If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Valetta wrote: »
    Wrong on so many levels.

And yet yo still manage to not answer the questions posed to you:confused:

bumper234 wrote: »
    OK Ms mature,

Please explain how you would organize a protest that will get the attention of government, financial regulators, world press. Explain to us how we keep this on the front pages or would you just prefer we all forgot about the 65 BILLION that was given to the banks. Would you prefer it was just swept under the rug and not talked about?

Never mind i see from previous posts of yours in this and other threads that you are staunchly pro government and in your eyes they do no wrong. Shills gonna shill i suppose.
    ....... and banksters will be banksters, I suppose.

Tell me Valetta...... what would you do...... pray tell us ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

http://www.ft.com/

Allied Irish Banks seen as reckless as Anglo calls reveal

By Jamie Smyth in Dublin

Allied Irish Banks was viewed as being as reckless as Anglo Irish Bank in the lead-up to Ireland’s financial crisis in 2008, according to remarks between senior bank executives broadcast on Monday......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

maybe the stage is set for a new political party in ireland...something like an irish version of the german AfD with a plan to fix the current mess and maybe “reinvent” the system...and without any legacy burden...
    not a short-term solution but might change things for the better in the long run...if they got enough votes that is, which seems unlikely...

Wurzelbert wrote: »
    maybe the stage is set for a new political party in ireland...something like an irish version of the german AfD with a plan to fix the current mess and maybe “reinvent” the system...and without any legacy burden...
    not a short-term solution but might change things for the better in the long run...if they got enough votes that is, which seems unlikely...

This is exactly what's needed. A new party that could possibly sweep to power and shake up the old boys establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Take all our money out of the banks and put it in the post office or credit union

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Another protest on Saturday at 2pm Dublin with nice, good, clear aims and ones that I very much agree with because it includes those in the golden circle and not just the bankers. It is organised by Sinn Fein.

I like it. Thread on politics.ie about here:
    http://www.politics.ie/forum/events/212691-jail-bankers-protest-central-bank-plaza-saturday-2pm.html

Waiting for such replies now like:
    'I'm not going because it's the shinners.'

It's not like they'll be forcing your hand to vote for them at the polls or anything.

Another protest on Saturday at 2pm Dublin with nice, good, clear aims and ones that I very much agree with because it includes those in the golden circle and not just the bankers. It is organised by Sinn Fein.

http://www.politics.ie/forum/events/212691-jail-bankers-protest-central-bank-plaza-saturday-2pm.html

It's not like they'll be forcing your hand to vote for them at the polls or anything.

1st reply over there

SF. Not interested.

****ing typical Irish response to any situation...chop off your nose to spite your face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

might actually go to that one...

crusher000 wrote: »
    Take all our money out of the banks and put it in the post office or credit union

Not content with f**king up the country, the a***holes then try to nobble any chance the ordinary plebs of getting a better deal that the ones the banksters are offering (see 13th May 2013 media article below).

What happened to this concept people talk about..... 'competition'...... not even plain and simple 'competition'...... but 'FAIR competition'.

Oooooooh...... I don't think the banksters like that particular concept do they ?

The feckers want it every way..... as long as it's 'their way'.

Banks lobby for An Post to cut deposit rate

By John Walsh, Business Correspondent

Monday, May 13, 2013

Banks are piling pressure on the Government to force An Post to cut interest rates on its savings accounts because they are more competitive that those offered by other financial institutions.

The three domestic banks have been lobbying the Department of Finance to introduce interest rate reductions on An Post savings accounts. They have argued that the higher interest rates offered by An Post distort competition and create an uneven playing field in attracting deposit flows.

The department declined to comment, although a department source said, "this is an issue and it is something we are looking at".

The three banks also declined to comment. However, sources at two confirmed they have asked the Government to lower the interest rates applied by An Post.

The current rates on An Post products include:

* 7% on the three-year savings bonds;

* 12% on the four-year national solidarity bond;

* 15% on the five-year savings certificate;

* 17% on the six-year instalment savings;

* 45% on the 10-year national solidarity bond.

These rates have helped An Post soak up a huge amount of one-off large sum deposits. The banks offer a number of fixed rate and term accounts. Bank of Ireland offers 2% on regular savings accounts, AIB 2.85% on its regular savings account, and Permanent TSB also offers 2.85% on its regular savings accounts.

There was a cut in the interest on An Post savings accounts last December, the first rate decrease since 2007. The ECB lowered the main interest rate for the eurozone to a historic low of 0.5% a week before last.

