If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

im just working my way through the last of the paddocks then its time to break out the silage

If the weather stayed good I have another 3 weeks to a months grass ahead of them with maybe a pinch of nuts thrown to them but its not great stuff and if the wet keeps coming I might aswell put them in altogether . Im sorry I didnt bale more a month ago and just have them in now for the winter . I was just a bit greedy when the dry weather kept coming in September and thought it would never end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »
    considered closing my account afew weeks ago

I'm nearly done here too. I'm just trying to work out an exit strategy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

considered closing my account afew weeks ago after a few people really got to me, then i said if i did come back on everyone would know who i am any way by my posts so just put the knobs on my ignore list works a treat
    one thing you should not do is let people on a internet form get to you,why would you consider closing your account over comments some one else made,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

moy83 wrote: »
    If the weather stayed good I have another 3 weeks to a months grass ahead of them with maybe a pinch of nuts thrown to them but its not great stuff and if the wet keeps coming I might aswell put them in altogether . Im sorry I didnt bale more a month ago and just have them in now for the winter . I was just a bit greedy when the dry weather kept coming in September and thought it would never end
    my cows are pure mental for the silage, have no interest in grass at all, goes to show what feeding there is in the grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

In the end I had to look out the passenger window to avoid eye contact with the feckers !

:D Ha , good one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

yeah i have about 2 weeks left and the FIL about 3 weeks

naughto wrote: »
    one thing you should not do is let people on a internet form get to you,why would you consider closing your account over comments some one else made,
    i suppose it depends on the mood certain comments from annonymous posters can get to me at the right wrong time, anyways have enough to be thinking about than some saddos who are out to gt to me

Bizzum wrote: »
    I'm nearly done here too. I'm just trying to work out an exit strategy :-)

I'd say like everything there's a life expectancy to it. I wonder who the longest serving F&F member is?

fredweena wrote: »
    Be some explaining that if you had a crash. Sorry guard, the cattle were looking at me.:p

Would you believe 2 years ago I was looking in at them one evening when the brother tore around the corner in the tractor and hit me . The bullbar on the jeep is still bent up ! €380 for a new headlight and would he hell contribute towards it .

pure silence over dinner i bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

I used to like reading the posts from John Galway ..
    Always found them entertaining despite the hardship described in some of them.

And there was another lad who is gone now , cant remember his name but he used to disagree with everyone , and id say he was the type of lad who would fight with his fingernails .

Richk2012 wrote: »

And there was another lad who is gone now , cant remember his name but he used to disagree with everyone , and id say he was the type of lad who would fight with his fingernails .
    lost covey

lost covey

:D:D:D:D thats the boy

hes on line an odd time checking up on us think hes in austrailia

pure silence over dinner i bet

Haha he doesnt eat dinner at home very often in case the mother asks him for any money for his upkeep , one of them is as tight as the other . Any wonder he wouldnt pay for my headlight .
    In fairness he tried to straighten the bull bar by leaving the bucket of the digger down on it but no good !

One of my favourites , he had a cracker of a post about turf cutting on I think the birdwatching forum .

hardly the wrong forum for that

He was an amusing sort of a character. In a lot of ways I think bob has rowed in to fill the gap ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Lost covey was the lad who'd disagree with every one. Use to get up my nose. Could be entertaining though.

Think john Galway could be back here under a different name. At lteast I thought it was him.

sea12 wrote: »
    Lost covey was the lad who'd disagree with every one. Use to get up my nose. Could be entertaining though.

Think john Galway could be back here under a different name. At lteast I thought it was him.

Ya just wouldnt know who your chattin to here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

When I first joined masseywoman was a big contributor. Think I saw her active recently again although it could have been someone adding to an old post.

Also someone with a David brown fro Leitrim called ford 4000. He use to be very good but seemed to give up as well.

my cows are pure mental for the silage, have no interest in grass at all, goes to show what feeding there is in the grass

Yup I think bob is right about this late grass craic . Around here too a few wet days will make **** of the ground very quickly .
    In saying that a few fussy bullocks broke out of a place last week that had loads of grass that I would call good quality and I hadnt time to go fencing so I threw them in the shed and opened a bale . They didnt finish it yet .
    I sent 2 off to maam cross on monday and got good money for them Im sorry I didn't sent the other few off aswell

Has any of ye ever crossed paths with each other outside Boards , in the mart or shows etc.??

Yup I think bob is right about this late grass craic . Around here too a few wet days will make **** of the ground very quickly .
    In saying that a few fussy bullocks broke out of a place last week that had loads of grass that I would call good quality and I hadnt time to go fencing so I threw them in the shed and opened a bale . They didnt finish it yet .
    I sent 2 off to maam cross on monday and got good money for them Im sorry I didn't sent the other few off aswell
    thats always the way you never bring enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Has any of ye ever crossed paths with each other outside Boards , in the mart or shows etc.??

Haven't met any of the regulars on this forum yet, know a few I could but I'm a lazy f*cker, have met a few off another boards forum alright.

Ya just wouldnt know who your chattin to here :D

You know too much............ Rich ...... Or whatever your name is :-)

only met 2 or 3 from the forum

thats always the way you never bring enough

Oh no doubt if I sent them all the price would be crap and they would be coming home again

Haven't met any of the regulars on this forum yet, know a few I could but I'm a lazy f*cker, have met a few off another boards forum alright.

Only one that I know of:

My claim to fame is I was held up on the road once by Whelan1, moving cattle.

I was too shy to say hello.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Only one that I know of:

My claim to fame is I was held up on the road once by Whelan1, moving cattle.

I was too shy to say hello.
    thanks for helping