Cadetships 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 target shooter 13

Could people please state also when they did their verification tests :)

i did mine Wednesday at 12.00 :D

I think us Wednesday crowd will be the following week. How many of you have applied before?

were you in at the 12 o'clock one? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 DIT Airsoft Soc

were you in at the 12 o'clock one? :)

No The half 2 crowd. You got an email back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 looking887

I done my test on Wednesday at 12 haven't heard anything back yet but I reckon they wanted to give the people going before next weekend the most notice is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭SplitCartridge

I wonder will any of ye be getting emails over the weekend or just on Monday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Only one thing for it SplitCartridge... Make fake profiles and log in claiming you've just recieved the email Sunday morning... And have them all ****ting it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 DIT Airsoft Soc

Just got an email to attend the fitness on the 5th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭SplitCartridge

discus wrote: »
    Only one thing for it SplitCartridge... Make fake profiles and log in claiming you've just recieved the email Sunday morning... And have them all ****ting it!

Genius haha.

Funny you should say that though. A friend of mine who's going for a place in the Army class literally just got an email for the next stage. :P No bluff on that!

Jokes aside, best of luck lads and ladies. And if you don't get it, go again. Its a competition that is hugely influenced by that awful factor called 'luck on the day'. I know of people who have gone for it more times than you can count on your hand, and eventually got it, and did exceptionally well as both a cadet and an officer. If you have the drive and strength to keep cracking at it after rejections at various stages you will eventually get through. As they say in many military forces around the world, accept, adapt, and overcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I just got my email from the army, overnight stay on the 5th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 looking887

Just got mine for the 8th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 banbatoyota

Just got called for Monday 8th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭tomato1988

Just got called for Monday 8th

me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭Alan_007_

tomato1988 wrote: »
    me too

Same.
    Anyone have any idea how many people are left at this stage?

Alan_007_ wrote: »
    Same.
    Anyone have any idea how many people are left at this stage?

havent a clue but surely still treble figues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭Alan_007_

havent a clue but surely still treble figues?

Yeah I'd imagine so anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Approx 300 will be left at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 zachaus

Is the pay only <€30k? With "career average" pension?

Don't know how anyone could buy a decent house and run a car on that. Officers of a bye-gone era would have been far more comfortable IMO.

No The half 2 crowd. You got an email back?

Just today, I'm going on the 8th :D they don't seem to be turning anybody down yet? :rolleyes:

Jokes aside, best of luck lads and ladies. And if you don't get it, go again. Its a competition that is hugely influenced by that awful factor called 'luck on the day'. I know of people who have gone for it more times than you can count on your hand, and eventually got it, and did exceptionally well as both a cadet and an officer. If you have the drive and strength to keep cracking at it after rejections at various stages you will eventually get through. As they say in many military forces around the world, accept, adapt, and overcome.

Yeah, same as. Best of luck. There's probably a few lads on this forum who've gone a few times and then managed to make it eventually.

anyone done the run before? is there much of a gradient throughout?

zachaus wrote: »
    Is the pay only <€30k? With "career average" pension?

Don't know how anyone could buy a decent house and run a car on that. Officers of a bye-gone era would have been far more comfortable IMO.

30k starting off is far better than majority of 'grad entry' jobs. Add in free rent and food an that's at least another 10k you're not spending a year.

Also, I don't envisage the majority of hopefuls looking to join simply to 'buy a decent house and run a car on that'.

anyone done the run before? is there much of a gradient throughout?

Ever so slightly downhill on the first half, therefore ever so slightly uphill coming back. Barely noticeable though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭N curran

is it difficult to pass on the run lads. 2.4k in 11 mins 40 looks unlikely for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

When we did it for the air corps I did it in 8:40 something, in a big group of 10, and most were only a little behind with one straggler I think. It's very doable and anyone that fails just hasn't prepared

8:40 is a pretty respectable time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

The run is grand. It's comfortable striding pace with some room to spare. Having done a bunch of middle distance races and such, when running in a group, your pace will typically go up anyway as everyone tries to match the faster runners, and without suffering overly. It's only a mile and a half anyway. It'll be over in ten minutes, so even if you are suffering, suffer faster and suffer shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 TwentiethCent

Anyone have idea wat the group assessment part will be lik

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 zachaus

30k starting off is far better than majority of 'grad entry' jobs. Add in free rent and food an that's at least another 10k you're not spending a year.

Also, I don't envisage the majority of hopefuls looking to join simply to 'buy a decent house and run a car on that'.

Yes, but chances are you'll have to live in a culturally impoverished regional town somewhere.

At least if you're working in the real world you get to go home at 5pm and your future career prospects aren't all in one basket.

I suppose with the level of competition, the PDF can afford to drive down salaries.

zachaus wrote: »
    Yes, but chances are you'll have to live in a culturally impoverished regional town somewhere.

At least if you're working in the real world you get to go home at 5pm and your future career prospects aren't all in one basket.

I suppose with the level of competition, the PDF can afford to drive down salaries.

Well somebody created a trolling account :rolleyes: or maybe I took you up wrong :D

Anyone have any idea what the "realistic job preview" will be? I have this unshakeable image of drill instructor Gunnery Sergeant Hartman from full metal jacket giving us a not so pleasant wake up call at 4.30am for a nice leisurely 5mile run :confused: