Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

34pts off 12, managed to scratch 3 of the last 4 holes. Was chasing a nice cut but did even get into the buffer.

Couple of silly choices on the last few holes, another one that got away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Ben1977 wrote: »
    34pts off 12, managed to scratch 3 of the last 4 holes. Was chasing a nice cut but did even get into the buffer.

Couple of silly choices on the last few holes, another one that got away.

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

34 points today. Last 3 rounds have been 34 points too, all missing the buffer zone by 1 shot. Very frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Gin77

Played the heritage today, severely hungover.
    Played surprisingly well all things considered. I think I played better because I had no expectations I was just trying to function.
    6 pars 7 bogeys 5 doubles bogies 36pts (20hcp)
    Greens were sanded and hollowed out made putting difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Gin77 wrote: »
    Played surprisingly well all things considered. I think I played better because I had no expectations I was just trying to function.

Sometimes it's the best way to play imo.

Just wondering did they tell you the greens were sanded? Full €25 still?

Can't be doing that on an open day.

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Sometimes it's the best way to play imo.

Just wondering did they tell you the greens were sanded? Full €25 still?

Can't be doing that on an open day.

Yeah €25 the guy told me the greens were hollowed. Tried to get a buggy for €15 but he wasn't budging from €20 it was badly needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

29 lousy points off 19. Three scratches and some dreadful three putts! The only upside was that I hit every fairway in regulation with some really good driving. Lots of work to do though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

The good form continued at the weekend with a gross 92 in Blarney for 37pts, was delighted with how I was hitting the ball but unfortunately my nemesis hole (Par 3 5th) caught me again for a triple.

Don't want to be complaining but had the putter worked I was on for an 86/87. Feels great to be playing well.

http://golfshot.com/Rounds/Detail/243-19147730-19147985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

ssbob wrote: »
    The good form continued at the weekend with a gross 92 in Blarney for 37pts, was delighted with how I was hitting the ball but unfortunately my nemesis hole (Par 3 5th) caught me again for a triple.

Don't want to be complaining but had the putter worked I was on for an 86/87. Feels great to be playing well.

http://golfshot.com/Rounds/Detail/243-19147730-19147985

Fair play, savage par on the index 1 15th !

If you cut out the penalty strokes you'd have been down in the 80's without the putter working !

I played out there a few weeks ago and was impressed with the greens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Fair play, savage par on the index 1 15th !

Drive, 8 iron, over the back:eek: chip to 2 feet, get in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ssbob wrote: »
    Drive, 8 iron, over the back:eek: chip to 2 feet, get in there!

You should have deliberately missed the 2 footer, then missed the next one, then slotted the third one in for your double bogey!!!! You had 2 shots on it :D

(sorry Greebo ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

100 strokes around tramore today this new grip is killing me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,944 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

2 poor rounds at the weekend, 27 & 29 points. On Saturday I couldn't buy a putt & was ragged from everywhere. Dragged around by scupapro & prob dragged him down to my level too!

Sunday was mostly better golfing wise. Have been hitting solid fades mostly with the driver but managed to pull hook 3 balls oob & slice a 4th oob too on separate holes which is the difference between a reasonable score & a poor one.

Not much in the way of positives to take away from my weekends golfing, just gotta write it off as a bad one & look forward to next weekend instead.

95 blows in the MSC this morning in Cahir Park off the blues.
    Poor start triple, bogey, 4+, bogey on the first 4. Finished level nett so can't be too unhappy.

No consistency off the box costing me big time-hooked tee shot on 12th par5 OOB, parred second ball.
    Stuck under tree up against the wall right off 18th tee, second straight back off tree, three onto fringe of fairway,309 yards out-walk off with 6:rolleyes:
    Shanked 5 iron on the par 4 8th off the tee, lucky to find it at the other side of the river-on in 3 walk off with bogey.

Gotta love this game:D

Won best nett. Surprised but a win is a win:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Playing in the Irish Mail Foursomes Finals in Carton House (O'meara Course) Next week and went down there today for a practice. Myself and my playing partner played it as a foursomes with him teeing off first. Our handicaps 6 and 12 and we were +3 for the 18 holes with 13 pars, 4 bogeys(4th, 8th, 11th, 15th) and a birdie on the last :)

Course is gorgeous! The greens are just amazing, so smooth and the fairways are manicured. Cant wait to get down there next week for the finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Won best nett. Surprised but a win is a win:)

Congrats. What did you get for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭BOB81

Played a four-man texas scramble off the back tees in moyvalley (7,300yds) last Saturday - wind was blowing and almost all flags were within 3/4 yards of edges of greens so birdies very hard to come by (for us anyway!). Almost all the birdie putts we had were 20ft plus. Enjoyable day but playing the course off the blues is fine as a team - in a medal it would have been a slog to say the least. We finished -1 gross, 65 nett, when I left the course 59 nett was winning which was savage scoring in a 2/3 club wind for most of the day!

ballyk wrote: »
    Congrats. What did you get for it?

