Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Hmmmm. Not naming their source, I cant see this, new promo's for the show started yesterday with Ger and Joe on them, why would they backtrack now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

One of Ken's tweets got quoted on Football Weekly (either Monday's or last Thursday's). Jimbo read it out and then said "Of course Ken would say it in a much nicer voice."

I got all emotional. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

If there is any truth to it, given that they have nearly 2 weeks of paid gardening leave left, it would suggest that Newstalk have made the first move and are making concessions - be schedule or monetary. There's a whole lot of begrudgery going on in the comments on both links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

It would seem odd that the lads would be climbing down, considering the picture of them on gardening leave and the statement that went with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

Ur man parkinson is totally inept
    cant think of one thing he offers
    murphy was limited but this guy is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Chris 80

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    It would seem odd that the lads would be climbing down, considering the picture of them on gardening leave and the statement that went with it.
    I agree. It would burst their strong unity to go back cap in hand....I'd be embarrassed for them. But then again, so many rumours flying about. We won't know until its officially announced I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

tough to expect Parky to be commenting on every sport ..he'd be grand if it was just talking GAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Bit harsh on him as everyone needs time in a new job.

He tends to wait for Ger to ask him a question before he says anything. Murph would often interrupt the others. But then this would be natural from Parkinson as he was usually on as a GAA analyst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

Chris 80 wrote: »
    I agree. It would burst their strong unity to go back cap in hand....I'd be embarrassed for them. But then again, so many rumours flying about. We won't know until its officially announced I guess.

So what, no big deal. As long as they are back I couldn't give a ****. I edited this because I noticed I dropped an f bomb and it is filtered out lol. Jesus we are adults but can't do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,114 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Christ, Parkinson is difficult to listen to. Has the charisma of a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Tuned in for about 20 mins last night between 8.00 and 9.00, I'm afraid its gone from what ever it was to this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Howard Cosell is a bad broadcaster now? Please. Woody Allen was making a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

withless wrote: »
    Howard Cosell is a bad broadcaster now? Please. Woody Allen was making a joke.

Woody Allen making jokes now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭shockwave

Maybe they thought the offers would come flooding in once they left, looks like they havent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Denis, should of got Michael Lowry to replace Murph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

1. Is this confirmed?

2. Who is Adrian Barry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭GSF

TheTechGuy wrote: »

Chris Barry is who they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    1. Is this confirmed?

2. Who is Adrian Barry?

Adrian Barry is 98FM's sports reader in the mornings. He's good craic, does be on with Ray Foley after his bulletins and he's well up for a having a laugh.

Not sure how he'll fit into an OTB line-up, but I'll start listening again if/when he makes the move just to see.

wnolan1992 wrote: »

does be on with Ray Foley

*shudder*

I have a very bad feeling about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Woody Allen making jokes now?
    Are you making a poor attempt to extricate yourself from that previous poor post? Get back on your bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

GSF wrote: »
    Chris Barry is who they need.

Adrian kennedy perhaps

is neil prendeville back on the airwaves / full-time employment?
    he could potentially be the new big mcdev?
    good broadcaster / anchor before he went nuts on the drugs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Still going strong in Cork, as if nothing ever happened.

http://www.96fm.ie/On-Air/Neil-Prendeville

might be interested in a fresh start up in the capital tho?
    he did do some sports discussions in the past if i remember correctly.
    get him to do some research / reading and he'd be credible fast.
    also, many of his southern fans would follow him to NT - a good way for NT to increase market share / profile

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

He would be grand once they don't put him on a plane,or close to women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

Nah, I couldn't imagine Prendeville presenting OTB. In fairness he has improved a lot since the "incident", he's nowhere near as arrogant as he was - he used to be about as charming as Jeremy Kyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

might be interested in a fresh start up in the capital tho?
    he did do some sports discussions in the past if i remember correctly.
    get him to do some research / reading and he'd be credible fast.
    also, many of his southern fans would follow him to NT - a good way for NT to increase market share / profile

Interesting. I haven't heard much of him on air, to be honest. It would certainly be a radical move, maybe a bit too risky.

Although If I was in charge of Newstalk I might consider him to shake up the Daytime schedule (in place of Tom Dunne) doing much the same as he does in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Well ye made it onto the Ray Foley show with the Adrian Barry speculation... he read out a selection of posts from this thread...

https://soundcloud.com/radionationie/ray-foley-reads-boards-ie