If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,703 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Obviously FF were not the only party availing of the "generosity" of Anglo. FG and Dukes all well in there it seems.
    Everything possible being done to stifle the Indo reporters and to prevent the truth coming out.
    Where Anglo and the Banks are concerned there is obviously no difference in the political parties. The cozy cartels must be protected and the status quo preserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

NORTH1 wrote: »
    I see this as the wrong reply, there most be a difference between the knowing and proving, and then proving and acting on the proof.

Where are we at the moment? If it can be proved why is there no action?

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ansbacher-report-names-200-clients-58593.html

This is Mary Harneys report into Ansbacher. A are we seriously suggesting that we set up another Ansbacher inquiry into the Anglo bail-out fraud? Might as well be playing pin the tail on the donkey.

Richard Boyd-Barrett's protest yoke seems to be the ''only game in town''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

squod wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ansbacher-report-names-200-clients-58593.html

This is Mary Harneys report into Ansbacher. A are we seriously suggesting that we set up another Ansbacher inquiry into the Anglo bail-out fraud? Might as well be playing pin the tail on the donkey.

Femen protesters welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

Should we let this pass again with no action.......
    Ms Harney said Irish society deserved a coherent and comprehensive body of law that was actively enforced without fear or favour.

‘‘We should aim, not only to meet the highest international standards, but to set them.

‘‘We should show leadership in ensuring that our society is a fair and just place in which to live and do business.’’

Mary had the right idea, but it would seem apathy won true, is there no one in the country that can take up this task, they are winning in there effort to bury this....we need the leadership that's mentioned above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

NORTH1 wrote: »
    Should we let this pass again with no action.......

Mary had the right idea, but it would seem apathy won true, is there no one in the country that can take up this task, they are winning in there effort to bury this....we need the leadership that's mentioned above.

Ansbacher was an exercise in PR. An expose in turning around bad news. A grade ' A '
    Whitewash of half truths, bolloxology and finger pointing.

How many years did CJH get again?

Seriously. I want the fvcking money back. Every single billion, plus interest. Not some lame excuse, a news story on RTE and a pat on the back for coughing up half my wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Drum names 8 others he believes should be part of the inquiry into what happened on the night of the 400 billion guarantee of bank debt.

Patrick Neary, the financial regulator,
    John Hurley, the Central Bank Governer,
    Kevin Cardiff, the Secretary in the Department of finance,
    Former Taoiseach Brian Cowen,
    Former AIB chief executive Eugene Sheely and chairman Dermot Gleeson,
    Former Bank of Ireland chief executive Brian Goggins and chairman Richard Burrows,
    The representatives from Merrill Lynch who advised the government.
    www.thejournal.ie/anglo-tapes-drumm-978508-Jul2013

I say we go ahead and intern these two fuhkers. Even if the other few hundred co-conspirators get away with it. I'd be happy knowing these two didn't at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Apart from the fact that I really, really, don't want to see an Oireachtas enquiry,
    (because it's a whitewashing exercise, imo) - and despite the fact that his comments may be a cynical exercise in spreading the blame - the people he mentioned most certainly do have questions to answer.

Now whether those questions should be answered to the Garda Síochana, or in front of a trial Judge depends on the evidence - but the answers, in their entirety, should be made available to the Public - and not those who have, so far, failed to obtain either answers, or justice, for the people they are meant to represent ie. Us.

Noreen1 wrote: »

Now whether those questions should be answered to the Garda Síochana,

Normally when the whistle gets blown on mass fraud like this the cops are onto it straight away.

The whistle has been blowing for a long time.

The cops either can't hear or won't hear. I bet it's the latter. The Anglo bail-out fraud goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Drum names 8 others he believes should be part of the inquiry into what happened on the night of the 400 billion guarantee of bank debt.

Former Bank of Ireland chief executive Brian Goggins and chairman Richard Burrows,

Ah sure, he might as well increase his list of enemies and well-wishers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

What is also worrying is our so called regulators either a. were too thick to see what was going on or b. turned a blind eye. What's the point in having them if all this can happen under their watch. This Country is great for putting systems in place but all they seem to be are a front. No bite or power with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Perhaps we should also add the former head of RBS who came into the Irish
    market and started throwing money around like chaff at a thrashing, and in so doing, goaded our own homegrown pillocks into the dick measuring contest which fueled this disaster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I remember a few years ago seeing a report that listed countried according to the amount of corruption. Ireland was quite high up. It was above Italy which surprised me. I thought a country with the mafia & vatican bank would be worse than us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

Grayson wrote: »
    I remember a few years ago seeing a report that listed countried according to the amount of corruption. Ireland was quite high up. It was above Italy which surprised me. I thought a country with the mafia & vatican bank would be worse than us.

We have Fianna Gael/Fine Fáil and... did you mention a bank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,201 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Normally when the whistle gets blown on mass fraud like this the cops are onto it straight away.

The cops either can't hear or won't hear. I bet it's the latter. The Anglo bail-out fraud goes on.

Still waiting on them to arrest Bertie Ahern for perjury instead of giving him 24/7 armed protection.

I think it's safe to say that the guards are corrupt. They simply don't apply the law equally to all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

That would be so easy. We could ask the Libyans to return old favours and send us some people to show us how to organise a revolution. We could get in expert demonstrators from France, Greece, Syria, Turkey, Egypt and Brazil to show us how it's done.

Sounds like a plan.

too late, Ghadaffi was killed like a dog and it will take many generations for Libya to recover from what sarkozy and cameron oranised!!

