Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Early's column, while readable, doesn't belong in the sports section of a newspaper. I sometimes enjoyed his metaphorical tangents during the Football Show, but they were always just that; tangents. This column reads more ike a history academic trying to draw comparisons with a modern day event than a sports columnist trying to do the opposite. He's needs to tone it down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

That was awful last night. David Brady should stick to whatever he does for a living. Please tell me its not journalism. How anyone could prefer that to Ken's football show :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

sure everybody working for newstalk is a journalist dont you know..
    why would brady be any different
    i think he has a regular column with a load of western regional papers - tuam herald etc
    he even did some guest writing for the star or the sun i think
    #experienced

It seems that Brady was on for the whole show and not just the last hour, maybe they way they are going with it i.e having rotating guest presenters for the veining.

I enjoy Brady on the radio,he appears on various sports shows on various stations throughout the year, mainly during the GAA championship season, but of course he is far more knowledgeable about GAA than soccer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

How are Ken and the lads getting on? Has anyone been onto them?

Brady was talking to a friend of mine in the entertainment business and said that OtB are basically giving a range of blokes some trial runs
    Brady was up last night
    he'll probably be invited back for a second round
    maybe if they took him on FT they could script up some segments for him, like they did for murph back in the good ole days
    that means there is less risk then when he has to 'fill' 2/3 mins of airtime

friction between brady and gilroy was obvious at times
    if newstalk do hire brady i'd imagine he'll start working behind the scenes on a serious coup d'état to get gilroy back on the weekend show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Early's column, while readable, doesn't belong in the sports section of a newspaper. I sometimes enjoyed his metaphorical tangents during the Football Show, but they were always just that; tangents. This column reads more ike a history academic trying to draw comparisons with a modern day event than a sports columnist trying to do the opposite. He's needs to tone it down a bit.

Disagree. There are any number of journos churning out the basic facts of results, team selections, injuries etc. There is total sameness between the match reports (and most pundits previews) in all the Irish and Irish edition UK newspapers.

It takes some imagination to be different. There were several legendary American sports writers in the Hunter Thompson tradition in the past. Con Houlihan was the leading Irish exponent. Tom Humphries was developing a similar style.

It would be an absolute waste of Ken's time to try to follow the likes of Emmet Malone or Daniel McDonnell. He has the potential to be the next Con Houlihan IMO if he holds his nerve and the Irish Times is the place to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Disagree. There are any number of journos churning out the basic facts of results, team selections, injuries etc. There is total sameness between the match reports (and most pundits previews) in all the Irish and Irish edition UK newspapers.

It takes some imagination to be different. There were several legendary American sports writers in the Hunter Thompson tradition in the past. Con Houlihan was the leading Irish exponent. Tom Humphries was developing a similar style.

It would be an absolute waste of Ken's time to try to follow the likes of Emmet Malone or Daniel McDonnell. He has the potential to be the next Con Houlihan IMO if he holds his nerve and the Irish Times is the place to do it.

Personally I think its no harm to have an article featuring what some would call rambling.
    However, its a fine line and if its a 500 word article, the tangents/musings can't take centre stage to the detriment of the main argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

these new developments are not working for anyone
    earley is a useless writer
    and david brady on off the ball tonight talking bout everything from nfl helmets to ireland -v- austria - wtf :eek:
    total farce of a show now
    the rte version will soon sound more professional
    jaysus, even fiona looney on otb is now sounding like an option

You've crossed the line there my friend.

i like ramblings, provided it is of the entertaining variety
    Kenneth needs to work on his approach a little
    not there yet
    some potential, i wouldnt exaggerate it tho
    a talented transition yr student could emulate him right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Just read that Ken Early article. Complete and utter drivel. Really, really poor effort.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Just read that Ken Early article. Complete and utter drivel. Really, really poor effort.

Have to agree to differ with you on the quality of the piece but in any case, what were you expecting?

If you've ever heard him on the radio you cant have been surprised.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Have to agree to differ with you on the quality of the piece but in any case, what were you expecting?

If you've ever heard him on the radio you cant have been surprised.

No, can't say I'm surprised to be honest. Have always found him awful but at least on radio I was entertained by the awfulness. I just gave up on that article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Two excellent articles there, he probably went too far off on a tangent with Irish Times column however.

