Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Eirebear wrote: »
    lol, i absolutely love how up in arms sellik fans get over that advert, without actually thinking about that simple fact - IT'S AN ADVERT, A COMMERCIAL.
    Nowhere does it state that it is a mathematical representation of the numbers of season ticket's sold.

Christ, i give up, im not up in arms, i just think its ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Christ, i give up, im not up in arms, i just think its ridiculous

Most advertising is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

Activity in the Rangers thread, Celtic getting pumped tonight by any chance?

TheBuilder wrote: »
    Activity in the Rangers thread, Celtic getting pumped tonight by any chance?

An understatement if ever there was one :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

I am guessing it was a young team with very few first teamers in it but I still imagine there will be a lot of unhappy Celtic fans about I know if it was us there would be many unhappy bears

Celtic: Forster; Mouyokolo, Virgil, Wilson; Lustig, Wanyama, Mulgrew, Izaguirre; Rogic; Stokes, Samaras.

Ddnt see it but the new boys including balde didnt impress anyone it seems

As someone pointed out on the HB last time we had a good pre season was under Mowbray and look how that ended

clutchingstrawscsc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23268025

Former chairman Malcolm Murray says his departure from Rangers' board will leave institutional investors nervous about the Ibrox club's future.
    "You and I want a squeaky-clean club run by men of the highest integrity and global commercial ability and the highest level of transparency," he told fans.

"The reason we went down the flotation route was to guarantee transparency, whereas ownership by mysterious individuals does not.

"Events of the last year have seen behaviour that would make the late, great Bill Struth spin in his grave.

"The loss of two men with such lengthy financial public company experience and a quality broker will undoubtedly raise questions amongst our institutional shareholders.

"Only time will tell how they will react. These investors and you are our future and you must be listened to and given transparency.

"Corporate transparency is the norm and we should embrace it rather than change course when difficult questions are asked."

Cowboys in yer boardroom

Dempsey wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23268025

Former chairman Malcolm Murray says his departure from Rangers' board will leave institutional investors nervous about the Ibrox club's future.

Cowboys in yer boardroom

Yeah because Murray was a good guy he was running to the newspapers on a daily basis. Won't be missed

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Don't worry, I'm sure the zombies could put together a lurvely bar chart that wouldn't make a 6-2 defeat seem quite so bad. :pac:

Yeah because Murray was a good guy he was running to the newspapers on a daily basis. Won't be missed

There is a saying, don't shoot the messenger, and it applies more often than not when posting in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

TheBuilder wrote: »
    don't know why I bothered logging back in here.

Funnily enough I have asked myself the same thing approximately 1183 times ;)

There is a saying, don't shoot the messenger, and it applies more often than not when posting in this thread.

Wasn't having a dig at you when I replied merely pointing out the guy is not the saviour he makes himself out to be

The messenger idiom was referring more to Murrays open letter. The perception of Murray, be it by himself, fans, board members or the media is irrelevant now as he's walked the plank. The warning about the makeup of the current board shouldnt be ignored, especially after the stunts pulled by Green.

Oh I am not ignoring the board problems I said not so long ago we had and were going to have more problems but Murray for me was a major part of the problem. It will be a good while before the problems at board level are sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Yous don't play in Europe though so no need to worry about that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

Was the team bus set on fire or just a rumour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Was the team bus set on fire or just a rumour?

no you have that wrong.. they fired their coach :P

(seriously though any links never heard that?)

no you have that wrong.. they fired their coach :P

(seriously though any links never heard that?)

Yes.It was the fire is being treated as suspicious

http://news.stv.tv/west-central/233526-firefighters-battling-major-blaze-at-north-lanarkshire-coach-yard/

First competitive game of the season today in the Challenge cup against Albion Rovers.
    Be interesting to see Ally's lineup as he can only play two trialists and those must have been registered in Scotland last season. Also it's a strange one that trialists can be played in this round of the competition but not the next.
    Ah well just glad football is back

Rangers team for today

: Gallacher; Faure, McCulloch, Cribari, Wallace; Black; Crawford, Law, Macleod; Little, Daly.
    SUBS: A Smith, Gasparotto, McAusland, Aird, Templeton.

Probably about the strongest line up we could have without the new guys only Templeton is missing

Well job done a good four nil win with a double from Law one from Black and one from Templeton. Man of the match for me and most others would be Law not just for his goals but his all round play. Daly started his Rangers career with a good game he was involved in a couple of the goals and showed he will be a threat in the season to come.

Two players on trial no harm in having a look but I don't think we need them.

RANGERS have taken two former Premiership players on trial as Ally McCoist continues looking for potential additions to his squad.