Dunno yet, prize giving sometime in October. I won't forget though, prizes rare as hen's teeth these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Had, officially, my lowest round ever today! :)

Shot 80 (+8) with a two-shot penalty included! Just played solidly all day, hit the irons well and putted well in general. Wobbled home a bit and actually had to make a 10-footer on the last for bogey! I had six previous rounds of 10-over-par in my 'glittering' career until today.

I'm currently at 15.3 but, guessing today's CSS will be 37pts (I had 43) I'm hoping for a cut of 1.8 (6 x .3) which would take me down to 13.5.

Driver was ok, irons very good, chipping excellent and putting solid... could've been a few better (I know, I know, we're never happy are we!) because I had two bad three-putts and took three to get down from the fringe (with putter) three times that I remember.

All in all, happy as a sand boy :)

9670491477_af70725afb_z.jpg
    Gc 80 by burgomeister08, on Flickr

WHIP IT! wrote: »

I'm currently at 15.3 but, guessing today's CSS will be 37pts (I had 43) I'm hoping for a cut of 1.8 (6 x .3) which would take me down to 13.5.

According to HowDidIDo (not official, I know) - this is exactly what I'll get :) Delighted... would love to get it to Playing-13 before year's end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Macker1

Shot 80 (+8) with a two-shot penalty included! Just played solidly all day, hit the irons well and putted well in general. Wobbled home a bit and actually had to make a 10-footer on the last for bogey! I had six previous rounds of 10-over-par in my 'glittering' career until today.

Driver was ok, irons very good, chipping excellent and putting solid... could've been a few better (I know, I know, we're never happy are we!) because I had two bad three-putts and took three to get down from the fringe (with putter) three times that I remember.

What happened on the 7th ???

Macker1 wrote: »
    What happened on the 7th ???

Don't ask - long story short, I made a 12-footer for a SEVEN! :D

Harro give this guy a ring:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

It's taken me almost a week to post this as I played in a team event in Moate last Saturday and had my worst round of 2013 with a miserable 26pts and approximately 99 strokes. 4 man team, 2 to score on par 4's and 5's all 4 to count par 3's. We all had poor rounds. In fact if you added our 4 scores for all 18 holes together we would have barely been in contention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

Whats the scorecard tracker software?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

It's taken me almost a week to post this as I played in a team event in Moate last Saturday and had my worst round of 2013 with a miserable 26pts and approximately 99 strokes. 4 man team, 2 to score on par 4's and 5's all 4 to count par 3's. We all had poor rounds. In fact if you added our 4 scores for all 18 holes together we would have barely been in contention.

Played a round with Slave1 in Moate yesterday, place is in great condition. If the pins were in the same place last Saturday as they were yesterday ye had a tough day out!!

I hate when you think you play well and you have an ok score and then when you think you are playing badly you had a great score!

Well yesterday was an in-between the two, driving was good except for 2 or 3 holes, pitching wasn't too bad, dug a few holes in the first feckin bunker (did they make them deeper since the last time i was there??) and putter was hot and cold. Good front 9 and shocking back 9. Hi-light of the round was tap in birdies on the index 1 5th and the 9th.

2 Birdies
    3 Pars
    6 Bogeys
    6 Doubles or Worse :mad:

Had 37 damm putts in the round though which is not good enough (16 / 21) but hit 67% of fairways and only converted them into 35% of GIR.

Many thanks to Slave1 for the company and excellent round of golf.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Whats the scorecard tracker software?

its golfshot.

Gin77 wrote: »

Turns out I had the winning score and my first win and 2nd cut. God I love this game.

Played Gowran Park yesterday, 29 points 5 scratches. Place is in top nick with the greens running really well.Like the way the course weaves in and out of the race track, gives it a good mix.
    Started par par bogey birdie but downhill from there;card-watching again:rolleyes:

Left waiting around for 90 minutes beforehand cos of a time sheet mix up.No reflection on the pro-shop as they weren't at fault. At the same time very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

78 Gross....six over off 12 in Cobh Intermediate Scratch Cup this morning. Its a funny game. 30pts was out of the question for the first six and a half months of the year, a change of irons and this...! Delighted really but four over for the last four holes when I started to think about the possibility of returning a good score. Lost the nerve a little. Still, hope to be in the mix at the end...!!