If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

kraggy wrote: »
    I thought Kenny wants a Parliamentary Inquiry as opposed to a Tribunal, no?

Doesn't a Parliamentary Inquiry just mean that politicians will be asking bankers questions, as opposed to hiring lawyers and judges to make a case?

The problem with the current parliamentary inquiries is they can't compel people to attend, they'll have legal representation whether they attend, don't attend or ignore the damn thing. The referendum that was rejected was supposed to give inquiries more teeth, the current legislation going through the Dail is trying to address the weaknesses without a referendum, bit like the abortion legislation in a way. Look to be doing something but not doing a lot in the process.

I'm no expert whatsoever on the new bill, maybe we've expert legal eagles on the Government side, just as much as those who'll be looking for every loophole and challenge in the new legislation!
    paddy147 wrote: »
    Ah sure FG dont have any links whatsoever to Anglo.

or do they???

I don't know about Anglo but plenty of Councils rezoned huge swathes of land during the bubble, plenty with FG control or strong influence.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,547 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Any other country in the world and mobs of people would be burning these ****ing scum alive in their mansions, when will the Irish grow some ****ing balls and revolt against this bull**** we are being dealt. When this era of history is being studied in years to come we will be a laughing stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

TheFOB wrote: »
    Anglo's loans to Sean Quinn were in clear breach of Sec 60 of the Company's Act, you can't lend money for the purpose of share support of your company. The loans should be made void as they were illegal, but unfortunately the taxpayer will foot the entire bill.

Everyone knows that, that is why the rats are leaving the ship, going out of the reach of the law. Everyone is going to have to come to the realization that this country is the most corrupt country in the world. When we come to that conclusion then we can make a new start. That senario is a long way away for the clowns in this country. Maybe tomarow will be sunny, who knows.

TheFOB wrote: »
    Anglo's loans to Sean Quinn were in clear breach of Sec 60 of the Company's Act, you can't lend money for the purpose of share support of your company. The loans should be made void as they were illegal, but unfortunately the taxpayer will foot the entire bill.

3 groups have had access to these tapes for a long period of time, the Garda investigation team, the Director of Company Enforcement through Companies House looking at Company Law irregularities, and the Quinn legal team, or rather, teams.

I'd be amazed if anything that favoured the Quinns wasn't brought into the legal cases at this stage. I could be missing something, and maybe the court ruled otherwise at some stage, so they couldn't bring up tapes.

For me, the tapes have been available for 4 years to 3 different groups. This looks like a Garda leak, the Guards are coming near the end of their investigation, they've questioned the parties on the tapes, there is no further advantage to be gained from them, and a whistle blower being aware of that, has leaked them.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Sad idiotic comment.

K-9 wrote: »
    3 groups have had access to these tapes for a long period of time, the Garda investigation team, the Director of Company Enforcement through Companies House looking at Company Law irregularities, and the Quinn legal team, or rather, teams.

I'd be amazed if anything that favoured the Quinns wasn't brought into the legal cases at this stage. I could be missing something, and maybe the court ruled otherwise at some stage, so they couldn't bring up tapes.

For me, the tapes have been available for 4 years to 3 different groups. This looks like a Garda leak, the Guards are coming near the end of their investigation, they've questioned the parties on the tapes, there is no further advantage to be gained from them, and a whistle blower being aware of that, has leaked them.

Can you be sure the Quinns had access to the tapes, IMO they did not, the Quinns can now claim they were dealing with gangsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭kuro2k

I have to say I'm surprised with the lack of discussion in other sections of boards eg: Legal Discussions

I thought people would be all over this controversy with 300,000+ unemployed and 90,000 + families in mortgage arrears

I'm shocked this story will be forgotten in a week..... we should be ashamed of ourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

the banks were only doing their jobs which was to make profit for the shareholders.we need to stop whinging and blaming the banks.we all bought into the celtic tiger bs,got the lavish morgatges cars holidays ect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

kuro2k wrote: »
    I have to say I'm surprised with the lack of discussion in other sections of boards eg: Legal Discussions

I thought people would be all over this controversy with 300,000+ unemployed and 90,000 + families in mortgage arrears

I'm shocked this story will be forgotten in a week..... we should be ashamed of ourselves

Why? We've learned very little new information from these tapes. The government have told us all along that they didn't know the full extent of the potential losses at the time of the guarantee.