As much as I don't like Early, those two Examiner articles are pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

I don't see anything wrong with that article, if you're a fan of Early's tangents (which I am) it adds something different to the usual game analyses which struggle to be unique.

I think he makes a pretty good job of it, he indicates how he didn't initiate the Waterloo comparisons re Trap, but he makes a somewhat valid analogy in that it was the on-field performance and not the planning which should receive the plaudits, the Les mis reference, and then drew comparisons between Kutuzov and Trap when quoting the latter as recognising that once the players are on the field, his influence is diminished by occurences outside his control.

If you buy the paper tomorrow you'll read at least 2 match reports from different journalists with very little difference between them, reporting facts doesn't offer much scope for insight so that's not an insult to the journalists, but I think there is room for this type of writing as a weekly column, it's refreshing

Ger out tonight leaving his sidekick and Parkinson to mind the shop - the quality of the forced banter would put the strawberry alarm clock to shame. The slickest thing about this show is Cian the newsreader.

Ger has been doing his best to hold it together these past few weeks but tonight there is no disguising the crapness of the output.

This on the night of a crucial world cup qualifier as well - its on these sort of nights that the old team are most sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

poor state of affiairs leaving wooly parkinson as a full time analyst, did he have a row with westmeath footballer denis glennon did i hear?
    mcdevitt is missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

The sooner the Real Off The Ball get back on air the better, I will be more likely to listen to an RTE sport show than listen to the likes of Parkinson.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Tonight is the first night I haven't listened to any of the show since the lads left, just couldn't be arsed. I do still enjoy some bits of it like the GAA coverage and the weekly chat to Giles but it's a pale shadow of what it was a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Tonight is the first night I haven't listened to any of the show since the lads left, just couldn't be arsed. I do still enjoy some bits of it like the GAA coverage and the weekly chat to Giles but it's a pale shadow of what it was a month ago.
    Agreed, I used to look forward to 7pm weekday evenings, the banter, the tangents, the analysis, you felt like you could go for a pint with the OTB lads but I don't bother much anymore. Yes there's still analysis but as a longtime listener the magic is gone,its just another sports programme now.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Yeah, every evening at 7 I would always switch over to Newstalk, nowadays just can't be bothered. The first 20 minutes were always entertaining with them constantly interrrupting and taking the piss out of Cian, at least he has a bit of peace these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Lost digital coverage here so I had to listen to the whole coverage during the match... It was a bit like students doing a 24 hour sit in (for charity) radio station.. I think Parkinson is alright for the GAA stuff, but doesnt add anything to the soccer. "Stuey" doesnt have enough personality for radio.

It's just missing the humour that Murph and Ken bring to the show..

if parky, or wtf he calls himself, was on for the full show i think i'd tear my eardrums out
    i listened to a lot of the show on monday with david brady - that was real cringe in parts
    a whole show with parkinson, shudder...

Off the Ball is dead - Newstalk should face up to that
    Instead I hear they plan to spend like 150k on a facelift of sorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Off the Ball is dead

I still see it listed and advertised :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

who was yer man on Monday night who said he hoped the Austrian journalist wouldn't come on speaking "Austrian"....
    He was a GAA guy I think...

Are you daviiiidddddd braddddyyyy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Brady was talking to a friend of mine in the entertainment business and said that OtB are basically giving a range of blokes some trial runs
    Brady was up last night
    he'll probably be invited back for a second round

Hopefully not after his "speaking Austrian" comment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

3 Weeks Ago:
    are newstalk likely to advertise for the new team?

lets face it, the formula can be recreated
    some smart recruits and it'll be biz as usual

2 Weeks ago:
    a week is a long time in showbiz
    2 weeks is even longer

by this time next week people will be asking ken who?, whos this big mcdev bloke? wtf was murphys country pages? etc etc

Today:
    Off the Ball is dead - Newstalk should face up to that

If they're disillusioning floating OTB listeners at this rate - it is dead ... and all to the gain of the new 2FM format unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Turned it on tonight, about half 9 and Roddy Collins was on. Never had a problem with him on before with Eoin but tonight he was on his high horse about the league of ireland, absuing "porfessionals" for being over weight and saying he wouldn't pay to watch them id they arent willing to put in the effort. Not really good radio, no one seem well informed enough to follow the subject on so Roddy kept pressing on about, just got that feeling they where trying to fill time for once.