Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Episode 2 of Sahrani, we kidnap a dude called Brad & Max enjoys his company :)

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

So took the advice and go onto TS. Straight away, got chatting with a few lads. Instead of playing DayZ, we decided to go for some Wastelands. More a less DayZ without the zombies. Had a great time! Spent easily three hours first sitting. Decided I wanted more and teamed up with a few Dutch guys and another Irish chap. Spend ages playing. (Just after finishing) Best gaming session I've had in years! So much fun! Cheers for the advice lads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

Were you on Sweclockers? Did we take and defend the Solinchy Factory?

CrinkElite wrote: »
    Were you on Sweclockers? Did we take and defend the Solinchy Factory?

Yeah! I'm assuming you either attacked us, or you're Joe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

Mister Man wrote: »
    Yeah! I'm assuming you either attacked us, or you're Joe?

I'm joe (not my real name). That was some laugh alright. You're TacticalJesus?

CrinkElite wrote: »
    I'm joe (not my real name). That was some laugh alright. You're TacticalJesus?

Nope, I'm Fiddy. I was playing with TacticalJesus again today actually! Same server

Back playing some DayZ after a year away from it and have to say its alot better then when I last played. Was playing some Breaking Point over the weekend and it was quite good. Lots of action.

One of the highlights over the weekend, have a few videos as well of myself & 2 others against a clan of 5/6 people up at the NEAF which we managed to win and get a few nice prizes :P. Will post them up when I get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

So finally installed this mod (after downloading arma 2 etc). Heard so many good things but my 2 hour experience is:

Walk through forest, walk through forest, see a house, can't enter it, walk through forest, walk through forest walk through forest see a village, spend ages creeping around avoiding zombies, realise I can't enter ANY of the houses, walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest see another village again can't enter any of the houses.. walk through forestwalk through forest...

Oh yeah, see human... get shot in the face.....

I WANT to like this but I'm struggling.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Everyone starts in the same boat.
    You just need a little hint.

When you spawn the game tells you where you are. At the bottom right of the screen some text appears, pay attention to it.

Check a Map to find where you are. And use is to find where you should go. Find a weapon, check barns for shotguns, rifles or hatchets and industrial (workshops and warehouses).
    Without a weapon you are zombie meat.

ProTip: Zombies can't run indoors so if you have attracted a hords, run inside. Make damned sure you have a way out though. ;)

If you need any more help you can join the GaelLords teamspeak and we will probably be playing ArmA 3, but will freely offer advice.

Sahrani Episode 3, two encounters we had. One at the South airfield & one over the hills of corazol. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Is the breaking point launcher really bad? I'm downloading breaking point now at about 88kb/s! When I download stuff through steam or anything else its around 15 times faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

MadYaker wrote: »
    Is the breaking point launcher really bad? I'm downloading breaking point now at about 88kb/s! When I download stuff through steam or anything else its around 15 times faster.

It can be a bit buggy at times, but stick with it, it'll work in the end :D

So finally installed this mod (after downloading arma 2 etc). Heard so many good things but my 2 hour experience is:

Walk through forest, walk through forest, see a house, can't enter it, walk through forest, walk through forest walk through forest see a village, spend ages creeping around avoiding zombies, realise I can't enter ANY of the houses, walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest walk through forest see another village again can't enter any of the houses.. walk through forestwalk through forest...

Oh yeah, see human... get shot in the face.....

I WANT to like this but I'm struggling.....

I started out the same myself! Found it tough going. Got into it more and more, but I have to say, Wasteland's is a more enjoyable game mood. Worth giving it a go. All the action, less of the waiting

Been playing breaking point for the last few hours, it seems good, I don't recognise any of the guns though.

For the lols :P

I'm enjoying breaking point but it has a lot of problems. I keep getting kicked for no reason and sometimes the launcher won't show any servers, why don't they just use Dayz Commander? At least that works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

MadYaker wrote: »
    I'm enjoying breaking point but it has a lot of problems. I keep getting kicked for no reason and sometimes the launcher won't show any servers, why don't they just use Dayz Commander? At least that works.

I think it's because Breaking Point isn't finished yet. That's what I heard anyway I might be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

I only use the launcher to download the game, then I launch with ArmA 2 Launcher and use the ingame browser.

simon360 wrote: »
    I think it's because Breaking Point isn't finished yet. That's what I heard anyway I might be wrong.

It's because the guys that made breaking point sold the rights to HFB Servers. So they made their own proprietary launcher. They "say" that the reason the mod is not public is because its not finished yet, but sure no other mod for DayZ including the main game is finished yet.

The guys that made both Breaking Point & Origins are making money from deals with server companies. I don't know how they are actually managing to do that seeing as its Bohemia's game and all & it goes completely against the Arma modding community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Another late DayZ adopter here. Have the Gaz parked up for the night ready to hit futher in tommorow. :)

Don't be surprised if its gone tomorrow. Alot of servers have peeps with a chopper or two that just sweep the map looking for cars etc. Unfortunately they stick out like sore tum's :p

Anyways, part 1 of the showdown we faced up at the NEAF. 3 parts to it with loads of action in part 2 and 3. Hope ye enjoy. Was on Breaking point for anyone who is wondering.

Part 2 of NEAF battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

such a place to finish the video MakaDonVeli! pt3?

I dont think there was lag either, you were a brutal shot on that first guy! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

Been playing a lot of Panthera recently. One of the better maps I think. Playing on a 50 man server that's full of people camping the airfield military spawns is good craic. If you only have 1-2 hours to play and want to go for a quick kill streak its deadly! I got well geared but got killed by hospital glitchers rolling in and out of the hospital glitch. one second the hospital roof is clear, my friend is watching other ladder, I look behind me and look back and his gun and half his body are sticking out of it about to kill me. Kind of ironic that one of them was called "Elite", He and his friend were banned and the admin treated us to his and his friends loot :D

EDIT: The PBXs on the servers also have M240's that shoot out of your eyes :pac:

platinums wrote: »
    such a place to finish the video MakaDonVeli! pt3?

I dont think there was lag either, you were a brutal shot on that first guy! lol

Will have it up tomorrow :)

I agree on that shot in the video, wasn't lag but felt like it, all though the server was quite laggy at the time, next video will prove it :)

3rd and final part of the NEAF squad vs squad gameplay.

Enjoy :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Standalone game news: Devs are taking applications for the in-game community radio.

Anyone interested in doing a zombie chat show? :P

Standalone game news: Devs are taking applications for the in-game community radio.

Anyone interested in doing a zombie chat show? :P

Sounds like fun :P

Some chopper antics for anyone that cares :pac:

Came across a team who were recycling loot on the aircraft carrier on Breaking Point. Dunno how we took control :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

I played DayZ... sometime last year around the summer, I think. Gave it up because all the stories I heard about impromptu cooperation and whatnot were obviously in some fantastical, utopian past which I evidently missed.

Is it still a glorified deathmatch with some zombies for effect?