What we do have now is an almost certainty that no Anglo executive will be convicted in Ireland. It would have been hard enough for them to get a fair trial before this, now it will be impossible.

Well done Indo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Ryan Tubridy was calling it "our Watergate". FFS, trying to romanticise it is gimpy.
    the banks were only doing their jobs which was to make profit for the shareholders.we need to stop whinging and blaming the banks.we all bought into the celtic tiger bs,got the lavish morgatges cars holidays ect
    Speak for yourself instead of your "we all" bullsh1t.
    Any other country in the world and mobs of people would be burning these ****ing scum alive in their mansions, when will the Irish grow some ****ing balls and revolt against this bull****
    You're included in "the Irish" whom you refer to - i.e. you're no different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Stop spinning this sh1t onto our backs. We didn't all buy into it. Many people didn't.

Where did people outside of this country's golden circle and elite party with anglo?

Can you be sure the Quinns had access to the tapes, IMO they did not, the Quinns can now claim they were dealing with gangsters.

As part of legal discovery, a good chance. If they didn't, I'd say they'll be all over these tapes.

Not much convinced me in the Quinn case. I'd love to hear tapes about Quinn, Anglo and the Contracts for Difference. Somebody as small as me knew Anglo was a dodgy investment before Quinn invested in the CFD's.

My speculative guess is if any tapes existed between the Quinn Group and Anglo, it poorly reflects on both sides. Not in tune at all with the poor, beleaguered Quinn narrative, so while Anglo would have come out poorly out of any tapes, they're bankers after all, the Quinns would have looked hypocritical.

Ryan Tubridy was calling it "our Watergate". FFS, trying to romanticise it is gimpy.

Speak for yourself instead of your "we all" bullsh1t.

well no one held guns to their heads,they all bought into thehype and now they have to pay the piper sorry,but thats my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Nuremberg_defense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

My family never had a car or holiday throughout the whole boom. I hate that feckin argument!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Keyzer wrote: »
    No offence to any Germans but I couldn't resist:

This is so good I had to get it to the front in case anyone had missed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

well no one held guns to their heads,they all bought into thehype and now they have to pay the piper sorry,but thats my opinion
    Well at least you've changed it from "we all" to "they all". Progress.

i didnt myself and its prob one of the only smart thing ive ever done

My family never had a car or holiday throughout the whole boom. I hate that feckin argument!

There are so many more people and families just like your one. Surprising because they are no debts to attend to and we've lived simply we'd be doing ok. Not boasting and teasing here but there are little demands on our low incomes but due to inflation we see whatever comes in, disappear just as quick.

This isn't stopping me caring though. I mean like, caring for our country and our future.

mikom wrote: »

everyone was happy to take the easy money,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

There are so many more people and families just like your one. Surprising because they are no debts to attend to and we've lived simply we'd be doing ok. Not boasting and teasing here but there are little demands on our low incomes but due to inflation we see whatever comes in, disappear just as quick.

This isn't stopping me caring though. I mean like, caring for our country and our future.

Oh I care about what happened a lot but I just don't like when people try and blame me for stuff that I didn't do :p

Anyway, even if someone did get loans and mortgages, it's only because they were allowed and didn't realise that this would happen. The banks are the ones who should make sure that the loans and mortgages that they hand out are sustainable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

No. We all most certainly did not.
    Some speculators went mad - and the biggest of them were bailed by NAMA.
    Some people got greedy, and "invested" in buy-to-let properties that they eventually discovered they couldn't afford.
    But most people just tried to buy a home, at grossly inflated prices.
    Others didn't buy into the marketing at all.
    So, less of the "We all" thanks! That particular nonsense argument just doesn't wash, anymore!
    As part of legal discovery, a good chance. If they didn't, I'd say they'll be all over these tapes.

Not much convinced me in the Quinn case. I'd love to hear tapes about Quinn, Anglo and the Contracts for Difference. Somebody as small as me knew Anglo was a dodgy investment before Quinn invested in the CFD's.

My speculative guess is if any tapes existed between the Quinn Group and Anglo, it poorly reflects on both sides. Not in tune at all with the poor, beleaguered Quinn narrative, so while Anglo would have come out poorly out of any tapes, they're bankers after all, the Quinns would have looked hypocritical.

I think I read an excerpt from one of todays papers - showing that the Quinns did have discovery orders.

