If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

whelan1 wrote: »
    sixty people:eek::eek:

Sixty people but I think they are representing about forty different companies and/or government agencies - Bord Bia, Kepak, ABP, IFA,Lakeland, Farmers Journal. Companies that produce Cheese/diary products, beef, poultry, potatoes and seafood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Suckler wrote: »
    Sixty people but I think they are representing about forty different companies and/or government agencies - Bord Bia, Kepak, ABP, IFA,Lakeland, Farmers Journal. Companies that produce Cheese/diary products, beef, poultry, potatoes and seafood.
    ah i read it that the 60 where from the dept of ag:D was going to blow a fuse as there are so many people waiting on sfp and thought they where off on a holiday:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

ah i read it that the 60 where from the dept of ag:D was going to blow a fuse as there are so many people waiting on sfp and thought they where off on a holiday:D

We are paying for them to go one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

http://www.donedeal.ie/dairycattle-for-sale/are-you-over-quota-we-wil-buy-ur-milk/5903940

Someone on DD looking for milk. Anyone here have any info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Flogged a few heifers 3 weeks ago on dd and got 4 calls from private nos all with boarder accents.no interest in heifers just wanted milk and lots of it.made nothing of first 3 but got curious on last one .was offering 25 cent a litre cash on collection .has a tanker comming down every 3 days to collect .some lads would want to be very carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I just had a phone call from the son of the neighbour I helped out with the cesarean last nite/this morning. He wanted to know had I put the the keys of his dads jeep somewhere coz he needs to get rashin fron the creamery. He can't find them and his dad said I helped out last nite
    I told him we didn't pull the calf with the jeep so I have no ****ing idea where the keys are....... and if he wasn't such a lazy ****er he'd walk to the creamery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I just had a phone call from the son of the neighbour I helped out with the cesarean last nite/this morning. He wanted to know had I put the the keys of his dads jeep somewhere coz he needs to get rashin fron the creamery. He can't find them and his dad said I helped out last nite
    I told him we didn't pull the calf with the jeep so I have no ****ing idea where the keys are....... and if he wasn't such a lazy ****er he'd walk to the creamery.

That's what ya get for doing a good deed, karma eh

Seen something in the journal about lads attempting to buy milk off farm and send it up the north

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

did he even say thanks, tell him ye sowed the keys into the cow when closing her back up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

There was an interesting piece on raw milk in Slovakia on Countrywide last Saturday morning. A dairy farmer had raw milk dispensing machines in the capital, according to himself he was making a fair bit over the milk he sent to Italy for processing.

It's in the journal too I think, the dealer section I believe

did he even say thanks, tell him ye sowed the keys into the cow when closing her back up

His dad couldn't thank me enough. The son seemed oblivious to what really happened during the night. The son is a teacher in his late 30s and does farming in his free time with his dad.
    Methinks the dad should hold onto the farm a little bit longer.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

A great idea , I got letter from mr coveney himself explaing why raw milk wont be a runner here . Maybe sometime there may be a licence granted to the odd lad to produce it but he will be fairly heavily regulated , which is fair enough in respect to all the milk suppliers already that would be impacted if something goes wrong .  

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Nothing worse than a fecking puncture that turns invisible when the tube is out. Third time I pulled the tube out of a 13 x 28 tyre.. Fingers crossed ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Nothing worse than a fecking puncture that turns invisible when the tube is out. Third time I pulled the tube out of a 13 x 28 tyre.. Fingers crossed ...
    maybe its the valve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

maybe its the valve

First time, no hole to be found, stuck it back in and put in a new valve core
    Flat again this morning. Thought I had nipped the tube putting on the tyre. Pulled it out, nothing. Thought I had not tightened the valve core, or the stem its self. Put it back in and pumped it up, at least I didn't put it back on the tractor. Flat again, this time found a tiny pin hole, hopefully that was it all along.

