Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Nope but we haven't signed an Inuit from Alaska either.
    This is really typical of you a half decent conversation going on and a balloon like you comes along and makes an ass of it.

Don't worry about it plenty of time for ye, sure ye haven't been around for that long;):pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Cammy Bell has signed it seems :)
    CAMMY BELL has lifted the lid on his dream move to Rangers — now he wants to help turn them back into Scotland’s major force.
    The Kilmarnock keeper waved goodbye to the fans and team-mates following the 3-1 defeat by St Mirren.
    He opened his heart to SunSport to confirm the worst-kept secret in football. He will be registered with the Ibrox side when their transfer is lifted on September 1 after penning a pre-contract.
    Between now and then the boyhood Gers fan can play three Second Division games and one Ramsdens Cup clash as a trialist.
    He said: “The move’s been a long time coming. There’s been speculation for a number of years about th.e chance to go to Rangers.
    “I’m delighted to say I’ve signed and to finally put it to bed.
    “I just want to do my best for the club.
    “Hopefully we can all be successful together.
    “Once we’re up there it’ll be time to show we’re the best team in Scotland again. Some people have said playing in the Second Division is a step backwards. I don’t agree.
    “I’ve always said it’s a massive club and if Rangers offer you a contract you’d be silly to say No because they’re only going in one direction — and that’s up to the top again.”

HIS hero will forever be known as The Goalie.
    Now Cammy Bell is desperate to follow in Andy Goram’s studmarks and become a great Rangers gloveman.
    Kilmarnock No1 Bell today confirms SunSport’s exclusive he’ll sign for Ally McCoist on September 1.
    It’s a dream move for Bell who supported Gers as a kid growing up in Annan.
    Back then, he’d collect the Ibrox side’s outfield tops while switching to a defensive midfielder role for his school. But playing in goal would always be where he’d end up — after being inspired by legendary Gers keeper and SunSport columnist Goram.
    Bell, 26, would love to pen his name into club folklore in the same way as his idol.
    He knows he’s got big gloves to fill but insists he wouldn’t have made the move if he didn’t believe he could handle it.
    Speaking for the first time about his stunning switch, Bell said: “Rangers is a club that’s close to my heart. I supported them as a kid.
    “I stepped back from that because I loved playing for Kilmarnock.
    “But I’d always get Rangers outfield tops when I was younger.
    “I’d make sure my folks got me the latest one so I had quite a few. I remember the purple one, I’ve still got it somewhere in the loft.
    “Stuff like that stays with you and it’s an honour to be signing for a club like Rangers now.
    I don’t know why I started following Rangers. My dad supports Annan. But he took me to a couple of games.
    “I must have been about ten and I remember Andy Goram. He was the best goalie at the time.
    “Back then I was playing in and out of goals. I’d got into goal- keeping seriously but I still liked to play as defensive midfielder who liked a meaty challenge!
    “I paid more attention to Andy. I’ll never forget his skin-coloured knee pads! I saw him make some great saves and he inspired me. I’d love to be able to do what he did.
    “I’ve not had the pleasure to meet him but he’ll forever be someone I look up to.
    “If I can get anywhere near to what he did then I’ll be doing well.
    “I read his SunSport column recently where he said I get people off their seats. He used to do that all the time. Making good saves is as good as scoring a goal.”
    Bell’s height and lightning reactions have had some claiming he’s in the same mould as Goram.
    He said: “Everyone has good and bad points. Shot-stopping and reactions are probably my good points.
    “I know where people are coming from when they say we’re a similar height. I want to be as good as Andy and Allan McGregor too. I want to become a name that’s remembered at Rangers.
    “I know it’s going to be difficult but I’m going to work hard. I have a lot to prove to a lot of people.
    “But the first step is getting that chance. I read Andy talking about how being a Rangers goalie is different to being a goalie at another SPL club. You have less saves to make but you have to make them.
    “I totally agree. I think I’m quite a good person in my own head and I know you need to stay switched on. I believe I can do that. I wouldn’t have signed for Rangers if I didn’t.
    “I know I’ve got a long way to go to become a good goalie and a great goalie. But the aim is to become a great goalie and to be remembered as one.
    “It would be brilliant to have that when I look back on my career.”
    Gers’ transfer embargo means Bell must wait to be registered but he can play three SFL games as a trailist and one Ramsdens Cup match before September 1.
    He was the first player McCoist confirmed as a signing for next term and Bell insists it was easy to swap the SPL for Division Two.
    Bell said: “It’s still Rangers Football Club. It’s a massive club, one of the biggest in Europe.
    “They’ve got the same support, the same stadium, great training facilities. A lot of things have gone on in the last 18 months but it’s still the same club, the same people in terms of the management.
    “When the manager told my agent he wanted to sign me I knew it was the right decision to go.
    “I’ve been at Kilmarnock since I was 16 and they’ve been great to me. I love the club and the fans.
    “But the chance to join a club of the stature of Rangers was impossible to turn down.
    “It’s great to have a fresh challenge, which I felt I needed to progress my career.”
    Bell has watched from afar as Gers fans packed out Ibrox to see them land the Third Division title.
    He added: “I wouldn’t say I’ve been blown away, I always knew that was going to happen.
    “I knew the fans would never turn their backs on Rangers. People have put money into the club but the fans are always there and it’s great to have that support.
    “So many of them care so passionately about the club and that’s only a good thing. Hopefully they can get behind me, I know I’ve got a lot to prove to them.
    “Hopefully the right people are in charge now. It was a choice for me to sign as a player and it wasn’t a hard decision to make.”
    “I can’t control what happens upstairs, I can only control what I do on the pitch. I just need to trust people at the club — and I do.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/leaguedivision3/4933236/Saved-by-the-Bell.html#ixzz2Tgl4G26B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Not bad average attendances for a 3rd division team.