I'm not inclined to agree with your guess about any possible tapes reflecting badly on Sean Quinn, though.
    I've said before that Sean Quinn was like a minnow in a shark-infested pool when dealing with the likes of Drumm and Co.
    The tapes that I've listened to only reinforce that opinion, in all honesty.
    Time might tell! We'll just have to wait and see.

If you're not in the elite, it probably doesn't matter very much how one lived their lives, we're all paying for it, in different ways, eg:

- increased taxes
    - lower welfare rates (wait for this one to pop and it will be coming soon)
    - reduced incomes, more outgoings like water rates, property taxes, carbon taxes on fuel, vat,
    - less and reduced surfaces
    - emirgration
    - broken families due to emirgration
    - parents aging alone
    - suicide with the extra stresses that a recession brings
    - anxiety, fear, worry
    more health problems
    -businesses going under
    -high unemployment

If you're not in the elite, it probably doesn't matter very much how one lived their lives, we're all paying for it, in different ways, eg:

- increased taxes
    - reduced incomes, more outgoings like water rates, property taxes, carbon taxes on fuel, vat,
    - emirgration
    - parents aging alone
    - anxiety, fear, worry
    more health problems
    -businesses going under
    -high unemployment
    sure we have the gathering,and enda and noonan doin trijan worn work in europe for us

- increased taxes
    - emirgration
    - parents aging alone
    - anxiety, fear, worry
    more health problems
    -businesses going under
    -high unemployment

Unfortunately very true.... the suicides and the mass emigrations will undoubtedly have a massive impact on many families, as will the rest.

Noreen1 wrote: »
    I think I read an excerpt from one of todays papers - showing that the Quinns did have discovery orders.

Which begs the question?
    I'm not inclined to agree with your guess about any possible tapes reflecting badly on Sean Quinn, though.
    I've said before that Sean Quinn was like a minnow in a shark-infested pool when dealing with the likes of Drumm and Co.
    The tapes that I've listened to only reinforce that opinion, in all honesty.
    Time might tell! We'll just have to wait and see.

This was the Sean Quinn that as per the Sunday Tribune interview with a big Wall Street analyst, said Quinn was the biggest worldwide loss in CFD's in one single transaction, in the world, ever?

It amazes me people don't grasp what Quinn did. If you are shocked at Anglo, you should be stupified at Quinn, it's beyond comprehension, Anglo was just jumped up ignorant bankers trying to bluff their way out of trouble with male bravado.

In short, Quinn lost more than Warren Buffet in one single transaction. Buffet made a fortune over time. Quinn put Billions into something he had no clue about, the Celtic Tiger Bluffer story to a tee.

gordy gecko is alive and well

I see Shatter has said how annoyed he is re the tapes. He said: I found out about the tapes, shimmering in their plasticity, suggestively inviting me to listen to them.

I licked my lips, a shiver of expectation ran down my spine..... my manhood stirred.

And then, the voice on the tape started...... suggestively the voice said..... give it to me..... I want it now...... I need it....... empty yourself into me.

Drummer never sounded as sexy as he did now as he demanded the mullah.

Oh Fcuk..... oh God...... oh my God...... it's coming he said...... the money's coming.

Aaaaah...... suddenly the mullah flowed...... it seemed as if it would never stop..... soon the last drop was expelled....... the Germans had spent.

Drummer's body relaxed as he reached across for a massive Cuban cigar ....... he lit it and took a draw which seemed like an eternity.

His body relaxed he started to sing what sounded like a German ditty.....

He was pleased with himself.... this was one of the best fcuks he had ever experienced.

Which begs the question?

This was the Sean Quinn that as per the Sunday Tribune interview with a big Wall Street analyst, said Quinn was the biggest worldwide loss in CFD's in one single transaction, in the world, ever?

It amazes me people don't grasp what Quinn did. If you are shocked at Anglo, you should be stupified at Quinn, it's beyond comprehension, Anglo was just jumped up ignorant bankers trying to bluff their way out of trouble with male bravado.

In short, Quinn lost more than Warren Buffet in one single transaction. Buffet made a fortune over time. Quinn put Billions into something he had no clue about, the Celtic Tiger Bluffer story to a tee.

But his cement was lovely............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭worded

I find it difficult to read this thread it's so depressing and I have to unsubscribe

Carry on without me pls.