Palmerstown House

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

pauldoo wrote: »
    Got an email saying they are taking members, €1250 for the rest of 2013 and all of 2014

Thats great value, hope they can stay on top of the upkeep, potentially one of the best courses in the country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ciaran1982

That's really good I wonder what the annual fee will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pauldoo

ciaran1982 wrote: »
    That's really good I wonder what the annual fee will be

€1000 for 2014

No joining fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

In principle it's great value.

I heard the two gentlemen who bought it are giving it two years to prove it can be a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

I was down there today and the place is in great nick and I mean the course and the facilities, the sauna and steamroom were up and running, hot water for the power showers etc. The clubhouse was being done up, painted, cleaned up etc after a few years of neglect. The balcony overlooking the 18th has been relaid with paving and looks brand new.
    Only looking for 50 members at €1000 for next year to form a new club from scratch. The golf club will in effect be used as the foundation for the whole estate to attract green fees, corporate days, weddings and other functions.
    Also plans for a stud farm and to use the old house as a small hotel/accommodation with 15 to 20 rooms.
    It looks like a great opportunity to get in at the start for a very reasonable fee for a very good course within easy reach of Dublin, motorway all the way from Newlands Cross, no more than 15 minutes travelling time.
    I for one will be putting my name forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

if it goes belly up i presume your money is gone. risky i think.

50 members isn't exactly big, will there be any open day/comps etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

who_ru wrote: »
    if it goes belly up i presume your money is gone. risky i think.

50 members isn't exactly big, will there be any open day/comps etc?

Pay with your credit card and you'll be insured.

€50k however wouldn't pay for the sand bill so they must be looking to do serious money on green fee's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

How much are they charging for a green fee?

50 is the min to approach the GUI in order to set up a club, elect a commitee and agree a constitution. Once that is sorted you should then in theory attract more members at the €1000 per year.
    If green fees remain reasonable, say €35 to €40, which is still good value for a very good course and facility then the money generated will sustain the course and club.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

must head back up for a round there and see how much its improved. Be nice to see the course in its proper form and a bit of life in the clubhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

I am definitely going to get out there some Sunday morning very soon to take advantage of this, before they hike the green fees up...

I'm not sure I'd spring for membership at such an early point in the club's development though. What are people's feelings about joining such a new club??

Here are some of my thoughts, just on this particular course, as against joining just any new club;

Advantages
    1. Fantastic course, a real challenge.
    2. Unlike most new courses, this one is well established and settled (in terms of quality of greens / tee boxes / fairways / surroundings etc.).
    3. Very well-appointed clubhouse with excellent facilities (Mansfield really spent the money on the fixtures and fittings, even though the last time I was there the TVs and loose furniture had all been taken away).
    4. There is plenty of parking.
    5. The practice ground is ideally placed and a decent size.
    6. Its handy to get to - right on the M7 and, on a Saturday / Sunday morning, would be no more than 20 minutes from the M50.
    7. €1,000 is great value for what you're getting (on paper at least).

Disadvantages
    1. You'll be on your own for a while - you and 49 others...
    2. Little or no "club" atmosphere, at least initially.
    3. Little potential for decent in-club competitions, at least for the first year or two, and probably more for inter-club competitions.
    4. Jaysus, its a long walk around, especially from some of the greens to the next tee..!!!

One of their biggest challenges will be attracting enough people from the local clubs to switch over. Naas GC literally backs onto it, you can see Killeen just a couple of fields away, and Craddockstown, Citywest, South County , sorry Lisheen Springs, Knockanally, Dunmurray Springs, Newbridge and the Curragh aren't a million miles away either...

I would seriously consider joining myself, although perhaps not this year as one of the things I really enjoy about the Curragh is the good atmosphere there (as well as loving the course itself). But, with kids growing up, I'd have to consider them wanting to be junior members somewhere at some stage in the next ten years or so, and not wanting to have to drive them everywhere, having a club nearby would be a distinct advantage...

Good luck to them though, I applaud anyone trying to set up something new, especially in this economic climate. Hopefully it will get the support it deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Anatom wrote: »
    I am definitely going to get out there some Sunday morning very soon to take advantage of this, before they hike the green fees up...

I'm not sure I'd spring for membership at such an early point in the club's development though. What are people's feelings about joining such a new club??

Here are some of my thoughts, just on this particular course, as against joining just any new club;

Advantages
    1. Fantastic course, a real challenge.
    2. Unlike most new courses, this one is well established and settled (in terms of quality of greens / tee boxes / fairways / surroundings etc.).
    3. Very well-appointed clubhouse with excellent facilities (Mansfield really spent the money on the fixtures and fittings, even though the last time I was there the TVs and loose furniture had all been taken away).
    4. There is plenty of parking.
    5. The practice ground is ideally placed and a decent size.
    6. Its handy to get to - right on the M7 and, on a Saturday / Sunday morning, would be no more than 20 minutes from the M50.
    7. €1,000 is great value for what you're getting (on paper at least).