The cost and availability of deposits has caused huge problems for the domestic banks. Because of the vulnerable state of the sector, the banks had to pay punitive interest rates on deposit accounts, which squeezed profitability. In some cases the banks are paying more for the cost of funding than they are charging on products — the multi-billion euro tracker mortgage books are a case in point.

Over the past two years the three banks have attracted new deposits and have lowered the rates on deposit accounts. Funding costs were eased further by the removal of the Government’s eligible liabilities guarantee scheme at the end of March. Further progress is hampered by competition from An Post, they claim.

The NTMA, which is responsible for setting the rates of An Post savings products, said "it constantly keeps rates under review".

Meanwhile, chairman of the Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee John McGuinness says probes into the banking collapse are being blocked. The former Fianna Fáil minister says the committee has been denied access by the finance department to key files about what happened on the night of the bank guarantee.

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Monday, May 13, 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

crusher000 wrote: »
    Good move.

Don't let it bother you that the PO or CU will put the money into bank accounts.

Unfortunately P. Breathnach has a point. Nevertheless, it doesn't take away the fact that the banks, in conclusion with each other have attempted to stifle competition, competition which was providing financially better, as in better interest rates, to customers........ they didn't like that and they tried to stifle it.

And that makes a mockery of 'free competition'.

There are close relationships ongoing between banks and the post office organisations both in Ireland and in UK.

For instance, in Ireland Danske Bank (formerly National Irish), after closing their branch network down moreorless in Ireland, have established a close working relationship with An Post via offering banking services via the An Post branch network.

And in UK the Post Office accounts are in essence actually Bank of Ireland accounts dressed up as UK Post Office accounts.

Is anything actually what it seems in banking ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Take all our money out of the banks and put it under our beds as PO and CU or now also off limits.

Better still if we swop 2 goat skins I'll give you 2 dozen eggs.

We need a Bank of Dave here. Brilliant watch for those who have not seen it.

Convinced that he can do a better job than the high street banks, Dave Fishwick sets up his own small bank and endeavours to make it profitable - in just 180 days

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/bank-of-dave

episode 2

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/bank-of-dave/episode-guide/series-2/episode-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,201 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

1st reply over there

SF. Not interested.

****ing typical Irish response to any situation...chop off your nose to spite your face

He/she is probably waiting for the protest led by FF or FG.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    He/she is probably waiting for the protest led by FF or FG.

Could be a long wait :D

We need a Bank of Dave here. Brilliant watch for those who have not seen it.

Convinced that he can do a better job than the high street banks, Dave Fishwick sets up his own small bank and endeavours to make it profitable - in just 180 days

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/bank-of-dave

episode 2

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/bank-of-dave/episode-guide/series-2/episode-1

Dave Fishwick...... legend !

But sure the feckers put all sorts of obstacles in his way too.

More attempts to stifle competition. They want it all for themselves.

I understand what Anglo did and going by the anglo tapes there's cases there for fraud.

It is my opinion, it all goes back to government. The last and this current one. The reason I'm including FG is because they have been very lax in taking action and they also continued in FFs footsteps looking after themselves. What did FG do last year? Two small things I can think of at the top of my head were buying in 10,000 silk ties and spending how much money on cases of wine? Was it 70,000 euro? Another example was continuing with contracts like banking contracts for large pay sums for bankers, their own pay and pensions, and for other heads of state like the CEO of the ESB retiring on something ridiculous. Corruption is rife within politics.

We had a good hand to play last year and this year for a protest in relation to the household charge and property tax but many people rolled over and meekily payed up to keep that gravy train rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

Now who do you think leaked the tapes.......

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0703/460382-anglo-irish-trial/

Lawyer thinks the trails won't now go ahead.

NORTH1 wrote: »

There probably weren't going to go ahead anyways. AnOrdinaryJoe linked a newpaper artictle above and in it, it said that someone was stopping a garda investigation or putting blocks up to prevent it or making it harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,201 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There probably weren't going to go ahead anyways. AnOrdinaryJoe linked a newpaper artictle above and in it, it said that someone was stopping a garda investigation or putting blocks up to prevent it or making it harder.

If someone is blocking the guards from investigating then they should face criminal charges.

Its interesting reading about the guy that fraudulently claimed €150,000 from welfare over a number of years, he got four years in prison. The state managed to turn that case around in two years.

Like for like the bankers should get life in prison for the amounts they stole from the state. Not big pensions and life on the golf courses.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Please explain how you would organize a protest that will get the attention of government, financial regulators, world press. Explain to us how we keep this on the front pages

That would be so easy. We could ask the Libyans to return old favours and send us some people to show us how to organise a revolution. We could get in expert demonstrators from France, Greece, Syria, Turkey, Egypt and Brazil to show us how it's done.

