If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

1375686_598297500207966_662214965_n.jpg

Whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

its amazing what a front loader can do to a tracter when it gets caught in the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    my cows are pure mental for the silage, have no interest in grass at all, goes to show what feeding there is in the grass

Same here.
    We put small weanlings in because of the weather last week. They had a fair bit of grass under them but ground was very soft, they were in a kg of beef nut too.

Came in and I swear they ate silage non stop for four days. They've eased off now but it was quite a shock to see the hunger that was in them on the grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    1375686_598297500207966_662214965_n.jpg

Whoops!

To quote the punchline from an old story a guy I was in college with used to tell......" Smith, could ya weld it?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »
    thanks for helping

You were beyond help, and I was late for work.
    The cattle came onto the road, about turned and high tailed back down the field!
    Next time..... I promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Off to bed now before the late nighters start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

me and the girlfriend of 2 yr broke up yesterday, today was a long ass day and it hard wen ur missing ur best friend and cant talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

case 956 wrote: »
    me and the girlfriend of 2 yr broke up yesterday, today was a long ass day and it hard wen ur missing ur best friend and cant talk

Sorry to hear that case :(, dust yourself off and get back in the game once you get over it. Worst days will be the over you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hang in their lad. Been there before. It's sh*t, but it does get better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I reckon we've all been there :) Anytime I used to feel a bit like that I'd think well there's a reason we didn't work, usually it was a good one. Often times the future you see in your head is a lot rosier than reality.

Right, I'm off to the scratcher. Night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Few lmx and hex bullocks heading to mart next week, ill miss my buddies

Hang in there my man, ice cream always helps :) or beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Bizzum wrote: »
    I'm nearly done here too. I'm just trying to work out an exit strategy :-)

ah here! If you two go too this place is going to get awful dull!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Im up here in Co. Louth and just after chatting to a tillage farmer from Co. Down. He and his son are in the process of changing their tillage farm to a dairy unit....... the virus is spreading

Jesus you travel

ah here! If you two go too this place is going to get awful dull!

I won't go far!

Jesus you travel

Northern Ireland almost every week. Crumlin near Belfast in the morning, armagh next and onto Keady after. Hopefully home before midnight. Throwing about 1000 miles a week on the car.
    Can work from home the next few days then. And can help my dad if he needs a hand during the day

Northern Ireland almost every week. Crumlin near Belfast in the morning, armagh next and onto Keady after. Hopefully home before midnight. Throwing about 1000 miles a week on the car.
    Can work from home the next few days then. And can help my dad if he needs a hand during the day

What is the day job if I'm not prodding too much

Im up here in Co. Louth

You're a man that likes extremes. From the biggest county to the smallest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Logged in here last night, this thread was at page 154. Tonight its at 170.

Have ye all got wifi in the cabs now or what!

Logged in here last night, this thread was at page 154. Tonight its at 170.

Have ye all got wifi in the cabs now or what!

All got a bit excited

What is the day job if I'm not prodding too much

I'm a pm for a company that builds agricultural anaerobic digesters.
    Alas, im wreaked. Night all

I'm a pm for a company that builds agricultural anaerobic digesters.
    Alas, im wreaked. Night all

Ah that figures, mileage and all
    I'll take 2 by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

So now im checking back to see if whelan has replied to any of my posts or did I piss her off along the way.I wonder would ye know me if I started posting as someone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

keep going wrote: »
    So now im checking back to see if whelan has replied to any of my posts or did I piss her off along the way.I wonder would ye know me if I started posting as someone else

long live whelan 1:D.. high queen of the mega threads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

a bit of an "ah bullocks" moment this morning, with the wheel flat on the feeder and off the rim. Was parked away from anywhere so no compressor or air barrel about. went off looking at the cattle to reclaim calmness. Eventually on return I put on the Mcgeever hat and after a loud bang and a bit of robbed wind we were moving again :). This method using Maguire and patterson method has saved my bacon on manys the ocascion and also manicured the eyebrows :rolleyes:

Come on bob you know ur only tying to explain your method for seating the bead. I've seen those bazooka yokes and also rachet strap but not the petrol. What ya do?

Muckit wrote: »
    Come on bob you know ur only tying to explain your method for seating the bead. I've seen those bazooka yokes and also rachet strap but not the petrol. What ya do?

I'm guessing he let the fumes build up in the tyre mixing with the air and then put a match to it. The resulting explosion increased the air pressure and forced the tyre onto the rim and also inflated it a bit, he them bled the last required air from the other wheel. how am I doing so far bob?

Muckit wrote: »

Put petrol in the tyre and light it. Rapid expansion of gas. Similar to using a bazooka