Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Complaint against the Beeb upheld

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/4279-statement-on-bbc

THE EDITORIAL Standards Committee today upheld a complaint from Rangers fans that the BBC had failed to demonstrate enough ‘clarity and precision’ when reporting on Rangers Football Club.

The Committee concluded the BBC ‘had not used clear, precise language and due accuracy had not been achieved.’ It was also agreed that on balance and taking into account the sensitivities, where the purpose of the item of output is to discuss football and the club, then it was not appropriate to make a distinction between an ‘old’, ‘new’ or ‘re-launched club.’
    Rangers Football Club are pleased that the Editorial Standards Committee findings prove the BBC should have been more aware and balanced in their reporting of Rangers. We wait to discover if the BBC will now treat this club and fans with the respect they deserve.
    You can read the findings of the Committee HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Complaint against the Beeb upheld

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/4279-statement-on-bbc

THE EDITORIAL Standards Committee today upheld a complaint from Rangers fans that the BBC had failed to demonstrate enough ‘clarity and precision’ when reporting on Rangers Football Club.

The Committee concluded the BBC ‘had not used clear, precise language and due accuracy had not been achieved.’ It was also agreed that on balance and taking into account the sensitivities, where the purpose of the item of output is to discuss football and the club, then it was not appropriate to make a distinction between an ‘old’, ‘new’ or ‘re-launched club.’
    Rangers Football Club are pleased that the Editorial Standards Committee findings prove the BBC should have been more aware and balanced in their reporting of Rangers. We wait to discover if the BBC will now treat this club and fans with the respect they deserve.
    You can read the findings of the Committee HERE

Given the nitpicking that goes on in those reports, e.g. the complaint over the use of Skype instead of 'internet call' in another report, surely the BBC will complain that Rangers have misrepresented the actual findings of the report. The irony of a complaint about 'clarity and precision'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Dempsey wrote: »
    Given the nitpicking that goes on in those reports, e.g. the complaint over the use of Skype instead of 'internet call' in another report, surely the BBC will complain that Rangers have misrepresented the actual findings of the report. The irony of a complaint about 'clarity and precision'!

Try it:

'Rangers were right.'

Go on, give it a go...

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Try it:

'Rangers were right.'

Go on, give it a go...

Try reading the judgement :rolleyes:

League fixtures out

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/4281-fixtures-announced

Brechin at home on August 10th opens up stage two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...bbc.1371631860

Spiers on Sport: Rangers, new club or old, and the BBC
    BBC Scotland is just the latest to feel the hot wrath of some angry Rangers fans railing at its editorial stance.
    In fact, those Rangers fans have scored a notable victory in having a complaint to the Editorial Standards Committee about BBC Scotland upheld.
    At least two supporters objected to the BBC in Glasgow occasionally referring to Rangers in terms of "old club" and "new club", and their complaint was upheld.
    What was thrown out was the daft accusation, frequently cited among some Rangers cyber zealots, that the BBC was biased against the club.
    My point here is not to defend BBC Scotland. In this complex Rangers saga, it has become obvious to me, speaking to various insolvency practitioners, that "new club" or "same club" Rangers is a highly subjective issue. I've heard the entire gamut of interpretations on it.
    Where Rangers struggle to be angry or insulted by the suggestion that their organisation is a "new club" is in this context: at least four Rangers principals, men who have been lauded by supporters, have expressed just such a view of Rangers as a new club.
    First, Charles Green. Prior to Rangers' descent into liquidation last year, Green was aghast at the attitude of Dave King, a long-standing Rangers director, who had urged that a CVA be voted down by the club's 276 creditors.
    Incredulous at this, Green went on television and said: "What he [King] is suggesting is that, rather than get a CVA through that retains all the history and tradition, that instead we should vote against it and go down the newco route. I mean…why would a true Rangers fan suggest that?"
    In this, the view of Green, the man to whom many Rangers fans swooned, appears none too different to that of BBC Scotland and others.
    Arguably, no Rangers figure in this debate finds himself in a more excruciating position than James Traynor, the club's Director of Communication.
    Time and space here doesn't allow for the sheer number of times that Traynor, in his previous role as a journalist, emphatically pronounced Rangers to be a new club once liquidation became a reality. Yet he has the temerity now to argue the complete opposite.
    Of the numerous times Traynor weighed in on this subject, just two quotes here will have to suffice.
    With liquidation looming, Traynor wrote in the Daily Record: "Some Rangers fans believe the club's history, which would end with liquidation, must be protected. But any newco should make it clear that a new beginning means exactly that: a new club open to all from the very beginning."
    Later on, with the Rangers CVA being rejected, Traynor wrote: "Rangers FC as we know them are dead." Caustically, he added: "No matter how Charles Green attempts to dress it up, a newco equals a new club. When the CVA was thrown out, Rangers as we know them died."
    Reading this type of stuff, I would urge Rangers to exercise supreme caution in railing against anyone who dares to call their club a new club; none other than their own Director of Communication has made his view perfectly clear on the subject.
    Many a Rangers fan expressed the view that the club died with the descent into liquidation. Typical of this was Ibrox debenture holder Stewart Boal who, having stumbled out of the CVA meeting of June 2012, was quoted by Richard Wilson in The Herald as saying: "We're in shock. The club is gone. We've got to start again and move on."
    Wilson, a fine reporter, himself wrote of that nine-minute creditors' meeting where the CVA was rejected: "In those few minutes 140 years of history had been rubbed out."
    I could go on and on here. Richard Gough, one of Rangers' greatest ever captains, wrote in a newspaper column: "The club I gave blood, sweat and tears for is dead."
    Walter Smith, one of the greatest figures in Rangers' history, and now the club's chairman, said of Green's consortium taking over: "I wish the new Rangers Football Club every good fortune."
    This is a painful subject. Many Rangers fans are agonised at the thought of their club being new - they simply rule it out. "It's the company, not the club," became the mantra. Other Rangers observers - like me - find it hard to escape the view that the current club is a new club.
    Rangers FC itself should think twice about laying into BBC Scotland or anyone else over this old club/new club debate. The more so when its own oral history on the subject is so weak.