(NSFW)

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ee6_1319234557

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

By the looks of it, there won't even be a trial with a 6 year limitiation and all. We're five years into this mess and there's nothing. The indo being forced to not to release any more tapes is a cover up, pure and simple.

Fionnan Sheehan and Enda Kenny have been spotted out and about together so my bet was the whole tapes leak was planned and it has worked cos irish people are still showing no real resistence.

politicians like boyd barrett and ming spoke at the dail protest the other day but forgot to mention that inside the dail the government are starting an enquiry and they keep repeating it's what the people want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

The whole thing would just make you sick (literally). Every time I hear about it I get stomach pains due to some kind of stress induced reaction.

I honestly think for the sake of my own mental and physical health I may have to emigrate to a less corrupt country.

Or, at least one that does corruption with enough intelligence not to destroy the economy.

I can pretty much be 100% certain that this will turn into a 20 year drawn out inquiry that ultimately achieves nothing other than to demonstrate that justice and laws don't apply to the rich and influential.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    The whole thing would just make you sick (literally). Every time I hear about it I get stomach pains due to some kind of stress induced reaction.

I honestly think for the sake of my own mental and physical health I may have to emigrate to a less corrupt country.

Or, at least one that does corruption with enough intelligence not to destroy the economy.

I can pretty much be 100% certain that this will turn into a 20 year drawn out inquiry that ultimately achieves nothing other than to demonstrate that justice and laws don't apply to the rich and influential.

+1, I feel the same as you. Just sick.

Outside of boards and other online forums many people don't give a sh1te whats happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

too late, Ghadaffi was killed like a dog and it will take many generations for Libya to recover from what sarkozy and cameron oranised!!

Just what idyllic prior state will Libya "recover" towards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Grayson wrote: »

That would probably be correct...... and sad though.

It doesn't surprise me, or many others as well probably.

Paul Sommerville being interviewed by Max Keiser on Anglotapes:

http://rt.com/shows/keiser-report/episode-465-max-keiser-651/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,703 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

As long as the Garda Commissioner is appointed by and answers to his political masters I could also have a good guess at why there has been seemingly been very little done.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Still waiting on them to arrest Bertie Ahern for perjury instead of giving him 24/7 armed protection.

I think it's safe to say that the guards are corrupt. They simply don't apply the law equally to all.

I don't think we can generalize like that BUT at the top they are political appointees and there lies the answers.

Paul Sommerville being interviewed by Max Keiser on Anglotapes:

http://rt.com/shows/keiser-report/episode-465-max-keiser-651/

Found it on youtube if anyone is interested.

http://youtube.com/watch?client=mv-h3g-ie&gl=IE&hl=en&v=lyZNJgvtt74

Paul Sommerville is on at 12.45 but the whole show is well worth a watch.

Tweet from Max Keiser 5h

'Sean Quinn probably leaked #anglotapes Noonan's a pig and rest of Ireland's dirty government are whores.

Thats so funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

If anyone reading this thread is interested (collusion being a concept which runs through this thread), I raised the issue of a form of collusion which appears to have upset some people (in After Hours: thread - Good riddance to the feckers I say..... re RBS subsidiary Ulster Bank in Ireland).

What appears to have upset some people is my reference to the fact that those in the upper echelons of the banks, and those who have benefited and continue to benefit the most from sharp practice, fraud, corruption, collusion, etc could not have done it all on their own.

They may have made decisions in the boardroom and they may have set the corporate tone...... but that on it's own was not and could not have been enough....... they needed assistance, co-operation, collusion, call it with you want, and that came from various areas INCLUDING from a compliant, subservient and obedient army of bank employees/officials who knew they were doing things which were not right, which were not ethical, which were not honest, and in connection to activities i.e. PPI mis-selling, etc which were ripping fellow citizens, etc off.

It is unpalatable, it is unsettling perhaps to think that individuals some may have social contact with may have engaged in dishonest behaviours against 'ourselves', but it is an unavoidable and perhaps an inconvenient truth, one which some reluctant to acknowledge.

There is no doubt that the main culprits are those at the top.... that is unquestionable.... but it doesn't absolve others who also played their parts in ripping ordinary people off.

Would be interested in the comments of some open minded posters regarding this particular issue....probably best to post in the original thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

I've said it before I find the idea absurd that the government may put something in the water to keep the population quite but I'm slowly coming around to the idea that its possible. I've seen it in my job this week when our company decided to outsource our work effectively killing 100 or so careers. No fight, no protest, no work disruption and people just seemed to bend over and accept it.

http://www.maxkeiser.com/2013/07/diarmaid-ferriter-history-will-ask-how-the-irish-could-be-so-docile-in-face-of-such-betrayal/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

+1, I feel the same as you. Just sick.

Outside of boards and other online forums many people don't give a sh1te whats happening.

It's true. Sure they're all back contemplating voting FF because they seem to think it will bring back the good old days without even realising that they're what brought us the bad old days again and again and again through at best shortsighted, populist policies.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    It's true. Sure they're all back contemplating voting FF because they seem to think it will bring back the good old days without even realising that they're what brought us the bad old days again and again and again through at best shortsighted, populist policies.

If you clinked on the youtube video I linked earlier where Paul Sommerville was interviewed by Max Keiser, he explains that many people see these anglotapes as 'oh, rogue banker, jail them' but he highlights something that I and many more here on boards, poilitics.ie, journal.ie and probably other sites too, is that there is an elite system and that they are all linked. Many people are unable or don't want to connect the dots.