Disadvantages
    1. You'll be on your own for a while - you and 49 others...
    2. Little or no "club" atmosphere, at least initially.
    3. Little potential for decent in-club competitions, at least for the first year or two, and probably more for inter-club competitions.
    4. Jaysus, its a long walk around, especially from some of the greens to the next tee..!!!

One of their biggest challenges will be attracting enough people from the local clubs to switch over. Naas GC literally backs onto it, you can see Killeen just a couple of fields away, and Craddockstown, Citywest, South County , sorry Lisheen Springs, Knockanally, Dunmurray Springs, Newbridge and the Curragh aren't a million miles away either...

I would seriously consider joining myself, although perhaps not this year as one of the things I really enjoy about the Curragh is the good atmosphere there (as well as loving the course itself). But, with kids growing up, I'd have to consider them wanting to be junior members somewhere at some stage in the next ten years or so, and not wanting to have to drive them everywhere, having a club nearby would be a distinct advantage...

Good luck to them though, I applaud anyone trying to set up something new, especially in this economic climate. Hopefully it will get the support it deserves.

Palmerstown is better than pretty well all of those you list (except Lisheen of course - I'm biased) and a lot handier from Dublin than most of them. They shouldn't have a problem getting fifty but longer term viability is another matter. I hope they new owners have deep pockets - two years is a short enough time frame to make it profitable with the competition around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Very happy with this development and wish the new owners all the luck for the future. Always had a soft spot for this course and was disheartened with the state of the course the last time I played, great to read reports that its back on its uppers and will definitely be playing over the next month or so.

First Up wrote: »
    Palmerstown is better than pretty well all of those you list (except Lisheen of course - I'm biased)..
    ...and, of course, the Curragh which is fantastic too!:D

Only played Curragh once and I think it takes a bit of getting used to - quirky in spots but maybe once you know your way around.... Another 20 minutes on from Johnstown though.

I played Dunmurry Springs last week and enjoyed it; they seem to be doing OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I love Palmerstown house but the length of the walk is an issue.

A monthly medal could take 6 hours in the place if its a busy time sheet.

Even on a quiet day in stableford a 4 ball can take 5 hours to get around the place.

Personally it wouldn't put me off as its more time out of the house away from the brain terrorist but I'm sure it will influence the decision of sone lads.

Only played Curragh once and I think it takes a bit of getting used to - quirky in spots but maybe once you know your way around.... Another 20 minutes on from Johnstown though.

You're right, it is about 20 mins from Johnstown. Although I was really making the point that Palmerstown in its new guise would struggle to take members from the local clubs, not that it would be competing with the likes of the Curragh for potential Dublin members (although we do have a good few members who make the drive down every week - they must like its quirks!!:D;)).

ForeRight wrote: »
    I love Palmerstown house but the length of the walk is an issue.

A monthly medal could take 6 hours in the place if its a busy time sheet.

Even on a quiet day in stableford a 4 ball can take 5 hours to get around the place.

Personally it wouldn't put me off as its more time out of the house away from the brain terrorist but I'm sure it will influence the decision of sone lads.

Funny, I've played it quite a bit and never felt it took significantly longer than anywhere else. Off hand I can't think of any long walks between greens and next tees. There's a bit of one between 9 and 10 but where else?

You're right, it is about 20 mins from Johnstown. Although I was really making the point that Palmerstown in its new guise would struggle to take members from the local clubs, not that it would be competing with the likes of the Curragh for potential Dublin members (although we do have a good few members who make the drive down every week - they must like its quirks!!:D;)).

It would knock spots off Killeen, Naas, Craddockstown, Castlewarden or Beech Park. At a grand a year it could take quite a bit of business from them.

You're absolutely right, no doubt about that.

However that was my question really. I'm not sure, even with the undoubted quality of the course, whether it will be able to pull sufficient members from those surrounding clubs. I know several people in Killeen and Craddockstown, and a load of members in Naas, but I don't think any of them would move to Palmerstown. Its nothing to do with the money. I do think its that members will be loath to leave their own established clubs (where they may have a family history etc.) to move to a club with no "established" membership and which they can still play on any time they wish for €35.

As I said, the best of luck to Palmerstown. I may consider moving there in a couple of years, but not at the moment.

You're absolutely right, no doubt about that.

However that was my question really. I'm not sure, even with the undoubted quality of the course, whether it will be able to pull sufficient members from those surrounding clubs. I know several people in Killeen and Craddockstown, and a load of members in Naas, but I don't think any of them would move to Palmerstown. Its nothing to do with the money. I do think its that members will be loath to leave their own established clubs (where they may have a family history etc.) to move to a club with no "established" membership and which they can still play on any time they wish for €35.

As I said, the best of luck to Palmerstown. I may consider moving there in a couple of years, but not at the moment.

I agree - getting people to move is about more than just the course and the cost. Building a club/collegiate atmosphere will be a big challenge but they have a lot going for them if they can sustain the effort. They will need a core of dedicated members for committees etc.