Mr Spiers is of course entitled to his opinion. I would rather go with the authorities such as the SFA and SPL oh and theSFL plus the ECA and UEFA who seem happy enough to confirm we are the same club.
    But we have been through this before I merely put up the BEEB thing to show that they once again have been found wanting in there reporting. This plus the McCoist incident and a journalist found to have a file called Kevin C*** Thomson.jpg shows the amount of outright bad journalism

Mr Spiers is of course entitled to his opinion. I would rather go with the authorities such as the SFA and SPL oh and theSFL plus the ECA and UEFA who seem happy enough to confirm we are the same club.
    But we have been through this before I merely put up the BEEB thing to show that they once again have been found wanting in there reporting. This plus the McCoist incident and a journalist found to have a file called Kevin C*** Thomson.jpg shows the amount of outright bad journalism

The Airdrieonians saga shows the integrity of the football authorities in Scotland, similar to the same guff ye were spouting last summer. The precedents set by those in charges set has Hearts turning down money to drive into administration to cut a similar shady deal to Rangers. Pars will be shortly after them. Do you really want to get into a debate about the ethics & integrity of UEFA?? Yet, ye are gushing over rulings by entities like the EDITORIAL Standards Committee for some reason, a committee that has to deal with things like where 'Skype' or 'internet call' is the appropriate term to use. The smell of desperation to operate under delusion is unreal.

Gushing nah I have my opinion just like everyone else you may not like it but them I don't really give two ****s.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...bbc.1371631860

Spiers on Sport: Rangers, new club or old, and the BBC

Ah, good old Spiersie, the man who claims to be a Rangers fan but gets even the most basic of Rangers facts wrong.

Maybe you can throw in a George Galloway article for good measure :p

Ah, good old Spiersie, the man who claims to be a Rangers fan but gets even the most basic of Rangers facts wrong.

What did he get wrong in that article?

I'm talking about previous articles he wrote, he has a history of getting the most basic of things wrong.

This one is just a joke from start to finish.
    So because some 'notable' people once said that a newco would mean a new club it's fact ?
    Many a Rangers fan expressed the view that the club died with the descent into liquidation.

This part alone shows that Spiers hasn't got a clue what he's talking about.

But at least it's clear now that he's grasping at straws, if any proof was further needed.

At least it's back to normal in this thread, with the usual suspect (note, not plural) coming out with the same old. :pac:
    I was afraid we'd have to wait for the actual season to kick off.

This part alone shows that Spiers hasn't got a clue what he's talking about.

But at least it's clear now that he's grasping at straws, if any proof was further needed.

At least it's back to normal in this thread, with the usual suspect (note, not plural) coming out with the same old. :pac:

Explain that one. He's in a better position to gather feedback from fans than you are and has quoted people that had invested in the club when stating his points.

I didnt post the Spiers article so stop your usual nonsense when it comes to debating on a forum.

Explain that one. He's in a better position to gather feedback from fans than you are and has quoted people that had invested in the club when stating his points.

I didnt post the Spiers article so stop your usual nonsense when it comes to debating on a forum.

In a better position ?

He hardly shows up at Rangers matches and if he does he doesn't talk to anyone since nobody likes him (not even his fellow journalists).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

What about Jim Traynor? What do Rangers fans think of the fact that he described Rangers as dead and now a new/different club when he was a journo, but now that he's working for Rangers he's saying different.

In a better position ?

He hardly shows up at Rangers matches and if he does he doesn't talk to anyone since nobody likes him (not even his fellow journalists).

