Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extermination through sterilisation - the solution to "skangerism"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm not suggesting anything I am currently working on it. In a volunteer capacity I show people in disadvantaged areas that they can achieve third level education if they so want. Academic abiltiy and intelligence isn't confined to one social strata. It doesn't stop the schools involved pushing one social group into education over another though.

So then there is already equal opportunity no? Is third level education not open to all and sunder, depending on academic achievement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

mike65 wrote: »
    They would need to fulfil 3 of the following criteria

Failed to sit Leaving Cert exams
    No history of having worked
    No history of either parent having worked, assuming fit to work
    Having been the subject of more than one call out by the Guards to their home
    Having been banned from a public bar
    Made more than one phone call or 2 texts to FM 104s Adrian Kennedy
    Support a uk soccer team ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The riff raff are out-breeding the genuine working classes and the middle classes thanks to our cradle to grave welfare state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

wexie wrote: »
    So then there is already equal opportunity no? Is third level education not open to all and sunder, depending on academic achievement?

We have the same test to determine academic ability for different groups with different variables applied to each.

Think about it scientifically. You want to test for a particular trait yet your using different variables and controls. How are you getting an accurate representation of the trait you are looking for?

In laymans terms we have a public and private sector and the private sector send far more kids to third level. I would asociate that with a particular social strata where it not for the fact that people from disadvantaged areas who attend fee paying schools via scholarship do just aswell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 208 ✭✭Norfolk Enchants

Mad f*cking thread, lads.

We have the same test to determine academic ability for different groups with different variables applied to each.

Think about it scientifically. You want to test for a particular trait yet your using different variables and controls. How are you getting an accurate representation of the trait you are looking for?

In laymans terms we have a public and private sector and the private sector send far more kids to third level. I would asociate that with a particular social strata where it not for the fact that people from disadvantaged areas who attend fee paying schools via scholarship do just aswell.

You'll have to forgive me my ignorance, I never went to school in Ireland.
    Is it not just the case that admittance to College / University is based on how well you do in the leaving cert? And is the leaving cert not the same for everybody?

Personally I would have thought that someone from a public school in a bad area could still do very well (and I've seen this) provided their parents have taken an interest in their education from a young age.

Personally I don't know if I'd be able to put them through a fee paying school, however my kids get read to every night, are being encouraged to read for fun, helped with their homework, taken to museums, etc. etc.

I'd be interested to know how many of the 'disadvantaged' kids are getting the same support from their parents and how much of a difference it makes.

While forced sterilisations are probably taking it a step too far, I do think there are a lot of people out there that don't deserve kids and aren't fit parents and consequently are perpetuating the 'skanger' problem.

There comes a time where people need to take responsibility for their own lives, no matter how much tax payers money is thrown at this problem, if the people don't want to improve their / their kids lives it's never going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

This is the most ignorant thread ever.

You don't like skangers, you don't have a clue about how society works so the solution because they caused done trouble in middle class areas is forced sterilisation.

Guess what, the USC and not being able yo get a mortgage is a far bigger annoyance to me. How about we go for anyone that studied BESS or economics instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Is it not just the case that admittance to College / University is based on how well you do in the leaving cert? And is the leaving cert not the same for everybody?

Personally I would have thought that someone from a public school in a bad area could still do very well (and I've seen this) provided their parents have taken an interest in their education from a young age.

Personally I don't know if I'd be able to put them through a fee paying school, however my kids get read to every night, are being encouraged to read for fun, helped with their homework, taken to museums, etc. etc.

I'd be interested to know how many of the 'disadvantaged' kids are getting the same support from their parents and how much of a difference it makes.

While forced sterilisations are probably taking it a step too far, I do think there are a lot of people out there that don't deserve kids and aren't fit parents and consequently are perpetuating the 'skanger' problem.

There comes a time where people need to take responsibility for their own lives, no matter how much tax payers money is thrown at this problem, if the people don't want to improve their / their kids lives it's never going to happen.

I will respond to all your post but I just want to make sure you understand that a standardised test is rendered useless with different variables applied? I’m asking in determining aptitude via a state test would not the addition of non-state supports to one group throw the test results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

How much does society need to do before it is up to the person themselves to try without having their hand held? Everything to succeed is available and very few people have any excuse. Oh poor you, you had a bad start at life, might as well give up and become scum, or maybe work for a better life but no, thats probably too much work.:rolleyes:

Offer people money if they get sterilised, that way it isnt forced and save money in the long run when dont have to educate or pay child benefit.