I think once we got the hang of demonstrating properly we'd really take it to it. All that pent up anger, rage, bitterness, helplessness and hopelessness would suddenly burst out. The world would definitely notice. We'd probably get in a few hangings of bankers, regulators and politicians before we turned on each other. Also it would be extremely unlikely that the Army would turn on us. There aren't that many of them any more and Ireland being such a small place each soldier would have friends and family to consider before firing on the crowd or mowing us down with tanks.

Sounds like a plan.

Shane Ross (@Shane_RossTD) tweeted at 4:53 PM on Wed, Jul 03, 2013:
    Oireachtas Inquiries Bill passed by 100+ votes! Will return to haunt us when bankers injunct TDs & it slumps into party political circus.
    (https://twitter.com/Shane_RossTD/status/352454957896712193)

Get the official Twitter app at https://twitter.com/download

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Carnegie

So in the same day we learn that as a result of the leak the trial won't go ahead, FG decide to bring in new legislation protecting whistleblowers:

http://www.thejournal.ie/whistleblowers-legislation-ireland-976776-Jul2013/
    "It is envisaged that the rules will provide safeguards to individuals who disclose their information to their employers, the authorities, TDs, or the media"

Coincidence? I think not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Its interesting reading about the guy that fraudulently claimed €150,000 from welfare over a number of years, he got four years in prison. The state managed to turn that case around in two years.

Like for like the bankers should get life in prison for the amounts they stole from the state. Not big pensions and life on the golf courses.....

Yeah the "Justice" system is a joke they also bought someone to court for not paying their luas fair.

http://www.herald.ie/news/man-used-luas-pass-he-found-in-hostel-29392958.html

A YOUNG man started using a travel pass to get free travel on the Luas after another man left it behind in a hostel for the homeless, a court heard.

Jonathan Flood (24) claimed he was using the travel pass because he didn't have any money to pay for a Luas ticket.
    The defendant, of Oakley Lodge in Ranelagh, admitted before Dublin District Court to the possession of a false instrument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

how about jail for leaving a plastic bag behind you at a bottle bank?
    (it wasn't today or yesterday mind you)
    The plight of Mr. XXXXXXX, who was issued with a fine by Meath County Council when his 12 year-old son, stuffed a plastic bag into a pile of cardboard boxes which had been left at the bottle bank in Ashbourne, made national news last week, when he told his story on Joe Duffy’s 'Liveline’ radio show.
    He said the whole system was a joke and it was clear on CCTV that it was a 12 year-old boy who had left the bag behind, yet the council still insisted on issuing a fine.
    However, a spokesperson for Meath County Council said the council does not send people to jail. When a case goes to court, it is taken out of its hands.
    Mr Rooney said that, in March 2009, he had gone to the recycling facility with his 12 year-old son. “I had a plastic bin full of bottles with me and my son had some extra bottles in a plastic bag,” he said.
    Unknown to Mr Rooney, when his son finished recycling the bottles, he scrunched up the bag and put it into cardboard boxes, which had been left at the site.
    Mr Rooney was then issued with a €150 fine, as his car registration had been picked up on CCTV.
    The unemployed father said he went to Meath County Council and told officials he couldn’t pay the fine in one go and pointed out that it had been the innocent actions of a child.
    “They wouldn’t listen and just brought me to court,” he said.
    In Navan Court, he was fined €300 and ordered to pay €1,062 in costs and given two months to pay. “I couldn’t pay it as I’m unemployed and wouldn’t have enough time to pay it in instalments,” he said.
    Mr Rooney said that when the two months went by, he was taken to Wheatfield Prison, but was released when his wife went round various relatives to come up with the money to pay the fine.

link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Just looked at the rte website-there is no mention of this evenings jail the anglo bankers protest taking place outside the dail-not that Im surprised as the anglo tapes issue seems to be dying down in the irish media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Am Chile wrote: »
    Just looked at the rte website-there is no mention of this evenings jail the anglo bankers protest taking place outside the dail-not that Im surprised as the anglo tapes issue seems to be dying down in the irish media.

Nobody can say what the protest is about , hard for the media to report on people protesting about "Bankers and Other Stuff "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Am Chile wrote: »

Not surprised either. They have news to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,703 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

raymon wrote: »
    Nobody can say what the protest is about , hard for the media to report on people protesting about "Bankers and Other Stuff "

I'd say as a Govt shill you are really delighted.

I only now heard of the protest but i'd safely say it';s about FF and their cozy relationship with the criminal bankers and also about how FG watched on in silence.