The awkward moment when you punch a scumbag and he doesn't get back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Society 1 - 0 Idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

old hippy wrote: »
    I can assure you I won't be defending police brutality. Hope they bring an action against the uniform.

Come on.

I despise these aul wan hand-wringing threads about "scumbags" as much as anybody and I'm no blind cheerleader for the police but that kid clearly attacked the cop and just came off worse.

Anybody notice alot of old videos are being reposted by crime.ie. 2 so far this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

when i'm allowed to defend myself then they can, until then, no

You are allowed to defend yourself.
    severe brutality which should be punished by an indefinite jail term.

shabby police work by someone who can't control themselves, she has anger issues and needs to be thrown out of the force, just as much vermin as the teenage scanger.

You obviously have no concept of what "severe brutality" actually is. There are plenty of examples on YouTube though so you might as well go and acquaint yourself before you go about spewing accusations that clearly very few people agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Great job by the officer, I'd never defend police brutality, but if anyone tried something like that in the states they would be found peppered with bullets, totally appropriate response in this case. He was swinging at her the animal deserved worse then what he got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

darced wrote: »

Really?

And how would you have restrained him? What experience do you have of being in that situation that you can sit behind a keyboard and preach about how it should have been handled?
    when i'm allowed to defend myself then they can, until then, no

Erm you do realize that by law you have every right to defend yourself right?
    not at all, she's probably one of them ladettes

And you're probably one of the lesbians DUCY?

severe brutality which should be punished by an indefinite jail term.

I agree!! But defending yourself in the face of danger while doing a tough job should be rewarded with medals:)
    shabby police work by someone who can't control themselves, she has anger issues and needs to be thrown out of the force, just as much vermin as the teenage scanger.

Same question for you.

How would you have handled that situation? Would you have told them in a loud but stern voice to leave the area or you would call their Mammies? Would you have asked them kindly and repeatedly to stop being little brats until they got bored and moved along? What experience do you have that allows you to preach about a situation you know nothing about from behind a keyboard. Remember we have only see SOME of the video. Who here knows what happened BEFORE the camera started recording?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

bumper234 wrote: »

Who here knows what happened BEFORE the camera started recording?

I do! A multitude of AHers poised over their keyboards to let their impotent rage be vented.

gallag wrote: »
    Haven't read the whole thread, have the usual pc liberals and anti establishment people been shouting about how this fine piece of police work was wrong yet?

Yes, the hordes of pink wristed pc brigading baby eating leftopians came saw and conquered. The floor is all yours, gallag.

If that's fine policing then I grieve for the state of the Gardai in 21st century Ireland.

I do! A multitude of AHers poised over their keyboards to let their impotent rage be vented.

Made me genuine lol wp:D

Yes, the hordes of pink wristed pc brigading baby eating leftopians came saw and conquered. The floor is all yours, gallag.

If that's fine policing then I grieve for the state of the Gardai in 21st century Ireland.

Ok same question to you.

How would you have handled the situation. What experience do you have that makes it ok for you to criticize the actions of the guard in question?

Arcsin wrote: »
    So despite all that experience you couldn't recognise that the Garda had sufficient reason to draw her baton, used it correctly and applied enough force to defend herself and no more?

Instead you cried police brutality. Now I know you are bluffing.

Goodnight Walter.

Once again, I don't do bluffing. I leave the lies, deceit and brutality to the bouncers and other ne'er do wellls that you seem to adore.

Ok same question to you.

How would you have handled the situation. What experience do you have that makes it ok for you to criticize the actions of the guard in question?

Because I've been on the receiving end of violence from the law and on each and every occasion, there was zero need for heavy handedness. Are you saying we're not allowed criticise the actions of the force? What is this, China?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Once again, I don't do bluffing. I leave the lies, deceit and brutality to the bouncers and other ne'er do wellls that you seem to adore.

you certainly live up to your username anyway.
    You sounds like someone who has a problem with authority and rules (and the consequences for breaking those rules)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I can't believe she didn't think about a different, safer course of action when someone was about to pummell her head in. She had all the time in the world to think about how this might look on a YouTube video, and she still chose to show off in front of a crowd and hurt that poor boy.

Unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Because I've been on the receiving end of violence from the law and on each and every occasion, there was zero need for heavy handedness. Are you saying we're not allowed criticise the actions of the force? What is this, China?
    I, too, have been on the end of heavy-handed policing and there is no excuse for it.

What we have here, though, is surely a completely different matter. There is a difference between being manhandled, or attacked, by a police officer when you are going about your business, be it lawful protest or just walking down the street; and physically attacking an officer and being slapped for it.

So you say.

But my question was...in that situation....how would YOU have handled it? I didn't ask about your past or what issues you have had with the law i asked in THAT situation where you are more than likely in fear for your safety what would YOU do?

Grayditch wrote: »
    I can't believe she didn't think about a different, safer course of action when someone was about to pummell her head in. She had all the time in the world to think about how this might look on a YouTube video, and she still chose to show off in front of a crowd and hurt that poor boy.

Unreal.

some would have you believe that the most effective response to resolve the situation would have been for her to produce a flower, a daisy chain or baloon animals to calm the situation. Self defence in a "violent" way was not needed apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

You're blocked in and someone starts punching you. You can't run. What do people expect her to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Security guard is cool, he goes down knocks the toerag out and then goes back to his door to chill.

So you say.

But my question was...in that situation....how would YOU have handled it? I didn't ask about your past or what issues you have had with the law i asked in THAT situation where you are more than likely in fear for your safety what would YOU do?

You asked "What experience do you have that makes it ok for you to criticize the actions of the guard in question? "

I gave my experience. As for what I would do, if I was a Garda? I'm not a Garda so that straw man thing doesn't really fly...

Jester252 wrote: »
    You're blocked in and someone starts punching you. You can't run. What do people expect her to do?

see post 108. It's the only answer like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Uriel. wrote: »
    some would have you believe that the most effective response to resolve the situation would have been for her to produce a flower, a daisy chain or baloon animals to calm the situation. Self defence in a "violent" way was not needed apparently.

Whhhaaaatt? Are you serious? What if he choked on said balloon, or had allergies to pollen? Coupled with the fact that he'd already be slightly out of break by trying to damage a woman's skull, it could make the situation worse. No, she'd need to think about it further, I'm afraid, amid the flurry of punches.

some would have you believe that the most effective response to resolve the situation would have been for her to produce a flower, a daisy chain or baloon animals to calm the situation.

Yes because that's clearly what I'm saying.

Grayditch wrote: »
    Whhhaaaatt? Are you serious? What if he choked on said balloon, or had allergies to pollen? Coupled with the fact that he'd already be slightly out of break by trying to damage a woman's skull, it could make the situation worse. No, she'd need to think about it further, I'm afraid, amid the flurry of punches.

True. Well, in fairness, I am sure Templemore has trained her well to think of peaceful solutions while being hammered with punches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Lets be honest, the gard deserves a medal.

Yes because that's clearly what I'm saying.

no that's what I am saying. we already know you don't approve of the Garda's reaction but at the same time because your're not a garda you can't/won't say what you would have done in the situation.

Lets be honest, the gard deserves a medal.

or to be fired and doing jail time, depending on where you stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

or to be fired and doing jail time, depending on where you stand

I'll go with a medal, just because she is a gard doesn't mean she has to stand there taking punches, every human has a right to defend themselves, wish she beat him further.

I FULLY agree with you.

no that's what I am saying. we already know you don't approve of the Garda's reaction but at the same time because your're not a garda you can't/won't say what you would have done in the situation.

I love this straw man business. I wasn't captain of the Titanic either and as much as I'm saddened at the sinking I can't say what would have made things better.