Average 2012-13 45750
    Average 2011-12 46324
    Highest 2012-13 50048
    Lowest 2012-13 23143

Celtic's

Average 2012-13 46917
    Average 2011-12 50904
    Highest 2012-13 57000
    Lowest 2012-13 39959

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-22541130

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

GavRedKing wrote: »

Average 2012-13 45750
    Average 2011-12 46324
    Highest 2012-13 50048
    Lowest 2012-13 23143

Celtic's

Average 2012-13 46917
    Average 2011-12 50904
    Highest 2012-13 57000
    Lowest 2012-13 39959

Only 2 years ago, Scottish Football was the best supported per capita in Europe. The numbers show that nothing has really changed in that regard despite the UK nearly having a triple-dip recession & Rangers being kicked out of the SPL. Not quite the meltdown predicted by certain sections of the media & governing bodies.

Nicky Law seems to have signed, delighted with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Nicky Law seems to have signed, delighted with that.

He has on a three year deal more than happy with this

Jon Daly signs

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/4022-daly-next-in-at-gers

FORWARD Jon Daly will play for Rangers next season after agreeing a two-year contract with the club effective from September 1.

The striker, who can also play in central defence, is the third new player to commit himself to the club following Cammy Bell on Wednesday and Nicky Law earlier today.
    Daly has spent the last six and a half years playing in the SPL for Dundee United, scoring 70 goals for the Arabs in all competitions.
    Three of them have been against the Light Blues, including the second in his team’s 3-0 Scottish Cup victory at Tannadice in February.
    Now aged 30, Dublin-born Daly started his career with Stockport and had extensive experience in England’s lower leagues before he moved north of the border in 2007.
    He has also played for Bury, Grimsby and Hartlepool, grabbing 108 career goals in total so far.
    Daly found the net 15 times for United in the most recent campaign including two in the Scottish Cup semi-final meeting with Celtic and made 44 appearances in 2012/13.

Great stuff thats two good signings today IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

hope the minority of assholes treat daly well (from all sides) maybe this will break the stigma

Couldn't have put it better myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

It looks like Daly's going to put his head down and just get on with the job in hand:)

By Gordon Waddell

Jon Daly: If anyone has an issue with an Irish Catholic joining Rangers in 2013 it's their problem, not mine
    26 May 2013 07:41

THE 30-year-old striker, who signed a two-year deal with Rangers won't be able to play until the club's transfer embargo is lifted on September 1.