If education had never done anything for anyone you knew, If you'd never been to college, and no-one you knew had ever been, if nobody in your world had ever profited from the leaving cert, would you automatically assume that that's what your kids were destined for?

Education is such a middle class construct. Like mortgages and shares, it's all about investing now for a reward later. That's a seriously alien concept to a large chunk of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

AHHHHH , once again the middle class show their true colors,

gas the scum !!!! the rallying cry

it will be priceless to see the faces of middle classes when they realize that the rich now need a target , and they are it :D

starting to think that a good lot of AH really are mentally ill.
    people REALLY never learn from history

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

dj jarvis wrote: »

it will be priceless to see the faces of middle classes when they realize that the rich now need a target , and they are it :D

I can see no difference at all between the exaggeration of the OP and your own inflated sound bites. What makes it okay for you to call strangers "mentally ill"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

dj jarvis wrote: »

The class snobbery on AH is, frankly, disgusting. "Skanger" this and "skanger" that every single day another thread on sterilisations, take away their benefits etc.

I'm saddened but not surprised by it.

I can see no difference at all between the exaggeration of the OP and your own inflated sound bites. What makes it okay for you to call strangers "mentally ill"?

Calling for people to be sterilised is the sign of a healthy mind? :confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

old hippy wrote: »
    Calling for people to be sterilised is the sign of a healthy mind? :confused:

Jonathan Swift called for the hungry people of Ireland to eat their own young. ;)

oh , i dont know , the fact that they are in favor of randomly killing a certain section of the community might be a slight indication

a remember a certain little Austrian had the same idea and was he not labeled the same ???

sick thread , full of sick people , im just clinging to the slight hope that hundreds of trolls just happened to all arrive at the same thread at the same time

and riddle me this , how the **** do you know they are not mentally ill ?
    i could be off my head for all you know

now - calm down , put the horse back into the stable

Jonathan Swift called for the hungry people of Ireland to eat their own young. ;)

Yes he did, in jest - but to compare the comments from some here to that literary giant is a heinous crime :D

The class snobbery on AH is, frankly, disgusting. "Skanger" this and "skanger" that every single day another thread on sterilisations, take away their benefits etc.

in fairness , some should have benefits taken away for anti social behavior

but gassing and sterilization ??
    shudder at what walks among us

I'm not proposing the deletion of anyone merely the lack of creation, read the last sentence of the OP again.

Yes you are.

The Traveller community would be first to go. Little education, no employment etc etc. All of them sterilised.

This is pure nazi stuff. They weren't just 'evil' you know, they had reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Don't worry none of them have the Internet so they have no idea what we are planning for them.

gosplan wrote: »
    The Traveller community would be first to go. Little education, no employment etc etc. All of them sterilised.

A group of which 84.3 percent are 'unemployed', I might add.

I will respond to all your post but I just want to make sure you understand that a standardised test is rendered useless with different variables applied? I’m asking in determining aptitude via a state test would not the addition of non-state supports to one group throw the test results?

I see what you're getting at, what's the solution though? You can hardly deprive those parents that want to give their kids the best start they can, and any available advantage, the right to do so?

You could argue there shouldn't be a need for private schools and you'd be right. However there will always be a market for private schools, with the best teachers available, the best teaching aids etc. etc. This won't change as long as there are people that do see the value in education, or even just people (lets be honest) that don't want their kids mingling with the plebs.

Essentially what we're getting to is that life isn't fair, which it isn't and it will never be. That does not however, give anyone the right to display any of the behaviours so widely discussed in this thread and so widely observed in this country.

I see what you're getting at, what's the solution though? You can hardly deprive those parents that want to give their kids the best start they can, and any available advantage, the right to do so?

You could argue there shouldn't be a need for private schools and you'd be right. However there will always be a market for private schools, with the best teachers available, the best teaching aids etc. etc. This won't change as long as there are people that do see the value in education, or even just people (lets be honest) that don't want their kids mingling with the plebs.

Essentially what we're getting to is that life isn't fair, which it isn't and it will never be. That does not however, give anyone the right to display any of the behaviours so widely discussed in this thread and so widely observed in this country.