Mamady Sidibe and Hameur Bouazza joined the Light Blues squad for training this morning at Murray Park after arriving in Glasgow last night.
    Both players are represented by Gregory Dakad, the same agent who looks after new Gers defender Bilel Mohsni.
    Mali international forward Sidibe left Stoke City last season after eight seasons with the Potters, during which time he was also on loan at Sheffield Wednesday and Tranmere.
    The 33-year-old had previously played in the English lower leagues with Swansea City and Gillingham.
    Bouazza, meanwhile, is available as a free agent having most recently played in Spain with Racing Santander, where he was a team-mate of Carlos Bocanegra’s last season.
    The Algerian winger, 28, also has extensive English experience having represented seven clubs there including Fulham, Charlton, Watford and Blackpool.
    No talks have taken place as yet and McCoist is simply keen to assess the pair before he considers whether to take things any further.
    He said: “The boys are two players who Gregory looks after and they’ll be well known to people who know their English and European football.
    “They’ve just come in to have a look at our place and also for us to have a wee look at them. This is their first day as they came into the city last night.
    “They trained this morning and they were absolutely fine. They’re obviously not up to the same levels of fitness as our lads are but that’s totally understandable.
    “They haven’t done any pre-season training yet and there’s no pressure on anybody. We’ll make them feel very welcome and we’ll see what happens.
    “It would be crazy of us not to take the option to bring other people in and have a look at them after the success we’ve had with Bilel’s trial. Both players have good pedigree.”
    Despite not training training this summer and having an obvious lack of fitness as a consequence, McCoist could be tempted to field the two new trialists this midweek.
    Rangers will travel to Dundee on Wednesday night for a friendly at Dens Park and the manager refused to rule out involving them.
    He added: “I’ve not even thought about that yet and I’ve not asked either of them if they want to play. That’s maybe something we’ll look at in the next 24 hours.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

I thought Rangers were under a transfer ban 'til August 31st of this year. Take Jon Daly for example, how come he could play the other day. Was he signed on a pre contract agreement, and if so is he being played now as a trialist? Was the original ban overturned on appeal?

Lennonist wrote: »
    I thought Rangers were under a transfer ban 'til August 31st of this year. Take Jon Daly for example, how come he could play the other day. Was he signed on a pre contract agreement, and if so is he being played now as a trialist? Was the original ban overturned on appeal?

He is being played as a trialist along with Nicky Clark, Nicky Law, Bell and Daly the others can't play as trialists as they were not registered in Scotland last year. The transfer embargo is still in place and these players have been cleared by the authorities to play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

He is being played as a trialist along with Nicky Clark, Nicky Law, Bell and Daly the others can't play as trialists as they were not registered in Scotland last year. The transfer embargo is still in place and these players have been cleared by the authorities to play

So these players that you've mentioned have been signed on pre-contract agreements, but are at the club training and playing competitive games as well as pre season games as trialists, while they await their contract to start? They are being paid a wage I presume before their contract begins? Sounds like Rangers have found a way to circumvent the transfer embargo ruling. The spirit of the ruling is not being adhered to by the looks of it.

Lennonist wrote: »
    So these players that you've mentioned have been signed on pre-contract agreements, but are at the club training and playing competitive games as well as pre season games as trialists, while they await their contract to start? They are being paid a wage I presume before their contract begins? Sounds like Rangers have found a way to circumvent the transfer embargo ruling. The spirit of the ruling is not being adhered to by the looks of it.

Sorry it was an illegal ban in the first place. The club accepted it and cleared these players with the relevant authorities so really get over this idea the spirit of the ruling is not being adhered to the ruling should not have been in place in the first place

The illegal ban was better than the alternative that the SFA, Rangers & Sevco didnt want to happen (i.e. revoke membership). I'd say that ye are happy with the deal ye got so less of the moaning about injustice of a transfer embargo.

Really you need to take a proper look at what people say. I merely pointed out the nonsense that was spouted about the "Spirit" of the ruling. The club rightly checked out with the football authorities of Scotland and were told what players we could play and what players we couldn't. So really the statement
    "Move along folks there is nothing to see here" has never been more apt.
    It really is amazing that there was no sign of any Tic fans in here when an actual game was being mentioned Only come out the woodwork for a wee whine.
    Knock yourselves out guys it seems we are of interest to a big club after all ;)

Really you need to take a proper look at what people say. I merely pointed out the nonsense that was spouted about the "Spirit" of the ruling. The club rightly checked out with the football authorities of Scotland and were told what players we could play and what players we couldn't. So really the statement
    "Move along folks there is nothing to see here" has never been more apt.
    It really is amazing that there was no sign of any Tic fans in here when an actual game was being mentioned Only come out the woodwork for a wee whine.
    Knock yourselves out guys it seems we are of interest to a big club after all ;)

LOL, the irony

Yep I have made that mistake on here a good few times so I can admit my mistakes. It seems you can't or won't though Ah well