Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The NoFap Challenge

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    ... I found it hard enough already ... just going to see how long I can last :)

Jayz, twill be loike an ESB poll by de end of de Week :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

Only one more week to go and it's getting difficult. I keep getting distracted and I even took a peak at some porn. On the one hand I feel like I would be way more focused on all of the study I have to do if I just went ahead, on the other hand there's only one more week and it seems like most guys don't make it this far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

C14N wrote: »
    Only one more week to go and it's getting difficult. I keep getting distracted and I even took a peak at some porn. On the one hand I feel like I would be way more focused on all of the study I have to do if I just went ahead, on the other hand there's only one more week and it seems like most guys don't make it this far.

fairplay, I'm struggling on my third night. You'll be so freaked if you give up now

I took a cue from letssee and had a porn-less far in the shower. I kind of rushed so it wasn't much higher fun but I do feel very relieved and relaxed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I don't know how you guys are lasting this long. I could probably not do it for a month but as soon as I consciously decide not to do it, it's all I can think about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Has anyone mentioned Seinfeld yet?

They did it.

And then Seinfeld went a bit further in Oz....

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x18kvo_seinfeld-in-oz_people
    I love that episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

C14N wrote: »

!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭lg01

I'm giving this a go. 3 days in so far - which is very rare for me to go this amount of time without. Grand so far but I'll see how I feel after a week. Hoping this might have some benefits as I have found myself not bothering with situations where I could possibly get laid but go hang out with my mates instead.

What benefits or differences have you guys seen so far? Any boardsie stores like the ones on Reddit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Has anybody made a No Fap App yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Has anybody made a No Fap App yet?

Yeah, it's called the Get A Grip app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭MarriedButBi

Eathrin wrote: »
    Week 7 now and it doesn't really cross my mind much :/

Jesus, what age/gender. 7 weeks. That's incredible.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭MarriedButBi

I'd say a week is the longest I have gone since I was 11, that's like 29 years of a lot of self gratification. That seems dirty & pathetic.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'd say a week is the longest I have gone since I was 11, that's like 29 years of a lot of self gratification. That seems dirty & pathetic.

It's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Jesus, what age/gender. 7 weeks. That's incredible.....

20/M
    Out of character too.
    To directly contradict my last post, I've actually felt way more urges to do it in week 8 compared to previous weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Day 3.

Not setting any target, just want to know who long until I surrender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

On day 31 of this. It gets a lot easier after the first 3 weeks!

I could not sleep last night. Not being able to fap made it way worse...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Had a wet dream and now feel all un-energetic and crappy. :(

Guys, spare the details when all this comes to an end...

Reading a few of the comments like this, this and this on reddit - for some of the guys it really must be a full on problem. They talk about "relapsing" like a heroin addict - and talk about how they 'hate themselves' after they do it. Wow, makes me feel so much better lol! I'm on day 4 and its grand - just the habitual aspect of it I have to break. But I am really interested to see if I get any of the benefits that others have reported so I'm going to give it a go for 2 weeks at least, hopefully a month - fingers (and legs) crossed..

If I notice no difference I'll be pissed I've denied myself of one of lives simple pleasures - however I will be proud of myself for accomplishing this small feat of discipline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Red About Town

lg01 wrote: »
    I'm giving this a go. 3 days in so far - which is very rare for me to go this amount of time without. Grand so far but I'll see how I feel after a week. Hoping this might have some benefits as I have found myself not bothering with situations where I could possibly get laid but go hang out with my mates instead.

What benefits or differences have you guys seen so far? Any boardsie stores like the ones on Reddit?

I've tried it and failed a few times. The biggest benefits is increased motivation to go out and get the 'real thing'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

Some people get ED from it and everything if you read the forums. They've a term for it - PIED and the explanation for how it occurs makes perfect sense

Day 19 out of the way now. Been kind of dry **** myself some mornings just to help me wake up - thankfully been able to snap out of it before climaxing.

I'm now on the verge of breaking a record I last set back in 1998 when i was in Irish college, i.e. 3 weeks without fapping.

After that I'll be in *ahem* virgin territory, as I've never gone more than 3 weeks since becoming an adult. Who knows what will happen once I break through that barrier :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

bollocks anyway lads, the ex sent me a few cheeky snaps and well yeah the rest is history. Only lasted 4 nights, will start again tomorrow

nbar12 wrote: »
    bollocks anyway lads, the ex sent me a few cheeky snaps and well yeah the rest is history. Only lasted 4 nights, will start again tomorrow
    Friend has been doing the same, sending me porn links and pics just to tempt me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Reading a few of the comments like this, this and this on reddit - for some of the guys it really must be a full on problem. They talk about "relapsing" like a heroin addict - and talk about how they 'hate themselves' after they do it. Wow, makes me feel so much better lol! I'm on day 4 and its grand - just the habitual aspect of it I have to break. But I am really interested to see if I get any of the benefits that others have reported so I'm going to give it a go for 2 weeks at least, hopefully a month - fingers (and legs) crossed..

If I notice no difference I'll be pissed I've denied myself of one of lives simple pleasures - however I will be proud of myself for accomplishing this small feat of discipline.

I think for a lot of those guys it's a self-induced placebo come-down effect more than anything. A **** now and again is fine but doing it constantly is an epic waste of energy.

Barna77 wrote: »
    Friend has been doing the same, sending me porn links and pics just to tempt me....

Just ignore them. Got a few Brazzers emails in the spam box myself, just deleted them and moved on. Also, I think the rules allow you to briefly view porn if it was an accident so you're grand so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

This is what I don't understand. I've nothing against the no fap challenge; if you can do it, fair play to you, but if you feel that bad over having the occasional fap, (which is normal and healthy) then there is a deeper problem.

• Site Banned Posts: 15 GGG500

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    This is what I don't understand. I've nothing against the no fap challenge; if you can do it, fair play to you, but if you feel that bad over having the occasional fap, (which is normal and healthy) then there is a deeper problem.

I disagree, it's an addiction, of course people will be disappointed if they fail.