Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Grayson wrote: »
    One of the girls I work with posted up something about the best way to stop school shootings was to stick every unemployed veteran in a school with a gun.
    I heard that one too, and while it's over the top, at least there is a silver lining or two: keeps retired elderly people busy, it's good to have different generations keep in touch (esp. if said veterans friends/family are dying off), and they are at least trained professionals with guns. Still an awful idea on the whole though, I agree (especially since they love to complain about taxes, and effectively never retiring people from the military would just continue to increase them).

The best one I heard was arming the teachers with guns, as in having firearms holstered on to them! :D
    Is no one else miffed that they got the maths wrong?

They should be saying it is 603 times more dangerous not 603% more dangerous I mean seriously basic maths if they can't handle that they probably shouldn't participate in arguments over gun control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

You posted that video only 6 bloody days ago, really living up to your username.
    Indeed, though some people didn't get the message.

That's retards for you Serial, too slow to cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Anyone else remember when this thread was fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

One friend, a great friend actually, posts things that make her sound so stupid. Rubbish like...Happy birthday Hun, miss your face xxxx.

She went on holidays skiing to the "alpes". Constant spelling mistakes and it makes her sound so bimbo ish. This girl is a scientist with a masters and a great job but to look at her profile you'd question if she was still in school, and possibly failing out!!

Is this a thing...highly intelligent 30year old successful women dumbing themselves down to tween level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Jogathon wrote: »
    One friend, a great friend actually, posts things that make her sound so stupid. Rubbish like...Happy birthday Hun, miss your face xxxx.

She went on holidays skiing to the "alpes". Constant spelling mistakes and it makes her sound so bimbo ish. This girl is a scientist with a masters and a great job but to look at her profile you'd question if she was still in school, and possibly failing out!!

Is this a thing...highly intelligent 30year old successful women dumbing themselves down to tween level?

I wonder sometimes, I have a few people on my friends list who are perfectly sane and intelligent to talk to in real life but post the most inane nonsense and like/share ridiculous crap all the time. It's kinda mind boggling.

Fair play. Far too many idiots/retards here feeling morally outraged for something they may never have anything to do with. And I hope your sister has as happy a life as is humanly possible.
    Cheers, she's doing grand. She's actually a baker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Jogathon wrote: »

My cousin is in her late 20s and a scientist that graduated top of her class. This is her on Facebook

"Aw hun yhu luk stunnyn in ur debs fotos, luv yhu xx ps cheq ur inbox yhu hav mail!xXx

Another girl on my Facebook, dunno about her qualifications but is quite intelligent in conversations, and insists on capitalizing every word in her status. Go figure.

rawn wrote: »
    My cousin is in her late 20s and a scientist that graduated top of her class. This is her on Facebook

"Aw hun yhu luk stunnyn in ur debs fotos, luv yhu xx ps cheq ur inbox yhu hav mail!xXx

Another girl on my Facebook, dunno about her qualifications but is quite intelligent in conversations, and insists on capitalizing every word in her status. Go figure.
    Is she Asian?

I'm not a fan of abbreviating for text messages but can see the point at times (e.g. "msg" or "tmr") but when people go out of their way to spell words incorrectly, sometimes even adding on letters to do so, it really leaves me speechless. Speechless and angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Billy86 wrote: »
    Is she Asian?

I'm not a fan of abbreviating for text messages but can see the point at times (e.g. "msg" or "tmr") but when people go out of their way to spell words incorrectly, sometimes even adding on letters to do so, it really leaves me speechless. Speechless and angry.

Same, I use "u" in place of a "you" if I have to send a quick text, "yeah meet u later" or something, it's perfectly fine. But "yhu"? It's the same amount of fucking letters! Just spell it right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Days 298

"Choons that bring back memorees have to love them choons"

Edit: This is the first status on this page of the thread.... The threads going to die a slow and sensitive death :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Regarding the All Ireland and making the trek to coppers no doubt.

"Ul havta cum out wit uz ;) hole f w.cork wil b abov"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Billy86 wrote: »
    Is she Asian?

She's Irish! My younger sister always used this ridiculous "yhu" instead of "you" and "anal" instead of "and all" but to be fair she was about 12 at the time. And it was bebo :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Sonics2k wrote: »

http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3vp3vi/

Those were the days...

EDIT: link fixed.

EDIT 2: Well that was embarrassing... carry on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,521 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

She's Irish! My younger sister always used this ridiculous "yhu" instead of "you" and "anal" instead of "and all" but to be fair she was about 12 at the time. And it was bebo :P

My (otherwise quite literate) pal always posts "whow!!" when she's amazed by something. Drives me nuts!

(I am a self-confessed grammar Nazi. Quite what I'm doing on this thread at all I'm not entirely sure.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Super-Rush wrote: »
    An 'anal' festival? In Clones, the assh*le of Co. Monaghan? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Days 298

http://www.zgeek.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/GTFO.png

Edit- On a lighter note for those who come here for a laugh "The retarded policeman" on Youtube is hilarious. Hopefully some actual dumb/great facebook status soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Thread ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Quick! Everyone accept friend requests from those you've previously ignored so we can get this thread back on track!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

by the 'friend' I've posted about before in this thread

"Swear If I Donh Geh Abit Ah sleep Tnoii Im Guna Be Taken Tomorrow"

I..what? Where's Liam Neeson when ya need him

also this little gem

"Swear soft inacent people ringin me hardy boys or wah haha scumbags!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

SV wrote: »
    also this little gem

"Swear soft inacent people ringin me hardy boys or wah haha scumbags!!!"

"Swear, soft innocent people ringing me. Hardy Bucks or what? Haha, what scumbags!"

Maybe she's talking about...

No that can't be it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

My 18 year old second cousin posted a status today just saying "finally" and nothing else. Of course there were loads of comments asking her what she was talking about. So ridiculous - the worst kind of vaguebooking.

My husband's cousin also posts about three statues a week vaguely referring to people talking behind her back and you know who your real friends like kind of ****e. It scares me that she is a woman in her thirties with a child and still going in for that kind of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭milltown

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    My 18 year old second cousin posted a status today just saying "finally" and nothing else.

Long overdue bowel movement? Maybe it's my diet but that's the first thing that comes to my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

milltown wrote: »
    Long overdue bowel movement? Maybe it's my diet but that's the first thing that comes to my mind.

I think you're showing your age there! :D

She never enlightened her enraptured audience so I've no idea what she was on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Similarly, a relative of a former flatmate of mine used "yhoo" instead of "you" (she was in final year of college). It's pointlessly adding a letter :confused:

This thread is for taking the piss out of/laughing at dumb/great FB statuses ONLY.

Nothing else.

If you want to debate the rights and wrongs of certain words then go start a thread about it please.

Final warning.

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    My 18 year old second cousin posted a status today just saying "finally" and nothing else. Of course there were loads of comments asking her what she was talking about. So ridiculous - the worst kind of vaguebooking.

My husband's cousin also posts about three statues a week vaguely referring to people talking behind her back and you know who your real friends like kind of ****e. It scares me that she is a woman in her thirties with a child and still going in for that kind of carry on.
    Got to love the 'desperately jump up and down for attention' crowd; they really are most noticeable in social media. I wonder what the correlation between people with these types of posts and "serial selfie" takers is?

Multiple posts deleted in case you're wondering.

Sonics2k wrote: »

Pepperidge farm remembers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,851 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Australian friend (never been in Ireland) posted this. It's getting out of control.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1236578_662511697093020_2008305718_n.jpg