After working for years in education, I have come to realise that the tragedy of the education system is that it's least valued by those who could benefit most from it and over-valued by those who have least need of it.

If Oisin from Dalkey get's pushed into grinds and the institute for sixth year and gets Law instead of BESS, it's really going to make very little difference to his life.

However, when Madser from Killbarrack's parents let him take loads of days off in second year cause school is a waste of time and eventually don't give him any sh1t when he drops out in fifth year. I mean shine what difference qualifying in BESS would make to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Since the sun put its hat on Dublin has seen riots on a beach in Portmarnock, a gang of feral youths in near Dalkey smash up some poor chaps car while he was in it, that same gang terrorise passengers on a bus and last night a train was invaded by louts on the journey between Pearse Street Station and Maynooth. Blood was spilt before the Guards arrived.

Rather than wring our hands at the horror of it all, is it time to just acknowledge
    that there is a strata of society that will never be reformed regardless of best intentions and state spending and that sterilisation of the Skanger class is the best way forward. It won't catch all the bad genes but certainly a large % will be wiped out without killing anyone.
    Actually that gang of feral youths smashed up the poor chaps car at Howth Junction not Dalkey so at least get your facts 100% correct before you come on here spouting your rabble.

I do agree that skangers are a blight on society but so are the bankers and developers who got this country in the mess it's in yet you don't suggest that they be sterilised. Why is that?. I am no apologist for skangers and if they cause trouble they should be dealt with by the full force of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭Rezident

Since the sun put its hat on Dublin has seen riots on a beach in Portmarnock, a gang of feral youths in near Dalkey smash up some poor chaps car while he was in it, that same gang terrorise passengers on a bus and last night a train was invaded by louts on the journey between Pearse Street Station and Maynooth. Blood was spilt before the Guards arrived.

Rather than wring our hands at the horror of it all, is it time to just acknowledge
    that there is a strata of society that will never be reformed regardless of best intentions and state spending and that sterilisation of the Skanger class is the best way forward. It won't catch all the bad genes but certainly a large % will be wiped out without killing anyone.

Sadly yes. This strata does not even want to reform - that's the thing - they want to destroy, to attack, to intimidate etc. It is what they aspire to. 35 years in Dublin has taught me that and now their children are repeating the cycle all over again.

Also, stop funding them. Reduced dole payments for repeat criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Why is everyone talking about skangers / scumbags as if the term is a class distinction? It isn't. It's nothing to do with background. A scumbag is someone who engages in anti social behavior, or to refine a bit, someone who engages in anti social behavior as a way of life. Plenty of those among the well off. Wasn't the lad who kicked a random journalist to death on Camden Street there a few months back from a well off family for example?

Ironically enough, it's usually the people who defend them who apply the term to working class people. In fact, assuming that a thread about scumbags refers to working class folk betrays more about your own prejudices than about anyone elses!

Why is everyone talking about skangers / scumbags as if the term is a class distinction? It isn't. It's nothing to do with background. A scumbag is someone who engages in anti social behavior, or to refine a bit, someone who engages in anti social behavior as a way of life. Plenty of those among the well off. Wasn't the lad who kicked a random journalist to death on Camden Street there a few months back from a well off family for example?

Ironically enough, it's usually the people who defend them who apply the term to working class people. In fact, assuming that a thread about scumbags refers to working class folk betrays more about your own prejudices than about anyone elses!

you are one hundred percent correct !!!

but unfortunately , if you posted a picture of a skanger and asked people what social class they thought he came from , i would imagine working would be the answer

not many lads from dalkey or howth sell gear down the board walk,
    plenty from sean mc dermot st and east wall do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If I worked for the Indo I'd just write this up as a feature article for the Op-ed pages.

That possibility alone means I should probably apologise! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Personally I wouldn't use the term because it:

a) Is a slur on those who are suffering from mental illness yet have never had a blameless thought in their head.
    b) Provides an excuse to those quasi-fascists (and that's not hyperbole) who would seriously suggest mass sterilisation as an answer to deep rooted social ills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭Rezident

I have a similarly stupid better idea. How about we non-skanger people simply outbreed the skangers? The government could implement a pay-as-you-go sex grant to encourage increased sexual activity among the decent people of Ireland.

We can't outbreed skangers, we have to go to work or go looking for jobs etc.