Jon Daly signs for Rangers
    Sammy Turner/SNS

JON DALY joined Rangers yesterday then claimed if anyone has an issue with an Irish Catholic at Ibrox in 2013, it’s their problem, not his.

The striker put pen to paper on a two-year deal with a further year’s option after six-and-a-half seasons with
    Dundee United.

The 30-year-old won’t be able to play until Gers’ transfer embargo is lifted on September 1. But he’s desperate to kick off his new career despite the perceived burden of the Dubliner having to break the mould to sign his deal in the first place.

He said: “I don’t see why it should be an issue. There may be a few people out there who think otherwise but I am just coming in here to play football and make sure I do my job.

“There is already a young lad here who is Irish, goalkeeper Alan Smith, so I don’t see it being a problem.”

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jon-daly-anyone-issue-irish-1912946

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Proper order. If anyone has a problem with him being there because of his nationality or his religion, then they are an idiot. I'm sure he'll get abuse from some clown, but hopefully the decent fans will call that out for what it is.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Proper order. If anyone has a problem with him being there because of his nationality or his religion, then they are an idiot. I'm sure he'll get abuse from some clown, but hopefully the decent fans will call that out for what it is.

Agreed and that goes for fans of other teams as well

Looks like Nicky Clark will be signing today as well. He is having his medical later and all being well will sign a three year deal.
    Hopefully after this we get a couple of defenders in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Average 2012-13 45750
    Average 2011-12 46324
    Highest 2012-13 50048
    Lowest 2012-13 23143

Celtic's

Average 2012-13 46917
    Average 2011-12 50904
    Highest 2012-13 57000
    Lowest 2012-13 39959

Celtic aren't a 3rd Division team?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

He never said they were, did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Eirebear wrote: »
    He never said they were, did he?

Not bad averages for a 3rd division team then putting in Celtics attendances. Why?

Lets talk about the fans rather than attendances then and we might get somewhere. This is from rangers media, any bond holders or season ticket holders from here been affected in this way??

I'm a bond holder and I received an email from the club telling me basically this is the last season my seat will be kept for me,I never got involved in the creditor stuff ,I never wanted a penny from the club all I wanted was a guarantee my seat that I bought and paid for was mines for life,I phoned the club this afternoon to ask them to clarify were i stood in regards me still owning my seat and to my utter disgust the plonker I was dealing with from customer services had the cheek to tell me I bought the seat from the old co and the newco wasn't honouring the deal,what the **** my own club using old co newco ****,to say I'm offended at the clubs stance is an understatement.why is the club not honouring the deal with bond holders?

Because bonds are the same as shares: Worthless since they were with the old company.

It sucks for him and I hope he will be at least compensated, this has nothing to do with season tickets though.

BDO have shown a letter a while ago saying that bond holders unfortunately lost out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I didnt say they were.

The 1st set of figures are Rangers, the next set are Celtic.

Its just a comparisson.

Finally time to drop the nonsense in this thread that Rangers or Sevco is owed prizemoney by the SPL. Confirmed by BDO that it was waivered.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/rangers-waived-right-to-prize-money.21208821

Rangers Football Club plc and Sevco Scotland agreed to waive any claims on Scottish Premier League prize money last summer in order to be granted entry into the Scottish Football League.

I'd like to see that 5 way agreement fully disclosed, there should be full transparency in how the game is being governed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Not bad averages for a 3rd division team then putting in Celtics attendances. Why?

yeah they may be good averages but do you have a strictly Muslim fan club hailing from a peaty island in the north atlantic? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

yeah they may be good averages but do you have a strictly Muslim fan club hailing from a peaty island in the north atlantic? :P

Do they carry Ray Guns? ;)

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11781/8742472/Former-Rangers-owner-Craig-Whyte-threatens-legal-action-against-club
    Former Rangers owner Craig Whyte has threatened legal action against the Ibrox club.

