Woman hospitalised after third assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Of course what was I thinking, someone burgled the garda station and took the money!

Or maybe its like the penalty points, it just disappeared!

But how could a burglar have access to the evidence room and the safe?

If it wasn't a garda who stole that money but a member of public, that would be even more scandalous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Love2u

It didn't happen 3 times. My guess is she withdrew her complaint for reasons of safety.

The girl was taken away in an ambulance, the Gardai (lots of them) went to the crime scene. People saw this! I really doubt any of it was made up. Safety may be an issue here and also maybe they are working on piecing up the evidence and maybe (hopefully) have the culprits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Love2u wrote: »
    The girl was taken away in an ambulance, the Gardai (lots of them) went to the crime scene. People saw this! I really doubt any of it was made up. Safety may be an issue here and also maybe they are working on piecing up the evidence and maybe (hopefully) have the culprits.

Not saying it's one way or the other because I don't know, but let's not forget how Kevin McGeever was emaciated, terrified and starving and how Joseph O'Reilly was on the telly to help the search for his wife's murderer. People can be really strange sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

Did anyone see the suspects loveu?
    That report in the Indo is complete speak for 'there is nothing to this.'
    The repeated assaults, gangs coming from Limerick into Breaffy again and again during the day, gaining access to her house, it doesn't add up.
    I think it should be clarified as, though it is really sensitive, and her recovery is the main thing, there is no point in people being terrified and riled up for no reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

She could have fallen over the cat in all fairness, nobody knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

God as a neighbor of the poor the family I reckon you should have a bit more cop on, the amount of stuff that happens in the west that is never picked up by the press as it did not happen in Limerick, Dublin or Cork is staggering, a injury did occur and yes it was the same people and yes they have ties with Limerick.

:). No one knows and it's nearly like watching a movie and waiting to get to the end to see what the twist will be. But I do hope she and her family are safe and well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I would still stand by what i said that some animals only understand a good hiding which the cops should be allowed to administer to the more dangerous scum walking the streets. It might knock the some sense into them.

There was a time they did, and it didn't. Neither did torture, horrific death penaltys or transportation.
    It didn't happen 3 times. My guess is she withdrew her complaint for reasons of safety.

Bollocks. Thats not the way it works here.
    love2u wrote:
    Safety may be an issue here and also maybe they are working on piecing up the evidence and maybe (hopefully) have the culprits

They're winding down the investigation. They have no suspects. Have a think on that one. Bear in mind many of them have families themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Tearwave

I have a theory on this, I can't say too much on here but let's just say it somehow involves an underground race of mentally deranged "crab people".

Xenji wrote: »

God as a neighbor of the poor the family I reckon you should have a bit more cop on, the amount of stuff that happens in the west that is never picked up by the press as it did not happen in Limerick, Dublin or Cork is staggering, a injury did occur and yes it was the same people and yes they have ties with Limerick.

Oh dear, we were being led to believe differently with the latest media. She was attacked three times and that is serious. I will say a prayer for them at this difficult time. I can't imagine what they must be going through. We are hearing so many stories and sometimes it's hard to know what to write in here as not to cause offence to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Of course what was I thinking, someone burgled the garda station and took the money!

Or maybe its like the penalty points, it just disappeared!

Or it was one of the many civilians that work in Garda stations.
    Caledonia wrote: »
    No, it wouldn't be up to her to withdraw.
    Something happened on one occasion at least but maybe not as claimed: Her eye injury.
    The second and third seemed unusual as reported.
    The repeated assaults, gangs coming from Limerick into Breaffy again and again during the day, gaining access to her house, it doesn't add up.
    I think it should be clarified as, though it is really sensitive, and her recovery is the main thing, there is no point in people being terrified and riled up for no reason.

It's sad that you are so willing to believe it's all fabricated. I wonder is it out of scepticism or out of fear for what it means for the state of the country. The majority of people are behind a veil as to how bad things really are. Like I said, this wouldn't be the first Garda to have his private life interfered with because of his job and he will not be the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

SB2013 wrote: »

It's sad that you are so willing to believe it's all fabricated. I wonder is it out of scepticism or out of fear for what it means for the state of the country. The majority of people are behind a veil as to how bad things really are. Like I said, this wouldn't be the first Garda to have his private life interfered with because of his job and he will not be the last.

Have you considered it might be a private personal domestic issue with the couple?

Oh dear, we were being led to believe differently with the latest media. She was attacked three times and that is serious. .

Well something happened.....
    I will say a prayer for them at this difficult time. I can't imagine what they must be going through. We are hearing so many stories and sometimes it's hard to know what to write in here as not to cause offence to anyone.

I wouldn't worry about causing offence. You'll do it regardless. Nail yer colours to the mast.

It's sad that you are so willing to believe it's all fabricated. I wonder is it out of scepticism or out of fear for what it means for the state of the country.

Scepticism based on the gardai winding down the investigation having not identified any suspects.
    Do you think it should be clarified if it was the case that the assaults didnt happen or just leave it?

Scepticism based on the gardai winding down the investigation having not identified any suspects.
    Do you think it should be clarified if it was the case that the assaults didnt happen or just leave it?

If the assaults didn't happen and they were reported then there should be a prosecution for wasting Garda time.