Still in a far better position than you to comment on what fans are saying!
    Lennonist wrote: »
    What about Jim Traynor? What do Rangers fans think of the fact that he described Rangers as dead and now a new/different club when he was a journo, but now that he's working for Rangers he's saying different.

You should know by now that things like that are irrelevant to them.

Still in a far better position than you to comment on what fans are saying!

How so ?
    I talk to far more Rangers fans than he does.
    Hell, I've probably been to more games than he has, despite living abroad.
    You should know by now that things like that are irrelevant to them.

Who cares what Traynor says, or Green, or whoever.
    The facts are out there.

How so ?
    I talk to far more Rangers fans than he does.

LOL, how do you make that one out now?

I've already said it, but obviously you only read what you want to:

Nobody likes him, if he by any chance shows his face at Ibrox (when he's not writing match reports from home) he's ridiculed or plain ignored by all fans.
    So yes, I highly doubt he knows what lives amongst the fans.

Now, you won't believe that since he says the things you want to read but dem's the facts.

I've already said it, but obviously you only read what you want to:

Nobody likes him, if he by any chance shows his face at Ibrox he's ridiculed or plain ignored by all fans.

Now, you won't believe that since he says the things you want to read but dem's the facts.

He doesnt have to go to ibrox to talk to fans. Check his twitter feed, he's talking to football fans/taking abuse every day of the week.

I dont have much time for Spiers or any Scottish Journalist for that matter but I'll assess any article from them on its merits and judge for myself. You want to ignore Spiers current article and the facts in that based on articles he wrote years ago which is abit stupid tbh.

Lennonist wrote: »

Think you will find most Bears don't really care what Traynor writes most if us didn't like his style of writing or him before he was employed and to be homes why should him working for the club change that.
    Tell me is impossible for you lot to come in here and talk about football related things that have been posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Tell me is impossible for you lot to come in here and talk about football related things that have been posted

It was you who posted the article on the BBC ffs, and it is football related jaysus should this whole forum be shut down untill August??

You know when the bears are wrong and on the defensive when they start the old ''you lot'' coming in here tripe.

Newco, oldco, sevco whatever some things never change!

It was you who posted the article on the BBC ffs, and it is football related jaysus should this whole forum be shut down untill August??

You know when the bears are wrong and on the defensive when they start the old ''you lot'' coming in here tripe.

Newco, oldco, sevco whatever some things never change!
    If you read back you will see my explanation for posting the beeb ruling. It was to point out once again the fact the the standard of journalist working in Scotland is tripe we have had numerous cases now from them tampering with video to this latest.
    Tell me this then there are a few actual football related articles posted but not one post from a tic fan on them but as soon as the been one was they were in like flies round ****e. So on the defensive far from it if nothing else it has proved a point that all certain posters want to do is bring up the same old crap.
    In fact the beeb thing wasn't even about that for me it was about as. I said before the atrocious journalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

nice to see the rangers thread is still a squabbling mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

If you read back you will see my explanation for posting the beeb ruling. It was to point out once again the fact the the standard of journalist working in Scotland is tripe we have had numerous cases now from them tampering with video to this latest.
    Tell me this then there are a few actual football related articles posted but not one post from a tic fan on them but as soon as the been one was they were in like flies round ****e. So on the defensive far from it if nothing else it has proved a point that all certain posters want to do is bring up the same old crap.
    In fact the beeb thing wasn't even about that for me it was about as. I said before the atrocious journalism

Lolz now people can't talk about the article you posted unless they agree with you.

bobmalooka wrote: »
    Lolz now people can't talk about the article you posted unless they agree with you.

Missing the point totally I never posted anything about them being this or that for calling us by the wrong names. I posted about the fact it is just another example of BBC Scotland and terrible journalism as you would see if you had read the rest of my posts.
    But hey just jump in with to feet and make it something its not very good

BBE how can you with a straight face claim that this case is an example of poor journalism when your club can't even make their mind up themselves what they are called?

Do you really believe that BBC Scotland did this intentionally?

BBE how can you with a straight face claim that this case is an example of poor journalism when your club can't even make their mind up themselves what they are called?

Do you really believe that BBC Scotland did this intentionally?

Well there past record of mistakes when reporting on Rangers(Thats what the football club is called there is no confusion) is there for all to see they have had to apologise for one of there journalists tampering with a video also for another one having a file titled Kevin C*** Thomson.jpg really professional.

I'm not sure how the behaviour of other/previous employees is in any way relevant to this case?

Anyway we are obviously not going to agree on this so I'll just leave it there, I actually like and respect you as one of the better and more objective posters here and theres enough sniping and shi*e that goes on here without us getting involved.

I'm not sure how the behaviour of other/previous employees is in any way relevant to this case?

Anyway we are obviously not going to agree on this so I'll just leave it there, I actually like and respect you as one of the better and more objective posters here and theres enough sniping and shi*e that goes on here without us getting involved.

Agreed I certainly don't want to be falling out with one of the few tic fans I have respect for