not big into physical affection :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Our little foster kitten is the image of Toby and she adores him. He was outside the pet gate in her safe room looking in at her and she went over and started trying to play with him through the mesh. She's a tramp rolling around on her back poking her paws out to play with him:D

I nearly forgot, she's gone from .9kg to 1.6, so not looking so scrawny now.

Cream woke me up an hour ago to give me a kiss. I should never have taught him to do that. Hard to be mad at the little head wrecker when he acts so cute though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

I'm not feeling very well and awake since just before 5, Ruby has been keeping my company purring and licking me, and she hasn't slapped me in the face in two weeks!
    I think she's decided I'm ok after all, she still follows daughter everywhere though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I had to bring one of my piggies, Snoop, to the vet in an emergency this morning as she was refusing to eat. We got sorted (bad chest infection, nothing a bit of treatment won't fix) and I brought her home again. I popped her back in with her friends and Ivy, who normally doesn't get on that well with Snoop, came over and groomed all around her face and ears. Aw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sparkle_23

Making the bed today and I found 5 toy mice! Pepper was a busy little kitty when I was sleeping in this morn :D:D

Missin the cats and dog at home, my mam sent me a few pics and Sparkle is gone so fat!! She doesnt go hunting anymore spends her time tryin to get into the house. If I was there she would be in my bed with the electric blanket on.. bad family not showin the babies love

He's put on ANOTHER kilo! :eek: :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Whenever Ali stretches she pokes her Arse up in the air and puts her front paws down like a cat, it's so cute. One of the many things she does that makes me love her. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

My one year old poodle Daisy (still very much in the silly puppy stage) is very concerned as I have a cough and I've never been sick around her before. Every time I cough she gets a fright and looks really worried about me. In the afternoon after a coughing fit I lay on the sofa and she came up and put her head on my chest staring me in the face...cutest thing ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I was shopping today and found tennis balls for 40c each so I got ten of them. I brought them home and tipped the bag over in the sitting room. Harleys face was priceless. He ran around trying to get as many as possible into his mouth, in the process not managing to hang onto even one. He was so excited his whole body was wagging. So cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Whispered wrote: »
    I was shopping today and found tennis balls for 40c each so I got ten of them. I brought them home and tipped the bag over in the sitting room. Harleys face was priceless. He ran around trying to get as many as possible into his mouth, in the process not managing to hang onto even one. He was so excited his whole body was wagging. So cute.

Reminds me of this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭foreversky

Went out for a few hrs last nite.come home asked how was my lad was.usually he's very good.then Been told he whined the entire time I was gone.bout 3 hrs.instead of staying in sittingroom where his bed is. Stayed in kichen.stilled whined even though there was someone with him the entire time.so gave him a little hug and a pet then went bk into sittingroom he followed and fall asleep looking at me.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Happy Rani,
    Sleepy Rani,
    Grr, grr, grr

1476509_10151899510399652_753461297_n.jpg

I got really cross at Cream earlier because he stole a sheet of paper from the printer, and in doing so managed to break off part of the printer, startled himself, ran and broke a cup. So I shouted at him to go away downstairs out of my way, which he did, leaving me feeling really guilty. About 5 minutes later I heard a tiny little 'mew' beside me, and looked down to see the brat himself staring up at me with big sad eyes. So I apologized to him, and he jumped straight up onto my stomach and started kneading on me, so I guess I was forgiven! Funny how they can still be so forgiving even if we are mad at them!