Shooter McGavin still isnt giving up on screwing Charles Green out of some retirement money

Dempsey wrote: »
    http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11781/8742472/Former-Rangers-owner-Craig-Whyte-threatens-legal-action-against-club

Shooter McGavin still isnt giving up on screwing Charles Green out of some retirement money

He sure isn't personally I think it's the last act of a man who is insane. The outcome will be interesting

I didnt say they were.

The 1st set of figures are Rangers, the next set are Celtic.

Its just a comparisson.
    Weren't you in this very thread going on about how many posts Celtic fans had, yet you appear in again and randomly quote Celtic attendances??? :rolleyes: indeed

You lads all looking forward to the summer of no football?? God the season is hardly finished and am missing it.

Weren't you in this very thread going on about how many posts Celtic fans had, yet you appear in again and randomly quote Celtic attendances??? :rolleyes: indeed

You lads all looking forward to the summer of no football?? God the season is hardly finished and am missing it.

Missing the football not missing the boardroom crap though it was to be expected

Will there be more boardroom crap to come do you think or is it all sorted?

Oh There is more to come I reckon some bloodletting before its finished

Stevie Smith comes home. Happy enough a good player if he can stay injury free and as we had no back up for Wallace someone was needed.

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/4278-stevies-fit-and-ready

STEVEN SMITH is ready and able to contribute to Rangers’ forthcoming Second Division campaign after agreeing a two-year deal with the club.

The full-back today became the sixth incoming player to agree terms with the Light Blues and his contract will take effect from September 1, when the club’s transfer ban ends.
    Smith arrives at Ibrox having played most recently in the MLS for Portland Timbers, whom he spent the 2012 term with and appeared for 23 times in total.
    Only seven of his team-mates in Oregon eclipsed that figure and the 27-year-old feels the run of matches allowed him to play his best football in several years.
    During his previous stint in Glasgow, Smith was troubled by a long-term pelvic problem which limited him to just 64 starts in six full seasons.
    He knows being plagued by such issues back then – he played just twice in 28 months at one point – will always be at the back of the minds of Gers supporters.
    But he has been fit again for some time now, having played 20 games on loan to Aberdeen in the second half of 2010/11 then 15 more for Preston North End the following season.
    Smith hasn’t played a game since October 27 last year, when he completed the full 90 minutes in Portland’s 1-1 draw with San Jose Earthquakes.
    He has, however, spent several months using training facilities at Murray Park since returning to Scotland soon after that fixture.
    And although he’ll have to wait another two and a half months before he can turn out competitively for Ally McCoist’s team, he’s adamant he’ll be poised when his chance comes.
    Smith told RangersTV: “My fitness is something which is always going to hang over me and it’s the first question I’ve been asked at every club since I left here.
    “It’s something I’ve learned to live with and I know it’s something people will basically keep asking about for the rest of my career.
    “But I’m comfortable with it, I’m fit and healthy and even though I can’t play straight away, I’m going to be able to get a good pre-season.
    “I’d have more of an issue with it if I was coming in and missing that or I was injured but I’m not too bothered.
    “When the time comes, I’m going to be ready to play and although it’ll have been almost a year since my last competitive game, I’m fine with that.
    “It’s something I need to deal with and if I get a good pre-season under my belt, I don’t think it will be a problem.”
    Ironically, Smith left first club Rangers in 2010 because he felt it would give him his best chance of regular first-team football.
    And although he has taken part in 65 games since his departure three years ago, he has led a somewhat nomadic existence.
    An initial move to Norwich City turned sour and that led to the loan spell at Pittodrie before transfers to Deepdale then the States.
    The longest Smith has spent in any one place is the 12 months he had in Lancashire and he hopes coming back to Ibrox can allow him to settle at last.
    He added: “It was strange for me as I was used to being here. It was a huge part of my life and then when I left, I was going somewhere new every season and uprooting my family.
    “I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t the best of times and especially at Norwich but that happens in football. Sometimes you go to new places and it doesn’t work out.
    “When that happens, the first person you have to look at is yourself and maybe I left Norwich too quickly.
    “I should have given it longer but then the spell at Aberdeen, where I played a lot of matches, and my time in America – where I played a lot too – helped me.