Woman hospitalised after third assault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Who's intimidating them?

When I read that article this morning, it did come across as strange.

Gangs beating up their wives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

old hippy wrote: »
    I'm surprised it hasn't been suggested already.

Makes you think, doesn't it?

Indeed. Think in a way which honestly didn't occur to me before.
    GARDAI are winding down their investigations after the wife of a detective claimed she was attacked three times in her home by intruders.

Officers have been unable to identify any suspects in the alleged attacks on boutique owner Regina Sweeney (36). They had been working on the theory that a gang had attacked her because of her garda connections.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-wind-down-probe-into-attacks-29151254.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭RoisinD

What is bothering me about this is the amount of publicity,including an appearance on the Late Late, the attacks have had and the slant that was given to the story, blaming different groups.
    Seems now that there may be question marks over the 'attacks' as they were portrayed. The least that could be done is the truth be told. Or will it be covered up as the woman involved and her husband are so called 'pillars of the community'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Looks like all is not what it seems here. Gardai have ended their enquires into these "robberies"

Wonder what the keyboard vigilanties who were gung ho to beat the living crap out of every "antisocial looking" character , based oin these allegations will have to say now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

How brave of the three men (and I use the term loosely) to beat up a woman three times and accuse her of "not being so cocky now" when they're the ones wearing hoods over their faces

pookiesboo wrote: »
    How brave of the three men (and I use the term loosely) to beat up a woman three times and accuse her of "not being so cocky now" when they're the ones wearing hoods over their faces

The "three men" the gardai aren't looking for anymore. For some reason.

Hang on now. If the investigation moved on from the 3 lads it has to go somewhere. If she lied its perverting the course of justice. If its him you are claiming a cover-up. It makes no sense to keep claiming outside involvement or going on TV in those cases.

The Gardai can't just drop it.

Hang on now. If the investigation moved on from the 3 lads it has to go somewhere. If she lied its perverting the course of justice. If its him you are claiming a cover-up. It makes no sense to keep claiming outside involvement or going on TV in those cases.

The Gardai can't just drop it.

You might tell that to the Gardai......

Nodin wrote: »

You might tell that to the Gardai......

I'll send an email.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Wonder what the keyboard vigilanties who were gung ho to beat the living crap out of every "antisocial looking" character , based oin these allegations will have to say now?
    It seems she has made a fool out of a few people and if everything was a lie it seems there is a lot more going on here than the public have been lead to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Luke Byrne – 25 March 2013 Independent

GARDAI are winding down their investigations after the wife of a detective claimed she was attacked three times in her home by intruders.

Officers have been unable to identify any suspects in the alleged attacks on boutique owner Regina Sweeney (36). They had been working on the theory that a gang had attacked her because of her garda connections.

Ms Sweeney said she was first attacked in her home near Castlebar, Co Mayo, in Decem-ber by two men. Following that incident, she appeared on 'The Late Late Show' during a discussion about a rural crime wave.

She claimed a second attack occurred last month when she was taunted that she "wasn't as cocky now as on the telly".

Ms Sweeney said a third attack happened last week.

Oh oh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

They'll probably have to beat themselves up over it.

I would still stand by what i said that some animals only understand a good hiding which the cops should be allowed to administer to the more dangerous scum walking the streets. It might knock the some sense into them.

And who would these tough cops answer to?

And in light of recent developments, if the cops have backed off, what then?

Who deserves a "hiding", hmm? Who deserves a bit of... violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭baldbear

I hrard it was a gang from Limerick who were targeting her because the husband.wouldn't stop investigating them.

And of course you and these vigilates will decide who is dangerous...nice!:mad:
    Pity any poor young lad in a hoody!
    If you are that interested in thuggery and criminal assault why not do it yourself instead of urging that others should be allowed to?

Looking at the developments, I'd say there's already been a lot of unwarranted violence (as all violence is).

I'll be interested to see what the thugs here have to say when we find out what the truth is. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

old hippy wrote: »
    Looking at the developments, I'd say there's already been a lot of unwarranted violence (as all violence is).

I'll be interested to see what the thugs here have to say when we find out what the truth is. :(

Can you not elaborate a little instead of making vague insinuations?

Old Hippy has no idea what is going on. None of us do. The Gardai actions are very strange.

SB2013 wrote: »
    Can you not elaborate a little instead of making vague insinuations?

Read the last few pages of the thread MS, how much elaboration do you need?

Go on then? What really happened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

So you'll have no problem with the guard/s that robbed the money fron the station in Dublin getting a good kicking from there colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

Is the strong insinuation that the assault as alleged didnt happen?

Caledonia wrote: »
    Is the strong insinuation that the assault as alleged didnt happen?
    Didn't happen as alleged or just didn't happen?

It didn't happen 3 times. My guess is she withdrew her complaint for reasons of safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

No, it wouldn't be up to her to withdraw.
    Something happened on one occasion at least but maybe not as claimed: Her eye injury.
    The second and third seemed unusual as reported.

So you'll have no problem with the guard/s that robbed the money fron the station in Dublin getting a good kicking from there colleagues.
    Has it been confirmed that the Gardai robbed that money?

Of course what was I thinking, someone burgled the garda station and took the money!

Or maybe its like the penalty points, it just disappeared!

And of course you and these vigilates will decide who is dangerous...nice!:mad:
    Pity any poor young lad in a hoody!
    If you are that interested in thuggery and criminal assault why not do it yourself instead of urging that others should be allowed to?
    The types who need a good hiding are the scum gangs in Limerick, Dublin and Cork. Bring in public floggings for anyone in double conviction figures for serious crime and see what sort of impact that would have in spreading fear in the ranks of the criminal class.

Of course what was I thinking, someone burgled the garda station and took the money!

Or maybe its like the penalty points, it just disappeared!
    Ah so you just expect After Hours to go on your word that the Gardai robbed the money. Very good carry on so.