I think the woman in question can be thankful that the people from Castlebar know what has happened and will do the best to support her, just because this has not happened in your town you have no right to to claim that something did not happen or she was making it up, have you stopped to think that what has been said by the press about the investigation winding down is to keep those who are investigating out of the public eye, so as their families are not targeted, plus why would a woman who's husband is a member of the Gardai make up something, when she knows it would not just effect her, but her husband as well.

...impaired judgement, which can unfortuantely happen to any of us.

Xenji, people would just hope she is okay. The most horrific stuff has happened to people during robberies in towns across Mayo, Sligo and Galway. That this may not have happened- and the indications are there- doesn't take from that.

Nodin wrote: »

Well something happened.....

I wouldn't worry about causing offence. You'll do it regardless. Nail yer colours to the mast.

If you read all of my posts you will see that I have done nothing but stick up for the woman. There's a lot in here who are doing the opposite. There's my colours on the mast!!

HondaSami wrote: »

Have you considered it might be a private personal domestic issue with the couple?

Her husband was "at work" each time it happened!!

It happened, obviously details that have not been reported in the press, but are known in town cannot be posted here.

Something happened. Its looking like it doesn't involve three men in masks, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

The way that taking the law into your own hands corrupts, well worth a read:

'A Decent Orderly Lynching' - The Montana Vigilantes - by Frederick Allen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The types who need a good hiding are the scum gangs in Limerick, Dublin and Cork. Bring in public floggings for anyone in double conviction figures for serious crime and see what sort of impact that would have in spreading fear in the ranks of the criminal class.

Perhaps send in a Death Star to sort them out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Can you not elaborate a little instead of making vague insinuations?

Well, I could elaborate but that might be conjecture. Or slander, or libel. Take your pick.

Or I could be like the mob and advocate a damn good hiding. Whatever makes people... happy.

ETA - Interesting that posters here can make snide asides that Travellers may have a vague association but not a dickie bird to that kind of comment. Did I say interesting, sorry, meant typical.

My explanation is the type of people you are dealing with here are the lowest of the low and extremely dangerous, seems like they are more powerful and better equipped than the Gardai :-(. Attacking family members is pretty low. I only wished someone saw something and these cowards got put where they belong - a cold empty cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Beef_Injection

I'm sure the advocates for violence toward criminals are referring to the wastes of space with tens upon tens of convictions. And rightly so. You need to grow up with these wasters to see that dishing out an unforgettable hiding is all these pricks understand sometimes. I wouldn't give a toss if the Gardai went vigilante every now and then on these tossers. No one is calling for a lynching of all hoodies, just serving well deserved comeuppances on those who think they can wreck the place and expect no backlash.

As for some of you "I'll let the gorrdai deal with them to the full extent of the law, free hugs for criminals" pacifists, I hope to christ you're not responsible for a child, wife or keeping law and order. Society ain't a creche. Can't expect Garda PJ to swoop in within minutes and rescue you at the first sign of trouble.

Bit of self-reliance FFS.

old hippy wrote: »
    Well, I could elaborate but that might be conjecture. Or slander, or libel. Take your pick.

Or I could be like the mob and advocate a damn good hiding. Whatever makes people... happy.

ETA - Interesting that posters here can make snide asides that Travellers may have a vague association but not a dickie bird to that kind of comment. Did I say interesting, sorry, meant typical.

i think you mean defamation. Slander and libel no longer exist. And it's not defamation if its true.

I neither advocated violence nor referred to travellers so I'm not sure why you thought that part necessary. I presume it is to pad out your post which basically consists of "I know a guy who heard from a mate and I can't be sure it's true but I said it anyway"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Nodin wrote: »
    There was a time they did, and it didn't. Neither did torture, horrific death penaltys or transportation.
    The times and people who enforced the rules were slightly different.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I'm sure the advocates for violence toward criminals are referring to the wastes of space with tens upon tens of convictions. And rightly so. You need to grow up with these wasters to see that dishing out an unforgettable hiding is all these pricks understand sometimes. I wouldn't give a toss if the Gardai went vigilante every now and then on these tossers. No one is calling for a lynching of all hoodies, just serving well deserved comeuppances on those who think they can wreck the place and expect no backlash.

As for some of you "I'll let the gorrdai deal with them to the full extent of the law, free hugs for criminals" pacifists, I hope to christ you're not responsible for a child, wife or keeping law and order. Society ain't a creche. Can't expect Garda PJ to swoop in within minutes and rescue you at the first sign of trouble.

Bit of self-reliance FFS.

THIS +1.

As I said before scumbags only know one way and its not the one that includes sitting down and chatting about feeeeeelings.... and anyway the way law courts are set up in their favor and the favor of lawyers.
    REPEAT OFFENDERS = REPEAT CLIENTS

How many instances of scum with previous convictions out and around to hurt maim and kill ordinary decent folk.

A young kid killed on a bike by a guy with around 60 convictions
    A young swiss girl raped and murdered by a guy who had killed before.

Seriously liberals, ye're all getting your knickers in a twist over giving these scum human rights.
    I dont like saying this, but some day in the future this is coming back to you, your family or your friends, and the consequences will not be nice.