Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This really puts into perspective how big the game is in terms of money

http://vr-zone.com/articles/grand-theft-auto-v-expensive-video-game-production-history-beats-big-budget-hollywood-films/55320.html
    Rockstar’s upcoming open-world game Grand Theft Auto V was made on a marketing and development budget of £170 million (or $265 million). This makes it the most expensive video game production in history. In comparison with Hollywood films, it is second only to Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End - the current record-holder for the most expensive film production – which had a $300 million budget.

They've made that money back on pre-orders alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Anyone else worried about how much gta v is going to consume their lives for the next few months?
    God help any student sitting an exam this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Jamez735 wrote: »
    Anyone else worried about how much gta v is going to consume their lives for the next few months?

Worried....nah

Sure what else is more important than GTA 5 :D

They've made that money back on pre-orders alone

You would certainly hope so; I'd imagine that's where the majority of their money will be generated? Pre-orders will surely out-value casual sales?! :confused: (for this particular game, not games in general).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

You would certainly hope so; I'd imagine that's where the majority of their money will be generated? Pre-orders will surely out-value casual sales?! :confused: (for this particular game, not games in general).

They'll still make an absolute killing for the next four to six months with it, and the sales won't tail off nearly as quickly as other releases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭johnnykilo

I pre-ordered a 500gb PS3, The Last of Us and GTAV from Zavvi yesterday but I heard their deliveries can be slow. I see someone a few pages back mentioned Game.co.uk delivery next day with 99% reliablilty.

Would I be better off cancelling my Zavvi order and ordering off Game instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

johnnykilo wrote: »
    I pre-ordered a 500gb PS3, The Last of Us and GTAV from Zavvi yesterday but I heard their deliveries can be slow. I see someone a few pages back mentioned Game.co.uk delivery next day with 99% reliablilty.

Would I be better off cancelling my Zavvi order and ordering off Game instead?

Yes x100!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭bitch please

They'll still make an absolute killing for the next four to six months with it, and the sales won't tail off nearly as quickly as other releases.

no i think sales will be made in a huge chunk a few weeks after release and then will bottom out

Highly doubt it,...out of the 150 -200 million total current gen consoles only a fraction have preordered. There's still a huge amount of people who refuse buy games on day one, preferring to pick them a few months down the line for a much cheaper price.

Then you've got all the people holding out for xbox1/ps4/pc versions more than likely coming sometime next year.

GTA V is the kind of game that will still be bought and played years from now, no doubt about it. ;)

Guys I'm having second thoughts, preordered the collectors edition for 140 (from game.co.uk on impulse seeing as there was only a €20 deposit required, and it was sold out everywhere else) but looking back it kinda seems like a ridiculous price to pay even though you get loads of extras.

I think I'd prefer to just get the special edition along with the strategy guide, what do yous think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Yep, starting my finial year of college tomorrow so I'll have to be careful with my time. Actually who am I kidding, I've been waiting 2+ years for this game, it needs to be played.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Guys I'm having second thoughts, preordered the collectors edition for 140 (from game.co.uk on impulse seeing as there was only a €20 deposit required, and it was sold out everywhere else) but looking back it kinda seems like a ridiculous price to pay even though you get loads of extras.

I think I'd prefer to just get the special edition along with the strategy guide, what do yous think?

Strategy guide is on offer for £7 on amazon btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Personally, I find collectors editions way over priced. The stuff you get with it I find are useless. I got the GTA4 collectors edition, and the zip on the bag broke not long after, so I would be worried about the quality of the bag with the GTA5 edition. I also have a GTA4 hat from a R* party and it's way too big to be usable :P

The only thing I'd be interested is the extra garage with the hotrod and the electric car online, but these will likely be available as dlc later down the line and certainly not worth the extra €70 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

€140 :eek:

I really dont get why people pay that for extra crap. Each to their own I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Interesting documentary on the history of GTA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Can someone fill me in on the pros of shelling out for a strategy guide for a game like this? Surely the fun is the not knowing...finding out things/places/people etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Can someone fill me in on the pros of shelling out for a strategy guide for a game like this? Surely the fun is the not knowing...finding out things/places/people etc..

Finish the game on your own. The do it all over again with the guide :D

Hogzy wrote: »
    €140 :eek:

I really dont get why people pay that for extra crap. Each to their own I suppose.

Ugh I know, really regretting it....

but feck it,..don't think I've bought a single game this year, and I've certainly never preordered a collectors edition game before. I have no doubt gta v will be my all time favourite so why not treat myself ;)

If in a couple of weeks I end up hating myself for even considering wasting my money, well then it's a lesson learned.

Hopefully V will surpass my expectations and will more than make up for the ridiculous price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

To be fair if there was ever a game worth getting a collectors edition for it is most likely this game! So meh, I wouldn't feel too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,304 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I was looking to see if anyone found the voice actors for the 3 protags and looks like the internet has been busy.

Michael= Ned Luke

Franklin=Shawn Fonteno

Trevor=Steven Ogg

Strategy Guide description is out

I will only link to it as I'm sure some people don't want to know, especially the collectibles that were mentioned earlir in the thread.

http://gtaforums.com/topic/583890-gta-v-bradygames-guide-description/

It does list new activities and they sound like a great laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

To be fair if there was ever a game worth getting a collectors edition for it is most likely this game! So meh, I wouldn't feel too bad.
    I always thought of the collectors edition of anything as being on a par with a mcdonalds happy meal. Has anyone ever gone into their attic and found an old collectors edition of a game and found out the included toys are now worth a fortune?

They make too many of those things for them to be really considered collectable.

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Strategy Guide description is out

I will only link to it as I'm sure some people don't want to know, especially the collectibles that were mentioned earlir in the thread.

http://gtaforums.com/topic/583890-gta-v-bradygames-guide-description/

It does list new activities and they sound like a great laugh!

Yeah definitely think I'll pick it up, gonna go for 100% completion as I've never platinumed a game before, and this is likely the last game I'll get for the ps3.

Just checked my Game Account.....

I'm praying this isn't a misprice but it looks like I could get it for only 50 quid instead! :D

1oqkzb9.png

IGN has a new article up showing Rockstars work up until GTA V

http://ie.ign.com/articles/2013/09/08/rockstar-games-time-travellers

OriginalMaps.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I've always thought of Collector's Editions as just a way to throw some extra money at a franchise you really like. I've bought 3 altogether I think, the Mass Effect 3 one because it's one of my favourite series of all time, ditto AC3's (kind of regret this one because of how the actual game turned out) and Max Payne 3's because the statue of Max is badass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

sheehy83 wrote: »
    IGN has a new article up showing Rockstars work up until GTA V

http://ie.ign.com/articles/2013/09/08/rockstar-games-time-travellers

OriginalMaps.jpg

Anyone know how you got into that mansion in the lower left hand corner in SA? Could never figure it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

There was a mission that allowed you to get inside if I remember right.

You had to blow up a car beside it or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Dont remember that - thanks anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

So I know everyone here is mad keen to get their kits on this this game (me included) due to the sheer apparent brilliance of it.....however, is anyone else worried that the hype is getting to a level where it will be impossible for a game to match? Don't get me wrong, I am soooo looking forward to this, im checking forums every day, replaying GTA IV saying "oh my god, this would never happen in GTA V", etc. but that in itself is what I mean...I'm building it up in my head too much

This time 8 days....!!!!!! :D