People are right in that there are a lot of clubs in the area and many are struggling to keep going year after year with declining numbers and possibly ageing memberships. Palmerstown in its new guise I think will attract quite a young membership due to its length, difficulty and quality for a start. Another factor is its location which is so easy to get to from just about anywhere even close to the M50 as well as the length of the Naas Road. People travelling distances should be definitely be interested at €1000.
    Clubs not too far away have gone belly up and will continue to do so and that alone will provide some numbers and I do not think that 500 is an unrealistic number of new members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pcasso

Just wondering if anyone has signed up for the new membership deal?
    Talking to the pro this morning he said that there was thirty nine signed up already with another four hopefuls for today.
    He anticipated that there would be a lot more applicants towards the end of the year when existing memberships are coming to an end.
    It is a really good course and I am sorely tempted as I am sort of between clubs at the moment.
    The forty minute drive is a bit of a drawback.
    The course was in good nick though
    Condition overall was good with greens lush but a bit slow while the bunkers were ok without being brilliant.
    It still has the potential to be a top, top club.

I know a couple of lads that have paid the 1250 for the rest of this and next year already. 8 rounds at €35 a round and that is your 250 for this year back and you can pay by direct debit so if it does go belly up well no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

One of those almost too good to be true offers. You're looking at one of the finest courses in the country for 20 quid a week. Enjoy it at 1000 id say because in 2015 it will either be folded or twice that.

Probably give it a go myself. Interesting to see if they have GUI affiliation by 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭GolfingGod

One of those almost too good to be true offers. You're looking at one of the finest courses in the country for 20 quid a week. Enjoy it at 1000 id say because in 2015 it will either be folded or twice that.

Probably give it a go myself. Interesting to see if they have GUI affiliation by 2014.

Hopefully they will as I've just joined on Monday! Played course on Friday and they had fertilised it the week before, growth over the weekend simply mind blowing. Greens in incredible condition and work being done all over the place especially around the clubhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

GolfingGod wrote: »
    Hopefully they will as I've just joined on Monday! Played course on Friday and they had fertilised it the week before, growth over the weekend simply mind blowing. Greens in incredible condition and work being done all over the place especially around the clubhouse.

Best of luck with it GG, you've got some deal there and it's something that I've been thinking a bit about but I think it's just a bit too much of a journey.

It's great to see it getting out of Nama, I hope it can stand on it's own two feet now, but I can't see how it's going to add up...again, hopefully I'm proved wrong as it's a cracking course and it would be a shame to see it fail.

Did the new owners give any indication of how many members they need, what the annual costs of running it will be, if it'll be funded by a sale of land short term etc?

My fear would be that they'll need to hike up the fee in 2015 quite considerably, something in the region of Carton Houses price... and then I'd feel the head on competition for members with Carton will see Palmerstown losing out.

Ah sure, the economy will be recovered by 2015 anyway :D

There's also a fear that an aggressive short term pricing recruitment (that isn't based on a viable long term model - my assumption) of members could drag some fine local clubs down and ultimately bring more clubs down that if it had been kept in Nama.....did I just say that!

Enjoy your golf, very jealous, lovely course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭GolfingGod

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Best of luck with it GG, you've got some deal there and it's something that I've been thinking a bit about but I think it's just a bit too much of a journey.

It's great to see it getting out of Nama, I hope it can stand on it's own two feet now, but I can't see how it's going to add up...again, hopefully I'm proved wrong as it's a cracking course and it would be a shame to see it fail.

Did the new owners give any indication of how many members they need, what the annual costs of running it will be, if it'll be funded by a sale of land short term etc?

My fear would be that they'll need to hike up the fee in 2015 quite considerably, something in the region of Carton Houses price... and then I'd feel the head on competition for members with Carton will see Palmerstown losing out.

Ah sure, the economy will be recovered by 2015 anyway :D

There's also a fear that an aggressive short term pricing recruitment (that isn't based on a viable long term model - my assumption) of members could drag some fine local clubs down and ultimately bring more clubs down that if it had been kept in Nama.....did I just say that!

Enjoy your golf, very jealous, lovely course.

On the price, I believe they are planning on a having a price freeze and maybe adding in a reasonable bar levy which I don't have a problem with to be honest. I think they are looknig for 350 members but not expecting most of that until the new year when existing memberships in other clubs expire.

I know Druids Heath have maintained their original membeship offering of €1500 for the last 4 or so years and have added in free junior memberships etc into it so not too worried to be honest and their membership base is in the mid 200s.

Owners seem to have serious pockets (bought the place for a good chunk below asking price as well) from the research I've done and plan to use the Clubhouse as a base for their investment company and to be honest, the course was built to the very highest spec so mainteance upkeep once the bunkers are worked on (issue is that NAMA didn't continue standard mainteance of 5+ bunkers each year) shouldn't be too crazy.

Only time will tell to be honest but fingers crossed and anyway always have the DD to cancel if things look a bit grim.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

GolfingGod wrote: »

Is the club house back open for Food and Drink ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

I've decided to join myself, a lot of my mates who are on other clubs in the area, bodenstown, Killeen, beech park all joining also, it's a fantastic deal and the new owners are both keen golfers so from my conversations the place will be fantastic again. If your not happy..... Cxl the DD. simples