First time, no hole to be found, stuck it back in and put in a new valve core
    Flat again this morning. Thought I had nipped the tube putting on the tyre. Pulled it out, nothing. Thought I had not tightened the valve core, or the stem its self. Put it back in and pumped it up, at least I didn't put it back on the tractor. Flat again, this time found a tiny pin hole, hopefully that was it all along.
    had same thing last year and it was the bloody valve, alot to be said for water and washing up liquid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Be carefull, alot of lads close to you read this.

keep going wrote: »

Had you the phone on silent last night keep going ? !

keep going wrote: »

Ah, I've calmed down now. I was hanging tired and cranky this morning.
    Anyway, west cork is a big place, its easy enough to avoid someone if ya have to.

Ah, I've calmed down now. I was hanging tired and cranky this morning.
    Anyway, west cork is a big place, its easy enough to avoid someone if ya have to.
    wilderness more like :D

well I am ****ing ripping. rang Keanes of Maam asking had they crystalyx high energy buckets, the girl even went to the store and checked, yes they have. off I set, forgot about the fair in Maam cross, road closed, so that's about 30 min on the road, went around the long way, add an hour to drive around the Maumturk mountains. get there eventually, no, they don't do them......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

well I am ****ing ripping. rang Keanes of Maam asking had they crystalyx high energy buckets, the girl even went to the store and checked, yes they have. off I set, forgot about the fair in Maam cross, road closed, so that's about 30 min on the road, went around the long way, add an hour to drive around the Maumturk mountains. get there eventually, no, they don't do them......

Hate sh*t like that. ... Count to 10 :-)

ouch or worse when you arre looking for something and the person behind the counter doesnt have the first notion about farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Muckit wrote: »
    Hate sh*t like that. ... Count to 10 :-)

How ya muck, did ya rip the gearbox yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

dharn wrote: »
    How ya muck, did ya rip the gearbox yet

Jaysus give us a chance lad! :-) half thinking of giving it to a lad. You know yourself it's not just the time ripping, it's tearing around to places before they close to get parts and daylight is fading. Feck this stuck under a yoke on a damp floor with a torch!

Muckit wrote: »
    Jaysus give us a chance lad! :-) half thinking of giving it to a lad. You know yourself it's not just the time ripping, it's tearing around to places before they close to get parts and daylight is fading. Feck this stuck under a yoke on a damp floor with a torch!
    sure ya dont need it till next year ;)

ouch or worse when you arre looking for something and the person behind the counter doesnt have the first notion about farming

Wouldn't mind so much but I went there to save myself the 140 mile round trip to Tuam, what is it, shortcut is the longest distance between two points :D

I seriously bit me lip leaving that shed. Though had herselfs 9 year old daughter with me for the spin, she's not the quietest child but "YOU MEAN WE DROVE ALL THAT WAY, AND WASTED ALL THAT TIME FOR NOTHING! THANKS VERY MUCH FOR NOTHING" to no one in particular but in earshot of everyone in the place was priceless :D:D:D

After we left the yard I was going to wait 15 minutes for the other road to reopen. Technology got me good, the car clock hadn't changed itself over the weekend like the smartphone or laptop did. So went home long way too, 2.5 hours on the road.

Ah can only laugh at it now.

Do you use online buying much or couriers much con ? I know its handy to run to the shop for these kindof things and its nice to shop local but crap like that would really put me off going to those places .

Wouldn't mind so much but I went there to save myself the 140 mile round trip to Tuam, what is it, shortcut is the longest distance between two points :D

I seriously bit me lip leaving that shed. Though had herselfs 9 year old daughter with me for the spin, she's not the quietest child but "YOU MEAN WE DROVE ALL THAT WAY, AND WASTED ALL THAT TIME FOR NOTHING! THANKS VERY MUCH FOR NOTHING" to no one in particular but in earshot of everyone in the place was priceless :D:D:D

After we left the yard I was going to wait 15 minutes for the other road to reopen. Technology got me good, the car clock hadn't changed itself over the weekend like the smartphone or laptop did. So went home long way too, 2.5 hours on the road.

Ah can only laugh at it now.
    if ya dont you will just go mad