Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Thats the most Ray Foley I ever listened to. Thats the most Ray Foley I will ever listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Didn't much care for the tone JP read my post in...

Do I really come across as that simpering and twatish?

Don't answer that. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,040 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Jesus Ray Foley is terrible all the same, isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Adrian confirmed to friends via twitter earlier that the chat on Foley's show wasn't a wind-up and that it's "all true".
    Tweet(s) here: https://twitter.com/AdrianBarry98FM/status/315067686243663872
    Article here: http://radionation.ie/2013/03/98fms-adrian-barry-to-join-off-the-ball/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Dear God, commercial radio is utterly isn't it?

How do people listen to this cackle without getting their brains fried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,692 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Sadly, you have to think if Newstalk are making a a 'big' appointment like this then bridges have been burnt with the OTB 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭blue4ever

The Famous Five can kiss "their" slot goodbye now. I believe that's the sound of the door slamming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Pedalstool

blue4ever wrote: »
    The Famous Five can kiss "their" slot goodbye now. I believe that's the sound of the door slamming.

They will be back on the airwaves soon enough. Nova or Radio 4 leading the way apparently.

They are Off the Ball. There is no show without the lads. Where ever they end up they will bring their very loyal audience with them, me included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

blue4ever wrote: »

They shut that door themselves by resigning. You seem to be revelling in fact that they now have no other options, I doubt that's true. In any case, we won't find out what's actually happening until after next Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭IRE60

You seem to be revelling in fact that they now have no other options

Seriously, I don't take any joy in anyone not working. Seriously not called for.

What I do think is that, since closing the door, they have dished out some spin - which seems to be backfiring. Where do you think all the 'might be back' yarns are coming from or the Nova or 4FM crap.

IRE60 wrote: »
    Seriously, I don't take any joy in anyone not working. Seriously not called for.

What I do think is that, since closing the door, they have dished out some spin - which seems to be backfiring. Where do you think all the 'might be back' yarns are coming from or the Nova or 4FM crap.

Who am I speaking to, IRE60 or blue4ever?

both

both

OK, fine.

You may well think that, but it's just speculation on your part. We won't know one way or another until their gardening leave is up.

OK, fine.

You may well think that, but it's just speculation on your part. We won't know one way or another until their gardening leave is up.

I'm "speculating" that they are 'spinning'? where are the stories coming from then?

If you go back to where the 4fm and Nova stories started you will find it had nothing to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BertMark

McDevitt is the main man, everyone else is just tagging along.

A radio show is a collaborative effort. The producer is as important, if not more important, to the final product as the presenter.

Eoin McDevitt on his own or with a different production team would not produce something as good as OTB. And that's not an insult to him, it's just the way it is.

as far as i know, murph, hicks and horgan are producers, not journalists. they just had an interest in different sports and were drafted in when needed.

They're all journalists.
    When a guest is on or a story is covered all of the research, investigation etc., and questions, are done beforehand by someone - be it the presenter, researcher or one of the producers.
    Ether way, it's all journalism work done by journalists.

Brian O'Driscoll, in an interview with The Guardian, said Simon Hick is one of Ireland's best rugby journalists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

has OtB lost many contributors as a result of the resignations?
    for example, shane horgan no longer contributes to the rugby discussion (as far as i know)
    is graham hunter gone also, now that kenneth is on the dole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

has OtB lost many contributors as a result of the resignations?
    for example, shane horgan no longer contributes to the rugby discussion (as far as i know)
    is graham hunter gone also, now that kenneth is on the dole?

Good question. Have US Murph or Richie Sadlier been on?

Oh, Hi Ray and...eh, friends, i guess.

Em...keep up the good work.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Have US Murph or Richie Sadlier been on?

QUOTE]

Sadlier hasn't been on. I think US Murph said on twitter that he'd wait and see what happens.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Good question. Have US Murph or Richie Sadlier been on?

Oh, Hi Ray and...eh, friends, i guess.

Em...keep up the good work.

Back in your box Johnny! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Bard wrote: »
    Well ye made it onto the Ray Foley show with the Adrian Barry speculation... he read out a selection of posts from this thread...

https://soundcloud.com/radionationie/ray-foley-reads-boards-ie

The smugness of everyone in that clip is off the charts,and then the token woman who unsurely laughed at everything that was said is very annoying.

How can people listen to that shíte?especially in the mornings!

The smugness of everyone in that clip is off the charts,and then the token woman who unsurely laughed at everything that was said is very annoying.

How can people listen to that shíte?especially in the mornings!

Don't understand how you got smugness from it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

When one of them is talking along the lines about 'oh you know how internet people are the best type of people in the world' etc.Just smacked of smugness to me anyways.

Glad I never have to endure that type of radio!

When one of them is talking along the lines about 'oh you know how internet people are the best type of people in the world' etc.Just smacked of smugness to me anyways.

Glad I never have to endure that type of radio!

Maybe you're right. I didn't get that impression because Ray has a track record of not being a fan of forums and it's kind of a long running joke on the show.

But it's not really worth arguing over. :)

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Ray has a track record of not being a fan of forums and it's kind of a long running joke on the show.

Might have something to do with the fact that Foley had a Boards.ie account and he was banned.

Undoubtedly a major factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

BertMark wrote: »
    They're all journalists.
    When a guest is on or a story is covered all of the research, investigation etc., and questions, are done beforehand by someone - be it the presenter, researcher or one of the producers.
    Ether way, it's all journalism work done by journalists.

Brian O'Driscoll, in an interview with The Guardian, said Simon Hick is one of Ireland's best rugby journalists.

fair enough, though ken is the only one who calls himself a journalist on linkedin. i know simon hick and murph wrote for thescore.ie in the past but that seemed to be based on their off the ball profiles.

Simon and murph also go to games and do interviews and reports back from the venue. And they go to press conferences and ask the questions that are played on the air later.

They're as much journalists as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

BertMark wrote: »
    Simon and murph also go to games and do interviews and reports back from the venue. And they go to press conferences and ask the questions that are played on the air later.

They're as much journalists as anyone else.

what is mark horgan's job then? i'm not trying to annoy you, i'm genuinely interested.
    are all the researchers/producers on moncreiff's show considered journalists too then?